社交网络和消息传递应用程序

除了YouTube,Snapchat和Instagram,还有许多孩子可以相互交流和在线分享生活的应用程序。 获取有关这些内容以及您需要注意的应用程序的建议。

页面上有什么?

社交消息传递应用程序对年轻人的潜在风险是什么?

社交网络和消息传递应用程序使年轻人能够与从未见过的学校朋友,远方朋友或在线朋友保持社交关系。 但是,作为父母,有一些重要的安全问题值得了解。

与陌生人聊天

在网上与陌生人会面和聊天对可能容易受到伤害的年轻人构成风险 梳理 以及在线(和离线)性虐待形式。

发送不当内容

有了屏幕的物理屏障,有些人会感到更有能力向其他人施加压力 发送通常具有性或贬损性的信息.

分享位置

许多应用程序都基于身份或电话号码信息。 在许多情况下,应用程序并不总是让您知道正在使用此信息,这意味着孩子可能会共享个人信息。 以及社交网络本身,大多数设备上都提供隐私和安全设置。 您可以在我们的网站上找到更多信息 隐私和身份盗用 咨询中心。

共享信息

许多应用程序都基于身份或电话号码信息。 在许多情况下,应用程序并不总是让您知道正在使用此信息,这意味着孩子可能会共享个人信息。 以及社交网络本身, 隐私和安全设置 在大多数设备上可用。

网络欺凌

智能手机可让人们拍照并在社交网络上即时分享,或在几秒钟内在线发布有关某人的信息。 有时候,这可能意味着年轻人更容易受到 网络欺凌.

身体形象失真

随着诸如Snapchat和Instagram之类的照片共享应用程序的普及,孩子们越来越感到不适 压力,以符合人体的美丽形象 他们认为,重要的是要促进 正面的身体形象 并帮助孩子培养批判性思维,以质疑他们在网上看到的内容。

请参阅我们的主要提示指南,以 解决社交媒体的担忧

资源中心 文件

在Facebook,Instagram和WhatsApp上获取支持孩子的数字健康的工具和提示。

参观指南

受儿童欢迎的顶级社交网络和消息传递应用程序

我们汇总了孩子们正在使用的最受欢迎的社交网络和消息传递应用程序的列表,以及他们可能给孩子带来的潜在风险。 您还将找到相关安全页面或独立第三方文章和意见的链接,以及有关特定应用程序的更多信息。

YouTube应用

YouTube是一个社交视频平台,它使年轻人不仅可以观看自己喜欢的YouTuber或视频记录器中的视频,还可以彼此分享他们所观看内容的评论。 它吸引了许多人为自己的频道进行评论,喜欢和创建内容,因此它已成为全球最大的社交网络平台之一,活跃用户超过2亿。

成本:免费| 最低年龄:13

Instagram

一个照片共享应用程序,使您可以编辑照片和视频,将其上传并共享到其他社交网站。 照片和视频可以直接发送给朋友。

成本:免费| 最低年龄:13

的TikTok

TikTok是一款流行的社交网络应用程序,允许用户创建音乐片段和短片,最长可达60秒,并为其添加特殊效果。

成本:免费| 最低年龄:13

Facebook

Facebook应用程序允许您共享个人信息,状态更新,图片,视频以及与网络聊天。 GPS功能值得理解-“附近的朋友”可让您在地图上查看朋友的当前位置。

成本:免费| 最低年龄:13

Facebook Messenger

Facebook Messenger应用程序是一个免费的Messenger应用程序,可与Facebook中的Inbox连接,并允许用户共享照片,视频,音频,并可用于群聊。

成本:免费| 最低年龄:13

Snapchat

Snapchat 是一个照片共享应用程序,用户可以在其中将照片或视频发送给他们的朋友。 它们可以在屏幕上显示长达十秒钟,然后再删除,尽管可以对消息进行屏幕截图并使用其他应用来捕获内容。 Snapchat可以用于具有性行为的消息,也可以表示消息。 通过我们的“使用方法”指南了解如何设置隐私设置。

