儿童笔记本电脑和平板电脑

为父母购买小贴士

静态家用计算机的想法可能已经过时。 平板电脑的使用正在增加,对便携式连接的需求意味着现在更多家庭选择笔记本电脑。

为您的家庭购买合适的设备实际上取决于使用情况以及它们是否纯粹用于娱乐或家庭作业和项目。 了解不同的操作系统和内置安全级别可以帮助您做出正确的决策。

购买设备的专家家长提示

购买笔记本电脑或平板电脑时应考虑的五件事

我应该买平板电脑还是笔记本电脑?

决定购买哪种产品的最简单方法是考虑如何使用它们。 和你的孩子谈谈他们想做什么。 另外,请与您孩子的老师讨论这种技术如何支持他们的学习。 最后,询问其他有相似年龄孩子的家庭,哪种技术最适合他们。

如果您只需要浏览互联网,观看视频和访问社交媒体,那么平板电脑是您最好的选择。 对于那些需要长时间坐在键盘上或需要更复杂的软件(如编码和设计)的人,建议使用笔记本电脑。 值得注意的是,虽然大多数学校的家庭作业网站都可以用于平板电脑和笔记本电脑,但后者的键盘和更高分辨率的屏幕可以让它更容易上班。

保护

所有笔记本电脑和平板电脑都可以在设置过程中指定密码,PIN或指纹锁。 这意味着除了您之外,没有人可以解锁它们以进入“主屏幕”或访问您家人的任何个人详细信息或文件而无需您的入学要求。

此外,要以这种方式控制对系统的访问,您需要考虑如何引导孩子使用设备的时间。 如果您家中已经有智能手机或其他计算机监控系统,则值得检查新设备是否兼容。 无论哪种方式,在让您的孩子放松使用新技术之前,请与他们讨论在线安全行为,请参阅我们的网站 互联网礼仪 关于此的建议的最佳提示。

电子书阅读器怎么样?

如果您觉得您的孩子不需要平板电脑提供的连接,但希望为他们提供阅读和学习的平板电脑体验,电子书阅读器看起来像平板电脑,但在技术上是不同的。

它就像一本数字图书,专门用于下载和阅读书籍。 他们的电子纸屏幕不像平板电脑,显示器或电视屏幕那样背光,这使得它们在长时间内更容易在眼睛上使用。

亚马逊Kindle设备的范围是最知名的电子书阅读器,电子书可从Kindle商店获得,而Nook和Kobo也提供自己的设备和商店。

然而,就像在有真实书籍的书店里一样,电子书并没有附带年龄等级。 因此,一些成熟的内容可用,但可能要求在Kindle Store下载之前输入密码,作为父母控制的附加层。 与您的孩子谈论他们想要阅读的书籍或幼儿,请关注儿童电子书部分。

笔记本电脑的哪个操作系统?

如果您已确定笔记本电脑是您孩子的最佳途径,则需要考虑使用哪种操作系统。 有三个主要系统:Windows,Mac OS X和Chrome OS,价格可能根据笔记本电脑的需要而有所不同。

如果你正在网上冲浪并做孩子的家庭作业,运行Chrome OS的预算笔记本电脑将花费大约200。 那些希望进行照片或视频编辑的人可能需要更强大的功能。 运行Windows或Mac OS X的笔记本电脑顶级产品的价格为1,500或更高。 父母们发现孩子们在技术上学得很快,而且变得越来越野心勃勃,所以如果在你的预算范围内,那么获得更强大的东西是件好事。

平板电脑的哪个操作系统?

不同的平板电脑使用不同的操作系统,其中Android和Apple是最常见的。 Google的Android操作系统可以在多种制造商的平板电脑上找到,价格也各不相同,特别是在预算结束时。 Apple的iPad通常更贵,但提供了出色的可用性。 两者都有专门的应用程序商店,允许您直接通过平板电脑购买应用程序。

同样,如果您已经在家中安装了Apple或Google设备,那么从同一制造商添加新技术通常是最简单的方法。 这使您可以将相同的设置应用于智能手机的平板电脑。

为您的孩子考虑的平板电脑和笔记本电脑

查看目前可用的精选笔记本电脑和平板电脑的评论,其中包含适合其年龄的指针,功能级别及其提供的安全功能。

三星标签A.

