社交游戏和实时流媒体应用

如果您的孩子在网上玩游戏,他们可能会使用平台让他们与其他玩家或朋友聊天和交流。 获取有关儿童正在使用的最新社交游戏和直播应用程序的建议,以帮助他们充分利用他们的体验。

社交游戏和直播平台

有许多特定于游戏的聊天室以及通过游戏机和其他互联网站点在线交友的方法。
除了在线的大型社区,通过互联网论坛和Reddit等消息网站,每个游戏平台都有自己的方式允许用户进行通信。

pdf图像

41% 的孩子玩电子游戏的父母表示,他们的孩子通过 Twitch 和 YouTube Gaming 等流媒体服务与其他游戏玩家聊天或交流(资源).

以下是一些流行的游戏和直播平台:

pdf图像

64% 的父母同意,他们认为在线游戏给孩子带来的风险与使用社交媒体的风险相同(资源).

Twitch

Twitch 是一个直播平台 数百万用户可以 观看直播或预先录制的视频游戏。 用户可以观看的其他可用频道包括音乐,体育,电子竞技和美食。

面向游戏社区,它还提供游戏新闻,产品公告,事件,以及真正热爱游戏的粉丝社区。 此外,Twitch广播了有利可图的电子竞技锦标赛,为职业玩家提供了大量奖金。

下载指南。

Facebook游戏

Facebook游戏 是一个包含所有游戏相关内容的平台,与 Twitch 和 YouTube Gaming 一样,用户可以观看预先录制的视频、观看直播游戏或录制和流式传输游戏。 不同之处在于,用户可以和朋友一起玩游戏,例如 Word with Friends、UNO 等。

蒸汽

对于PC和Apple Mac电脑,您可以购买和玩游戏的最受欢迎的平台之一是 蒸汽。 它需要安装在计算机上,无论是台式机还是笔记本电脑,都可以访问数以千计的游戏。 有一个游戏商店和一种加载和玩你已经购买的游戏的方式,但也有一个庞大的社区和社交方面。

下载指南。

Discord

Discord 是一个让志趣相投的人分享和交流的平台。 它在游戏社区中很受欢迎,因为它为视频游戏玩家提供了一种相互交流的方式,并在游戏本身之外开发了一个社区。

下载指南。

的PlayStation

所有 PlayStation 系统都可以设置为拥有由父母运营的主账户和为孩子运营的子账户。 孩子的个人资料将根据为该孩子设置的出生日期自动限制某些操作。

下载指南.

任天堂

任天堂徽标任天堂 游戏机比大多数游戏机更适合家庭使用,因此它的聊天功能更适合年轻玩家的安全互动。 例如,Miiverse 是一个中央枢纽,用户可以在这里分享他们绘制的图片和快速消息——想想有趣、友好、家庭安全的 Twitter。

下载指南。

YouTube游戏

YouTube游戏 是一个以游戏玩家为中心的视频平台,与 Twitch 竞争,从那时起它就不再是游戏玩家登录 YouTube 了。 它允许用户通过实时聊天功能观看直播和点播视频游戏内容。

Xbox Live的

Microsoft 为其游戏机提供的在线服务称为 Xbox Live,当您登录该服务时,您可以与其他 Xbox Live 会员聊天并与他们成为朋友。 对于 Xbox One 和 Xbox 360 游戏控制台,您可以在控制台第一次启动时设置 Xbox Live 配置文件,并输入详细信息以确定可用的默认选项。 例如,孩子的年龄会自动限制和阻止他们执行某些操作,例如接受好友请求。

下载指南.

