为家长准备的手游指南

了解手游的更多益处以及孩子与游戏的互动行为。

什么是手游?

手游在全世界拥有超过2.8亿的活跃用户,因能在智能手机和平板电脑上游玩,且游戏应用程序往往可免费获取或价格低廉,使其成为了最便捷的在线电子游戏的方式之一。你还可将手机与蓝牙手柄连接,使游戏操作更加方便。

手游有哪些益处呢?

若能在家长的参与和支持下选择适龄的游戏,手游便可帮助家长和孩子互动以及培养多种能力。

从健康角度了解玩手游的益处

  • 身体发展

有些游戏能测试孩子的策略性思考能力和对外界环境的认知,有助于提高他们的记忆力、空间意识和解决问题的能力。有些情况下,玩游戏也能提升幼儿的动手能力。

  • 促进运动

市面上有许多游戏能测试耐久力、鼓励孩子们跑跑跳跳来得分或在游戏过程中四处移动。有一些游戏使用了增强现实的技术,这其中最受欢迎的就是《精灵宝可梦GO》,这款游戏会鼓励孩子们前往户外以获得更棒的游戏体验。

  • 让家人齐聚

玩一些简单的游戏,比如艾伦·德詹尼丝的“你说我猜”(Heads up)或其他类似的游戏,让智能手机成为聚会游戏的好帮手,同时也让“游戏之夜”进入一个全新的阶段。

  • 教育福利

有的游戏能测试孩子对数学、科学知识以及其他方面的兴趣,丰富学习体验,让孩子的学习过程更有趣,从而使他们对某个学科保持热情。

  • 拓展想象力

游戏也能让孩子探索创意世界、发挥想象力。这能帮助他们学习新的方式来述说故事,在收获知识的同时,还能以感性和充满同理心的方式了解这个世界。

  • 帮助有特殊需求的孩子

不同的线上电子游戏能从沟通技巧、 移动技能、组织和社交能力以及读写技巧等各方面,为有特殊需求的孩子提供帮助。

资源中心 文件

常识媒体的文章: 5视频游戏可以帮助有特殊需要的孩子

阅读文章

手游会带来哪些风险?

游戏中的网络霸凌

在匿名的网络世界中,由于不必担心后果,使得玩家之间更容易互相攻击。虽然许多游戏都制定了清晰的社区守则来防止游戏内出现任何形式的谩骂侮辱 (查看Supercell的例子),但有些玩家(常被称为网络喷子)还是会毫无缘由地故意攻击或骚扰他人。

如果你的孩子与陌生人进行游戏,为了使他们获得更安全的游戏体验,则需要让他们学会如何向平台反映问题或屏蔽其他玩家。浏览反霸凌慈善机构Cybersmile的网站 了解如何在各大平台上举报游戏内不正当行为。

平台如何保护你的孩子

比如,在Supercell的所有游戏中,聊天记录都支持一键举报,以便玩家举报不正当内容——一旦被举报,机器学习系统将立刻评估其风险等级,再由受过专业训练的工作人员复核。

资源中心 文件

位母亲分享了儿子在游戏中遭遇网络霸凌的故事

阅读文章

来自陌生人的危险

随着手游中的社交游戏越来越流行,我们应当让孩子意识到,并非每个他们接触到的人都会诚实地展现自己。帮助他们理解,有些人与他们交往或许是别有用心。

引导他们凡事不能只看表面,也不要与网友进行线下会面。与孩子持续保持良好沟通,了解他们在哪些平台上交流、在与谁交往,将有助于你了解何时能为他们提供帮助。

查看他们在游戏中的隐私设置,确保幼儿玩家关闭语音通话等功能,也能有所帮助。我们也建议多在家庭空间或其他可以一起游玩的情境下玩游戏。

资源中心 文件

进一步了解网上诱拐事件来保护你的孩子

阅读文章

游戏内消费

虽然许多游戏都可以免费游玩,但其中也可能有一些高级功能需要付费才能使用。比如在Supercell的游戏中,你可以购买游戏内货币(常被称为宝石或钻石)或享受诸如宝箱、卡片、皮肤或其他特属物品的优惠。