借助儿童模式功能,适合所有年龄段儿童的高端规格

三星Tab A是儿童的不错选择,特别是如果搭配坚固的手提箱以防止撞击。 它具有明亮的超高分辨率屏幕,比标准高清屏幕具有更多像素。 这使孩子们可以轻松阅读,观看视频或图片看起来很棒。

它的价格是199英镑。

它具有一些巧妙的功能,使家庭更容易维护和使用平板电脑。 SideSync允许您在使用其他应用程序时检查和回复通知和消息。 您可以直接连接到Wi-Fi并将内容流式传输到电视。 像其他三星科技一样,它有儿童模式应用程序,以保持您的孩子在线安全和健康。

它还有一个很棒的自动对焦相机,可以创建超级照片和视频。 这一点,屏幕和处理能力使其无论是写作,绘图,学习编码甚至编辑视频,都能够进行广泛的创作活动。

Back to top


Kurio智能平板电脑

一体式平板电脑,可转换为迷你便携式电脑

观看我们的家长博主Adele和她的儿子Jacob在2平板电脑上查看Kurio Smart 1
Kurio智能平板电脑是一款Android 10英寸平板电脑,配备可拆卸键盘和磁性保护套,可为青少年或青少年创造便携式迷你电脑,无论是做作业还是玩“即时网球”等运动游戏。

它的价格是179英镑。

与其他Kurio平板电脑一样,它配备了Kurio Genius家长控制软件,可让您根据自己的操作,可以使用的应用程序设置屏幕时间控制,打开“蓝光过滤器”并管理何时可以访问平板电脑。

该软件还可以过滤和监控32亿个网站,以确保您的孩子看到适合年龄的内容。 它预装了文字处理器,演示工具,电子表格等,并且与其他Microsoft和Google Docs完全兼容,允许孩子们轻松完成他们的所有学校任务。

访问Kurio网站了解更多信息

Back to top


Kurio Tab Connect

具有精选内容和屡获殊荣的软件的出色平板电脑


观看我们的家长博主阿黛尔和她的儿子雅各布审查Kurio Tab Connect平板电脑
Kurio Tab Connect是更便宜的选择,也是刚刚开始探索网络世界的年轻孩子的第一款平板电脑。 Kurio Genius家长软件允许您设置时间控件,选择您希望他们使用的应用程序,并使用Kurio Connect应用程序远程关闭平板电脑。

它的价格是99英镑。

它还会每天过滤,分类和更新32十亿个网站,以确保您的孩子只能看到与年龄相关的内容。 您可以在设备上创建最多8个性化配置文件,这样平板电脑就可以被整个系列使用,并且可以通过其保护外壳和防指纹涂层来承受磨损。

它预装了一系列应用程序,例如动作游戏“Instant Tennis”,因为它是Android平板电脑,您可以从Google Apps商店中的一系列应用程序中进行选择,供您的孩子使用。

Back to top


苹果iPad迷你4

小巧轻便的平板电脑,可以满足孩子的需求

苹果有一段时间没有更新iPad mini,但很容易理解为什么; 目前的iPad mini 4仍然像以往一样好。

它不仅可以长时间保持轻便状态,而且还可以运行每个应用程序以及Apple系列中更大,更新的型号。 这是昂贵的,但很少有平板电脑,因为它很容易拿起和使用。

它的价格是399英镑。

Apple仍然是确保手机不受病毒或外部软件侵害的最安全选择之一。 Apple保持其平台锁定,所有应用程序在可用之前首先获得公司批准。

最新版本的操作系统iOS 12中的家长控制设置易于导航,并且可以将许多功能限制为针对特定年龄的障碍。 此外,设置中的新屏幕时间部分提供了电话使用的各个方面的详细分类。 您可以设置就寝时间并限制对某些应用程序的访问。

