青少年(11-13)

在线安全建议

随着11和13之间的孩子转入更加独立的阶段进入中学,他们变得更加自信的互联网用户有更多样化的习惯。 互联网的使用对儿童来说非常积极,但继续与他们讨论在线安全至关重要。

青少年互联网安全检查表

使用我们的实用技巧列表,帮助青少年获得更安全的在线体验,并建立自己的弹性,以便在数字世界成长时充分利用它们。 您还可以找到一系列有用的工具和专家提示,以获得进一步的支持。

清单:在线支持11-13-years-olds

进行自由坦率的讨论

鼓励您的孩子与您讨论他们如何使用互联网并向您展示他们的工作。 与他们讨论他们可能遇到的事情。 谈话的好时机是他们获得新设备或提及新网站。

管理他们的设备

鼓励他们在公共区域(如起居室或厨房)使用他们的技术设备,并为您的孩子设置用户帐户。 如果您认为他们的年龄不足以拥有手机或平板电脑,请保持坚定并解释原因。

让自己掌控一切

启用 家长控制权 在您的家庭宽带,所有设备,包括手机和游戏机。 也可以激活安全搜索设置 谷歌 (和其他搜索引擎), YouTube 以及在娱乐网站上 iTunes的 iPlayer上.

在移动中保持安全

请注意,如果您的孩子使用公共WiFi访问互联网,他们可能没有安全功能。 一些提供商是家庭友好的WiFi方案的一部分,具有阻止不适当内容的过滤器 寻找友好的WiFi符号,如 Mumsnet家庭友好的WiFi RDI友好的WiFi 你外出时的符号。

达成协议

与他们达成协议并设定界限或拥有 家庭合同 他们的互联网使用,包括他们可以使用便携式设备的时间和地点,以及在他们习惯做自己的事情之前多久。

尽早开始讨论社交网络

与孩子谈论有关的益处和风险 社交网络 在他们加入任何网站之前。 让他们知道他们上传的任何内容,电子邮件或消息都可以永久保持在线。

保密私人信息

如果您的孩子确实拥有社交网络个人资料,请教他们阻止或忽略他人以及如何设置严格的隐私设置。 要求您或您信任的人成为他们的“朋友”或“追随者”,以检查对话和帖子是否合适。

检查年龄等级

游戏,应用程序,电影和社交网络带来的年龄等级是他们是否适合您孩子的良好指南。 例如,包括Facebook和Instagram在内的多个社交网站的年龄限制为13。

重要性:事实与统计

pdf图像

设备使用

拥有移动设备的12-15的孩子们 允许和他们一起睡觉

pdf图像

最大的父母关注

家长们担心孩子会积极参与 从事危险和危险的行为 比如联系他们不认识的人

pdf图像

屏幕时间管理

12-15s的父母发现它更难 控制孩子的屏幕时间

资源中心 文件

查看我们的育儿数字原生人报告,以更深入地了解父母对孩子数字生活的担忧。

特色推荐资源

了解学前儿童可能在网上做什么

什么问题可能会影响青少年?

以下是我们最喜欢的一些资源,可帮助您了解有关11-13年龄段电子安全的更多信息,并将消息传递给他们。 我们还突出了一些适当的应用程序,因为他们开始移动。

父母的指南和资源

图片

BBC iWonder指南

作为我们与BBC新合作伙伴关系的一部分,我们共同创建了一个互动指南,为您提供有关如何让您的孩子安全上网的实用技巧。 它涵盖了7的关键领域,如“掌控技术”和“我是什么样的父母?”。

图片

数字育儿

沃达丰的数字育儿提供了关于保持儿童在线安全的清单和实用建议。

图片

O2和NSPCC在线安全帮助热线

从设置家长控制到报告在线欺凌,您可以拨打0808 800 5002上的免费帮助热线,或访问店内的O2 Guru。

图片

适用于家庭的Google安全工具

使用Google Family Link设置基本规则,并使用一系列安全工具来帮助整个家庭建立良好的在线安全习惯。

图片

O2和NSPCC NetAware

O2和NSPCC的Net Aware是最受欢迎的社交网络,应用程序和带孩子游戏的50家长的指南。 您可以将其作为应用程序下载或访问该网站以获取最新信息。

图片

技术指南:在儿童设备上使用位置跟踪

在决定分享您孩子在其设备上的位置以及如何最好地使用提供位置跟踪的应用之前,您需要考虑以下内容。

图片

Facebook,Instagram,WhatsApp工具,用于浏览社交媒体安全

获取工具和技巧,以支持您的孩子在Facebook,Instagram和WhatsApp上的数字福利

图片

O2和NSPCC NetAware

O2和NSPCC的Net Aware是最受欢迎的社交网络,应用程序和带孩子游戏的50家长的指南。 您可以将其作为应用程序下载或访问该网站以获取最新信息。

图片

家长信息

家长信息是CEOP和家长区之间的合作。 它为父母和照顾者提供有关孩子健康和恢复能力的高质量信息。 学校可以在自己的网站上托管内容,并以任何其他方式(通过父母的信件等)使用它们。

