家庭智能电视

为父母购买小贴士

尽管许多人仍然可以通过天线观看电视,但这种情况已越来越少见。 大多数现代电视都具有通过Internet传输节目的功能。

实际上,智能电视和相关的流媒体设备可以使您更好地控制孩子的观看。 您不仅可以观看即将播出的节目,还可以计划何时观看什么。 它们还提供了一种很好的方式来彼此共享图片和家庭电影。

购买设备的专家家长提示

在为家人购买智能电视之前,请考虑以下事项。

审查家长控制

与计算机一样,所有连接的电视都可以限制对应用程序或互联网浏览的访问。 各个制造商的说明会有所不同,因此,如果需要设置说明,请务必检查手册。

根据服务的不同,您可以设置不同的用户帐户并使用PIN码来防止孩子下载按需付费内容或访问成人内容。

检查哪些应用可用

应用程序也可以像智能手机一样在智能电视上下载和使用,例如免费的BBC iPlayer,ITV Player,4oD和Demand 5。 还可能有用于订阅服务的应用程序集合,例如Netflix,Amazon Prime和Now TV。 您需要分别向他们支付订阅费才能使用它们,并确保已调整设置以确保您的孩子无法查看露骨内容。

这些应用有时可能会超出查看或阅读内容的范围,并提供游戏体验。 虽然检查 PEGI评级 在这些游戏上,它们通常是与孩子一起玩耍的绝妙方式。

连接到互联网

几乎所有现代平板电视都提供内置的Wi-Fi和有线连接,以访问Internet和您的家庭网络。 但是,建议您通过有线(以太网)连接来连接它们,以获得最稳定和最快的连接。

注意内容

通过不同的付费电视和在线流媒体服务查看为儿童提供的频道,以确保您将获得期望的儿童内容。

确定您已经订阅的服务也很重要。 这样可以避免重复,并可以在一处访问所有内容。 有一些有用的应用程序,例如 只是看 这样您就可以在所有服务中搜索您的孩子想看的特定节目。

最近的电视通常具有框架替换功能,旨在使在线观看更加顺畅,并使体育赛事看起来更好。 但是,这通常会使电影看起来像是在高速视频而不是电影上拍摄的-有时称为肥皂剧效果。 您可以在“显示”部分的“帧替换”或“运动平滑”中找到该设置,然后将其关闭,因为默认情况下通常是打开的。

还值得注意的是,父母应该花时间确定他们希望孩子从中受益的内容。 我提供了一个 一些工具指南 帮助您更轻松地实现这一目标。

浏览互联网

大多数智能电视都提供基本的互联网浏览器,并且在连接到家庭宽带时会应用您设置的所有家长控制过滤器,以防止孩子看到任何不适当的内容。

它们还使孩子们可以在浏览器或专用应用程序中观看YouTube。 导入是为了将对内容的任何限制扩展到电视浏览器以及家用计算机。 服务如 迪士尼的圈子 使您可以为所有设备设置一次,并且可以节省大量时间。

为您的孩子考虑的电话

以下是根据所选电视制造商使用的操作系统,并结合其功能级别和提供的安全性功能,对它们进行的一些评论。

苹果电视

非常适合全家使用,可以访问各种应用程序和视频

新版Apple TV是一款出色的设备,可让您访问适合所有年龄段家庭成员的大量视频和应用。

但是,有很多娱乐应用和适合所有年龄段的游戏,包括低至中间年龄段(2-5岁的孩子)的游戏。

家长控制权 不太符合现在的详细程度 iOS屏幕时间应用,但您仍然可以控制可访问的应用和内容类型。 当然,关闭应用程序内购买也是值得的,默认情况下也不会关闭它,并且有了一个新的学习界面,即使没有意识到,购买其他功能也要容易得多。

Apple TV还允许您将内容从iPhone或iPad流传输到客厅的大屏幕,这是与家人共享视频的一种非常不错的方式。 您还可以使用“照片”应用创建家庭照片的幻灯片演示。

