在线仇恨与巨魔–父母的故事

随着孩子们花费更多的时间在线互动,重要的是要帮助他们识别可能传播有害内容的行为。 妈妈贝丝(Beth)分享了她家人对网上仇恨的个人经历。

贝丝的孩子在学校里已经了解了网上仇恨,但是直到离家不远时,家人才真正开始谈论这个问题。

与她的孩子谈论网上仇恨

“我们有很多传单是从学校寄回家的,但是随着孩子们的长大,他们开始体验到社交媒体的负面影响,” Beth说。 “尤其是我的儿子正在从学校里收到一系列不友好的信息。”

贝丝的方法是直接与她的儿子说话,解释说这些信息是不可接受的。 她说:“仅仅因为人们没有对你的脸说些什么,并不意味着这些话就可以了。” “这不是开玩笑,语言可以对人们产生真正的影响。”

解决网上仇恨

一家人同意,将来孩子们应该立即让成年人知道他们是否收到了虐待信息,并报告他们看到的针对他人的网上仇恨。 “我已经告诉他,他可以告诉任何他信任的成年人,但是重要的是,这是一次公开的对话,从未被忽视。”

贝丝儿子的经历始于女生在学校发来的消息,称他为名字。 贝丝说:“随着语言演变为仇恨语言和亵渎语言,我决定与老师讲话,因为我不认识父母。”

尽管Beth的儿子并没有对此消息感到过分忧虑,但是Beth强烈认为不应忽略这个问题。 “如果他们整天见人,然后在家收到消息,这一代人通常会感到无处可逃。 开放并增加儿童的安全设置,对于保护儿童免受在线仇恨至关重要。”

确保儿童和年轻人的安全

虽然允许Beth的孩子使用社交媒体帐户,但是Beth和她的丈夫坚持启用所有安全设置的私人帐户。 在TikTok和Instagram等平台上,可以使用过滤器删除令人反感的语言。 贝丝说:“我们还从朋友的名单中删除了这些人,并讨论了他如何对他分享的内容负责。” “一次,他在班上张贴了关于一个小伙子的开玩笑的消息,但我指出他可能不会那样看。 我儿子同意并删除了其中的内容。”

家人关于在线与陌生人交谈的规则非常严格。 还有一个家庭“门户开放”的政策,以便孩子们只能在妈妈或爸爸可以进入的区域访问互联网,以检查发生了什么。

提示家长

贝丝(Beth)认为,父母通常不知道自己的孩子在网上怎么说,而对年轻人的网上仇恨通常来自其他年轻人。 Beth补充说,教育儿童在看到较年长的互联网用户的仇恨时该怎么做也很重要。 她说:“最近几周,一种真正的文化在网上“呼唤人”,以示种族歧视和仇恨,因此向孩子展示了不考虑自己发布的内容的现实后果。” “但我想知道这是否会成为恶性循环,使人们因为欺负别人而受到欺负,因此我们无所适从。”

贝丝说,如果官方的报告渠道更容易使用和更严格,情况将更容易。 “目前,我们面临着将内容隔离开的压力,而不是能够将其从平台上删除。

贝丝说,作为父母,停止网上仇恨实际上始于家庭。 “这是在教孩子不要恨,要谨慎选择他们的单词,并思考这些单词可能产生的影响。 言语如此强大,确实会造成极大的困扰和伤害。”

另外,贝丝补充说,孩子们需要意识到,网络仇恨会在未来几年里跟着他们走。 “在线世界习惯于回头困扰您,因此孩子们需要意识到长期的影响以及这些屏幕截图的存在时间!”

贝丝(Beth)是34岁,与丈夫,10岁的儿子和6岁的双胞胎女儿一起住在中部地区。 她写博客 Twinderelmo.co.uk 是在2013中建立的。

最近的帖子

向上滚动

Online hate and trolling – a parent’s story

As children spend more time interacting with each other online, it’s important to help them recognise behaviours that can spread harmful content. Mum Beth shares her family’s personal experience about online hate.

Beth’s children had learned about online hate at school, but it wasn’t until it hit close to home that the family really talked about the issue.

Talking to her children about online hate

“We had many leaflets sent home from school, but as the children got older, they started to experience the negative side of social media,” says Beth. “My son, in particular, was receiving a series of unkind messages from people at school.”

Beth’s approach was to speak directly to her son, explaining that these messages were not acceptable. “Just because people don’t say something to your face, doesn’t mean those words are okay,” she says. “It’s not banter, and words can have a real effect on people.”

Tackling online hate

The family agreed that in future the children should immediately let an adult know if they received abusive messages, and to report any online hate they see directed at others. “I’ve told him that he can tell any adult he trusts, but the important thing is that it’s an open dialogue, and never ignored.”

Beth’s son’s experience started with messages sent by girls at school, calling him names. “As it progressed to hateful language and profanities, I decided to speak to the teacher, as I didn’t know the parents,” says Beth.

Although Beth’s son wasn’t overly distressed by the message, Beth feels strongly that the issue shouldn’t be ignored. “This generation can often feel there’s no escape if they see people all day and then get messages at home. Being open, and increasing children’s security settings, is essential in protecting kids from online hate.”

Keeping children and young people safe

While Beth’s children are allowed social media accounts, Beth and her husband insist on private accounts, with all security settings enabled. On platforms like TikTok and Instagram, filters can be used to remove offensive language. “We also removed those people from his friend’s list and talked about how he needs to be responsible for the content he shares,” says Beth. “Once, he put up a jokey message about a lad in his class, but I pointed out that he might not see it that way. My son agreed and removed the content.”

The family’s rules around talking to strangers online are very strict. There is also a household ‘open door’ policy so that the children only access the Internet in areas where Mum or Dad can pop in to check what’s happening.

Tips for parents

Beth believes that parents are often not aware of how their children are talking online and that online hate towards young people often comes from other young people. It’s also important to educate children on what to do when they see hate from older Internet users, adds Beth. “In recent weeks there has been a real culture of “calling people out” for racism and hate bullying online, so it shows children the real-life consequences of not thinking about what you post,” she says. “But I wonder if it becomes a vicious circle of people being bullied for bullying someone else, so we don’t get anywhere.”

The situation would be easier if the official reporting channels were easier to use and more stringent, says Beth. “At the moment, the pressure is on us to fence that content out, rather than being able to remove it from a platform.

As a parent, stopping online hate really starts at home, Beth says. “It’s teaching children not to hate, to choose their words carefully, and think about the impact those words can have. Words are so powerful and can really cause enormous distress and hurt.”

Additionally, children need to be aware that online hate can follow them for years to come, adds Beth. “The online world has a habit of coming back to haunt you, so kids need to be aware of the long-term impact and how long those screenshots might be around!”

Beth is a 34-year-old who lives in the Midlands with her husband, 10-year-old son and 6-year-old twin daughters. She writes the blog Twinderelmo.co.uk which was established in 2013.

Recent posts

Scroll Up