如果您将iPad Mini与坚固的外壳配对,它将成为年轻人的绝佳平板电脑。 添加到新的屏幕时间功能,很容易看到他们如何使用它。 这不是最便宜的选择,而是与孩子一起成长的选择,因为他们在网络活动中变得更加雄心勃勃。

Back to top


苹果iPad

带有专用教育应用的高端平板电脑
苹果最新推出的9.7英寸iPad型号不再采用经过更新处理的处理器,确保操作流畅,快速,它还支持Pencil - Apple自带的手写笔设备,这是一个可选的附加功能。

这意味着孩子们可以像普通的纸垫一样绘制iPad并与之互动。 iPad还有专门的教育应用程序,包括一些教师帮助塑造数字课程的想法和任务。

可从£319购买。

最新版本的操作系统iOS 12中的家长控制设置易于导航,并且可以将许多功能限制为针对特定年龄的障碍。 此外,设置中的新屏幕时间部分提供了电话使用的各个方面的详细分类。 您可以设置就寝时间并限制对某些应用程序的访问。

但是,iOS是最简单的操作系统之一,孩子们会喜欢9.7英寸显示屏提供的额外屏幕尺寸。 它也比小型iPad mini 4便宜得多。

Back to top


华硕Chromebook C202

适合儿童使用的笔记本电脑,以满足老年人的需求

对于想为孩子准备合适笔记本电脑的家庭来说,这是一个很好的选择。 这款华硕型号提供180度铰链,防泼溅键盘和增强橡胶包裹的框架,可满足儿童日常的严格要求和强烈使用。

它的设计重量轻,适合儿童使用两个手柄,提供更好的握持点。 它还有一个好的电池,可以持续10小时。 另外一个很好的补充是内置的HDMI输出可以将任何内容发送到电视,还有一个SD卡读卡器可以从相机导入视频和照片。 屏幕本身为11.6英寸和防眩光,便于观看。

Google Family Link 确保您可以设置Chromebook,让您的孩子安全,健康地使用。 这不仅可以向您展示他们如何使用它,还可以让您设置一周中不同日期的屏幕时间限制。
数字福利 然后通过揭示您如何使用手机的完整图片来扩展这一点。 它提供每日花费时间,使用应用程序的频率以及获得的通知数量。 这是一个很好的工具,可以确保您的孩子(以及您的家庭)通过技术养成健康的习惯。

它的成本为£199。

如果您为孩子使用合适的笔记本电脑,这是一个很好的选择。 不仅具有广泛的功能,而且具有防泼溅的全尺寸键盘,这对该设备来说是一个非常大的不同。

Back to top


亚马逊Fire 7

提供物有所值和访问AI助手

Fire 7不是市场上最强大的平板电脑,但它是最有价值的平板电脑之一,这是肯定的。 它使您可以访问应用程序,您的Kindle书籍,亚马逊视频和其他视频服务 - 如Netflix等等。

全部用于约50。 还有Alexa语音助手支持,因此您不仅可以询问Alexa问题并控制智能家居设备,还可以在家中呼叫Echo设备。

它适用于£49.99。

亚马逊的家长控制通常非常出色,能够为不同的配置文件设置不同的选项。 这意味着每个家庭成员都可以拥有自己的个人资料,只会显示适合他们的内容。

通过Kids Unlimited订阅,获得更多控制权和访问更多内容的好方法。 这提供了超过5,000儿童友好的应用程序,书籍等等,所有这些都没有应用内购买。

Back to top


亚马逊Fire HD 7儿童版

儿童友好的平板电脑,一年可以访问精选的儿童媒体

亚马逊Fire 7儿童版平板电脑基本上与Fire 7评测的设备完全相同。 然而,它配有一个明亮的蓝色,粉红色或黄色保护壳,确保它在小手下落时不会粉碎。

即使它确实破裂了,你也可以从亚马逊那里得到一份为期两年,毫无瑕疵的保证。 无论它如何受损,网上商店将在头两年内免费更换。

虽然在亚马逊的许多销售中寻找便宜货,但你可以为99.99买单。

与7英寸亚马逊Fire 7一样,您可以使用Kids Unlimited设置儿童的个人资料,只有适当的游戏,书籍和视频可供播放,阅读或查看。 最大的区别在于,您可以使用Kids Edition免费访问一年。 家长控制也同样优秀且易于实施。