(最多可花XNUMX英镑),关键在于,要跟他们说好 (最多可花79.99英镑) 关键在于,要跟他们说好在游戏中哪些能买、哪些不能。另外,如有必要,可以在孩子的设备中设置关闭游戏内消费的功能,或者设置一个专用密码用于从应用商城下载新程序。 查看我们的家长管控手册来了 解如何操作。

不适内容

和电影类似,所有网络游戏都有年龄分级,你可以选择与孩子年龄相符合的游戏,以免他们在尚未准备好的情况下接触到成人内容。

由于不同平台划分游戏内容的方式不一,同一个游戏在不同平台上的评级有时会有差异。因此,家长可能较难判断某个游戏是不是与孩子的年龄相符。

例如《部落冲突》在应用商店被评级为9+,但游戏制作者Supercell却将最低适宜年龄设定为13岁及以上,因为游戏中含有聊天功能并允许游戏内消费。

因此,了解评级的具体涵义以及为什么获得这样的评级,尤为重要。

此外,大人最好与低龄的孩子面对面沟通,了解他们玩的每一个游戏有怎样的内容,这有助于管理风险,同时也能回答他们关于游戏的各种疑问。

PEGI代表泛欧游戏信息,是欧洲大部分地区视频游戏评级的标准

游戏应用中的赌博内容

虽然游戏中的掉落宝箱常常被认为导致了赌博行为,但博彩委员会仅仅表示此类活动尚属灰色地带。目前而言,这两者间没有因果关系。

理解现代游戏的变现方式对家长来说仍是十分重要的,这样他们才能引导孩子在游戏花销一事上做好充分准备,并做出明智的决定。这也让他们能从任何带有泛欧游戏信息组织(PEGI)评级标识的游戏内消费中获得最超值的收益。

一些网站有时会突然出现,脱离游戏制作方的控制,提供用真实货币交易游戏内物品的服务,而这类网站往往声名狼藉。这样的交易活动,尤其是针对年轻玩家的服务,将很快被委员会关闭。

如要在这方面为孩子提供帮助,与他们进行充分的交流就显得十分重要,这样能确保他们了解赌博的风险,与此同时,家长需监督他们的线上交易,了解他们在游戏中购买了什么。你也可以关闭应用内消费以限制他们在游戏内使用这些功能。

游戏时间与时长

尽管网络游戏很有趣,但如果没有得当的限制,这将影响年轻人的学业和社交等线下生活。确保孩子在游戏与其他重要事务之间取得平衡,是让他们在游戏中受益最大化的关键所在。 查看管理屏幕使用时间的工具 寻求支持。

向上滚动

Mobile gaming parent guide

Learn more about the benefits of mobile games, how children are interacting with it and the potential issues to be aware of.

What is mobile gaming?

With over 2.8 billion active users of mobile games worldwide, it is one of the most accessible ways to play online video games as they can be played on smartphones and tablets and often are free or at a low cost. You can also pair phones with Bluetooth controllers to make it easier to play.

What are the benefits of mobile gaming?

With parental engagement and support to choose age-appropriate games, mobile gaming can offer both parents and children a great way to interact and develop a number of skills.

Health benefits of playing mobile games

  • Physical development

Playing games that help children test their strategic thinking and awareness of their wider environment can help boost memory, spatial awareness and problem-solving. In some cases playing games can also improve dexterity in younger children.

  • Promote exercise

There are a number of active gaming apps that test endurance and encourage children to run, jog or jump to gain points or navigate through a game. The most popular of these using augmented reality is Pokemon Go that encourages children to go outside to take part to enhance gameplay.

  • Bringing families together

Playing simple games like Ellen Degeneres ‘Heads up’ app or other similar apps that allow smartphones to become a tool to enhance group play can be a great way to take ‘Games night’ to another level.

  • Educational benefits

Games that test children knowledge of maths, science or other areas of interest can enhance learning and make it more fun for children to stay engaged in a particular subject.

  • Broadens imagination

Games can also allow children to explore creative worlds and use their imagination. This helps them to learn new ways to tell stories and learn about the world both emotionally and sympathetically as well as facts.

