儿童智能手机

为父母购买小贴士

随着年龄的增长,大多数孩子可能会要求使用自己的手机或智能手机,并且您希望能够在他们上中学或在家中度过更多时间时与他们保持联系。

智能手机为儿童提供了无论身在何处都可以连接到互联网的能力,因此您需要仔细考虑他们是否以及什么时候准备好移动,以及您对他们能够在线做什么感到高兴。

购买设备的专家家长提示

在为您的孩子投资智能手机之前,需要考虑以下事项。

它对您和您的孩子有何益处?

在进入不同的品牌,型号和合同之前,您必须清楚地了解您的孩子将如何使用手机以及它将如何使您的家人受益。 这通常主要是为了在他们上学时保持联系。 但是,当然,智能手机还提供其他好处,包括研究家庭作业,访问喜爱的节目,拍照和录像,玩游戏以及跟朋友和其他社交网络保持联系。

与孩子谈论这一点是了解好处和危险的重要方法。 它还让您有机会就如何在线互动和适当内容方面负责任地使用手机达成一致。 有一些有用的指南可以帮助您塑造这些对话,例如 Childnet家庭协议。

现收现付或合同?

由于您可能是您孩子的账单支付者,因此了解互联网浏览数据通常具有限制并且如果超出则可能需要额外费用,这一点非常重要。 现收现付是一种预付费系统,因此非常适合儿童使用。 每月合约需要定期支付,但可能会因超出配额而产生额外费用。

除了成本之外,还值得考虑的是现代智能手机通常会假设某种类型的互联网连接在外出时工作。 如果您想发送或接收图片或使用消息传递应用程序,那么在合同中包含数据非常重要。

如果您在孩子的电话合同中包含数据,则必须了解这将超出您在家庭Wifi互联网接入中设置的任何监控或限制。

大多数电话网络提供控制以限制儿童可以访问的数据并避免看到成人内容。 此外,还有一些特定的网络,如ID Mobile,提供内容限制,专门用于保护儿童免于通过相关应用在线观看不适当的内容。

设置社交和游戏应用

所有智能手机都可以访问最流行的社交媒体服务,例如Facebook和Twitter,这可能是许多儿童手机上最常用的功能之一。 同样值得考虑的是,这些手机中的许多手机现在足够强大,能够通过在线互动来运行复杂的视频游戏。

像Roblox和Fortnite这样的游戏,在智能手机上运行,​​是孩子们与在线不认识的人互动的常用方式。 了解这一点使您可以在手机本身和特定视频游戏中设置适当的限制和限制。

安迪罗伯逊的专家建议,读了他的书, 驯服游戏 预订特定游戏的提示。

哪个手机搞定?

如果您的孩子在紧急情况下只需要一部电话,那么一个简单的人就可以。 更基本(非智能)手机的好处是它们的电池持续时间更长,因此它们不需要每晚充电。

如果您希望您的孩子访问更多功能,那么智能手机是更好的选择。 这些比基本手机贵,但作为儿童手机提供更广泛的功能。 它们本质上是您的孩子随身携带的迷你电脑。 除了成本之外,值得注意的是,更复杂的手机需要更多时间并考虑设置它们。

最后,随着智能手机成本的增加,您应该考虑它们受损或被盗的影响。 保护性手机壳对于年轻人来说是必不可少的,如果手机放错地方,保险可能是个好主意。

Apple还是Android?