成本:免费| 最低年龄:13

WhatsApp

免费的实时消息传递。 您可以共享图像和视频,参加“群聊”并共享位置。 如果您已经知道某人的电话号码,则只能向该人发送消息。

成本:免费| 最低年龄:16

Twitter

Twitter应用程序的工作方式与桌面版Twitter相似,不同之处在于,当您发推文时,您还可以发布发帖的位置。 父母安全中心可以为您解决任何问题或疑虑。

成本:免费| 最低年龄:13

Discord

Discord是一款免费的语音和文本聊天应用程序,年轻人经常在在线游戏和直播视频时使用它与他人进行交流。 它被称为“游戏玩家的天际”,它可以帮助玩家通过启用语音,视频和文本的专用服务器相互通信。

成本:免费| 最低年龄:13

电报使者

Telegram是一款可在移动设备和台式机上使用的应用程序,可为发件人提供免费,安全的消息。 与WhatsApp一样,该应用程序对消息进行加密,并让您能够在不需要的情况下销毁消息。

成本:免费| 最低年龄:16

认识可能会带来风险的新朋友的应用程序

这些应用因其所使用的技术类型以及围绕他们而形成的社区的类型而对儿童具有潜在风险而赢得了声誉。

tumblr

Tumblr的应用程序版本允许用户发布,共享和阅读其他用户的文本和图像博客。 尽管Tumblr屏蔽了与饮食失调,自我伤害和自杀有关的博客,但2-4%的Tumblr内容属于色情内容。

成本:免费| 最低年龄:13
风险: 接触不适当的内容

Omegle的

在此 聊天应用 是一个免费的在线聊天网站,用于通过网络摄像头与陌生人聊天。
与Chaftroulete一样,该应用程序将用户彼此随机配对以进行匿名的一对一聊天。

成本:免费| 最低年龄:13

风险:暴露于色情内容和其他类型的不当内容

MeowChat

MeowChat其独特的外观包括卡通猫,并允许用户发送文本,图像或音频剪辑。 它鼓励根据用户的位置随时与“志趣相投”的陌生人聊天。 聊天室可能包含不雅语言,并且可能邀请与陌生人进行私人聊天。

成本:免费| 最低年龄:18

风险: 暴露于色情内容和其他类型的不当内容

优博

优博 是一个消息传递应用程序,它允许其用户向其他人发送文本和照片,并与该应用程序中的朋友和“任何人”进行实时流式传输。 用户可以选择与自己特定半径内的其他用户进行互动。 它被称为“孩子们的火种”:被邀请用户向右滑动他们喜欢的个人资料,向左滑动他们不喜欢的个人资料。 该应用程序被认为对于青少年与陌生人联系非常危险。

成本:免费| 最低年龄:13
风险: 与陌生人联系,内容不当

Chatroulette的

Chat的应用程序版本具有与桌面版本相同的功能,允许随机的陌生人之间进行视频互动。 用户必须登录,并且存在一些(人为和计算机化的)审核/过滤操作,以查找不适当的内容,但是孩子可能不知道他们在跟谁说话。

成本:免费| 最低年龄:18
风险: 与陌生人联系,内容不当

猴子应用

像Chatroulete一样,Monkey App将来自世界各地的用户随机配对在一起进行快速视频通话,如果用户彼此喜欢,他们可以为视频通话增加时间或通过SnapChat进行连接。

成本:免费| 最低年龄:17
风险: 与陌生人联系,不适当的内容,匿名

在线约会应用要注意

grindr

针对双性恋和同性恋者,Grindr应用程序使用位置和照片鼓励陌生人之间的“志趣相投”的聚会。 grindr 向用户介绍最接近的地理半径内的“匹配项”。 Grindr适用于18以上的用户,并要求用户在注册时验证年龄,但是青少年可以使用它。

成本:免费| 最低年龄:18

风险:暴露于色情内容和其他类型的不当内容

跟我碰面

Meetme应用程序允许用户在其平台上聊天并结识新朋友。 它通常用于遇见调情并与现实生活中可能不认识的陌生人联系。

成本:免费| 最低年龄:18

风险: 暴露于色情内容和其他类型的不当内容

火种

通过在用户的照片上向左或向右滑动,Tinder应用程序使人们可以选择想要见面的人。 由于基于位置,Tinder向用户介绍了最接近他们的“匹配项”。 Tinder的最小年龄为18。

成本:免费| 最低年龄:18
风险: 与陌生人联系

MyLOL

MyLOL 是一款针对13-20岁的“青少年约会应用”。 网络受到监控,关键字检测处于运行状态。 受到批评后,年龄上限开始生效,但是据报道,那些在更改之前注册了帐户的年长成员仍具有活动帐户。