图片

Young Minds父母帮助热线

年轻心理父母帮助热线可以为在25下担心儿童或青少年的父母和照顾者提供建议。 调用0808-802-5544获取支持。

图片

美国儿科医师学会

使用AAP的工具创建家庭媒体计划,以帮助您思考媒体并创建符合您家庭价值观的目标和规则。

图片

Mumsnet指南

保证五岁以下儿童在线安全的建议和重要提示。

图片

监控应用程序指南

在Pocket-lint的帮助下 安迪·罗伯逊,我们已经提供了如何最好地使用它们的提示,并审查了可用的顶级应用程序。

图片

Internet Matters Wellbeing Apps指南

我们已经搜索了最好的网络,以发现可供下载的流行(免费)健康应用程序。

图片

好应用指南

使用Good App Guide获得儿童应用程序,育儿和儿童发展建议的独立评论。 它由Fundamentally Children运营,该组织致力于帮助儿童通过游戏发展技能

与您的孩子一起进行的在线安全活动

图片

BBC拥有它

拥有它涵盖了从在线隐私和避免恶意软件,到处理儿童在线面对的日常困境,以及享受乐趣的一切。 快速链接到慈善机构和组织,如Childline,其电话线和在线聊天可以为儿童提供紧急支持,也将提供。

图片

Thinkuknow

适合年龄的游戏,活动和信息,可以教育年龄较大的儿童如何保持在线安全。

图片

BBC Bitesize

英国广播公司的“Bitesize”资源的一部分,适合11-14的儿童。 一个互动视频,帮助孩子识别和避免在线潜在的危险情况。

图片

谷歌国际

这是一款冒险的在线游戏,可让您了解互联网安全的互动性和趣味性。 在Interland,孩子们可以通过练习他们自信的在线探险家所需的技能,学习如何避免行为不端的黑客,网络钓鱼者和恶霸。

图片

停止发言支持代码

该代码由年轻人为年轻人创建,提供了采取积极行动处理网络欺凌的简单步骤。

帮助儿童从数字世界中获得最大收益的应用程序

图片

CBBC应用程序

从可怕的历史到倾倒场:在一个任务应用程序,牛熊证应用程序充满了有趣的活动,将吸引幼儿,并帮助他们通过游戏学习。

图片

Sky Kids App

Sky Kids应用程序为9岁儿童的学龄前儿童提供了一种有趣和安全的方式,可以享受各种流行的儿童电视节目。 家长们参与了Sky Kids应用程序的开发。 结果是一个孩子会喜欢的应用程序,由父母需要的安全功能支持。

图片

我来看看

这个应用程序旨在建立一个数字社区,孩子们可以与其他志同道合的孩子分享他们创造的艺术,故事,游戏,照片和竞赛。 孩子们可以关注朋友,其他PopJam账户,以及他们最喜欢的乐队,艺术家或作家。

图片

BBC iPlayer Kids

BBC iPlayer儿童应用程序让孩子们更容易访问他们喜欢的节目,而父母可以确信他们正在观看适合他们年龄的节目并且没有广告。 所有应用程序都可以免费下载 来自Apple的iOS 和Android通过 Google Play or 亚马逊.

向上滚动

Pre-teens (11-13)

Online safety advice

As children between the ages of 11 and 13 make the transition to a more independent stage with the move to secondary school, they become more confident internet users with more varied habits. Internet use can be hugely positive for children, but it’s vital to continue discussing online safety with them.

Internet safety checklist for pre-teens 

Use our list of practical tips to help children pre-teens have a safer online experience and build up their resilience to get the best out of the digital world as they grow. You’ll also find a range of helpful tools and expert tips for further support.

Checklist: Supporting 11-13-year-olds online

Have free and frank discussions

Encourage your child to talk to you about how they use the internet and show you what they do. Discuss with them the kinds of things they might come across. A good time to talk is when they get a new device or mention a new website.

Manage their devices

Encourage them to use their tech devices in a communal area such as the living room or kitchen and set up a user account for your child. If you think they aren’t old enough to have a mobile phone or tablet, stay firm and explain the reasons why.

Put yourself in control

Activate parental controls on your home broadband, all devices including mobile phones and games consoles. Safe search settings can also be activated on Google (and other search engines), YouTube and on entertainment sites like iTunes and iPlayer.

Stay safe on the move

Be aware that if your child is accessing the internet using public WiFi they may not have safety features active. Some providers are part of family friendly WiFi schemes with filters to block inappropriate content. Look out for friendly WiFi symbols like Mumsnet Family Friendly WiFi and RDI Friendly WiFi symbols when you’re out and about.

Have an agreement

Agree and set boundaries with them or have a family contract for their internet use, including when and where they can use portable devices and for how long, before they get used to doing their own thing.

Start discussions about social networking early

Talk to children about the benefits and risks of social networking before they join any sites. Let them know that anything they upload, email or message could stay around forever online.

Keep private information private

If your child does have a social networking profile, teach them to block or ignore people and how to set strict privacy settings. Request that you or someone you both trust becomes their ‘friend’ or ‘follower’ to check that conversations and posts are appropriate.