Back to top


亚马逊Fire HD 8儿童版

小巧强大的平板电脑,可以访问精选的媒体和应用程序

Fire HD 8略微昂贵但功能更强大,拥有更大的8英寸屏幕,具有更好的高清分辨率,可确保图像和视频更清晰。 它还拥有比Fire 7版本更多的内部存储空间,在较小的设备上通过32GB提供16GB。

两者都可以通过microSD卡进一步升级。 可提供相同的保护保险杠选择和无瑕疵保证。

Fire HD 8儿童版售价£129.99。

与所有亚马逊Fire平板电脑一样,HD 8 Kids Edition上的家长控制非常出色。 您可以为该系列的每个成员设置不同的限制。

由于它与Fire HD 8基本相同,您可以自己使用它来观看视频,阅读电子书等。 Kids Unlimited订阅服务也在这里免费提供一年。

Back to top


沃达丰Smart V8

为年幼的孩子制作的围墙花园平板电脑

除了亚马逊的产品,它们是有效的重新成熟的平板电脑,很少有设备专门针对幼儿。

然而,伟易达的平板电脑来自玩具角度,提供带围墙花园的应用程序和游戏套件,以及专为3至9岁设计的内置摄像头和互联网浏览器。

您可以选择一个大约£100。

由于伟易达系统是专有的,因此您无法在InnoTab Max上安装外部应用程序或软件,因此它对于年轻人来说是安全的。 所有游戏和应用程序均由VTech的私人服务器销售和提供,互联网浏览选项仅限于适合年龄的内容。 它还包括与大品牌和PJ Masks和迪斯尼频道等角色的热门合作。

Back to top


亚马逊Kindle

入门平板电脑使阅读更加数字化

如果你不是特别为孩子买平板电脑,你可能会考虑使用电子书阅读器。 并且没有比比利时更大的持久力和书籍选择。

如果您想鼓励孩子阅读,标准模型仍然是一个很好的选择。 它便宜,轻便,并拥有一个伟大的6英寸黑白屏幕。 还有成千上万的儿童书籍可供选择。

亚马逊Kindle的价格为59.99。

您不仅可以最终选择孩子通过Kindle阅读的内容,还可以将书籍下载锁定到您的亚马逊帐户,还可以安装Kindle for Kids功能。

这使您能够为儿童创建个性化的个人资料,并为他们设定阅读目标,为此他们获得成就徽章。 您还可以查看阅读所花费的总时间,查找的单词数量以及更多内容。

Back to top


支持资源和指南

向上滚动

Laptop & tablets for children

Buying tips for parents

The idea of the static home computer is potentially becoming outdated. The use of tablets is rising and the need for portable connectivity means that more homes now choose laptops.

Buying the right devices for your family really depends on usage and whether they’re required purely for entertainment or for homework and projects too. Understanding the different operating systems and the levels of built in security can help you make the right decision.

Expert Parent Tips For Buying a Device

Five things you should consider when buying a laptop or a tablet

Should I buy a tablet or laptop?

The easiest way to decide which to buy is to consider how they will be used. Talk to your child about what they’d like to do on it. Also, talk to your child’s teacher about how this kind of technology can support their learning. Finally, ask other families with children of a similar age, what technology has worked best for them.

If you only need to browse the internet, watch videos and access social media then a tablet is your best bet. A laptop is recommended for those who need to sit at a keyboard for longer periods or require more complex software such as coding and design. It’s worth noting that although most school homework sites can be used on both tablets and laptops, the keyboard and higher resolution screen of the latter can make it easier to work.