边玩边聊天

游戏是年轻人参与、社交和娱乐的好方法。 对于年轻人来说,他们可以在游戏机、应用程序或网站、手机、平板电脑、PC 上或通过智能扬声器和虚拟现实耳机玩游戏。

越来越多的游戏应用程序/平台为玩家提供聊天和消息功能。

父母最关心的问题之一是游戏中的互动通常不仅限于好友列表中的互动,而且不同年龄段的完全陌生的人都可以在玩游戏时进行交流。 年轻人还可以使用其他平台,如 Discord 和 Twitch,了解他们玩的游戏的技巧,并与有相似兴趣的其他玩家交谈。

这些聊天工具常常让儿童面临不适当内容的风险,例如网络欺凌、美容和与陌生人交谈。

帮助您的孩子安全游戏的提示

家庭生活确实很重要,与他人互动很有吸引力——这就是人类所做的! 因此,父母要取得平衡是一项挑战,除了与您的孩子交谈,表现出对他或她玩的游戏的兴趣,以及就如何安全地玩游戏一起创造平衡的对话之外,没有任何神奇的解决方案。

设置接受好友的限制

预防的方法之一就是让孩子无法在没有得到你允许的情况下添加好友。这样一来,即使他们能在游戏时与他人对话,也无法在之后继续与之互动。

大多数游戏机或平台都有家庭计划帐户,例如 Xbox Live的 or Google Family Link.

查看你的孩子能访问的游戏类型

防止这种互动的另一种可靠方法是限制您的孩子可以使用的游戏类型。 具有语音交互功能的大型在线多人游戏往往被评为“成熟”或无论如何。 始终建议查看评论和 游戏年龄分级 在您为您的孩子购买它们之前在线。

这并不是说应该完全禁止所有多人游戏。 许多,例如 Nintendo Wii U 的 Splatoon,提供了与他人互动的有趣和友好的方式,但无法相互进行口头交谈。 相反,有趣的动作和动画手势可能会内置到游戏中,以安全、适合年龄的方式进行交流。

面向幼儿的游戏很少会支持线上功能。

定期交谈

社交网络自然是大多数父母关心的问题,游戏也不例外。 但是,如果您花时间讨论 与陌生人在线交流的危险同样,如果他们在街上遇到他们,您的孩子很有可能会安全。

孩子们天生就想互相玩耍,电子游戏也是如此,但如果您仔细审查朋友并将游戏时间限制在适合儿童的时间,您就可以降低他们遇到冒犯性或不当行为的风险。

确保孩子们明白和家长沟通的重要性

您还需要向您的孩子解释讨论或披露任何私人信息(例如真实姓名、电话号码或地址)的危险。 请参阅我们的“在线管理个人信息” 在线批判性思维指南.

游戏安全指南

精选相关文章
适合家庭的惊人游戏指南
适合家庭的惊人游戏指南
更多信息
电子游戏如何帮助孩子控制情绪
电子游戏如何帮助孩子控制情绪
更多信息
向上滚动

Social gaming and live streaming apps

If your child is gaming online, they may be using platforms to allow them to chat and communicate with other players or friends. Get advice on the latest social gaming and live streaming apps children are using to help them get the most out of their experience.

Social gaming and live streaming platforms

There are many game-specific chat rooms and ways to make friends online through consoles and other internet sites.
As well as large communities online, through internet forums and messaging websites like Reddit, each gaming platform has its own way of allowing users to communicate.

pdf image

41 % of parents whose children play video games say their child chats or communicate with other gamers on streaming services like Twitch and YouTube Gaming (source).

Here are some of popular gaming and live streaming platforms:

pdf image

64% of parents agree they see online gaming as posing the same risks to their child as using social media (source).

Twitch

Twitch is a live streaming platform where millions of users can watch live streams or pre-recorded video gameplay. Other available channels users can watch include music, sports, esports, and food.

Geared towards the gaming community, it also offers gaming news, product announcements, events, and a community of fans who really love games. Additionally, Twitch broadcasts lucrative esports tournaments, which offer large sums of prize money to professional players.

Download guide.

Facebook Gaming

Facebook Gaming is a platform for all game-related content and like Twitch and YouTube Gaming, users can either watch pre-recorded videos, watch live stream gameplay, or record and stream gameplay. How it differs is that users can play games with friends such as Word with Friends, UNO, and more.

