威廉·沃特金教授

当代文学与哲学教授

威廉·沃特金是布鲁内尔大学当代哲学和文学教授,他教授暴力,技术,数字素养和当代文化课程。 他是当代欧洲哲学领域的世界领先专家之一。

Watkin教授是七本书的作者。 他最近的一本书, 生物暴力:如何让我们做出他们想做的事情 (Routledge 2020),通过数字化和社交媒体来看待我们的生活控制,胁迫以及增强的创新。 他目前正在进行一项关于我们新数字时代的文化,政治和社会影响的书籍研究 反社交媒体。 关于民粹主义使用社交媒体的短暂争论称 哄骗民主:互联网如何打破政治。

威廉是一位出版的记者,专门研究社交媒体,数字素养和政治方面的问题。 他特别是假新闻专家,并出现在各种媒体平台上,谈论真相后文化,拖钓和民粹主义。 他也是一位热心的电影制作人,他在YouTube上拥有自己的Vlog,可以应对Web 2.0崛起带来的挑战和机遇。

Watkin教授并不讨厌互联网,他认为每当我们点击“喜欢”或“分享”时,我们提高数字素养并保持我们的眼睛和思想开放是很重要的。 他希望自己的孩子能够成为数字创作者的灵感,而不仅仅是不假思索的策展人。

显示完整的生物 作者的网站
向上滚动

Professor William Watkins

Professor of Contemporary Literature and Philosophy

William Watkin is Professor of Contemporary Philosophy and Literature at Brunel University where he teaches courses on violence, technology, digital literacy and contemporary culture. He is one of the world’s leading experts on contemporary European philosophy.

Prof. Watkin is the author of seven books. His most recent book, Bioviolence: How the powers that be make us do what they want (Routledge 2020), looks at innovations in the way our lives are controlled, coerced but also enhanced by digitisation and social media.  He is currently working on a book-length study of the cultural, political and social implications of our new digital age called Anti-Social Media. And a short polemic on populism’s use of social media called Trolling Democracy: How the internet broke politics.

William is a published journalist specialising in issues around social media, digital literacy and politics.  He is an expert on fake news in particular, and has appeared on various media platforms talking about post-truth culture, trolling and populism.  He is also a keen film-maker with his own Vlog on YouTube dealing with challenges and opportunities presented by the rise of Web 2.0.

Prof. Watkin doesn’t hate the internet, he just thinks it is important that we improve our digital literacy and keep our eyes and minds open every time we click ‘like’ or ‘share’.  He wants his own kids to be inspired to become digital creators, not just unthinking curators.

Show full bio Author's website
Scroll Up