Protection

All laptops and tablets can have a password, PIN or fingerprint lock specified during set-up. That means that nobody but you can unlock them to get to the ‘homescreen’ or access any of your family’s personal details or files without your entry requirements.

In addition, to control access to the system in this way you need to consider how to guide your child’s time with the device. If you already have smartphone’s or other computer monitoring systems in the home it’s worth checking that the new device is compatible. Either way, before letting your child loose on the new technology have a conversation with them about safe behaviour online see our Internet Manners top tips for advice on this.

What about an eBook reader?

If you don’t feel your child needs the connectivity offered by a tablet, but would like to give them a tablet experience for reading and study, an eBook reader looks like a tablet but is technically different.

It’s like a digital book, specifically designed for downloading and reading books on. Their e-paper screens are not backlit in the same way as a tablet, monitor or TV screen, which makes them easier on the eyes over long periods.

The range of Amazon Kindle devices are the best-known eBook readers, with eBooks available from the Kindle Store, while Nook and Kobo also offer their own devices and stores.

However, just like in a bookstore with real books, eBooks don’t come with age ratings. Therefore some mature content is available, but it’s possible to require that a password be entered prior to Kindle Store downloads, as an added layer of parental control. Speak to your children about which books they would like to read or for young children, focus attention on the Children’s eBooks section.

Which operating system for laptops?

If you have decided that a laptop is the best route for your child, you need to consider which operating system to get. There are three main systems: Windows, Mac OS X, and Chrome OS and prices can vary according to what you need the laptop to do.

If you’re web surfing and doing children’s homework a budget laptop running Chrome OS will cost around £200. Those looking to do photo or video editing are likely to need something more powerful. A top of the range laptop running Windows or Mac OS X can cost £1,500 or more. Parents find that children learn fast on technology and become increasingly ambitious so it’s good to get something more powerful if it’s within your budget.

Which operating system for tablets?

Different tablets use different operating systems, of which Android and Apple are the most common. Google’s Android OS is found on a range of tablets from multiple manufacturers at a range of different prices, specifically at the budget end. Apple’s iPad is typically more expensive, however offers fantastic usability. Both have dedicated app stores to allow you to buy apps direct via the tablet.

Again, if you already have Apple or Google devices in the home, adding new technology from the same manufacturer is often the simplest route. This enables you to apply the same settings to the tablet as your smartphones.

Tablets and laptops to consider for your child

See reviews of selected laptops and tablets that are currently available with pointers on the age they’re appropriate for, their level of functionality and the safety features they offer.

Samsung Tab A

High-end spec for children of all ages thanks to Kids Mode feature

The Samsung Tab A is a good choice for children, especially if paired with a robust carry case to protect it from knocks. It has a bright, super high resolution screen with more pixels than standard HD screens. This makes it easy for children to read and it looks great to watch video or pictures on.

It’s priced from £199.

It has some clever features to make maintenance and use of the tablet easier for families. SideSync lets you check and reply to notifications and messages while using other applications. You can connect to Wi-Fi direct and stream content to your TV. Like other Samsung tech it has the Kids Mode app to keep your child safe and healthy online.

It also has a great camera with autofocus that creates super photos and videos. This, the screen and processing power make it more than capable of a wide range of creative activities whether that’s writing, drawing, learning to code or even editing videos.

Back to top


Kurio Smart Tablet

All-in-one tablet which converts into a mini portable computer

Watch our parent blogger Adele and her son Jacob reviewing the Kurio Smart 2 in 1 tablet
The Kurio Smart Tablet is an Android 10-inch tablet that comes equipped with a detachable keyboard and a magnetic protective case to create a portable mini-computer for your tweens or teens to use whether doing homework or playing motions games like ‘Instant Tennis’.

It’s priced from £179.

Like other Kurio tablets, it comes equipped with Kurio Genius Parental Controls software which allows you to set screen time controls on what they do, what apps they can use, switch on ‘blue light filter’ and manage when they can access the tablet.