可从£169购买。

Back to top


三星智能电视

创新功能使智能电视成为家庭生活的有机组成部分。

三星智能电视结合了一系列巧妙的功能。 这些包括一些实际考虑因素,例如单根电缆和一个可以处理所有连接并避免混乱的接线盒。 但是,从Premium One遥控器到Universal智能指南,也有技术创新。

今年的Q9F QLED电视就是这些三星电视机的一个很好的例子。 除了高画质外,它还是一个不会在墙上造成干扰的装置。 家长还将欣赏一条“近乎看不见的电缆”,它可以消除电视后面常见的电线混乱情况。 最后,Premium One遥控器使您能够控制一系列兼容设备,并避免在旅途中使用多个遥控器。

如果您有多个流媒体订阅,那么通用指南会很有用,因为它将所有可用内容合并到一个可搜索列表中。 除了包含来自其他设备的通知和简单的内容共享外,还可以使用相关的移动应用配置该集合。 对于家庭来说,这可能会有所不同。

请访问我们的三星电视家长控制指南

Back to top


亚马逊消防电视

通过亚马逊的流媒体服务访问电影和电视节目

除了通过亚马逊自己的服务和其他流媒体服务访问电影和电视节目外,Fire TV还是家庭的强大游戏机,因为它可以访问大量可下载的应用程序。

如果您的家人不关心更昂贵的游戏机和软件,则可以轻松有趣地玩游戏。 它们也比传统游戏便宜很多,因为在许多情况下,它们与智能手机和平板电脑上可获得的游戏完全相同。

您还可以将Fire TV限制为仅允许通过以下方式提供适合年龄的游戏和视频内容: 设置父母的PIN码。 这样,成年人就可以观看和播放自己喜欢的内容,而孩子只能播放适合年龄的内容。

可从£79购买。

Back to top


Nvidia Shield Android TV

全方位娱乐设备

Nvidia Shield Android电视盒是由一家与游戏相关性更高的公司生产的,因此它提供的功能更多,而且可能比亚马逊的同类产品更适合青少年。

它使用Android TV作为用户界面,因此您可以访问Google Play应用商店和其他电影和电视节目流媒体服务。

它的游戏功能比许多竞争对手都要先进,它包括Nvidia自己的GeForce Now云游戏平台。 这样一来,您就可以按每月£50的单月使用费(超过前三个月是免费的)使用7.49游戏。 它还在包装盒中带有自己的游戏控制器,因此无需单独购买。

一个警告是该平台上的一些游戏适用于年龄较大的儿童,甚至只限成人,但可以设置家长控制以按年龄类别限制它们

可从£150购买。

Back to top


飞利浦和索尼电视

适用于Android用户的熟悉系统,配有Android应用程序

索尼和飞利浦都选择了最新版本的Android来运行其电视平台。 这不仅为使用Android智能手机和平板电脑的人们提供了一个更加熟悉的系统,而且为移动设备购买的许多应用程序也可以通过您可能已经使用过的相同Google Play帐户下载到电视上。 如果您以前曾从Google Play购买音乐或视频内容,则可以立即通过预先安装的应用程序在电视上播放音乐或视频内容。

Android TV平台可提供与电话相同级别的儿童访问保护。 而且,由于许多Android游戏都可以在系统的电视版本上运行,因此您可以确保只有年龄被认为适合您孩子的那些游戏才可以使用,而无需输入PIN码或密码。 通过内置的Chrome浏览器进行互联网浏览也是如此。

Back to top


LG:webOS

有用的设置助手,可帮助技术水平较低的人

与其他产品不同,LG的webOS电视系统已经在制造商的一些更高级的平板电视上使用了一年多。 甚至约翰·刘易斯(John Lewis)的一些自有品牌电视都采用了LG为大街小店建造的相同的智能电视平台。

