儿童游戏机

为父母购买小贴士

互联网和智能玩具改变了游戏世界。 除了能够与其他地方的人玩游戏之外,今天的游戏机还可以让您进行多种在线活动,并使用玩具进行互动并解锁游戏关卡。

在选择购买控制台时,重要的是要考虑家庭中的哪些人将使用它,它将在何处使用,它提供的内容超过您已有的现有技术以及您对孩子们感到满意的内容类型进入。

购买设备的专家家长提示

在为您的家庭投资游戏机之前,需要考虑以下事项。

您的家庭必须拥有哪些游戏?

虽然不同游戏机之间存在很多交叉,但有一些关键游戏需要特定的硬件才能玩。 如果您的孩子想要在控制台上玩Roblox,那么您需要购买Xbox One。 如果您想玩Mario Kart或Zelda游戏,那么Nintendo Switch就是您的最佳选择。 或者,如果您想一起欣赏PlayLink游戏或蜘蛛侠,那么您需要PlayStation 4。

考虑从较旧的控制台开始

推动最新和最快的体验意味着许多游戏玩家只希望使用最新的技术。 然而,特别是当你开始玩游戏时,上一代游戏机仍然可以为家庭提供出色的工作,价格只是其中的一小部分。 如果您不需要玩最新的游戏,那么请查看Xbox 360,PlayStation 3和Nintendo Wii U以获得更便宜的选项,每个游戏都有惊人的游戏。

设置家长控制和时间限制

在让儿童失去控制台之前,花一个晚上设置帐户,家长控制和时间限制是很重要的。 这不仅可以让您自动限制访问旧评级的PEGI游戏,还可以与您的孩子达成每日时间限制,然后自动执行。 虽然它以不同的方式实现,但Xbox,PlayStation和Switch都有控件和应用程序,可帮助您跟踪孩子使用系统的方式。

检查PEGI评级以确保游戏适合年龄

在孩子玩游戏之前,了解游戏最重要的信息是PEGI等级。 它出现在包装盒或在线商店中,以确保游戏适合您的孩子。 您可以通过行业网站askaboutgames.com获取更多相关信息。

安迪罗伯逊的专家建议,读了他的书, 驯服游戏 预订特定游戏的提示。

你有什么技术?

游戏机和平板电脑游戏之间的交叉越来越多。 许多游戏都可以在iPad和Android设备以及Xbox,PlayStation或Switch上使用。 如果您有新的平板电脑设备,那么在购买控制台之前,有必要在该系统上试用游戏。 您甚至可以购买蓝牙游戏手柄以与平板电脑配合使用,并将其连接到电视以获得控制台体验,而无需花费太多钱。

了解在线和控制器成本

除了购买控制台的初始成本之外,您还需要考虑额外控制器的成本以及在线与其他人一起玩的所需订阅。 调查第三方控制器可以节省资金,但重要的是它们与您拥有的系统正式兼容。 此外,值得注意的是,Xbox,PlayStation和Switch在线订阅还提供免费或折扣访问广泛的游戏目录。

在线零用钱购买

所有控制台都连接到每个平台的在线应用程序或游戏商店,可用于购买和下载游戏。 因此,每个人都可以选择防止儿童通过游戏内购买意外购买游戏或花钱。 有些人将此作为默认设置,但您可以在设置家长控制时进行调整。

为您的孩子考虑的控制台

查看目前可用游戏控制台的评论,了解他们适合的年龄,他们允许的在线活动以及可以在其上玩的游戏类型。

任天堂开关

Nintendo Switch是播放Mario和Zelda游戏的最新游戏机。 这是独特的,因为当插入其底座时,您可以在电视上播放。 当从坞中移除时,它作为独立的便携式游戏设备工作。

这意味着您可以在外出时播放相同的游戏,也可以在电视上播放相同的游戏。 Joy-Con控制器也是可拆卸的,因此两个孩子可以同时玩游戏而无需额外的配件。

虽然它没有使命召唤游戏或Roblox,但它可以播放Fortnite,Minecraft和FIFA等所有重要游戏。 这也是玩Mario Kart和Zelda游戏的最佳方式。 还有越来越多的经济实惠的独立游戏库,对家庭来说非常有趣。

没有游戏,它的成本约为280。

Switch上的父控件非常出色,并为iOS和Android使用单独的应用程序来调整选项。 这样可以很容易地跟踪孩子的游戏方式。 此外,没有互联网浏览器,与其他人在线玩游戏仅限于获得批准的朋友。