The software also filters and monitors over 32 billion websites to ensure your child sees age-appropriate content. It comes preloaded with a word processor, presentation tool, spreadsheet and more, and is fully compatible with other Microsoft and Google Docs allowing for children to do all of their school tasks with ease.

Visit Kurio site to find out more

Back to top


Kurio Tab Connect

Great starter tablet with curated content and award-winning software


Watch our parent blogger Adele and her son Jacob reviewing the Kurio Tab Connect tablet
Kurio Tab Connect is cheaper option and great first tablet for younger children who are just starting to explore the online world. The Kurio Genius parental software allows you to set time controls, choose the apps you’d like them to use and switch off the tablet remotely from your phone using the Kurio Connect App.

It’s priced from £99.

It also filters, categorises and updates 32 billion websites daily to ensure your child only sees age-appropriate content. You can create up to 8 personalised profiles on the device so the tablet can be used by the whole family and it’s built to withstand wear and tear with its protective shell and fingerprint resistant coating.

It comes pre-loaded with a range of apps such as the motion game ‘Instant Tennis’ and as it is an Android tablet you can choose from an array of apps in the Google Apps store for your child to use.

Back to top


Apple iPad mini 4

A small lightweight tablet that can grow with child’s needs

Apple hasn’t refreshed its iPad mini for a while but it’s easy to see why; the current iPad mini 4 is still as good as it ever was.

Not only is it light to hold for long periods, but it also runs every app as well as the larger, more recent models in Apple’s line-up. It’s pricey, but there are few tablets out there as simple to pick up and use.

It’s priced from £399.

Apple continues to be one of the safest options to ensure the phone is not compromised by viruses or external software. Apple keeps its platform locked down, with all apps first approved by the company before they become available.

The parental control settings in the latest version of the operating system, iOS 12, are easy to navigate and can restrict many of the features to age-specific barriers. In addition, a new Screen Time section in the settings provides a detailed breakdown of every aspect of the phone’s use. You can set bedtimes and limit access to certain applications.

If you pair the iPad Mini with a robust case it becomes a great tablet for youngsters. Add to this the new Screen Time feature and it’s easy to see how they are using it. It’s not the cheapest option but one that will grow with your child as they become more ambitions in their online activity.

Back to top


Apple iPad

High-end tablet with dedicated education apps
Apple’s latest larger 9.7 inch iPad model not sports a refreshed processor, ensuring it is smooth and fast in operation, it also supports Pencil – Apple’s own stylus device that’s an optional extra.

This means that children can draw and interact with the iPad as they would a normal pad of paper. There are also dedicated education apps coming for the iPad, including some for teachers to help shape digital curriculum ideas and tasks.

Available from £319.

The parental control settings in the latest version of the operating system, iOS 12, are easy to navigate and can restrict many of the features to age-specific barriers. In addition, a new Screen Time section in the settings provides a detailed breakdown of every aspect of the phone’s use. You can set bedtimes and limit access to certain applications.

However, iOS is one of the simplest operating systems to use and children will love the extra screen size afforded by the 9.7-inch display. It’s also, remarkably cheaper than the smaller iPad mini 4.

Back to top


ASUS Chromebook C202

Child-friendly laptop to meet needs of older tweens

This is a great option for families who want a proper laptop for their child. This ASUS model offers 180-degree hinge, spill-resistant keyboards, and reinforced rubber wrapped frames that meet the daily rigours and intense usage by children.

It’s designed to be lightweight for children to use with two grips providing better holding points. It also has a good battery that will last up to 10 hours. A nice addition is the built-in HDMI output to send any content to a TV, as well as an SD card reader to import video and photos from a camera. The screen itself is 11.6 inches and anti-glare for easy viewing.

Google Family Link ensures that you can set up your Chromebook for your child to use safely and healthily. This not only shows you how they are using it but enables you to setup screen time limits for different days of the week.
Digital Wellbeing then extends this by uncovering a complete picture of how you use your phone. It offers a daily view of the time spent, how frequently you use apps, and how many notifications you get. This is a great tool to ensure your child (and your wider family) are developing healthy habits with technology.