Check age ratings

The age ratings that come with games, apps, films and social networks are a good guide to whether they’re suitable for your child. For example, the age limit is 13 for several social networking sites including Facebook and Instagram.

Why it matters: Facts & Stats

pdf image

Device use

of children aged 12-15s who own a mobile are allowed to take it bed with them

pdf image

Biggest parental concern

Parents are concerned that children will actively engage in risky and dangerous behaviour such as contacting people they do not know

pdf image

Screen time management

of parents of 12-15s find it harder to control their child’s screen time

Resources document

See our parenting digital natives report to get more insight on parents concerns about their children’s digital lives.

Featured recommended resources

Learn about what pre-school children might be doing online

What issues might affect pre-teens?

Here are some of our favourite resources to help you learn more about e-safety for 11-13 year-olds and pass on the message to them. We’ve also highlighted some appropriate apps as they start to go mobile.

Guides and resources for parents

image

BBC iWonder Guide

As part of our new partnership with the BBC, we’ve worked together to create an interactive guide to give you practical tips on how you can keep your children safe online. It covers 7 key areas such as “Taking control with tech” and “What kind of parent am I?”.

image

Digital Parenting

Vodafone’s Digital Parenting provides checklists and practical advice on keeping children safe online.

image

O2 and NSPCC online safety helpline

From setting up parental controls to reporting online bullying, you can call the free helpline on 0808 800 5002, or visit an O2 Guru in store.

image

Google safety tools for families

Set ground rules with Google Family Link and use a range of safety tools to help the whole family build good online safety habits.

image

O2  & NSPCC NetAware

O2 and NSPCC’s Net Aware is a guide for parents of 50 of the most popular social networks, apps, and games with children. You can download it as an app or visit the site to stay informed.

image

Guide to tech: Using Location tracking on kids devices

Here’s what you need to consider before deciding to share your child’s location on their device and how to best use apps that offer location tracking.

image

Facebook, Instagram, WhatsApp tools to navigate social media safety

Get tools and tips to support your child’s digital wellbeing on Facebook, Instagram and WhatsApp

image

O2  & NSPCC NetAware

O2 and NSPCC’s Net Aware is a guide for parents of 50 of the most popular social networks, apps, and games with children. You can download it as an app or visit the site to stay informed.

image

Parent Info

Parent Info is a collaboration between CEOP and Parent Zone. It provides high-quality information to parents and carers about their children’s wellbeing and resilience. Schools can host the content on their own website and use it in any other ways (in letters to parents etc) that they want.

image

Young Minds parents helpline

Young Minds Parents Helpline is available to offer advice to parents and carers worried about a child or young person under 25. Call 0808-802-5544 to get support.

image

American Academy of Pediatricians 

Use the AAP’s ‏tool to create a family media plan to help you to think about media & create goals & rules that are in line with your family’s values.

image

Mumsnet Guide

Advice and top tips for keeping children under five safe online.

image

Guide to Monitoring apps

With the help of Pocket-lint’s Andy Robertson, we’ve given tips on how best to use them and reviewed the top apps available.

image

Internet Matters Wellbeing Apps guide

We’ve scoured the best of the net to uncover popular (FREE) wellbeing apps available to download.

image

Good App Guide

Use the Good App Guide to get independent reviews of children’s apps, parenting and child development advice. It is run by Fundamentally Children an organisation dedicated to helping children develop skills through play

Online safety activity to do with your child

image

BBC Own It

Own it covers everything from online privacy and avoiding malware, through to dealing with everyday dilemmas children face online, as well as having fun. Quick links to charities and organisations like Childline, whose phone lines and online chat can provide urgent support should children need it, will also be available.

image

Thinkuknow

Age-appropriate games, activities and information that can teach older children how to keep safe online.

image

BBC Bitesize

Part of the BBC’s ‘Bitesize’ resources and suitable for children aged 11-14. An interactive video that helps children to recognise and avoid potentially dangerous situations online.

image

Google Interland

This is an adventure-packed online game that makes learning about internet safety interactive and fun. In Interland, children can learn about avoiding badly-behaved hackers, phishers, and bullies by practicing the skills that they need to be confident online explorers.

image

Stop Speak Support code

Created by young people for young people, the code offers simple steps to take positive action to deal with cyberbullying.

Apps to help children get the most from the digital world

image

CBBC Apps

From Horrible Histories to The Dumping Ground: On A Mission app, CBBC apps are packed full of fun activities that will engage young children and help them learn through play.

image

Sky Kids App

The Sky Kids app offers a fun and safer way for pre-schoolers to nine-year-olds to enjoy a wide range of popular kids TV. Parents have been involved in the development of the Sky Kids app. The result is an app that kids will love, supported by safety features that parents need.

image

Popjam

This app aims to build a digital community where children can share art, stories, games, photos and contests that they’ve created with other like-minded children. Children can follow friends, other PopJam accounts, and their favourite band, artist or authors.

image

BBC iPlayer Kids

BBC iPlayer Kids app gives children easier access to their favourite programmes, while parents can be confident they’re watching shows appropriate for their age and free from adverts. All apps are free to download on iOS from Apple and Android via Google Play or Amazon.