成本:免费| 最低年龄:13
风险: 与陌生人联系,内容不当

专为儿童设计的社交媒体应用

虽然大多数社交媒体 应用的最低年龄为13 而且,还有许多针对13下的社交媒体应用程序和工具。 这些可以帮助您的孩子学习如何在更安全的环境中与朋友在线互动,因此,当您准备就绪时,他们已准备好使用较大的社交平台。

向上滚动

Social networking and messaging apps

Alongside YouTube, Snapchat and Instagram, there are a number of apps that children use to intereact with each other and share their lives online. Get advice on what these are and which apps you need to be aware of.

What’s on the page?

What are the potential risks of social messaging apps to young people?

Social networking and messaging apps allow young people to maintain social relationships with school friends, distant friends or online friends they’ve never met. However, there are some important safety issues that it’s worth knowing as a parent.

Chatting with strangers

Meeting and chatting with strangers online poses risks to young people who might be vulnerable to grooming and online (and offline) forms of sexual abuse.

Sending inappropriate content

With the physical barrier of a screen, some people feel more empowered to pressurise others into sending messages, often of a sexual or derogatory nature.

Sharing a location

Many apps work on the basis of identity or phone number information. In many cases apps don’t always let you know that this information is being used, meaning children could be sharing personal information. As well as on the social networks themselves, privacy and security settings are available on most devices. You can find out more at our Privacy & Identity Theft advice hub.

Sharing information

Many apps work on the basis of identity or phone number information. In many cases apps don’t always let you know that this information is being used, meaning children could be sharing  personal information. As well as on the social networks themselves, privacy and security settings are available on most devices.

Cyberbullying

Smartphones allow people to take photos and share them instantly on their social networks or post  information about someone online in seconds. Sometimes this can mean young people are even more  vulnerable to episodes of cyberbullying.

Distortion of Body image

With the rise in popularity of photosharing apps such as Snapchat and Instagram children  increasingly feel under pressure to conform to the body beautiful images they see so, it’s  important to talk to promote positive body image and help children develop a critial thinking to  question what they see online.

See our top tips guide to tackle social media concerns

Resources document

Get tools and tips to support your child’s digital wellbeing on Facebook, Instagram, and WhatsApp.

Visit guide

Top social networking and messaging apps popular with children

We’ve compiled a list of the most popular social networking and messaging apps that children are using and the potential risks they may expose children to. You’ll also find links to relevant safety pages or independent third-party articles and opinions with further information about specific apps.

YouTube app

YouTube is a social video platform that allows young people to not only watch videos from their  favourite YouTubers or vloggers but also share comments with each other about what they are watching. With so many people at commenting, liking and created content for their own channels,  it has become one of the biggest social networking platforms around the world with over 2 billion active users.

Cost: Free | Minimum age: 13

Instagram

A photo-sharing app which allows you to edit photos and videos, upload them and share them to  other social networking sites. Photos and videos can be sent directly to friends.

Cost: Free | Minimum age: 13

TikTok

TikTok is a popular social networking app that allows users to create, musical clips and short clips up to 60 seconds and add special affects to them.

Cost: Free | Minimum age: 13

Facebook

The Facebook app allows you to share personal information, status updates, pictures, videos and chat with a network. The GPS feature is worth understanding – ‘Nearby Friends‘ allows you to see  your friends’ current locations on a map.

Cost: Free | Minimum age: 13

Facebook Messenger

The Facebook Messenger app is a free messenger app that connects with the Inbox in Facebook and  allows users to share photos, videos, audio and can be used for group chats.

Cost: Free | Minimum age: 13

Snapchat

Snapchat is a photo-sharing app where users can send photos or videos to their friends. These will display on screen for up to ten seconds before being deleted, although it is possible to screenshot messages and use other apps to capture the content. Snapchat could be used for messages of a sexual nature or also mean messages. Learn how to set privacy settings with our “how-to” guide.

Cost: Free | Minimum age: 13

WhatsApp

Free-of-charge, real-time messaging. You can share images and videos, take part in ‘group chats’ and share locations. You can only message someone if you already know their telephone number.

Cost: Free | Minimum age: 16

Twitter

The Twitter app works in a similar way to the desktop version of Twitter, except that when you  tweet you can also post the location of where you’re tweeting from. The Safety Centre for parents can help with any questions or concerns.