在最受欢迎的手机中,那些在Android上运行的手机往往会更复杂,有更多选项,而Apple通常会让事情变得更简单。 Apple和Android都提供限制互联网访问和购买应用程序的方法。 但是,其他手机可能更适合年幼的孩子,有些则在下面进行评论。

在成本,功能和简单性之间找到平衡点是您孩子使用合适手机的关键。 避免给他们打电话,因为这是另外一个孩子得到的。 虽然同伴压力可以在这里发挥作用,但重要的是根据其运行方式获得适当的设备。 您最了解您的孩子,并且能够选择适合他们和您的合适技术。 我们的过渡指南 回到学校扩大了这个主题。

为您的孩子考虑的电话

查看当前可用的所选手机的评论,其中包含适合其年龄的指针,功能级别以及它们提供的安全功能。

三星Galaxy J3 2017

三星Galaxy J4因其坚固的设计和强大的功能而成为儿童的理想选择。 它具有防尘和防水功能,并有多种颜色可供选择。

作为一款稍微陈旧的手机,它的售价为115.80,可为您带来很多功能。 像正面和背面面向相机和充足的存储空间。

最好的任何三星Galaxy手机都是 儿童模式应用程序。 下载并设置后,它为您的孩子提供了一种安全使用手机的超级简单方法。 这可能是一个让孩子习惯于年龄较小的手机,然后随着年龄的增长而逐渐恢复使用的好方法。

儿童模式应用程序通过设置PIN来防止您的孩子退出儿童模式,从而保护您的孩子免于访问可能有害的内容。 家长控制功能允许您为孩子的使用设置限制并自定义您提供的内容。

Back to top


Monqi儿童智能手机

Monqi手机专为年幼的孩子设计,同时看起来和感觉像他们父母拥有的Android和iOS手机。

这提供了良好的控制,以及应用它们的非常简单的方法。 这使父母和孩子能够同意并管理手机上的所有内容。

它可以在特易购移动现收现付合同中以109的价格购买,也可以从12的月租合约中免费获得。

Monqi手机链接到iPhone或Android设备的应用程序,可作为儿童手机上所有可用设备的遥控器。 即使来电者的联系也仅限于经过批准的姓名和由父母决定的人员。

应用程序可以安装,播放和看起来像Android对应的应用程序,但只能在成人批准通过自己的手机通知后安装。 在紧急情况下,可以通过家长的应用程序远程跟踪Monqi的位置。

这是一个理想的方式,让他们的第一个智能手机的六岁以上青少年,而不必担心他们的担忧。

Back to top


华为Y6 2017

华为Y6 2017是价格和功能的完美结合。 它配备了5英寸显示屏和高品质相机。 它还有一个改进的扬声器,适用于通话,也适合听音乐,这是孩子们经常在智能手机上做的事情。

它适用于£109,代表着卓越的价值。

它还拥有比一些同等价位手机更大的3,000mAh电池,确保您的孩子即使最近没有为手机充电也可以取得联系。 有四种不同颜色可供选择。

Back to top


诺基亚6

目前,诺基亚手机由一家名为HMD Global的公司制造,并以Android作为操作系统。 对于合理指定的手机而言,它们的价格也很合理,诺基亚6为199英寸手机的成本为5.5,并且具有我们在现代智能手机中所期望的大量模式。

16百万像素后置摄像头和8百万像素前置快照器非常适合自拍和社交照片。

与市场上的许多其他手机一样,诺基亚6配备了指纹扫描仪,可以保护手机的锁定和安全。 它位于此特定设备的正面。

家长控制是基于Android的,有很多第三方应用程序可以帮助限制手机使用量和屏幕时间。 可以在Google Play应用商店中轻松找到它们。 如果200仍然有点超出您的价格范围,您还可以将诺基亚3视为大约120,这会牺牲一些硬件性能以获得更便宜的惊险刺激。

Back to top


诺基亚3310

如果您已达到某个年龄,您将会记住最初的诺基亚3310。 对于许多人来说,这是他们拥有的第一款合适的手机,如果不出意外的话,我们通过Snake向我们介绍了手机游戏。

这款手机最近已经重新设计并重新发布,价格为49,提供的手机基本不是智能手机,但却是市场上最安全,最简单的手机之一。

虽然这不会让您的孩子想要拥有一台多功能智能手机,但它可以让您保持联系。 此外,由于它不是智能手机,您不必担心应用内购买和网页浏览是非常基本的,因此孩子不会在不适当的网站世界中丢失。 它也无法访问任何社交消息服务,因此这也可能会降低父母的注意力。