点击这里 有关在Nintendo Switch上设置家长控制的分步指南

Back to top


任天堂2dS / 3DS

任天堂六十多年来一直在制造3DS系列掌上游戏机。 您可以使用各种硬件访问这个庞大的游戏库。 最初的3DS,新的3DS 3DS XL都配备了不需要眼镜的3D显示器。 最初的2DS,新的2DS和2DS XL播放所有3DS游戏,但不提供特殊的3D屏幕。 游戏看起来是一样的,虽然它们不会在屏幕上弹出太多。

2DS XL是掌上电脑的最终版本,您最常在商店中看到它。 1,000DS XL拥有许多兼容游戏的2,其中许多都是大打折扣的,是同代游戏中最好的便携式游戏机。

它的成本约为130英镑。

2DS XL具有在线功能 - 非常类似于之前的3DS变体 - 但与Switch一样,家长控制非常出色。 您可以将在线购物和互联网浏览限制为针对特定年龄的指南和PIN保护您不希望孩子访问的内容。

点击这里 有关在3DS / 2DS上设置家长控制的分步指南。

Back to top


Xbox One S / Xbox One X.

虽然现在4K Xbox One X中有更高级的版本,但对于想要全方位娱乐机的预算有限的家庭来说,One S是一个很好的选择。 它可以播放高达全高清(1080p)的游戏,但也可以用作4K超高清蓝光播放器。

随着许多娱乐应用程序,包括Netflix和亚马逊视频,它也可以用作智能流媒体设备。 Xbox One还有1000游戏,您也可以在控制台上玩数百个旧的Xbox 360游戏,这对于那些希望升级的人来说非常棒。

它的价格约为230。

与任何连接的设备一样,Xbox One S可以访问互联网和在线应用程序。 许多游戏也可以在线播放,所以你需要监督孩子们玩游戏时的情况,以确保他们安全地玩游戏。 值得庆幸的是,还有很多家长控制来限制对在线活动和年龄不合适的游戏的访问。

它还具有新颖的双重控制功能,因此两个人可以控制同一个游戏。 这非常适合吸引年轻玩家在学习游戏时可能遇到的挫败感。 这也是一种有趣的方式,可以为所有年龄段的人提供更高级的体验。

点击这里 有关在Xbox One上设置家长控制的分步指南。

Back to top


PlayStation 4 / PlayStation 4 Pro

目前有两种版本的PlayStation 4,标准型号和PS4 Pro,带有4K显卡和更多功能。 但是,无论您选择哪个版本,所有PS4游戏都可以在任何一台机器上运行并且看起来很棒。

与Xbox One一样,您可以获得流媒体视频的应用,例如Netflix和亚马逊视频,但这款游戏机更适合游戏,而不是全方位的娱乐。 它也是目前世界上最畅销的游戏机,所以游戏支持是强大的。

你可以得到一个约230。

目前有两种版本的PlayStation 4,标准型号和PS4 Pro,带有4K显卡和更多功能。 但是,无论您选择哪个版本,所有PS4游戏都可以在任何一台机器上运行并且看起来很棒。

PlayStation为家庭提供了一系列“PlayLink”游戏,您可以将智能手机作为控制器使用。 这意味着6人可以一起玩,而无需购买大量的控制器。 他们的比赛方式也各不相同。 使用触摸屏,相机和倾斜控件可以在其他系统上实现一些独特的家庭游戏体验。

点击这里 有关在PS4上设置家长控制的分步指南。

Back to top


Nintendo Classic Mini / SNES Classic Mini

最初的超级任天堂(SNES)原版在1992中出现在英国,所以很多家长都对它有着美好的回忆。 Nintendo了解对复古刺激的渴望,并因此重新发布了原始控制台的小型现代化改造。

它包含来自21的90经典游戏,包括超级马里奥世界,超级马里奥赛车和星际狐狸,并配有两个以原件为模型的控制器。 如果你希望你的孩子体验到你记得的同样伟大的游戏,你就不会比这更好。

它的价格是70英镑。

控制台是一体化的单元 无法访问互联网。 游戏包含在内并锁定在机器上,因此您无法再添加游戏。 然而,这也带来了知道孩子不会遇到任何不良行为的安全性。 多人游戏仍然可以通过良好的,老式的,同房双人游戏来实现。 非常适合所有家庭。

还有一个更基本的任天堂经典迷你娱乐系统,提供上一代任天堂硬件的游戏。 这有点便宜,但由于它的年龄,对于非常年轻的玩家来说,游戏很难掌握。

Back to top


索尼PlayStation经典控制台

这是微缩形式的原始1994 PlayStation控制台的重新发布。 它预装了最佳PlayStation游戏的20,包括最终幻想VII,Jumping Flash !, Ride Racer Type 4,Tekken 3和Wild Arms。

