祖父母在线安全指南-互联网事务

祖父母在线安全指南

最近的一项研究发现,4祖父母的10帮助了被称为“granannying”的儿童保育。

为了帮助祖父母掌握在线生活,我们创建了一个新的祖父母在线安全指南,其中包含确保孩子安全的实用建议。

指南里面

五个快速在线安全提示,帮助您入门 

1。 了解规则并坚持下去

当涉及到他们的技术时,要掌握适合您的孙子的规则。 在您照顾孙子时,尝试并保持一致的消息传递,以便他们对自己的技术使用以及他们可以在线做什么和不能做什么有相同的规则。

2. 加强你的技术

了解孙子使用的设备 - 从智能手机到平板电脑,确保您了解它们的工作原理。

3。 了解他们使用的技术是否适合年龄

与您的孙子讨论他们正在使用哪些应用程序、游戏和网站,并确保您知道他们所做的一切都适合他们的年龄。

4.检查家长控制

许多家长通过宽带设置家长控制 - 确保在必要时在您的宽带上实施家长控制。

5。 如果出现问题,请做好准备

如果他们在网上遇到让他们感到不安的事情,请制定行动计划。 倾听他们的声音,这样他们就能够带着顾虑来找你,并一起找出支持他们的最佳方式(无论是安慰、设置控制还是报告事件)。

屏幕时间 - 他们在网上花了多少时间?

了解您的孙子在网上花费的时间将有助于您充分利用在一起的时间。

  • 讨论他们的 屏幕时间限制; 关于他们可以在网上花多少时间或者是否有过这样的领域,是否有任何家庭规则? 指定的无屏幕区域 在他们的房子里? 区域通常包括餐桌或卧室-根据年龄而定。
  • 屏幕时间对儿童非常有用,因为它可以帮助他们 学习,创造和社交。 在假期期间,它可以帮助他们与朋友保持联系,但确保他们获得各种各样的在线和离线活动是至关重要的。 如果您正在努力让您的孙子离线,请点击此处 更多建议.

家长控制 – 设置数字界限

什么是家长控制?

  • 家长控制是一组设置的名称 让你控制什么内容 你的孙子可以看到。 结合隐私设置,这些可以帮助您 保护您的孩子远离他们不应该看到的东西 或在线体验。
  • 重要的是要掌握您的孙子习惯的家长控制,以防您在自己的家中照顾他们。 许多家长在他们的宽带上安装控制 帮助限制他们的孩子可以访问的内容. 没有应用正确的家长控制可能会使您的孙子面临潜在的在线风险,例如在线查看不当内容、进行不当接触或从事不当行为。 请参阅我们的家长控制指南.
  • 定期对话 与您的孙子一起了解他们在网上的最新动态也有助于您了解他们在与谁交谈以及他们在网上做什么。
查看位置设置

许多应用程序和技术会自动提供在分享帖子的同时分享您的位置的机会。 鼓励您的孙子不要实时分享他们的位置或图像,以免泄露他们的位置。 然而,有一些应用程序和技术可以提供实时位置共享,包括 Snapmaps——它是照片共享应用程序 Snapchat 的一部分。

他们使用 Snapchat 吗? 如果是这样,这里有一些建议:

  • 在Snapchat上,用户拥有自己的个人化身; 当你点击Snapchat的地图部分时,你可以看到你周围所有朋友的位置。 这种位置共享对儿童来说可能是非常具有破坏性的,不仅仅因为它向他们的整个朋友列表显示了他们的位置,而且还可以让你的孙子感觉他们错过了。
  • On 捕捉地图 你可以看到你的朋友什么时候一起出去玩。 这可能会导致您的孙子感到被冷落,因为他们可以看到他们的其他朋友在没有他们的情况下闲逛。 为了阻止这种情况,您应该鼓励您的孙子们关闭 Snapchat 上的定位服务,以便 有关如何执行此操作的分步指南,请参阅控件页面.