相反,它配备了全彩色屏幕,本质上是一部电话,用于打电话给人们。 它可以发短信,当然,它也带有更新形式的Snake游戏。

Back to top


摩托罗拉摩托G5

这是众多预算Android智能手机中的一款。 摩托罗拉G5(£134.99)对儿童表现出色的是强大的构建质量。 它能够应对孩子生命中的跌落和敲击。

它具有良好的相机和指纹传感器,增加了安全性。 它具有良好的蓝牙连接,是儿童听音乐或有声读物的绝佳选择。
虽然它不是超级快,但它对于年轻用户想要做的大多数事情都有足够的马力。

如果你想稍微更高的规格以获得更多的钱,摩托罗拉G6 Play(£179.99)可延长电池续航时间,提供大型18:9屏幕,可以更快地运行游戏。

Back to top


iPhone 8

苹果在2017上推出了三款新手机,而iPhone 8可能更容易上市。 它仍然不便宜,售价为599,但与1,000的顶级iPhone X相比,价格更便宜。

在软件和速度方面,青少年用户无论如何都不会知道太多差异。

安全性再次通过前面的指纹扫描仪,而Apple仍然是最安全的选择之一,以确保手机不受病毒或外部软件的侵害。 Apple保持其平台锁定,所有应用程序在可用之前首先获得公司批准。

最新版本的操作系统iOS 12中的家长控制设置易于导航,并且可以将许多功能限制为针对特定年龄的障碍。 此外,设置中的新屏幕时间部分提供了手机使用各个方面的详细信息。 您可以设置就寝时间并限制对某些应用程序的访问。

Back to top


iPhone SE

如果您的孩子需要iPhone但iPhone 8价格过高,iPhone SE仍在销售中,是一个不错的选择。 它也比后来的模型更强大,虽然放弃它是不明智的,但它不太可能从年轻用户的掌握中滑落。 还有很多保护套可以配对。

它的成本为£349。

您可以像在其他iPhone上一样访问iOS12屏幕时间控件。 这是为年轻手机用户应用限制和就寝时间的绝佳方式。

因此,您可以限制孩子可以访问的内容。 此外,在App Store中,有一个基于年龄的限制可以用于应用和游戏下载。

Back to top


Google Pixel 2和3

这是谷歌自己的手机,正在成为一个受欢迎的选择。 价格昂贵,起价为629英镑,但它的合同成本较低,是使用手机观看电视节目和YouTube剪辑的青少年最好的Android手机之一。

如今,智能手机的安全性至关重要,Pixel的指纹扫描仪是最好的之一。 它确保在您孩子不打印的情况下无法访问私人信息。 如果您还需要访问手机,您甚至可以注册自己的。

但Pixel擅长的地方是家长控制。 由于这款手机配备了谷歌的核心Android软件,而不是制造商调整,它具有出色的控制功能,可以微调对手机各个方面的访问,包括应用程序,社交媒体和网页浏览。

与Apple的屏幕时间报告类似,Pixel手机现在提供数字健康应用程序。 这提供了所有内置功能的功能,可帮助您了解和平衡每天的使用级别。

仪表板概述了您如何在手机上花费时间,每日概览,使用不同应用程序的频率图表,解锁手机的次数以及收到的通知数量。

有一个特别好的Wind Down功能,可以将屏幕淡入灰度,帮助孩子在睡前接近时断开连接。

这些功能确实需要付出代价。 Pixel 2的成本约为499.99,而Pixel 3的成本为780。

对于Pixel 3的额外费用,您可以使用额外的广角前置摄像头。 Pixel 3还具有更大的电池和无线充电功能。 除了这些特定功能外,新款手机通常比以前的型号更快,更强大。