像三星的Tizen TV一样,当调用时,webOS通过沿着屏幕底部运行的图块界面呈现不同的选项和区域。 但是,LG的系统是唯一带有“ Bean Bird”的系统,“ Bean Bird”是一个可爱的角色,可以帮助您设置电视,因此您不需要太精通技术。

与涵盖的所有平台一样,webOS具有许多最常见的应用程序和对流服务的访问,并且可以通过以下方式保护所有内容: 家长控制权。 如果“ Bean Bird”最初并没有帮助您设置它们,则应查看手册以获取有关如何打开它们的更多说明。

Back to top


支持资源和指南

向上滚动

Family Smart TVs

Buying tips for parents

Although many still watch television via an aerial, this is becoming less common. Most modern TVs provide the ability to stream programmes over the Internet.

Smart TVs and related streaming devices can actually enable you to take better control of your children’s viewing. Rather than just watching what happens to be broadcast, you can plan when and what to watch. They also offer an excellent way to share pictures and home movies with each other.

Expert Parent Tips For Buying a Device

Here are the things to consider before buying buying a Smart TV for your family.

Reviewing parental controls

Like computers, all connected televisions have the ability to restrict access to apps or internet browsing. The instructions will vary from manufacturer to manufacturer so make sure you check the manual if you need to set them up.

Depending on the service, you can set up different user accounts and use PINs to prevent children from downloading pay-as-you-go content or accessing adult content.

Check what apps are available

Apps can also be downloaded and used on Smart TVs like you would a smartphone, such as the free BBC iPlayer, ITV Player, 4oD and Demand 5. There are also likely to be a collection of apps for subscription services such as Netflix, Amazon Prime and Now TV. You will need to pay them a subscription fee individually to use them and ensure you have adjusted the settings to make sure your children can’t view explicit content.

These apps can sometimes extend beyond viewing or reading content and offer gaming experiences. While it’s important to check the PEGI rating on these games, they are often an excellent way to play together with your children.

Connecting to the internet

Almost all modern flat-panel TVs offer built-in Wi-Fi and wired connections to access the internet and your home network. However, it’s recommended that you connect them through the wired (ethernet) connection to get the most stable and fastest connection.

Be aware of content

Check out the channels offered for children through the different pay TV and online streaming services available to make sure you’re going to get the children’s content you expect.

It’s also important to identify which services you already subscribe to. This enables to avoid duplication as well as access all your content in one place. There are helpful apps like Just Watch that let you search all your services for particular programmes your child would like to watch.

Recent TV’s often have a frame replacement feature that aims to smooth out online viewing and make sports events look better. However, this often causes movies to look like they were shot on high-speed video rather than film — sometimes called the soap opera effect. You can find the setting in the Display section called either Frame Replacement or Motion Smoothing, and switch it off as it is usually on by default.

It’s also worth noting that parents should spend time identifying the content they want children to benefit from. I’ve provided a guide to some tools that help you achieve this more easily.

Browsing the internet

Most Smart TVs offer rudimentary internet browsers, and while connected to your home broadband will apply any parental control filters you have set to prevent your children from seeing anything inappropriate.

They also enable children to watch YouTube either in the browser or dedicated application. It’s import to extend any limits on content to your TV browser as well as home computer. Services such as Circle from Disney enable you to set this once for all your devices and can save a considerable amount of time.

Phones to consider for your child

Here are some reviews of selected television manufacturers based on the operating systems they use with pointers on their level of functionality and the safety features they offer.

Apple TV

Great for the whole family, with access to a wide selection of apps and videos

This new version of Apple TV is a great device that gives you access to loads of videos and apps that should suit family members of all ages.

However, there are plenty of apps to entertain and games suitable for all ages including right down to the inbetweenies level (2-5-year-olds).

Parental controls don’t quite match the level of detail now available in the iOS screen time app, but you can still control the apps and types of content that can be accessed. It’s also certainly worth turning off in-app purchases too, it’s not off by default and with a new interface to learn, it can be a lot easier to buy extras without even realising it.

