如何鼓励青少年安全地选择关系

在一份报告显示700儿童因性行为不当被排除在学校之后,我们的专家就如何帮助儿童在线上和线下做出关于性和关系的更安全选择提出建议。


丽贝卡艾弗里

肯特县议会教育保障顾问
专家网站

儿童可能会接触到各种性材料,包括在线 色情 或接触青少年产生的性意象(也称为'还有sexting“)。 这些问题不一定是新的; 我们中的一些人可能因为在互联网搜索中出现意外错误,或出于好奇而故意查找粗鲁的话而经历过这种情况!

家长要考虑的一些建议是:

使用家长控制工具和过滤器有助于降低孩子接触性内容的风险

请注意,不能单独依赖这些工具,因此请考虑其他方法,例如监督。

建立积极和持续的对话:

与孩子讨论性和关系可能是一个令人不安的话题。 很难知道进行这些对话的合适年龄,并且可能存在对“破坏”无罪的真正担忧。 儿童网有一些有用的建议,以帮助父母。

暴露于性内容可能令人困惑和痛苦; 从小就与孩子交谈很重要,这样他们才能寻求支持和建议。 避免使用羞辱或责备术语 - 害怕受到惩罚可能会阻止儿童获得帮助

学校应该与儿童谈论性化内容,作为年龄适当性和关系教育(SRE)的一部分。 该 PSHE协会性教育论坛 英国儿童互联网安全委员会 (UKCCIS)为学校和大学提供有用的指导,帮助他们讨论色情和“色情短信”等问题。

儿童不恰当的性行为通常可由学校和家长管理; 但在某些情况下,可能需要专家建议和支持。 学校必须制定明确的政策和程序,以支持可能表现出有问题或滥用性行为的儿童。 学校应该获得当地的程序或支持; 这可能包括地方保护儿童委员会,预防服务和社会关怀团队,或诸如此类的组织

无论是在家还是在学校,每个孩子都应该有权感到安全。 重要的是,儿童和年轻人应了解可接受的行为,父母在为子女设定这些边界方面发挥着至关重要的作用。

我们很高兴关系教育将成为2019的法定科目,并相信通过适当的,最新的性和关系教育来预防有害的性行为比在伤害完成后排除儿童更好。

帮助年轻人了解真正的同意

儿童和年轻人需要理解真正同意的含义,并且如果他们受到伤害就能有信心说出来。 我们需要确保我们认识到早期可能有害的性行为与合作伙伴之间的差异,以转移年轻人,而不是年轻人对我们不希望不必要地将其定罪的实验的天生好奇心。

关于青年制作性图像的指导意见是警察和学校如何共同努力以适当的方式作出反应的一个例子。

我们都有责任保护和保护社会中的儿童和青少年,年轻人需要能够在线安全选择,父母在支持这一点并与子女建立良好关系方面发挥着至关重要的作用。 警察需要随时准备好倾听并支持儿童和年轻人,因为他们最需要我们。

凯尔麦克唐纳

EduCare创始人兼董事
专家网站

父母越来越难以监视他们的孩子; 关于他们与谁混在一起,他们在做什么以及他们正在接触什么。 例如,13-14岁的人认为性交是正常的,并且通过色情网站了解性关系也是常态。

关于性和关系的良好素质教育是关键。

父母可以做什么? 首先,不要害怕与孩子交谈并鼓励他们与你交谈。 对话应该是诚实的,不应该是评判性的; 然后可以鼓励从小就信任。

学校可以做些什么

拥有高质量的性和关系教育是必不可少的,应该由乐于此的人员提供。 学校还应考虑利用所有员工,慈善机构和代理机构进入并帮助提供PSHE课程,因为学生可能会对数学老师提供关系建议感到不舒服。

总的来说,应该让孩子从小就感到舒适和倾听。

Tamasine Preece博士

个人和社会教育负责人
专家网站

我们可以从最近有关700学生过去四年被排除在学校之外的消息中得到什么?

不幸的是,学校一直在进行不必要的触摸,身体和语言骚扰。 上周公布的统计数据反映出,虽然受害者总是很难挺身而出,但我并不怀疑,对于所报告的每一起事件,其他许多事件都没有,年轻人受到学校工作人员的鼓励和授权。挺身而出,向专业人士讲述他们的经历。 此外,这些数据反映了一个积极的消息,即学校最终开始认真对待性侵犯的披露,而不是忽视,解雇或受害者指责。

学校有责任提供保持所有学生的权利,尊严和安全的环境。 在实施如定期排除的严重惩罚时,它向犯罪者发出一个明确的信号,即该行为被视为严重犯罪,并向受害者保证他们有学校支持。

然而,最终,无论孩子们的外表和感觉如何成长,我们都在谈论孩子。 至关重要的是,父母首先要到那里来挑战无益和不健康的性行为表现的扩散,最重要的是,不经过判断地倾听。

写下评论

向上滚动

How to encouraged teens to make safe choices about relationships

Following a report revealing that 700 children have been excluded from school for sexual misconduct, our experts give their advice on how to help children make safer choices about sex and relationships on and offline.


