我该如何帮助我的孩子最好地管理他们的屏幕时间?

技术和设备正在成为家庭生活中更大的一部分,没有任何迹象表明这种情况会发生变化。 因此,学习如何充分利用屏幕时间是关键。 从我们的专家小组成员那里获得建议,以了解屏幕时间何时可能影响他们的健康以及如何帮助他们养成良好的数字习惯。


Elizabeth Milovidov博士,Esq

法学教授和数字育儿专家
专家网站

我怎么能发现我的孩子“屏幕时间太多”?

2月7,英国CMO 2019发布评论 “基于屏幕的活动以及儿童和青少年的心理健康和社会心理健康:系统的评论地图”。 评论发布之际,家长和护理人员可能会对媒体报道,视角和屏幕时间,屏幕使用和屏幕限制指南感到不知所措。

来自美国儿科学会的原始立场(1999)表示没有两岁以下儿童的屏幕时间,后来更新为更加细致入微的方法(2016)允许有限 为儿童提供高品质的内容,我们现在知道所有的屏幕时间都不相等。

皇家儿科和儿童健康学院 1月2019发布的指南,通过建议父母接近屏幕时间来增加屏幕时间问题“根据孩子的发育年龄,个人需要并重视家庭对社交,锻炼和睡眠等积极活动的重视

这个针对家庭的善意建议减轻了对基于屏幕的活动的担忧(和内疚),展示了技术的积极影响,并允许家长关注屏幕时间的背景和内容,而不仅仅是时间限制。

但是一些家长和看护人可能仍然想知道:“我的孩子什么时候有太多的屏幕时间?”由于家庭和孩子的不同,屏幕时间的影响也不同,但是,所有家长都可以将这些提示作为指导。

观察您的孩子如何与他们的设备互动

  • 当设备被移除或屏幕关闭时,我的孩子是否发脾气?
  • 我的孩子抱怨颈部疼痛或背部疼痛吗?
  • 我的孩子抱怨头痛或眼睛疲劳吗?
  • 我的孩子在网上玩或看时会变得好斗还是生气?
  • 我的孩子经常看起来过于兴奋吗?
  • 我的孩子变得紊乱,不听话还是反对?

如果大多数问题的答案都是“是”,那么父母应该考虑用其他东西来补充屏幕时间活动。

如何识别屏幕时间对孩子的发展产生负面影响

  • 我的孩子是否与家人和朋友进行社交活动?
  • 我的孩子身体健康,睡够了吗?
  • 我的孩子在学校是否参与并取得了成就?
  • 我的孩子是否追求兴趣和爱好(以任何形式)?
  • 我的孩子在使用数字媒体时是否乐趣和学习?

如果大多数问题的答案都是“否”,那么父母可能需要对基于屏幕的活动进行限制。 (有关更多家长提示,请参阅第30页 家庭和屏幕时间 来自Sonia Livingstone和Alicia Blum-Ross。)

Linda Papadopoulos博士

心理学家和互联网事务大使
专家网站

同样,这是目前的一个重要讨论 - 屏幕时间是多少屏幕时间?

最好的方法是 - 它是否妨碍了日常活动? 如果你孩子的屏幕时间不利于他们看到朋友,做功课或中断家庭用餐 - 那就是屏幕时间过长。

作为一个家庭,您可能有规则,但与您的孩子讨论他们对什么时间和地点适合的屏幕时间的想法是个好主意。

如果晚上将它们放置一小时是合适的 - 鼓励使用监控工具查看自己的屏幕时间并帮助它们自行中断。 看看有幸福的讨论,还要看看他们应该花多少时间在鼓励家庭时间,锻炼,社交和学校工作的各种饮食设备上的实际讨论。

丽贝卡艾弗里

肯特县议会教育保障顾问
专家网站

鼓励孩子使用可帮助他们充分利用屏幕时间的应用,网站和工具的最佳方式是什么?

父母必须讨论平衡在线和离线所花费的时间的必要性; 一种方法是谈论识别我们的身体需要从屏幕上休息的迹象。 这有时可能很困难(特别是对于年幼的孩子或有特殊教育需求的孩子),因此我们可以使用一些工具来帮助我们识别我们在线消费的时间并提醒我们花时间离线。 与您的孩子讨论这些工具如何提供帮助; 通过这样做,您可以探索他们的观点和对屏幕时间的理解,并使他们能够倾听我们和他们自己的身体。

为孩子平衡使用屏幕进行角色建模也很重要; 如果他们觉得我们总是在我们的手机上,尽管告诉他们这不好,那么他们可能会收到相互矛盾的消息。 最好的方法之一是定期进行有关健康和平衡屏幕时间的对话。 屏幕时间并不总是有问题,所以为什么不与他们谈论他们在网上做什么 - 你可能会发现它比你想象的更有教育意义!

劳拉希金斯

Roblox社区安全和数字文明主任
专家网站

在线世界越来越多地为儿童聚会的广场提供延伸,以便与朋友和同伴一起放松,闲逛和学习。 在 Roblox,我们相信游戏本身就是一项必不可少的活动,也是学习软技能的工具; 如何与他人沟通,如何团队合作,如何解决问题。 关键是要确保孩子们有一个健康的机会来发现世界 - 无论是在线还是离线 - 并与他们沟通为什么这种变化很重要。

许多关注儿童的在线世界提供额外的学习和发展机会,分层为“游戏”元素 - 从教授数学和识字理解,直到Roblox这样的平台,这些平台都是以教孩子为基础编写的。 重要的是花时间与孩子一起帮助他们了解他们在屏幕上学到的技能如何适合离线世界,并定义“质量”屏幕时间的样子 - 同时也为他们提供玩耍和成为孩子的空间。

写下评论

向上滚动

How can I help my child best manage their screen time?