Back to top


沃达丰Smart V8

仅适用于沃达丰客户,因此必须与该网络的合同配对,Smart V8是一款坚固,精心打造的智能手机,适用于年龄稍大的儿童,不会破坏银行业务。

它有一个大的5.5英寸显示屏,但成本仅为160。

Smart V8配备一个电池,一次充电即可轻松持续一整天 - 如果您的孩子在睡眠状态并希望保持联系,这一点非常重要。 但更重要的是,它伴随着Android手机通常所知的所有父母的钟声和口哨声。 它的后部还有一个指纹传感器。

只是32GB的内部存储器并没有扩展的microSD卡插槽,这有点受到阻碍,但在很多方面可以确保您的孩子不会充满视频或应用程序,您不会赞成。

Back to top


支持资源和指南

向上滚动

Smartphones for children

Buying tips for parents

As they get older, most children will probably ask for their own mobile or smartphone, and you’ll want to be able to stay in touch with them when they start secondary school or spend more time away from home.

Smartphones offer children the ability to be connected to the internet wherever they are, so you need to carefully consider if and when they’re ready to go mobile and what you’re happy for them to be able to do online.

Expert Parent Tips For Buying a Device

Here are the things to consider before investing in a smartphone for your child.

How will it benefit you and your child?

Before getting into the different makes, models, and contracts it’s important you have a clear understanding of how your child will use the phone and how it will benefit your family. This is often primarily about staying in touch when they travel to school. But, of course, smartphones offer other benefits too, from researching homework, accessing favourite programmes, taking pictures and videos, playing games as well as keeping up with friends and other social networks.

Talking about this with your child is an essential way to understand both the benefits and dangers. It also gives you a chance to agree with them on how they will use the phone responsibly, both in terms of online interactions and appropriate content. There are some helpful guides to helps you shape these conversations, like the Childnet Family agreement.

Pay-as-you-go or contract?

As you’re likely to be the bill payer for your children, it’s important to know that data for internet browsing often has limits and can cost extra if exceeded. Pay-as-you-go is a pre-pay system and therefore ideal for children. Monthly contracts cost a regular amount but could incur further charges for going over allowances.

Along with the costs, it’s also worth considering that modern smartphones often assume an internet connection of some sort to work when out and about. If you want to send or receive pictures or use messaging apps, then including data in the contract is important.

Where you do include data in the contract of your child’s phone it’s important to understand that this will be outside any monitoring or restrictions you set up as part of your home Wifi internet access.

The majority of phone networks provide controls to limit the data children can access and avoid seeing adult content. Also, there are some specific networks like ID Mobile that provide content restrictions specifically to protect children from viewing inappropriate content online via a related app.

Setting up social and gaming apps

All smartphones have access to the most popular social media services, such as Facebook and Twitter, and this is probably one of the most used features on many children’s phones. It’s also worth considering that many of these phones are now powerful enough to run complex video games with online interactions.

Games like Roblox and Fortnite, running on smartphones, are a common way for children to interact with people they don’t know online. Understanding this enables you to set-up appropriate restrictions and limits in the phone itself and specific video games.

Expert advice from Andy Robertson, read his book, Taming Gaming book for tips on specific games.

Which phone to get?

If your child only needs a phone for emergencies then a simple one will do. The benefit of more basic (non-smart) phones is that their battery lasts much longer so they don’t need charging every night.

If you want your child to access more features, then a smartphone is a better option. These are more expensive than a basic phone but provide much wider functionality as a child’s phone. They are essentially mini-computers your child can carry around with them. Along with the cost, it’s worth bearing in mind that more complex phones require more time and consideration setting them up.

Finally, as the costs of smartphones increase you should consider the implications of them being damaged or stolen. A protective phone case is essential for youngsters, and insurance can be a good idea in case the phone is misplaced.

Apple or Android?

Of the most popular phones, those running on Android tend to be more complicated with more options, while Apple’s usually keep things simpler. Both Apple and Android offer ways to restrict access to the internet and the ability to purchase apps. However, other phones may be more appropriate for younger children and some are reviewed below.

Finding a balance between cost, features, and simplicity is the key for the right phone for your child. Avoid getting them a phone because that’s the one other children have got. Although peer pressure can play a part here it’s important that you get the appropriate device on the basis of how it functions. You know your child best and are in a position to choose the right technology that works for them and you. Our Transition guide for back to school expands on this topic.