  • Supports children with special needs

Depending on the games they play, playing video games online can help children with special needs with communications skills, motor skills, organisation, and social interaction and reading and writing.

Resources document

Article from Common Sense Media: 5 ways video games can help kids with special needs

Read article

What are the risks of mobile gaming?

Cyberbullying in gaming

The anonymity of the gaming world can make it easy for players to attack each other without the fear of consequences. Although many games have clear community guidelines that prohibit in-game abuse in any form (see Supercell example), some types of players known as griefers may intentionally target other players to harass them for no reason at all.

If your child is playing with games with people they don’t know it’s important to make them aware of how to report their concern in the platform or block players to have a safer experience. Visit anti-bullying charity Cybersmile’s website to learn to report in-game abuse on the most popular platforms.

How platforms can protect your child

For example, all Supercell games have a chat in which messages can be reported with a simple tap on the message that is being deemed inappropriate– once the message has been reported it is immediately given a risk level by a machine learning system and then reviewed by specially trained moderators

Resources document

Parent stories: Mum shares son’s experience of cyberbullying while gaming

Read article

Stranger danger

With the growing trend of social gaming in mobile games, it’s important to make sure your child is aware that not everyone they interact with online is who they say they are. Help them understand that some people may have ulterior motives behind befriending them.

Advise them not to take anything at face value and never meet up with someone they’ve only met online. Having an ongoing conversation about who they are talking to online and on what platforms can help you know when to offer your support.

Reviewing their privacy settings on games they play to ensure features like voice chat are turned off for younger children can help. We’d also advise encouraging game-play to take place in family spaces and where possible together.

Resources document

See our online grooming to learn more about this issue and offer your child support.

Read article

In-game purchases

Although many of the gaming apps may be free-to-play they may also have premium features that you have to pay for to access. In Supercell games, you can, for example, purchase in-app currency (usually called gems or diamonds) or offers containing for example chests, cards, skins or other special items.

It can be tempting for children to spend real money (top spend could be up to £79.99) on these digital items so it’s important to talk to them about what they can and can’t purchase in the games. Also, if needed deactivate the in-app function through settings on your child’s device or by setting up a password to download apps in the apps store. See our parental control how to guides to find out how.

Inappropriate content

Just like movies, all online games are rated with an age rating that allows you to choose age-appropriate games to avoid children being exposed to adult content that they are not ready for.

Due to the way certain platforms categorise games according to their content, at times the age rating for one game may not be the same across all platforms. So, it can be confusing when taking a call on whether a game is age-appropriate.

For example, Clash of Clans is rated 9+ on the App store but Supercell – the makers of the game – have set the minimum age of the game to 13 and over because it features a chat function and In-app purchasing.

Therefore, it is important to understand what the ratings mean and why these may have been categorised in this way.

Beyond this, it’s always best with young children to sit together and understand what content each game they play has to help manage the risks of exposure and answer any questions they may have on the game.

PEGI, which stands for Pan European Game Information, is the standard for rating video games in much of Europe

Gambling in gaming apps

Although it’s often reported that loot boxes in games lead to gambling, the Gambling Commission only state that this activity blurs the lines between these activities. There’s currently no causal link between the two.

Still, it’s important that parents understand how modern games are monetised so they can guide children to make informed and premeditated decisions about how much they want to spend. This enables them to get the best value from any in-app purchases that are signified in the PEGI rating of the game.

Some disreputable sites outside the control of the game created sometimes spring up to offer in-game items trading for real money. This activity, particularly where targeted at young players, is quickly closed down by the app moderators.

To help children on this issue it’s important to talk about it to make sure they are aware of the risks of gambling and monitor interactions online when it comes to what they buy when gaming. You can also switch off in-app purchases limit access to these features in-game play.

Amount of playtime and when

Although playing online games is fun, if not done with the right boundaries, it can interfere in young people offline responsibilities like school work and social engagements. Ensuring children are balancing time playing with their priorities is key to ensuring they are getting the best out of their gameplay. See tools to manage screen time for support.

Scroll Up