It costs from £199.

If you are after a proper laptop for your child, this is a great option. Not only the wide range of features but having a spill-proof full-size keyboard makes a really big difference to this device.

Back to top


Amazon Fire 7

Offers value for money and access to AI assistant

The Fire 7 is not the most powerful tablet on the market but it is one of the best value, that’s for sure. It gives you access to apps, your Kindle books, Amazon Video and other video services – such as Netflix – and much more.

All for around £50. There is also Alexa voice assistant support, so not only can you ask Alexa questions and control smart home devices, but you can also call Echo devices around the home.

It is available for £49.99.

Amazon’s parental controls are generally excellent, with the ability to set different options for different profiles. That means each family member can have their own profile which will only show the content that is appropriate to them.

A great way to get more control and access to lots more content is via the Kids Unlimited subscription. This offers over 5,000 child-friendly apps, books and much more, all without in-app purchases.

Back to top


Amazon Fire HD 7 Kids Edition

Child-friendly tablet with a year access to curated kids media

The Amazon Fire 7 Kids Edition tablet is essentially the exact same device as the Fire 7 also reviewed. However, it comes with a bright blue, pink or yellow protective case that ensures it won’t smash when dropped by smaller hands.

And even if it does break, you get a two-year, no-quibble guarantee from Amazon. The online store will replace it free of charge within the first two years, no matter how it got damaged.

You can snag one for £99.99 although it’s always worth looking out for a bargain in the many Amazon sales.

Like the 7-inch Amazon Fire 7, you can set up a child’s profile with Kids Unlimited, with only appropriate games, books and videos available to play, read or view. The big difference is that you get a year’s free access to it with the Kids Edition. The parental controls are also similarly excellent and easy to implement.

Back to top


Amazon Fire HD 8 Kids Edition

Small and mighty tablet with access to curated media and apps

Slightly more expensive but also more powerful, the Fire HD 8 has a larger 8-inch screen with a better, HD resolution to ensure images and video are sharper. It also has more internal storage than the Fire 7 version, with 32GB on offer over the 16GB on the smaller device.

Both though can be upgraded further through a microSD card. The same protective bumper choices and no-quibble guarantee are available.

The Fire HD 8 Kids Edition costs £129.99.

As with all Amazon Fire tablets, the parental controls on the HD 8 Kids Edition are excellent. You can set different restrictions for each member of the family.

And as it is essentially the same as the Fire HD 8 also available, you can use it yourself for video watching, reading eBooks and the like. The Kids Unlimited subscription service also comes for free for a year on here too.

Back to top


Vodafone Smart V8

A walled garden tablet made for younger kids

Apart from Amazon’s offerings, which are effectively rebadged grown-up tablets, there are few devices aimed solely at young children.

VTech’s tablets, however, come from a toy angle and serve up a walled-garden suite of apps and games, plus a built-in camera and internet browser that is designed for ages three to nine.

You can pick one up for around £100.

Because the VTech system is proprietary, you cannot install external apps or software on the InnoTab Max so it is as secure for young eyes as they come. All games and apps are sold and provided by VTech’s private servers and the internet browsing options are restricted to age-appropriate content only. It also includes popular collaborations with big brands and characters like PJ Masks and the Disney Channel.

Back to top


Amazon Kindle

Starter tablet to make reading more digital

If you’re not particularly after a tablet for your child, you might consider an eBook reader. And there are none with greater staying power and book choice than the Kindles.

The standard model is still an excellent choice if you want to encourage children to read. It’s cheap, light to hold and has a great 6-inch black and white screen. There are also hundreds of thousands of kids books to choose from.

The Amazon Kindle costs £59.99.

Not only do you get the ultimate choice of what your child reads through the Kindle, with book downloads locked to your Amazon account, there is a Kindle for Kids feature installed.

That gives you the ability to create personalised profiles for children and set them reading goal, for which they receive achievement badges. You can also see the total time spent reading, number of words looked up and so much more.

Back to top


Supporting resources and guides