Phones to consider for your child

See reviews of selected phones that are currently available with pointers on the age they’re appropriate for, their level of functionality and the safety features they offer.

Samsung Galaxy J3 2017

The Samsung Galaxy J4 is a good option for children because of its robust design and strong features. It is dust resistant and water repellant and comes in a choice of colours.

As a slightly older handset, it’s available at £115.80, which gets you a lot of feature for your money. Like a front and rear facing the camera and plenty of storage.

Best of all with any Samsung Galaxy phone is the Kids Mode app. Once you download and set this up it offers a super simple way for your child to use the phone safely. This can be a good way to get a child used to a phone at a younger age and then graduate to fuller use as they get older.

The Kids Mode app protects your child from accessing potentially harmful content by setting up a PIN to prevent your child from exiting Kids Mode. A parental control feature allows you to both set limits to your child’s usage and customise the content you make available.

Back to top


Monqi Kids Smartphone

The Monqi phone is specifically designed for young children while looking and feeling like the Android and iOS handsets their parents own.

This offers good controls, along with very simple ways to apply them. This enables parents and children to agree and regulate everything on the phone.

It is available for £109 on a Tesco Mobile pay-as-you-go contract or from £12 monthly contract with the phone coming free.

The Monqi phone links to an app for an iPhone or Android device, which acts as the remote control over everything available on the child’s handset. Even caller contacts are restricted to approved names and people decided upon by a parent.

Apps can be installed, and play and look like their Android counterparts, but will only install after an adult approves through a notification on their own phone. And the Monqi’s location can be tracked remotely through the parent’s app in case of emergencies.

It’s an ideal way of giving a pre-teen aged six and above their first smartphone without the worries attached to them.

Back to top


Huawei Y6 2017

A good combination of price and features is the Huawei Y6 2017. It comes with a 5-inch Display and high quality camera. It also has an improved loud speaker that’s good for calls but also for listening to music, something that children will often do on their smartphones.

It’s available for £109, which represents excellent value.

It also has a larger 3,000mAh battery than some similarly priced phones which ensures your child can get in touch even if they haven’t recently charged the phone. There are a choice of four different colours.

Back to top


Nokia 6

These days, Nokia phones are made by a company called HMD Global and come with Android as the operating system. They are also well priced for reasonably specified handsets, with the Nokia 6 costing £199 for a 5.5-inch handset with plenty of the mod-cons we’ve come to expect in a modern smartphone.

The 16-megapixel rear camera and 8-megapixel front snapper are great for selfies and social photos alike.

Like many other phones on the market, the Nokia 6 has a fingerprint scanner to keep the handset locked and secure. It is on the front on this particular device.

Parental controls are Android-based and there are plenty of third-party applications to help restrict the amount of phone usage and screen time. They can be easily found in the Google Play app store. If £200 is still a little out of your price range, you could also consider the Nokia 3 for around £120, which sacrifices some of the hardware performance for cheaper thrills.

Back to top


Nokia 3310

If you are of a certain age you will remember the original Nokia 3310. For many, it was the first proper mobile phone they owned and, if nothing else, introduced us to mobile gaming through Snake.

The phone has recently been reimagined and re-released for £49, providing a basic mobile handset that isn’t quite a smartphone but is one of the most secure and simple to use on the market.

While this won’t quench your child’s desire to have a multi-purpose smartphone, it will enable you to keep in touch. Also, because it’s not a smartphone you don’t have to worry about in-app purchases and web-browsing is very basic, so a child won’t be lost in a world of inappropriate sites. It doesn’t have access to any of the social messaging services either, so that could also be a weight off the mind of a parent.

Instead, it comes with a full-colour screen and is essentially a phone used for, well, phoning people. It can text and it does, of course, come with an updated form of the Snake game.

