智能玩具和儿童可穿戴设备| 互联网事项

智能玩具和可穿戴设备

为父母购买小贴士

对于儿童来说,技术是日常生活的自然组成部分。 连接到互联网的东西与传统玩具或小工具之间的界限越来越模糊。

了解互联玩具和可穿戴设备的好处,成本和数据含义是育儿的一个重要方面。 虽然孩子们经常很快就能理解这些东西是如何运作的,但他们需要有关如何安全健康地使用它们的指导。

去年,这些联网玩具提供了一种将游戏扩展到家庭以外的方式,但也强调了我们(和我们孩子)在这些设备上的数据发生的事情的重要性。

 

购买设备的专家家长提示

查看有关不同类型智能玩具的建议以及需要注意的事项。

智能扬声器

智能扬声器是一种在家庭中越来越流行和有用的小工具。 这些不仅播放音乐,而且具有内置的语音控件。 除了询问您喜欢的歌曲或艺术家“用Coldplay播放黄色”,您还可以将它们用作与互联网的接口。

智能扬声器可以告诉您天气情况,阅读短信以及设置计时器。 在您不希望使用智能手机的情况下,例如在做饭和用手沾上面粉的情况下,这非常有用。 对于儿童与在线信息进行交互而言,它们也是一种有用且简便的方法。

较新的智能扬声器还会知道您何时在家和在房间内。 这使他们能够适当地调整音量和内容。 这也意味着您只需在扬声器上轻敲手机即可将智能手机上播放的音乐传输到扬声器——这是 Apple Homepod mini 中突出显示的一项功能。

您可以购买提供不同系统的几种不同版本。 像带有时钟的亚马逊 Echo Dot 之类的东西售价约为 59.99 英镑,并提供基于亚马逊 Alexa 服务的广泛功能。 或者 Apple Homepod(279 英镑)和 Homepod mini(99 英镑)将提供更好的音频质量并使用 Apple 的 Siri 音频接口。

尽管这些设备首次开始进入家庭时存在安全隐患,但是您可以指定设备如何以及何时收听您的声音。 他们还就存储或共享哪些数据提供了可靠的协议,因此隐私问题不再那么重要。

看看我们的 智能扬声器设置安全指南 for more information.

Back to top


Smartwatches

智能手表等可穿戴设备最近越来越受欢迎。 虽然成年人对Garmin和Fitbit运动追踪功能以及Apple Watch的智能互动感兴趣,但也有针对儿童市场的手表。

智能手表通常会扩展智能手机等其他设备中的功能,并让它们在您孩子的手腕上可用。 它们提供可下载的应用程序,可以在手表屏幕上执行许多与在较大设备上相同的任务。 但当然,这些设备也会跟踪我们的运动和健康状况,因此我们在为孩子们选择这些设备时需要多加小心。

家长控制也以相同的方式工作,Apple 和 Google 应用程序商店针对各自的设备具有评级系统和严格的应用程序提交指南。 但是,如果您需要对内容进行额外控制,通常可以通过链接的智能手机进行设置,而不是直接在手表上进行设置。

伟易达 Kidizoom 就是一个很好的例子。 只需 39.99 英镑,它就可以让孩子们使用双摄像头拍摄照片和视频。 伟易达比成人智能手表更有趣,它通过图片和怪物探测器等游戏的特殊效果专注于乐趣。

与其他健身乐队或移动敏感技术一样,这样的智能手表提供鼓励孩子活跃的游戏。 VTech Kidizoom还提供运动传感器,计步器,闹钟,计时器,秒表和录音机。

无论您使用哪种智能手表,都值得与您的孩子讨论有关拍摄和分享照片的适当行为。 此外,一些设备会跟踪它们的位置并具有社交媒体选项,因此在将它们交给孩子之前应该仔细设置这些选项。

值得注意的是,大多数智能手表和活动追踪器都链接到智能手机或平板电脑应用程序,以配置和呈现它们监控的信息。 收集到的信息也可以远程存储在云端,让手机或平板电脑连接到互联网以访问信息。 这可能意味着,如果孩子无法使用自己的智能手机,他们可以在智能手表上使用的功能可能会受到更多限制。

如果您不熟悉为您的孩子分享的这些信息,则有一些特定的离线选项,如 LeapFand的LeapBand,或者最近的迪士尼主题 Garmin Vivofit Jr. 2.

