我如何帮助我的孩子对他们关注的社交媒体影响者进行批判性思考?

向我们的专家咨询有关社交媒体影响者对年轻人生活的影响日益增加的建议,以及可以采取哪些措施确保这些影响者对孩子的影响保持积极。


Elizabeth Milovidov博士,Esq

法学教授和数字育儿专家
专家网站

我如何确保我的孩子对他们在网上看到的东西持批判态度,并受到他们所关注的影响者的积极影响?

儿童可以在YouTube上观看许多不同的事物:专门为儿童制作的视频; 其他孩子喜欢的视频; 教育视频,教学游戏视频等等。 但可以肯定的是,当今的孩子越来越全神贯注于自己喜欢的YouTuber,事实上,他们甚至渴望自己成为YouTuber。

父母和照顾者应记住,YouTube平台适用于13 +用户,而YouTube儿童适用于13以下的用户。 无论您的孩子使用的平台是什么,父母和照顾者都可以确保孩子在选择观看哪些视频以及跟随哪些影响者时形成批判性思维。

观看视频的准则

  • 确保您设置了观看视频的规则,并且您的孩子同意
  • 考虑 设立家庭账户
  • 打开 安全模式
  • 对于年幼的孩子 创建播放列表 并且在将视频添加到播放列表之前,请不要忘记完整观看视频
  • 和您的孩子一起观看视频,并滚动浏览评论; 关于同理心和复原力可能会有一些很好的教学机会
  • 订阅YouTube频道,以便您的孩子可以观看她的最爱,但请记住,除非您不愿意,否则YouTube仍会提供“推荐视频” 把它关掉
  • 教您的孩子遵守18岁以上的年龄限制
  • 提醒您的孩子,无论多么诱人,都避免点击广告
  • 如果不确定孩子在看什么,可以检查 观看记录
  • 教孩子如何 屏蔽和报告视频
  • 如果您的孩子对vlogger或YouTube有影响力的人赞不绝口,请进行研究并检查一下。 您可能会对vlogger是出色的榜样感到惊讶。

如果时间允许,请尝试与您的孩子一起观看这些病毒视频和最新的YouTube影响者,以引发有关您孩子的在线世界的对话。 您会很高兴的。

威廉·沃特金教授

当代文学与哲学教授
专家网站

我需要了解有关在线影响者的哪些信息,以确保我的孩子不会受到他们所看到的负面影响?

有影响力的人是社交媒体明星,他利用自己的受欢迎程度来影响其他人,以购买公司已付费推广的产品。 有影响力的人正在散步,交谈,共享和互动广告。 根据 超过70%的有影响力市场中心 的青少年表示,他们认为YouTuber比名人更可靠,因此,在线影响者业务目前的价值每年为6.5十亿美元,这并不奇怪。

最近的纪录片,例如 Netflix的FYRE:从未发生过的最伟大的派对 加入了许多与社交媒体有影响力人士的建议的真实性有关的声音。 尽管有行业法规,但它却被普遍忽略,尤其是在美国,并且很难执行。 最近发生的一些深层虚假现象加剧了父母的担忧, 人工智能影响者Lil Miquela,以及有影响力的人经常伪造其产品背书以吸引产品背书的启示,这再次引发了有关我们将假冒产品与真实观点在线分离的能力的问题。

好消息是该行业建立在有影响力的人与听众之间的信任基础上。 有影响力的人几乎总是他们所选择领域的专家,并依赖与他们的追随者的日常互动,因此,使他们被视为真实可信是很重要的。 至少在英国的大多数影响者 遵守规则 ,例如,使用#Ad标签可以清楚地表明帖子或视频实际上是广告,但是在瞬息万变的行业中,数十亿美元的价值只是忽略了法规。 父母和孩子们通常都需要发展自己的批判性数字素养,以便他们可以将广告与建议分开。

如何教孩子真实的,假的和虚拟的区别?