Back to top


Motorola Moto G5

This is one of a number of budget Android smartphones available. Where the Motorola G5 (£134.99) does well for children is the robust build quality. It is more than able to cope with the drops and knocks of a child’s life.

It has a good camera as well as a fingerprint sensor for added security. It has good Bluetooth connectivity and is a great option for children to listen to music or audiobooks.
Although it’s not super fast, it has plenty of horsepower for most things a younger user will want to do.

If you want slightly higher specs for a little more money, the Motorola G6 Play (£179.99) extends the battery life, offers a large 18:9 screen and can run games faster.

Back to top


iPhone 8

Apple introduced three new phones in 2017 at the higher-end of the market, with the iPhone 8 perhaps the more accessible. It’s still not cheap, priced from £599, but is more affordable in comparison with the top-of-the-range iPhone X at around £1,000.

In terms of software and speed, a teenage user wouldn’t know much difference anyway.

Security is again through a fingerprint scanner on the front, while Apple continues to be one of the safest options to ensure the phone is not compromised by viruses or external software. Apple keeps its platform locked down, with all apps first approved by the company before they become available.

The parental control settings in the latest version of the operating system, iOS 12, are easy to navigate and can restrict many of the features to age-specific barriers. In addition a new Screen Time section in the settings provides detail breakdown of every aspect of the phone’s use. You can set bedtimes and limit access to certain applications.

Back to top


iPhone SE

If your child wants an iPhone but the iPhone 8 is too prohibitively pricey, the iPhone SE is still on sale and is a great option. It is also more robust than the later models and while it is ill-advised to drop it, it’s less likely to slip from the grasp of a younger user. There are also plenty of protective cases to pair it with.

It costs from £349.

You can access the iOS12 screen time controls as on other iPhones. This is an excellent way to apply restrictions and bed times for younger phone users.

You can limit, therefore, what content your child can access. Also, from within the App Store, there is an age-based restriction that can be put in place for app and game downloads.

Back to top


Google Pixel 2 and 3

This is Google’s own phone and is becoming a popular choice. It is expensive, starting at £629, but it will cost less up-front on a contract and is one of the best Android phones for teenagers who use their handset to watch TV shows and YouTube clips on.

Security is paramount on smartphones these days and the Pixel’s fingerprint scanner is one of the best around. It ensures private information cannot be accessed without your child’s print. You can even register your own too, in case you need to access the phone as well.

But where the Pixel excels is with parental controls. As this handset comes with Google’s core Android software, rather than manufacturer adjustments, it has excellent controls to fine tune access to all aspects of the phone, including apps, social media and web browsing.

Similar to Apple’s Screen Time reports, the Pixel phones now provide a Digital Wellbeing app. This offers features across all built in features to help you understand and balance the level of use each day.

The Dashboard provides an overview on how you spend time on the phone, with a daily overview, a graphic of how frequently you use different apps, how many times you unlock your phone, and how many notifications you receive.

There’s a particularly nice Wind Down feature that will fade the screen to grayscale to help children disconnect as bedtime approaches..

These features do come at a price. The Pixel 2 costs around £499.99, while the Pixel 3 costs £780.

For the extra money on the Pixel 3 you can an additional wide-angle front facing camera. The Pixel 3 also has a larger battery and wireless charging. Along with these specific features the newer phone is generally faster and more robust than the previous model.

Back to top


Vodafone Smart V8

Available for Vodafone customers only and must, therefore, be paired with a contract from that network, the Smart V8 is a solid, well-built smartphone for slightly older children that won’t break the bank.

It has a large 5.5-inch display yet costs just £160.

The Smart V8 comes with a battery that easily lasts a full day on a single charge – important if your child is on a sleep over and you want to keep in touch. But more importantly, it comes with all the parental bells and whistles Android handsets are usually known for. It also has a fingerprint sensor on the rear.

It is slightly hampered by just 32GB of internal storage and no microSD card slot to expand that, but in many ways that can ensure your child won’t fill it full of videos or apps, you wouldn’t approve of.

Back to top


Supporting resources and guides

Scroll Up