在线游戏 – 安全游戏

随着流行的多人在线游戏的兴起,如 FortniteRoblox,这很重要 和你的孙子谈论网络游戏 他们正在玩,他们正在玩什么设备。

  • 游戏,如电影,都有年龄分级,所以你可以 检查你的孙子正在玩什么适合年龄。
  • 只需在App Store及其中搜索游戏名称即可 PEGI年龄等级 将出现在应用说明中。
  • 关于游戏的定期对话 他们喜欢玩游戏,并询问他们是否可以加入–这样您就可以了解他们的工作方式。
  • 确保你是 问你的孙子他们在玩游戏。 许多游戏都有社交媒体元素,因此如果没有应用于游戏的正确设置,他们可能会面临陌生人联系的风险。 至关重要的是,提醒你的孙子,如果他们在游戏中遇到任何滥用或不当行为,他们可以来找你。
  • 最后,游戏成瘾被世界卫生组织列为官方成瘾。 如果您的孙子在他们的游戏社区之外努力参与并且您担心他们表现出游戏成瘾的迹象,请访问我们的指南 此处 提交在线索赔申请。.

网上理财 

随着孩子们花更多时间玩网络游戏和通过社交媒体联系,这些活动也促使他们进行更多的应用内购买。

近代以来,随着 Apple 和 Google Pay 在设备上实现货币的数字化,以及帮助儿童理财的应用程序的增长,帮助儿童了解如何养成良好的在线理财习惯变得越来越重要。

如果您的孙子正在玩游戏、使用社交网络或只是在网上浏览网站,这里有一些快速提示可帮助他们解决在线消费或管理资金的任何潜在风险:

1. 熟悉儿童使用的应用和平台中的应用内购买
2.使用设备和平台上的设置来控制支出
3. 帮助他们遵守父母为他们在网上花钱的地点和方式制定的基本规则
4. 与他们讨论金钱的价值,这样他们就可以在购买什么时做出更明智的选择
5. 谈论在线诈骗以及如何发现它们,以免他们因泄露个人信息而面临风险

如需更多建议,请下载我们的 在线资金管理指南。

流媒体直播

Internet Matters 最近的一项研究发现,11 至 13 岁的孩子中有近三分之一正在观看直播。 这意味着他们只需点击一个按钮,就可以通过互联网直播自己。 了解您的孙子是否热衷于直播以及他们为此使用的应用程序以及与谁分享。 重要的是要认识到您的孙子是否可能与陌生人分享个人信息。

为了确保您的孙子安全地实时流媒体,请确保他们不会透露任何个人信息。 鼓励你的孙子只在公共场合直播,这样他们就不会透露有关自己的重要信息,并向他们讲述对未知观众进行调节的危险。

孩子们可以在线面对哪些问题?

不适内容

互联网上存在大量不当内容,如果不采取预防措施,可能会使您的孙子遭受在线伤害,例如色情材料、粗言秽语、赌博、未经审核的聊天室以及鼓励恐怖主义或种族主义的网站。

进行对话

如果他们遇到不适当的内容并了解他们如何访问它,鼓励您的孙子与您交谈。

设置控件

为了阻止您的孙子看到他们不应该看到的任何内容 - 使用 Google Safe Search 或 Swiggle 等儿童友好的搜索引擎,以及在 YouTube 等网站上设置安全模式。 你可以学习如何这样做 此处 提交在线索赔申请。.

网络欺凌

网络欺凌涵盖所有不同类型的技术,使用社交媒体或欢迎YouTube等反馈的网站的儿童可以接受陌生人的评论。 欺凌行为不再在学校门口结束,儿童可能会受到包括智能手机和游戏机在内的所有设备的残酷评论。

发现迹象

浏览我们 网络欺凌中心 寻求建议,包括您的孙子可能受到网络欺凌的迹象,并与他们在线交谈的人保持一致。

谈论在线行为

关于他们的在线行为以及如何阻止或报告恶霸的对话至关重要。

色情短信

色情短信 是发送和接收明确的消息或图像。 这些图片可以通过 iMessage、WhatsApp、Facebook Messenger、Snapchat、Twitter DM 等分享。色情短信是一个很难与您的孙子们谈论的话题,他们可能觉得他们无法与您谈论它。

讨论'在发布之前先思考'口头禅

提醒你的孙子们,一旦在互联网上发送图像,就无法让他们回来,他们需要仔细考虑图像最终的位置。

请注意采取措施的步骤

如果你的孙子在他们分享了一个明确的形象之后来找你,并且它已经在友谊小组或他们的学校附近,那么你可以采取一些步骤。 您可以联系社交网站,他们将删除该图像。 如果您认为该图片已与成人共享,您可以将其报告给 儿童剥削和在线保护中心.