您可以使用随附的HDMI线将其直接插入屏幕。 它还包含一个虚拟存储卡,因此您可以在游戏之间切换时保存您的冒险。 盒子中还包括两个控制器,这使得它成为访问一些伟大经典的经济有效的方式。

价格为89.99

尽管由于包含了游戏,盒子上写着PEGI 18,但是有很多标题可供全家人享用。 确保年幼的孩子不会偏离其他游戏是值得的。

Back to top


支持资源和指南

向上滚动

Games consoles for children

Buying tips for parents

The internet and smart toys have changed the world of gaming. As well as being able to play against people in other locations, today’s consoles enable you to do a multitude of online activities as well as use toys to interact and unlock the game’s levels.

When choosing a console to purchase, it’s important to think about who in the family will be using it, where it will be used, what it offers over existing technology you already have and the type of content you’re happy for your children to have access to.

Expert Parent Tips For Buying a Device

Here are the things to consider before investing in a games console for your family.

Which games are a must have for your family?

Although there is a lot of crossover between different consoles, there are some key games that you need particular hardware to play. If your child wants to play Roblox on a console then you need to go for an Xbox One. If you want to play Mario Kart or Zelda games than the Nintendo Switch is the way to go. Or if you want to enjoy PlayLink games or Spider-Man together then you need the PlayStation 4.

Consider starting with older consoles

The drive to the newest and fastest experiences means that many gamers only want the latest technology to play on. However, particularly when you are starting out with gaming, the previous generation of consoles can still work brilliantly for families and at a fraction of the price. If you don’t need to play the latest games, then check out Xbox 360, PlayStation 3 and Nintendo Wii U for cheaper options that each have amazing games.

Setting Parental Controls and Time Limits

Before letting children lose with a console it’s important to spend an evening setting up accounts, parental controls and time limits. This not only enables you to restrict access automatically to older rated PEGI games, but you can agree a daily time limit with your child that is then automatically enforced. Although it is achieved in different ways, Xbox, PlayStation and Switch all have controls and apps to help you keep track of how your child is using the system.

Check PEGI ratings to make sure games are age-appropriate

The most important piece of information to understand about a game, before your child plays it, is the PEGI rating. This appears on the box or in the online store to ensure a game is suitable for your child. You can get more information about this via the industry website askaboutgames.com.

Expert advice from Andy Robertson, read his book, Taming Gaming book for tips on specific games.

What technology do you already have?

There is an increasing crossover between consoles and tablet games. Many games are available on iPad and Android devices as well as Xbox, PlayStation or Switch. If you have a new tablet device it’s worth trying out games on that system before buying a console. You can even purchase a Bluetooth Gamepad to use with a tablet and connect it to the TV to get a console experience without spending much money.

Find out about online and controller costs

Along with the initial costs of purchasing a console, you need to factor in how much extra controllers will cost as well as required subscriptions to play with others online. Investigating third-party controllers can save money but it’s important they are officially compatible with the system you own. Also, it’s worth noting that Xbox, PlayStation, and Switch online subscriptions also provide free or discounted access to a wide catalogue of games.

Online pocket money purchases

All consoles connect to each platform’s online app or game store, which can be used to buy and download games. Each, therefore, has an option to prevent a child from accidentally buying a game or spending money through in-game purchasing. Some have this on as a default but you can adjust this when you set parental controls.

Consoles to consider for your child

See reviews of games consoles currently available with advice on the age they’re appropriate for, what online activities they allow, and the types of games that can be played on them.

Nintendo Switch

The Nintendo Switch is the latest console that plays Mario and Zelda games. It’s unique because when plugged into its dock you can play on the TV. When removed from the dock it works as a stand-alone portable gaming device.

That means you can play the same games on the remote screen when out and about as on your TV. The Joy-Con controllers are also detachable, so two children can play games at the same time without additional accessories.

It plays all the important games like Fortnite, Minecraft and FIFA, although it doesn’t have Call of Duty games or Roblox. It’s also the best way to play Mario Kart and Zelda games. There is also a growing library of affordable indie games that are great fun for families.

It costs around £280 without a game.

The parent controls on the Switch are excellent and use a separate app for iOS and Android to adjust the options. This makes it really easy to keep track of how your child is playing. Also, there is no internet browser and playing games with others online is restricted to approved friends only.