随着时间的流逝和技术的发展,诸如AI(人工智能)和CGI(计算机生成的图像)​​之类的技术的使用方式也在不断发展。 您可能听说过有关 deepfakes,其中将个人(通常是女性名人)的图像映射到成年(性)表演者的脸上。 这些视频非常逼真,很难说它们是假的。 但是在CGI中,我们也看到假冒影响者的数量也在增加。 例如,看看YouTube或Instagram上的“ Lil Miquela”,她(有?)拥有1.6百万关注者。 不难看出Miquela是计算机生成的。 您可能会认为图像是真实的人而过滤器已经被过度使用了,但是视频清楚地表明它是CGI,您可能会原谅。 此外,广告代理商正在使用Lil Miquela之类的产品来“影响”其产品。

您可能会问为什么要使用CGI? 我敢肯定有很多原因(例如,您不必付钱给真正的影响者),但是过去一直使用卡通来与儿童和年轻人互动,这似乎是现代的说法,尽管它是一个更现实的版本,所以您可能想知道,“我如何教我的孩子什么是真实的,什么不是虚拟的?”。

一切都归结为批判性思维,这是我们应用于生活任何领域的逻辑。 我们问自己一些简单的问题,例如:

  • 该图像/视频的目的是什么?
  • 他们想做什么或影响我?
  • 他们为什么谈论这个产品?

YouTube可以成为儿童的绝佳平台,而新版的YouTube儿童版(适用于12及以下的儿童)使父母可以更精细地控制儿童所看到的内容,但我们始终不遗余力。无论是不适当的内容还是试图影响孩子说,做或购买东西的人(真实或虚拟的),都有可能产生不良味道。 与孩子们保持积极主动:

  • 观看他们最喜欢的一些频道 与他们讨论他们为什么偏爱那些渠道。 使用上述简单问题,与他们讨论批判性思维。
  • 如果他们使用YouTube观看有关自己爱好的视频, 一起搜索并讨论为什么您觉得某些视频或频道可能不合适。 孩子们需要知道界限是什么,只有您告诉他们,他们才会知道。
  • 浏览历史 时不时地只是为了让自己满意,没有什么是不幸的。
  • 如果有不对的地方,让他们知道来找你; 他们将不会受到审判或将设备从他们身上移除。

作为父母,我非常了解在线影响者对孩子的着迷。 吸引我的孩子进行世界导览游,用“下面的评论”之类的词来模仿他们最喜欢的Youtuber,或者进行恶作剧(通常是我自费),这并不罕见。 我很难理解他们对那些单调素描的人物的爱(通常涉及揭露鸡蛋或吃甜食),当有影响力的人过于物质主义,炫耀房屋,汽车或无法实现的生活方式时,我会感到困扰。 作为父母,我们需要帮助我们的孩子找到积极的影响者,他们支持事业或通过浮华的生活方式促进技能和创造力。 我们需要了解和庆祝真正的真实,美丽并因假冒或恐怖而令人振奋。 一切都在那里,我们的工作是帮助我们的孩子找到它,甚至创造它!

写下评论

向上滚动

How can I help my child think critically about the social media influencers they follow?

Get advice from our experts on the increasing impact of social media influencers on young people’s lives and what you can do to ensure the influence of these influencers on your child stays positive.


Dr. Elizabeth Milovidov, Esq

Law professor and Digital Parenting Expert
Expert Website

­How can I ensure that my child is critical about what they see online and is positively influenced by influencers they follow?

There are so many different things that children can watch on YouTube: videos made for especially for children; videos made by other children like them; educational videos, instructional gaming videos and so much more.  But one thing is certain, children today are more and more engrossed with their favourite YouTubers and indeed, they even aspire to become YouTubers themselves.

Parents and caregivers should remember that the YouTube platform is for users 13+ and YouTube Kids for the under 13s.  No matter the platform that your child uses, parents and caregivers, can ensure that children develop critical thinking when choosing what videos to watch and what influencers to follow.

Guidelines for watching videos

  • Make sure that you set the rules for watching videos and that your child is in agreement
  • Consider setting up a family account
  • Turn on safety mode
  • For younger children create playlists and don’t forget to watch the video in its entirety before adding it to your playlist
  • Watch the videos with your child and scroll through the comments as well; there may be some great teaching opportunities about empathy and resilience
  • Subscribe to YouTube channels so your child can watch her favourites but remember that YouTube will still offer “recommended videos” unless you turn it off
  • Teach your child to respect the over 18-age limit
  • Remind your child to avoid clicking on ads, no matter how enticing
  • If you’re unsure what your child is watching, you can check the watch history
  • Teach your child how to block and report videos
  • If your child raves about a vlogger or YouTube influencer, do your research and check them out. You may be pleasantly surprised that the vlogger is a great role model.

If time permits try to watch those viral videos and the latest YouTube influencers with your child to spark a conversation about your child’s online world.  You’ll be glad that you did.