同侪压力

孩子们会感受到更大的在线压力,需要张贴他们玩得开心和不辜负同龄人在网上发布的照片​​。 与您的孙子谈论他们在网上看到的自拍照和他们自己的自我形象非常重要,因为许多孩子因在线压力而自尊心低下,要求保持某种方式或不断发帖。

帮助他们质疑他们在网上看到的内容

与他们讨论他们在网上看到的内容可能不是现实生活的代表,并提醒他们图像不能定义它们。

鼓励他们在线上和线下进行平衡活动

鼓励他们远离他们的设备并参与线下活动可以提供帮助。 这个 来自BBC Own It网站的视频 为儿童提供在线安全建议,可以与他们分享,以帮助他们解决问题。

向上滚动

Grandparents guide to online safety

A recent study found that 4 in 10 grandparents help out with childcare in what has been dubbed ‘granannying’.

To help grandparents get to grips with life online, we’ve created a new grandparents guide to online safety – offering practical advice to keep kids safe this summer.

Inside the guide

Five quick online safety tips to get you started 

1. Know the rules and stick to them

Get to grips with what rules are in place for your grandchild when it comes to their technology. Try and keep consistent messaging while you’re looking after your grandchild so they have the same rules surrounding their technology use and what they can and can’t do online.

2. Gen up on your technology

Get to grips with what devices your grandchildren use – from a smartphone to tablet and ensure you know how they work.

3. Understand if the tech they’re using is age-appropriate

Talk to your grandchild about what apps, games, and sites they are using and make sure you know that whatever they are doing is age-appropriate.

4. Check parental controls

Many parents set parental controls through their broadband – make sure that parental controls are in place on your broadband where necessary.

5. Be prepared if something goes wrong

Have an action plan in place if they come across something that upsets them online. Offer a listening ear so they are able to come to you with concerns and together work out the best way to support them (whether it’s reassurance, setting controls or reporting the incident).

Screen time – How much time are they spending online?

Being aware of how much time your grandchild spends online will help you make the most of your time together this summer.

  • Discuss their screen time limits; are there any family rules about how much time they can spend online or are there areas that have been designated screen-free zones in their house? Areas normally include the dinner table or their bedrooms – depending on their age.
  • Screen time can be very useful to children as it helps them learn, create and socialise. During the holidays, it can help them stay connected to their friends but making sure they are getting a varied diet of online and offline activities is crucial. If you are struggling to engage your grandchild offline click here for more advice.

Parental controls – Setting digital boundaries

What are parental controls?

  • Parental controls are the names for a group of settings that put you in control of what content your grandchild can see. Combined with privacy settings these can help you protect your children from the things they shouldn’t see or experience online.
  • It’s important to get to grips with the parental controls that your grandchild is used to in case you are caring for them in your own home. Many parents install controls on their broadband to help limit what their children have access to. Not having the correct parental controls applied could leave your grandchild open to potential risks online such as viewing inappropriate content, having inappropriate contact or engaging in inappropriate conduct online. See our Parental Control guides.
  • Having regular conversations with your grandchild about what they get up to online will also help you keep on top of who they’re talking to and what they’re doing online.
Reviewing locations settings

Many apps and tech automatically offer the opportunity to share your location while sharing posts. Encourage your grandchild to not share their location or images in real-time to not give away their location. There are apps and technology however that offer live-location sharing including Snapmaps – which is part of the photosharing app Snapchat.

Do they use Snapchat? If so, here is some advice:

  • On Snapchat, users have their own personal avatar; when you click on the map section of Snapchat you can see where all your friends are around you. This location sharing can be very damaging to children, not just because it reveals their location to their whole friends’ list, but it can also make your grandchild feel like they are missing out.
  • On Snap maps you can see when your friends are hanging out together, in the summer holidays, this could lead to your grandchild feeling left out as they can see their other friends hanging out without them. To stop this you should encourage your grandchildren to turn off the location services on Snapchat, for a step by step guide on how to do this see the controls page.

Online gaming – Playing safely

With the rise of popular multi-player online games such as Fortnite and Roblox, it’s important to speak to your grandchild about what online games they are playing and on what devices they are playing them.