Cost: Free | Minimum age: 13

Discord

Discord is a free voice and text chat app that is often used by young people to communicate with others while gaming online and streaming live video. Known as ‘skype of gamers’ it helps players  to communicated with each other through private servers that enable voice, video and text.

Cost: Free | Minimum age: 13

Telegram Messenger

Telegram is an app available on both mobile and desktops, allowing free and safe messages for the sender. Like WhatsApp, the app encrypts messages and gives you the ability to destroy them if unwanted.

Cost: Free | Minimum age: 16

Apps for meeting new people that might create risks

These apps have gained a reputation for being potentially risky for children because of the types of technology they use and the types of communities that have formed around them.

Tumblr

The app version of Tumblr allows users to post, share, and read other users text and image blogs. Although Tumblr have blocked blogs related to eating disorders, self-harm and suicide, between 2-4% of Tumblr’s content is pornographic.

Cost: Free | Minimum age: 13
Risk: Exposure to inappropriate content

Omegle

The omegle app is a Free online chat site that is used to talk to strangers through a webcam.
Like Chaftroulete, the app randomly pairs users with each other for anonymous one-to-one chats.

Cost: Free | Minimum age: 13

Risks:  Exposure to sexual content and other types of inappropriate content

MeowChat

MeowChat’s distinctive look includes cartoon cats and allows users to send texts, images or audio clips. It encourages chatting with ‘like-minded’ strangers based on the user’s location at any time. Chatrooms can contain bad language and invitations to private chats with strangers.

Cost: Free | Minimum age: 18

Risks:  Exposure to sexual content and other types of inappropriate content

Yubo

Yubo is a messaging app that allows its users to send text and photos to others and live stream with friends and ‘Anyone’ on the app. Users can choose to engage with the feeds of others within a certain radius of themselves. It’s been called “Tinder for kids”: Users are invited to swipe right on profiles they like and swipe left on profiles they don’t. The app is deemed dangerous for teenagers to connect with strangers.

Cost: Free | Minimum age: 13
Risks: Connecting with strangers, inappropriate content

Chatroulette

The app version of Chatroulette has the same functionality as the desktop version, allowing video interactions between randomised strangers. The user has to log in and there is some (human and computerised) moderation/filtering for inappropriate content, but children may not know who they are talking to.

Cost: Free | Minimum age: 18
Risks: Connecting with strangers, inappropriate content

Monkey App

Like Chatroulete, the Monkey App randomly pairs users together from across the world for a quick video call and if users like each other they can add time to their video call or connect on SnapChat.

Cost: Free | Minimum age: 17
Risks: Connecting with strangers, inappropriate content, Anonymity

Online dating apps to be aware of

Grindr

Aimed at bisexual and gay men, the Grindr app uses location and photos to encourage ‘like-minded’ meetings between strangers. Grindr introduces users to ‘matches’ within the closest geo-radius. Grindr is intended for over-18s, and asks the user to verify their age when signing up, however teens could use it regardless.

Cost: Free | Minimum age: 18

Risks:  Exposure to sexual content and other types of inappropriate content

Meetme

Meetme app allows users to chat and meet new poeple on it’s platform. It is often used to meet flirt and connect with strangers that you may not know in real life.

Cost: Free | Minimum age: 18

Risks:  Exposure to sexual content and other types of inappropriate content

Tinder

Through swiping left or right on a user’s photo, the Tinder app allows people to choose who they’d like to meet up with. As it’s location based, Tinder introduces users to ‘matches’ closest to them. Tinder’s minimum age is 18.

Cost: Free | Minimum age: 18
Risks: Connecting with strangers

MyLOL

MyLOL is a ‘teen dating app’ aimed at 13-20 year olds. The network is moderated and key word detection is in operation. Following criticism, an upper age limit came into effect, however it has been reported that those older members with accounts registered before the change still have active accounts.

Cost: Free | Minimum age: 13
Risks: Connecting with strangers, inappropriate content

Social media apps made for children

Although the majority of social media apps have a minimum age of 13 and over, there are a number of social media apps and tools that are made for those under 13. These can help your child learn how to interact with their friends online in a safer environment so they’re well prepped to use the larger social platforms when you feel they’re ready.

Scroll Up