Click here for a step-by-step guide to setting up parental controls on the Nintendo Switch

Back to top


Nintendo 2dS / 3DS

Nintendo has been making its 3DS series of handheld games consoles for more than six years. You can access this huge library of games with a wide range of hardware. The original 3DS, the new 3DS the 3DS XL all feature a 3D display that doesn’t need glasses. The original 2DS, new 2DS and 2DS XL play all the 3DS games but don’t offer the special 3D screen. The games look the same, although they don’t pop off the screen quite so much.

The 2DS XL is the final version of the handheld that you will see most often in store. With many 1,000s of compatible games already available – many of which heavily discounted – the 2DS XL is the finest portable games console of its generation.

It costs around £130.

There are online capabilities of the 2DS XL – much like the 3DS variants before it – but as with the Switch, the parental controls are excellent. You can restrict online purchases and internet browsing to age-specific guidelines and PIN protect content you don’t wish your child to access.

Click here for a step-by-step guide to setting up parental controls on the 3DS/2DS.

Back to top


Xbox One S / Xbox One X

Although there is now a more advanced version in the 4K-enabled Xbox One X, the One S is a great option for the budget conscious family who want an all-round entertainment machine. It plays games in up to Full HD (1080p) but can also be used as a 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray player.

And with many entertainment apps, including Netflix and Amazon Video, it works as a smart streaming device too. There are also 1000s of games available for Xbox One and you can also play hundreds of older Xbox 360 games on the console too, which is great for those looking to upgrade.

It is available for around £230.

As with any connected device, the Xbox One S gives access to the internet and online apps. Many of the games are also playable online, so you need to supervise when children are playing them to ensure they do so safely. Thankfully, there are also plenty of parental controls to restrict access to online activities and age-inappropriate games.

It also has a novel dual-control feature so that two people can control the same game. This is ideal for taking the frustration very young players can have while learning a game. It’s also a fun way to collaborate on more advanced experiences for all ages.

Click here for a step-by-step guide to setting up parental controls on the Xbox One.

Back to top


PlayStation 4 / PlayStation 4 Pro

There are two versions of the PlayStation 4 available today, a standard model and a PS4 Pro, with 4K graphics and more power under the hood. However, all PS4 games will run on either machine and look great no matter which version you opt for.

As with the Xbox One, you get apps for streaming videos, such as Netflix and Amazon Video, but this console is more geared for gaming than all-around entertainment. It is also the biggest selling console in the world right now, so games support is mighty.

You can get one for around £230.

There are two versions of the PlayStation 4 available today, a standard model and a PS4 Pro, with 4K graphics and more power under the hood. However, all PS4 games will run on either machine and look great no matter which version you opt for.

The PlayStation has a range of “PlayLink” games for families that you can play with a Smartphone as a controller. This means that 6 people can play together without needing to purchase lots of controllers. They are also really varied in how they’re played. Using the touchscreen, camera and tilt controls makes for some unique family gaming experiences not possible on other systems.

Click here for a step-by-step guide to setting up parental controls on the PS4.

Back to top


Nintendo Classic Mini / SNES Classic Mini

The original Super Nintendo (SNES) original came out in the UK in 1992, so many parents have fond memories of it. Nintendo understands that yearning for retro thrills and has, therefore, re-released a smaller, modern reworking of the original console.

It contains 21 classic games from the 90s, including Super Mario World, Super Mario Kart, and Star Fox, and comes with two controllers modelled on the originals. If you want your kids to experience the same great games you remember, you can’t get much better than this.

It is priced from £70.

The console is an all-in-one unit with no access to the internet. The games are included and locked to the machine, so you cannot add any more. However, this also comes with the safety of knowing that a child will not encounter any untoward behaviour. Multiplayer is still available through good, old-fashioned, same-room two-player action. Great for all the family.

There is also a more basic Nintendo Classic Mini Entertainment System that provides games from the previous generation of Nintendo hardware. This is a little cheaper, but because of its age the games can be hard for very young players to master.

Back to top


Sony PlayStation Classic Console

This is a re-release of the original 1994 PlayStation console in miniature form. It comes preloaded with 20 of the best PlayStation games, including Final Fantasy VII, Jumping Flash!, Ride Racer Type 4, Tekken 3 and Wild Arms.

You can plug it straight into a screen with the included HDMI cable. It also incorporates a virtual memory card so you can save your adventures as you switch between games. Two controllers are included in the box as well which makes it a cost-effective way to access some great classics.

It is priced £89.99

Although the box states PEGI 18 because of the games included, there are plenty of titles that the whole family can enjoy. It’s just worth ensuring that younger children don’t stray onto the other games.

Back to top


Supporting resources and guides

Scroll Up