  • Games, like films, come with age ratings so you can check what your grandchild is playing is age-appropriate.
  • Simply search the name of the game in the App store and its PEGI age rating will appear in the app description.
  • Have regular conversations about the games they like playing and ask them if you can join on – so you can see how they work.
  • Make sure you’re asking your grandchild who they are gaming with. Many games have a social media element to them and therefore without the correct settings applied to the game they could run the risk of being contacted by strangers. Crucially, remind your grandchild that they can come to you should they face any abusive or inappropriate behaviour while gaming.
  • Finally, gaming addiction is classified as an official addiction by the World Health Organisation. If your grandchild is struggling to engage outside their gaming community and you’re concerned they are showing signs of gaming addiction visit our guide here.

Managing money online 

Increasingly as children spend more time playing online games and connecting through social media, these activities are also leading them to make more in-app purchases.

With money becoming more digitised in recent history through Apple and Google Pay on devices, as well as the growth of apps to help children manage money, it has become more important to help children understand how to develop good online money habits.

If your grandchild is gaming, using social networks or simply browsing sites online, here are some quick tips to help them address any potential risks of spending or managing money online:

1. Get familiar with in-app purchases in the apps and platforms children use
2. Use settings on devices and platforms to controls spending
3. Help them follow the ground rules their parents have set on where and how they can spend money online
4. Talk about the value of money with them so they can make smarter choices on what they buy
5. Talk about online scams and how to spot them so they don’t get fulled into giving away their personal information which can put them at risk

For more advice, download our Online Money Management guide.

Live streaming

A recent study by Internet Matters found that nearly a third of kids aged 11 to 13 are live streaming. This means they are broadcasting themselves live over the internet at the click of a button. Find out if your grandchild is keen on live streaming and what apps they’re using for this and who they are sharing with.  It’s important to recognise if your grandchild may be sharing personal information with strangers.

To make sure your grandchild is live streaming safely make sure they don’t reveal any personal details. Encourage your grandchild to only livestream in public so they don’t reveal important information about themselves and speak to them about the dangers of oversharing to an unknown audience.

What issues can children face online?

Inappropriate content

There’s a vast amount of inappropriate content on the internet that if precautions aren’t taken could expose your grandchild to online harm such as pornographic material, bad language, gambling, unmoderated chat rooms, and sites that encourage terrorism or racism.

Have a conversation

Encourage your grandchild to talk to you should they come across inappropriate content and find out how they accessed it.

Set controls

To stop your grandchildren from seeing anything that they shouldn’t – use child-friendly search engines such as Google Safe Search or Swiggle as well as setting up safety modes on websites such as YouTube. You can learn how to do so here.

Cyberbullying

Cyberbullying spans all different types of technology and children who are using social media or sites that welcome feedback such as YouTube can be open to comments from strangers. Bullying no longer ends at the school gates and children can be subject to cruel comments across all their devices including smartphones and gaming consoles.

Spot the signs

Visit our Cyberbullying hub for advice including signs that your grandchild could be being cyberbullied and stay in tune with who they are talking to online.

Talk about online behaviour

Conversations about their online conduct and how to block or report bullies are crucial.

Sexting

Sexting is the sending and receiving of explicit messages or images. These images can be shared via iMessage, WhatsApp, Facebook Messenger, Snapchat, Twitter DMs, etc. Sexting is a very difficult topic to talk to your grandchildren about, they might not feel like they can talk to you about it.

Discuss 'think before you post' mantra

Remind your grandchildren that once images are sent on the internet you cannot get them back and they need to think very carefully about where that image could end up.

Be aware of steps to take action

If your grandchild comes to you after they’ve shared an explicit image and it has gone around a friendship group or around their school, then there are steps you can take. You can contact the social networking site and they will remove the image. If you believe the image has been shared with an adult you can report it to the Child Exploitation and Online Protection Centre.

Peer Pressure

Children can feel especially vulnerable in the summer as there is a greater online pressure to post pictures of them having fun and living up to what their peers are posting online. Talking to your grandchildren about selfies they’ve seen online and their own self-image is really important as many children suffer from low self-esteem as a result of online pressure to look a certain way or post continually.

Help them question what they see online

Talk to them about how what they see online may not be a representation of real life and remind them that an image doesn’t define them.

Encourage them to have a balance activities on and offline

Encouraging time away from their devices and engaging in offline activities can help. This video from BBC Own It website provides online safety advice to children that can be shared with them to help them to get to grips with the issue.

Scroll Up