Back to top


智能玩具

随着人工智能和机器人技术变得越来越便宜,它已被纳入各种儿童玩具中。 这不仅提供了新的互动体验,还可以延长具有在线功能的更传统玩具的寿命。

Sphero机器人 球就是一个很好的例子。 这是一个球,可以通过陀螺仪和电动机在房间周围为自己供电。 它可以交互播放或与相关的智能手机应用一起驱动。

通过点亮和响应动作,它提供了一系列教育体验,从学习颜色和数学到培养对编程的基本理解。 对于那些记得 80 年代可编程自卸卡车的人来说,这是现代的“大轨道”。

其他例子包括 义和团,一个可编程的智能机器人,强调恶作剧和乐趣。 它可以通过驾驶特殊的编程卡来学习不同的游戏。 然后就是构建自己的4ft机器人 Meccanoid 来自传统玩具制造商 Meccanno。

除了这些更明显的机器人玩具外,这项技术也开始出现在针对儿童的其他产品中。 例如, Anki Overdrive 以及 真实外汇 汽车扩展了Scaletrix的老虎机赛车,车辆拥有自己的人工智能,可以使用平板电脑或智能手机进行控制。

最近,Lego Vidiyo 提供智能人仔和视频应用程序,让孩子们能够使用 AR 技术安全地创建和分享新颖的视频。 这是在年幼的孩子拥有控制较少的平台之前与他们一起尝试社交媒体的一种不错的、安全的方式。

Back to top


连接玩具

您的孩子在生日和圣诞节期间想要的许多最大的玩具将充满技术,甚至可以连接到智能手机或互联网。

这意味着在将玩具交给您的孩子之前,您应该确切知道玩具的确切含义,以确保它是安全的。 最近流行的例子是My Friend Cayla娃娃和类似的Hello Barbie娃娃,它连接到互联网并且可以通过搜索功能响应声音信息请求。

Cozmo酒店 以及 向量 Anki的机器人是最近的两个例子。 这些玩具尽可能重视与孩子建立关系的能力,就像任何特定的技术功能一样。 这些玩具具有个性,可以对交互进行非常详细的响应,甚至可以注意到您的孩子何时看着它们或对当前游戏感到无聊。

其他智能玩具则朝着另一个方向发展。 星际链接宇宙飞船例如,可以插入 PlayStation、Xbox 或 Switch 控制器,然后出现在屏幕上的相关游戏中。 这扩展了 Skylanders 或 Lego Dimensions 等旧趋势的功能,允许孩子们随意重新配置模块化船,立即在屏幕上匹配他们的创作。

目前非常便宜的一种联网玩具是 DropMix 游戏. 这是一款快节奏的音乐混音游戏。 通过在 DropMix 外围设备上放置物理卡,您可以组合来自各种流派的知名音乐循环。 您放置的每张牌都与那些已经在场的牌相结合,以创建自动合成的混音。 虽然它推出时大约 100 英镑,但你可以在网上以低至 30 英镑的价格找到它。

联网玩具提供了许多好处,因为它们可以随着时间的推移扩展游戏体验。 但是,如前所述,在将其交给孩子之前了解父母的设置很重要。 具体而言,父母应注意如何、何时、何地共享儿童使用玩具的数据,以及与使用相关的任何成本影响。