Steam

For PC and Apple Mac computers, one of the most popular platforms that you can buy and play games is Steam. It needs to be installed on a computer, be that desktop or laptop, and gives access to thousands of games. There is a game store and a way to load and play games that you’ve bought, but there is also a large community and social side.

Download guide.

Discord

Discord is a platform for people with similar interests to share and communicate. It is popular among the gaming community as it offers a way for video game players to communicate with each other and develop a community outside of the games themselves.

Download guide.

PlayStation

All PlayStation systems can be set up to have master accounts run by a parent and sub-accounts for children. A child’s profile will automatically restrict certain actions depending on the date of birth set for that child.

Download guide.

Nintendo

Nintendo logoNintendo consoles are more family-friendly than most and therefore its chat functionality is a lot more geared to safe interaction for younger players. The Miiverse, for example, is a central hub where users can share pictures they have drawn and quick messages – think fun and friendly, family safe Twitter.

Download guide.

YouTube Gaming

YouTube Gaming is a gamer-centric video platform rival to Twitch, since then it is no longer, instead, gamers log onto YouTube. It allows users to watch live and on-demand video game content with a live chat feature.

Xbox Live

Microsoft’s online service for its consoles is called Xbox Live and when you’re signed into the service you can chat to other Xbox Live members and befriend them. For Xbox One and Xbox 360 games consoles, you set up an Xbox Live profile when the console is first powered up and the details entered to determine which default options are available. A child’s age, for example, will automatically restrict and block them from certain actions, such as accepting friend requests.

Download guide.

Chatting while gaming

Gaming is a great way for young people to engage, socialise and have fun. For young people, they can play games on gaming consoles, apps or websites, mobiles, tablets, PCs, or through smart speakers and virtual reality headsets.

More and more gaming apps/platforms have a chat and messaging function for players.

One of the biggest concerns for parents is the interaction in-game is often not limited to those in a friends list but complete strangers of all different ages can communicate while playing. Young people can also use other platforms, like Discord and Twitch, to learn tips about the games they play and speak to other players who share similar interests.

These chat tools often leave children at risk of inappropriate content such as cyberbullying, grooming, and talking to strangers.

Tips to help your child game safely

Family life does matter and interacting with others is appealing – it is what humans do! So it is a challenge for parents to strike a balance and there is no magic solution other than talking to your child, showing an interest in the games he or she plays, and creating a balanced dialogue together about how to game safely.

Set controls to prevent accepting friend request

One way to prevent this is to block the child’s ability to add a friend without your permission. That way, even though they might talk to someone online during a gameplay session, the interaction cannot be followed up.

Most gaming consoles or platforms have a Family plan account such as Xbox Live or Google Family Link.

Check the types of games your child has access to

Another sure-fire way to prevent this kind of interaction is to limit the type of game available to your child. Large, online multiplayer titles with voice interaction tend to be rated “mature” or over anyway. It is always advisable to check out reviews and the age rating of games online before you buy them for your children.

That’s not to say all multiplayer games should be banned full stop. Many, such as Splatoon for the Nintendo Wii U, offer fun and friendly ways to interact with others, but without the ability to talk verbally to each other. Instead, funny motions and animated gestures might be built into the game to communicate in a safe, age-appropriate way.

Very few, if any, games aimed at younger children have online capabilities.

Have regularly conversations

Social networking is naturally a concern for most parents and gaming is no different. However, if you take the time to discuss the dangers of communicating with strangers online, in the same way, you would if they met them in the street, there is a good chance your child will be safe.

Children naturally want to play with each other, and the same is true in video games, but if you carefully vet friends and restrict gaming sessions to child-friendly hours, you can reduce the risk that they might encounter offensive or inappropriate behaviour.

Make sure children are share aware

You also need to explain the danger to your child of discussing or disclosing any private information, such as real name, phone number, or address. See ‘managing personal information online’ in our Online Critical Thinking guide.

Game Safe Guide

Featured related articles
Amazing games guide for families
Amazing games guide for families
Read more
How video games can help children manage their emotions
How video games can help children manage their emotions
Read more
Scroll Up