Rebecca Avery

Education Safeguarding Adviser, Kent County Council
Expert Website

Children may be exposed to a range of sexual material, including online pornography or exposure to youth produced sexual imagery (also known as ‘sexting’). These issues are not necessarily new; some of us may have experienced this as a result of an accidental typo in an internet search, or from deliberately looking up rude words out of curiosity!

Some suggestions for parents to consider are:

Use parental control tools and filters to help reduce the risks of your child being exposed to sexual content

Be aware that these tools can’t be relied upon alone so consider other approaches such as supervision.

Build a positive and ongoing dialogue:

Sex and relationships can be an uncomfortable topic to discuss with children. It’s difficult to know the right age to have these conversations and there can be real fears about ‘ruining’ innocence. Childnethave some useful advice to help parents.

Being exposed to sexual content can be confusing and distressing; it’s important to have conversations with children from an early age so they feel able to seek support and advice.  Avoid using shaming or blaming terms – a fear of being punished may prevent children from accessing help

Schools should speak with children about sexualised content as part of age appropriate sex and relationships education (SRE). The PSHE association,  the Sex Education Forum and  UK Council for Child Internet Safety (UKCCIS)  have useful guidance for schools and colleges about discussing issues such as pornography and ‘sexting’.

Inappropriate sexualised behaviour by children can often be managed by schools and parents; however in some cases it may require specialist advice and support. It’s important for schools to have clear policies and procedures in place to support children who may be demonstrating problematic or abusive sexualised behaviours. Schools should access local procedures or support; this may include Local Safeguarding Children Board, Preventative Services and Social Care teams, or organisations such as

Every child should have the right to feel safe, whether at home or at school.  It is important that children and young people understand what acceptable behaviour looks like and parents have a vital role in setting those boundaries for their children.

We are really pleased that relationship education is going to become a statutory subject in 2019  and believe that preventing harmful sexual behaviour through proper, up-to-date sex and relationships education is immeasurably better than excluding children after the harm has been done.

Helping young people understand true consent

Children and young people need to understand the meaning of true consent and be able to have the confidence to speak out if they are being harmed.  We need to make sure that we recognise the difference between early potentially harmful sexual behaviour and work with partners to divert young people, as opposed to young peoples natural curiosity to experiment for which we do not want to unnecessarily criminalise.

The guidance on youth produced sexual images is an example of how the police and schools can work together to respond in a proportionately appropriate way.

We all have a duty of care to safeguard and protect children and young people in our society, young people need to be able to make safe choices on line and parents have a crucial role in supporting this and building good relationships with their children.  The police need to be ready to listen and support children and young people when they need us the most.

Keir McDonald

Founder and Director, EduCare
Expert Website

It is becoming increasingly more difficult for parents to be able to monitor their children; in regard to who they are mixing with, what they are doing and what they are being exposed to. For example, there is an increase in 13-14-year-olds thinking that sexting is normal and that learning about sexual relationships via pornographic sites is also the norm.

Good quality education on sex and relationships is key.

What can parents do? Firstly, don’t be afraid to talk to your children and encourage them to talk to you. Conversations should be honest and non-judgemental; trust from an early age can then be encouraged.

What can schools do

Having good quality sex and relationships education is imperative and should be delivered by staff that are comfortable in doing so. Schools should also think about utilising all staff, charities and agencies to come in and help deliver PSHE lessons as pupils may feel uncomfortable with their maths teacher delivering relationship advice.

Overall, children should be made to feel comfortable and listened to from an early age.

Dr Tamasine Preece

Head of Personal and Social Education
Expert Website

What can we take away from the recent news of 700 pupils being excluded from schools over the last four years?

Unfortunately, unwanted touching, physical and verbal harassment has always taken place in schools. The statistics that were published last week reflect that, whilst it is always very difficult for victims to come forward and I don’t doubt that for every incident that is reported, many others are not, young people are being encouraged and empowered by school staff to come forward and speak to professionals about their experiences. Furthermore, this data reflects the positive news that schools are finally beginning to take disclosures of sexual assault seriously, rather than ignoring, dismissing or victim-blaming.

Schools have a duty of care to provide an environment that preserves the rights, dignity and safety of all students. In implementing such a serious punishment as a fixed-term exclusion, it sends a clear signal to the perpetrator that the behaviour is viewed as the serious offence that it is, as well as reassuring the victim that they have the schools support.

Ultimately, however, we are talking about children, no matter how grown up they may look and feel. It is so important that parents get there first to challenge the proliferation of unhelpful and unhealthy representations of sexual behaviour and, most importantly, to listen without judgement.

Write the comment

Scroll Up