Back to top


虚拟和增强现实

虚拟现实 (VR) 是游戏领域的一大新趋势。 有多种选择。 虽然这些游戏中有许多是针对青少​​年和年长玩家的,但仍然有一些适合年轻人的精彩游戏。

VR 耳机戴在眼睛和耳朵上,让孩子们能够进入一个虚拟的 3D 世界,这个世界通常是一个互动游戏,但不仅限于此。 耳机会跟踪孩子正在看的地方,因此它可以响应地移动游戏中的摄像头。

一个例子是 交通堵塞游戏 那是多人游戏体验。 玩家通过使用手势来指示汽车、公共汽车和行人的动作来共同指挥交通。 这是学习团队合作的一种身临其境且具有挑战性的方式。

如果您正在为您的家人考虑这项技术,最好尝试更便宜、更简单的选择,看看孩子们的情况如何。 这些更基本的 VR 耳机使用智能手机和专用应用程序来提供屏幕。 电话插入耳机的正面。 谷歌纸板 以及 三星齿轮VR 是一些可用设备的两个例子。

如果这些证明是积极的,那么你可以毕业到 HTC万岁, Oculus公司裂谷 or PlayStation VR。 这些都需要一台功能强大的计算机或PlayStation 4才能连接,但创造出更加身临其境的互动体验。

增强现实(AR)提供了类似的体验,但结合了现实世界和覆盖的体验,可以在幻想的方向上扩展(或增强)事物。 这可以像追踪你的花园中的生物一样简单,也可以像识别夜空中的星星一样神奇。

AR更容易进行实验,并且通常可以将智能手机屏幕固定在您周围的空间而无需使用耳机。 一个很好的例子是 乐高AR工作室 在iPhone上,你可以在你周围的虚拟空间中建立乐高火车,龙和大帆船。 另一种受欢迎的教育体验是 Curiscope AR T恤。 Virtualitee 将一个活生生的呼吸身体投射到衬衫的穿着者身上。 在应用程序屏幕上,孩子们可以详细了解肌肉、骨骼和器官的工作原理(前提是他们或他们的父母不太娇气)。

去年,任天堂推出了其玩具版 马里奥赛车游戏,称为 Mario Kart Live Home Circuit。 游戏采用增强现实技术,结合遥控车。 这创造了一种独特的赛车体验,通过玩家的 Nintendo Switch 控制,而汽车在现实世界中的地毯上赛车。 对于家庭来说,这是一款很棒的游戏,尽管您必须以 74.99 英镑的价格单独购买每辆卡丁车,因此对于许多玩家来说,它可能会变得昂贵。

观看此视频,查看Mario Kart游戏示例

AR 和 VR 都提供了教育体验,可以成为让孩子们参与新主题或为学习者提供更深入参与的新方式的好方法。

Back to top


物联网(IoT)

物联网是一个总称,指的是智能洗衣机和冰箱、智能电视、可以监控您房屋的摄像头以及连接到您家庭网络的其他设备。 智能电器和设备连接到互联网,就像您的计算机一样,这意味着即使您不在家,您也可以控制它们开始洗涤程序或打开暖气。 这个想法是,他们最终将能够相互交谈。 然而,这与不同制造商使用的各种协议还有一段距离。

物联网下的设备大多可以通过智能手机上的应用程序控制,但许多设备需要密码,因此您的孩子将无法在不知道密码的情况下打开或关闭加热。

智能相机也属于物联网。 几家公司提供智能摄像头,让您可以远程监控家中各个房间的情况,具体取决于它们所在的位置。 用于控制它们的应用程序是受密码保护的,这意味着您仍然应该可以安全地防止有人未经许可查看您家中发生的事情。

Back to top


支持资源和指南

向上滚动

Smart toys and wearable gadgets

Buying tips for parents

For children, technology is a natural part of everyday life. The boundaries between what is connected to the internet and what is a traditional toy or gadget is ever more blurred.

Understanding the benefits, costs and data implications of connected toys and wearable gadgets is an important aspect of parenting. While children often quickly understand how these things work, they need guidance on how to use them safely and healthily.