 

Professor William Watkin

Professor of Contemporary Literature and Philosophy
Expert Website

What do I need to know about online influencers to make sure my child is not negatively impacted by what they see?

An influencer is a social media star who uses their popularity to influence others to buy products that companies have paid them to promote. Influencers are walking, talking, sharing, and interacting adverts. With, according to Influencer Market Hub over 70% of teens saying they think YouTubers are more reliable than celebrities, it is perhaps not surprising that the online influencer business is currently valued at $6.5 billion dollars a year.

Recent documentaries like Netflix’s FYRE: The Greatest Party That Never Happened have joined a host of voices concerned with the authenticity of the recommendations of social media influencers. While there is industry regulation it is widely ignored, especially stateside, and very hard to enforce. To add fuel the fire of parents’ concerns, recent deep-fake phenomena like AI influencer Lil Miquela, and revelations that influencers themselves often fake their product endorsements so as to attract product endorsement, raise issues yet again about our ability to separate fake from authentic opinions online.

The good news is that the industry is based on the trust that is established between an influencer and their audience. Influencers are nearly always experts in their chosen areas and depend on daily interactions with their followers, so it is important that they are seen to be authentic and truthful. Most influencers in the UK at least follow the rules , for example using the #Ad label to make it clear when a post or video is actually an ad, but in an ever-changing industry worth billions many just ignore the regulations. It is often down to parents and children alike to develop their critical digital literacy so that they can separate adverts from advice.

Alan Mackenzie

Online Safety Specialist
Expert Website

How do I teach my child the difference between what is real, what’s fake and what’s virtual?

As time moves on and technology evolves, so does the way in which that technology is being used, for example AI (artificial intelligence) and CGI (computer generated imagery). You may have heard of the increasing concerns over deepfakes, where images of individuals (usually female celebrities) are mapped onto the face of an adult (sexual) performer. These videos are concerningly realistic, it’s very difficult to tell that they are fake. But within CGI we’re also seeing a rise in fake influencers too. For example, take a look at ‘Lil Miquela’ on YouTube or Instagram where she (it?) has 1.6 million followers. It isn’t difficult to see that Miquela is computer generated. You may be forgiven for thinking the images are of a real person and filters have been a little over-used, but the videos clearly show that it’s CGI. What’s more, advertising agencies are using the likes of Lil Miquela to ‘influence’ their products.

You might be asking why use CGI? I’m sure there are many reasons (e.g. you don’t have to pay a real influencer), but cartoons have always been used in the past to engage with children and young people, this just seems to be a modern version of that, albeit a much more realistic version, so you may be wondering, “how do I teach my child what is real and what isn’t or virtual?”.

It all comes down to critical thinking, the same logic we apply into any area of our lives; we ask ourselves simple questions, such as:

  • What is the purpose of this image/video?
  • What are they trying to do, or influence me with?
  • Why are they talking about this product?

YouTube can be an amazing platform for children and the newer version of YouTube Kids (for children 12 and under) gives parents much more granular control over what children are seeing, but we can’t take our eye off the ball as there is always the potential for something unsavoury, whether that is inappropriate content or people (real or virtual) trying to influence the children to say, do or buy something. Be pro-active with your children:

  • Watch a few of their favourite channels with them and discuss why they favour those channels. Talk to them about critical thinking using simple questions such as those above.
  • If they are using YouTube to view videos about their hobbies, search together and discuss why you feel certain videos or channels may be inappropriate. Children need to know what the boundaries are, and they will only know if you tell them.
  • Browse through the history every now and again just to satisfy yourself that nothing is untoward.
  • Let them know to come to you if something isn’t right; that they won’t be judged or have their device removed from them.

As a parent I am all too aware of how fascinated children are by influencers online. It’s not uncommon to catch my children giving a guided tour of their world, mimicking their favourite Youtubers with phrases like ‘Comment below’, or setting up pranks (usually at my expense). I struggle to understand their love for characters who do monotonous sketches (often involving egg reveals or eating sweets) and I get troubled when influencers are overly materialistic, showing off flash houses and cars or an unattainable lifestyle. As parents we need to help our children find influencers who are positive, who support a cause or promote skill and creativity over a flashy lifestyle. We need to understand and celebrate what is truly real, beautiful and uplifting over fake or terrifying. It’s all out there, our job is to help our children find it – or even create it!

Write the comment

Scroll Up