Tech and devices are becoming a larger part of families lives and there is no sign that this is going to change. So, learning how to make the best of screen time is key. Get advice from our expert panellists to recognise when screen time may be affecting their wellbeing and how to help them develop good digital habits.


Dr. Elizabeth Milovidov, Esq

Law professor and Digital Parenting Expert
Expert Website

How can I spot when my child has had ‘too much screen time’?

On February 7, 2019 the UK CMO released a commentary on ‘Screen-based activities and children and young people’s mental health and psychosocial wellbeing: a systematic map of reviews’.  The commentary comes at a time when parents and carers may be feeling overwhelmed by the media reports, perspectives and guidelines on screen time, screen use, and screen limits.

From the American Academy of Pediatrics original stance (1999) stating no screen time for children under two, later updated to a more nuanced approach (2016) in allowing limited high-quality content for children, we now know that all screen time is not equal.

The Royal College of Pediatrics and Child Health guidelines published in January 2019, added to the screen time issue by suggesting that parents approach screen time “based on the child’s developmental age, the individual need and value the family place on positive activities such as socialising, exercise and sleep.”

This well-meaning advice for families alleviates concerns (and guilt) regarding screen-based activities, demonstrates the positive impact of technology and allows parents to focus on context and content of screen time rather than just time limits.

But some parents and carers may still want to know: “when has my child had “too much screen time?”  As families and children differ, so does the effects of screen time, however, all parents can use these tips as a guideline.

Watch how your child interacts with their device

  • Does my child have a tantrum when the device is removed or screen turned off?
  • Does my child complain of neck pain or back pain?
  • Does my child complain of headaches or eye strain?
  • Does my child become aggressive or angry when playing or watching online?
  • Does my child often seem over-excited?
  • Has my child become disorganized, disobedient, or oppositional?

If the answer to the majority of these questions is ‘Yes,’ then parents should consider supplementing screen time activities with something else.

How to recognize when screen-time is negatively impacting my child’s development

  • Is my child connecting socially with family and friends?
  • Is my child physically healthy and sleeping enough?
  • Is my child engaged with and achieving in school?
  • Is my child pursuing interests and hobbies (in any form)?
  • Is my child having fun and learning in their use of digital media?

If the answer to the majority of these questions is ‘No’, then parents may need to place limits on screen-based activities.  (For more parental tips, see page 30 of Families and Screen time from Sonia Livingstone and Alicia Blum-Ross.)

Dr. Linda Papadopoulos

Psychologist and Internet Matters Ambassador
Expert Website

Again, this is a big discussion at the moment – how much screen time is too much screen time?

The best way to look at is – is it getting in the way of day to day activities? If your child’s screen time is to the detriment of them seeing friends, doing their homework or having an interrupted family meal – it’s too much screen time.

As a family, you may have rules but it’s a great idea to discuss with your child their thoughts on what screen time is appropriate –  when and where.

If it’s appropriate to have them for an hour in the evening – encourage to the use the monitoring tools to look at their own screen time and help them interrupt themselves. Look at having the wellbeing discussion and also look at a practical discussion around the amount of time they should be spending on devices that encourages a varied diet of family time, exercise, socialising and school work.

Rebecca Avery

Education Safeguarding Adviser, Kent County Council
Expert Website

What is the best way to encourage children to use apps, website, and tools that will help them get the best out of their screen time?

It’s important for parents to discuss the need to balance the amount of time spent on and offline; one way to do this is to talk about recognising signs that our bodies need a break from the screen. This can sometimes be difficult (especially for younger children or children with special educational needs) so there are tools we can use to help us to recognise how long we are spending online and to remind us to take time offline. Talk to your children about these how these tools can help; by doing this, you can explore their views and understanding of screen time and empower them to listen, both to us and their own bodies.

It’s also important to role-model a balanced use of screens for your child; if they feel that we are always on our phones, despite telling them it’s not okay, then they may pick up conflicting messages. One of the best approaches will be to have regular conversations together about healthy and balanced screen time. Screen time isn’t always problematic, so why not talk with them about what they are doing online – you might find that it’s more educational than you think!

Laura Higgins

Director of Community Safety and Digital Civility, Roblox
Expert Website

The online world increasingly provides an extension to the playparks where children meet to wind down, hang out, and learn with their friends and peers. At Roblox, we believe play is an essential activity, both in itself and as a tool to learn soft skills; how to communicate with others, how to work as a team, how to problem-solve. The key is to ensure children have a healthy mix of opportunities to discover the world – both on and offline – and to communicate with them on why this variety is important.

Many of the online worlds focused on children offer additional learning and development opportunities layered into the element of ‘play’ – from those teaching maths and literacy comprehension, right through to platforms like Roblox that are built with teaching children to code in mind. It’s important to spend time with your children to help them understand how the skills they learn on-screen can fit to the offline world, and to define what ‘quality’ screen time looks like – but also to give them room to play and be kids.

Write the comment