Expert Parent Tips For Buying a Device

See advice on different types of smart toys are available and what to look out for.

Smart speakers

A new gadget that is increasingly popular, and useful, in the home is smart speakers. These don’t only play music but have built-in voice controls. As well as asking for your favourite song or artists “Play Yellow by Coldplay”, you can also use them as an interface with the internet.

Smart speakers can tell you what the weather is, read you your text messages as well as setting timers. This can be really useful in situations where you don’t want to use your smartphone — when cooking and hands are covered in flour for example. They are also a useful and unobtrusive way for children to interact with online information.

There are a few different versions you can purchase that offer different systems. Something like an Amazon Echo Dot with Clock will cost about £59.99 and offer a wide range of features based on Amazon’s Alexa service. Or the Apple Homepod and Homepod mini will offer better audio quality for £269 and use Apple’s Siri audio interface.

Although there were security concerns when these devices first started making their way into homes, you can specify how and when your device listens to you. They also offer robust agreements about what data is stored or shared so that privacy is seen as less of an issue.

See our Smart Speakers Set up Safe guide 

Back to top


Smartwatches

Wearable devices such as smartwatches have increased in popularity recently. While adults are drawn to Garmin and Fitbit sport tracking features and the Apple Watch’s intelligent interactions, there are also watches aimed at the children’s market too.

Smartwatches generally extend functionality found in other devices like smartphones and make them available on your child’s wrist. They offer downloadable apps that can perform many of the same tasks on the watch screen as you can on larger devices.

Parental controls also work in the same way, with Apple and Google app stores for respective devices having rating systems and strict submission guidelines for apps. However, if you require extra control over the content it will normally be available to set through the linked smartphone rather than directly on the watch itself.

VTech Kidizoom is a good example. For just £35.99 it lets children take photos and videos with its dual cameras. More playful than grownup smartwatches, the VTech keeps the focus on fun with special effects for picture and games like Monster Detector.

As with other fitness bands or move sensitive technology, smartwatches like this offer games that encourage children to be active. The VTech Kidizoom also offers a motion sensor, pedometer, alarm clock, timer, stopwatch and voice recorder.

Regardless of which smartwatch you go for, it’s worth talking to your child about appropriate behaviour around taking and sharing pictures. Also, some devices track their location and have social media options so these should be set up carefully ahead of handing over to the child.

It’s worth noting that most smartwatches and activity trackers link to a smartphone or tablet app to configure and present the information they monitor. The information gathered can also be stored remotely in the cloud, allowing the phone or tablet to connect to the internet to access the information.

If you are not comfortable with this information being shared for your child, there are some specific offline options like the LeapBand by LeapFrog, or the more recent Disney themed Garmin Vivofit Jr. 2.

Back to top


Intelligent toys

As artificial intelligence and robot technology has become more affordable, it has been incorporated into a wide range of children’s toys. This not only offers new interactive experience but can also extend the life of more traditional toys with online features.

The Sphero robotic ball is a good example. It’s a ball that can power itself around the room with gyroscopes and motors. It can be played interactively or driven with a related smartphone app.

By lighting up and responding to motion it offers a range of educational experiences, from learning colours and maths to developing a basic understanding of programming. It’s the “Big Track” of the modern era — for those that remember the programmable dump truck from the 80s.

Other examples include Boxer, a programmable intelligent robot with an emphasis on mischief and fun. It can learn different games by driving over special programming cards. Then there’s the build-it-yourself 4ft robot Meccanoid, from traditional toy maker Meccanno.

Along with these more obvious robotic toys, this technology is also starting to appear in other products aimed at children. For example, the Anki Overdrive and Real FX cars extend the slot car racing of Scaletrix with cars that have their own artificial intelligence and can be controlled using a tablet or smartphone.

Back to top


Connected toys

Many of the biggest toys your child will want for their birthdays and Christmas will be filled with technology and may even connect to a smartphone or the internet.