The Apple TV also lets you stream content from your iPhone or iPad to the big screen in the living room that can be a really nice way to share videos with the family. You can also use the Photos app to create slideshows of family pictures.

Available from £169.

Back to top


Samsung Smart TV

Innovative features that make the smart TV an integrated part of family life.

Samsung Smart TV’s combine a range of clever features. These include practical considerations like the single cable and one connect box that handles all of your connections and keeps the mess out the way. But there are also technical innovations as well, from the Premium One remote to the Universal smart guide.

This year’s Q9F QLED TV is a good example of these Samsung sets. Along with high picture quality, it’s also a unit that doesn’t feel intrusive on the wall. Parents will also appreciate the One Near-Invisible Cable that does away with the usual mess of wires behind a television. Finally, the Premium One Remote Control enables you to control a range of compatible devices and avoid having multiple remotes on the go.

The Universal Guide is helpful if you have multiple streaming subscriptions as it consolidates all your available content in one searchable list. Along with the inclusion of notifications from other devices and simple content sharing, the set can be configured with a related mobile app. For families this can make all the difference.

Visit our Samsung TV parental control guide

Back to top


Amazon Fire TV

Offers access to movies and TV shows through Amazon’s streaming services

As well as offering access to movies and TV shows through Amazon’s own and other streaming services, the Fire TV is also a capable games console for the family as it provides access to plenty of downloadable apps.

If your family is not concerned with more expensive consoles and software it provides a fun and simple way to play games. They are also a lot cheaper than conventional games, as they are, in many cases, exactly the same as the games you can get for smartphones and tablets.

You can also limit the Fire TV to only allow age-appropriate games and video content to be available by setting a parental PIN code. That way adults can watch and play what they like, but children can only play age-appropriate content.

Available from £79.

Back to top


Nvidia Shield Android TV

All-around entertainment device

The Nvidia Shield Android TV box is made by a company more associated with games, so it offers a bit more and is possibly aimed more at teenagers than Amazon’s equivalent.

It uses Android TV as the user interface, so you can access to Google Play app store and other movie and TV show streaming services.

Its gaming features are more advanced than many rivals and it includes Nvidia’s own GeForce Now cloud gaming platform. This provides access to more than 50 games for a one-off monthly fee of £7.49 (first three months are free). It also comes with its own games controller in the box so no need to buy it separately.

One warning is that several of the games on the platform are rated for older children, even adults-only, but parental controls can be set to limit them by age category

Available from £150.

Back to top


Philips and Sony TV’s

A familiar system for Android users, complete with Android apps

Both Sony and Philips have chosen the latest version of Android to run their television platforms. This not only provides a more familiar system for people used to Android smartphones and tablets, but many of the applications bought for mobile devices can be downloaded on the TVs too through the same Google Play account you might use already. If you’ve previously bought music or video content from Google Play, it can immediately be played on the TV through pre-installed applications.

The same level of protection for child access is available on Android TV platforms as on phones. And as many Android games work on the TV version of the system, you’ll be able to ensure only those rated as age-appropriate for your child are available to play without a PIN code or password. The same is true for internet browsing through the built-in Chrome browser.

Back to top


LG: webOS

Useful set-up assistant to help those with less tech proficiency

Unlike the others, LG’s webOS TV system has been available on some of the more premium flatscreen TVs from the manufacturer for over a year. Even some own-branded TVs from John Lewis adopt the same Smart TV platform as they are built by LG for the high street store.

Like Samsung’s Tizen TV, webOS presents different options and areas through a tile interface running along the bottom of the screen when called up. However, LG’s system is the only one that comes with “Bean Bird”, a cute character that helps you set up your television, so you don’t need to be too technologically proficient.

As with all of the platforms covered, webOS has plenty of the most common applications and access to streaming services, and all content can be protected through parental controls. If ‘Bean Bird’ hasn’t already helped you set them up originally, you should check the manual for further instructions on how to turn them on.

Back to top


Supporting resources and guides

Scroll Up