This means that you should be aware of exactly what a toy does before handing it over to your child in order to ensure that it is safe. Recent popular examples have been the My Friend Cayla doll and similar Hello Barbie doll that connects to the internet and can respond to vocal requests for information through search functionality.

The Cozmo and Vector robots from Anki are two more recent examples. These toys focus as much on their ability to create a relationship with your child as any particular technological feature. These are toys with a personality that responds to interactions in great detail and will even notice when your child is watching them or has got bored with the current game.

Other smart toys take intelligence in another direction. Starlink spaceships, for example, can be plugged onto a PlayStation, Xbox or Switch controller and then appear in the related game on the screen. This extends the features of older trends like Skylanders or Lego Dimensions by allowing children to reconfigure the modular ships at will, and matching their creations instantly on the screen.

Connected toys offer many benefits because they can extend the play experience over time. But, as mentioned, it’s important you understand the parental settings before handing over to a child. Specifically, parents should pay attention to how, when and where data is shared from the child’s use of the toy along with any cost implications that go with its use.

Back to top


Virtual and Augmented Reality

Virtual Reality (VR) is a big new trend in gaming. There are a number of options, although many of these games are aimed at teenagers and older players, there are still some brilliant age-appropriate titles for youngsters as well.

The VR headsets are worn over the eyes and ears and enable children to enter a virtual 3D world that is often but not exclusively an interactive game. The headset tracks where the child is looking so it can move the in-game camera responsively.

Augmented Reality (AR) offers a similar experience but combines the real world with an overlayed experience that extends (or augments) things in a fantasy direction. This can be as simple as tracking down creatures in your garden or as fantastic as identifying stars in the night sky.

If you are thinking of this technology for your family, it’s best to try out the cheaper, simpler options to see you the children get on. These more basic VR headsets use a smartphone combined with dedicated apps to provide the screen. The phone slots into the front of a headset. Google Cardboard and Samsung Gear VR are two examples of some of the devices available.

If these prove positive then you can graduate onto the HTC Vive, Oculus Rift or PlayStation VR. These each needs a powerful computer or PlayStation 4 to connect to but create a much more immersive and interactive experience.

AR is easier to experiment with and often works well by holding up a smartphone screen to the space around you without the need for a headset. A good example is the LEGO AR Studio on iPhones that lets you build Lego train sets, dragons and galleons in virtual space all around you. Another popular and educational experience is the Curiscope AR t-shirt. Virtualitee projects a living breathing body onto the wearer of the shirt. On the app screen children can learn in great detail about how the muscles, bones, and organs work (provided they or their parents aren’t too squeamish).

Both AR and VR offer educational experiences that can be a great way to engage children in a new topic or offer learners with a new way of engaging more deeply.

This year Nintendo launched a toy version of its Mario Kart game, called Mario Kart Live Home Circuit. The game uses Augmented Reality technology, combined with a remote control car. This creates a unique racing experience controlled via the player’s Nintendo Switch while the car is racing around the carpet in the real world. It’s a great game for families, although you have to buy each Kart separately for £99 so it can get expensive for lots of players.

Watch this video to see examples of Mario Kart gameplay

Back to top


Internet of things (IoT)

IoT is the umbrella term that refers to smart washing machines and fridges, smart TVs, cameras that can monitor your house and other devices connected to your home network. Smart appliances and devices connect to the internet, much like your computer, which means that you can control them even when you’re not at home to start your washing cycle or turn on your heating. The idea is that they will eventually be able to talk to each other.

The devices under IoT can mostly be controlled via an app on your smartphone, but many require a password so your child won’t be able to turn the heating up or down without knowing your code.

Smart cameras also fall under the Internet of Things. Several companies offer smart cameras that allow you to remotely monitor what’s going on in various rooms in your house, depending on where they’re situated. The apps used to control them are password-protected, meaning you should still be safe from someone without permission viewing what’s happening in your home.

Back to top


Supporting resources and guides

Scroll Up