我如何帮助我的孩子安全地在线管理他们的友谊?

无论是增加在Snapchat上的连胜还是在Facetime上与朋友聊天,社交媒体都改变了儿童互动和在线分享的方式。 为了支持孩子,我们的专家提供简单的帮助提示。


玛莎埃文斯

国家协调员,反欺凌联盟
专家网站

成年人很容易忘记有多少朋友对儿童和青少年很重要。 孩子的发展是正常的一部分,想要“归属”并拥有很多朋友。 对于在线关系也是如此 - 有压力被视为受欢迎,这可能意味着儿童'朋友'在社交网站上尽可能多的人。 给你的孩子这些'友谊'很重要。

以下是一些帮助您与孩子谈论数字关系的提示:

  • 和你的孩子谈谈成为朋友的意义 - 解释真正友谊的价值 - 比如信任,尊重和善良。 向他人展示他们友谊的价值。 帮助他们识别其他人何时可能在线欺凌他们。
  • 不要羞辱或贬低他们对浪漫或性关系的渴望,而是要讨论网络关系的一些风险 - 例如人们提出虚假的个人资料或与其他人分享你的私人想法和感受。
  • 不要害怕技术 - 通过向您展示他们想要访问的各种网站来交朋友,或者与朋友和同伴联系,让您的孩子掌控。 让他们向您展示如何设置隐私设置或如何阻止令您不安的人。 如果他们不知道,那就抽出时间一起学习。

Linda Papadopoulos博士

心理学家和互联网事务大使
专家网站

其中一个关键的困难是年轻人面对面交流和阅读情感的暗示 - 不存在。 在线构建它需要一段时间,因为误读事物有很大的余地,这可能会让孩子感到不安。 家长应该谈论口头和书面沟通之间的区别,以及人们如何理解他们在网上看到的事物背后的意义。 例如,您可能真的很自豪的照片,例如您在运动日获胜的照片,可能会被视为吹嘘。 这就是为什么父母需要就如何吸收彼此的行为进行细致入微的讨论。 父母所做的是讨论我们的话语通常是如何不同的。

管理儿童数字关系的另一个关键因素是他们上网的反馈。 一个孩子可能会因为他们的朋友不喜欢图片而感到不安,或者他们可能会感到有压力想要某个朋友发布的每张照片。 家长需要讨论他们发布图片的原因,例如他们是否喜欢他们发布的内容,不是真正重要的内容,或者是否可以张贴图片或不像图片一样被视为侵略行为。 这将有助于最大限度地减少对儿童的影响。 如果他们对某些事情感到不安 - 那就是“将它从表情符号转移到离线世界的对话中”。

Tamasine Preece博士

个人和社会教育负责人
专家网站

智能手机有能力破坏非常正常 - 虽然具有挑战性 - 开发管理其日益复杂的关系所需的技能和经验的过程。 数字通信往往无法捕捉人际关系的细微差别和潜台词,而且对话通常可能脱离背景,导致心烦意乱。

然后可以与更广泛的每个群体共享与冲突相关的印刷品屏幕或图像,这些群体经常以与原始罪行不成比例的方式提供判断和指责。 许多年轻人在他们的关系中表达了明显的焦虑,因为他们变得对他们的朋友过度警惕和不信任。 根据我的经验,数字媒介关系中最不利的方面是缺乏空间,它使年轻人在回应之前“冷静”并反思一个过程或行动或反应。

写下评论

向上滚动

How can I help my child manage their friendships online safely?

Whether it’s adding to their streak on Snapchat or catching up with friends on Facetime, social media has changed the way children interact and share online. To support children our experts provide simple tips to help.


Martha Evans

National Coordinator, Anti-bullying Alliance
Expert Website

Adults can easily forget how much friends matter to children and teenagers. It is a normal part of a child’s development to want to ‘belong’ and to have lots of friends. This is equally true for relationships online – there is pressure to be seen as popular, and this can mean that children ‘friend’ as many people as possible on social networking sites. To your child these ‘friendships’ matter.

Here are some tips for helping you talk about digital relationships with your child:

  • Talk to your child about what it is to be a friend – explain the value of true friendship – such as trust, respect and kindness. Show them the value of their friendship to others. Help them to recognise when other people may be bullying them online.
  • Don’t humiliate or belittle their desire for a romantic or sexual relationship but do discuss some of the risks of online relationships – such as people putting up fake profiles or sharing your private thoughts and feelings with other people.
  • Don’t be afraid of technology – let your child be in control by showing you the sorts of sites they like to visit to make friends, or to link up with friends and peers. Ask them to show you how you set the privacy settings or how you would block someone that is upsetting you. If they don’t know, then make time to learn together.

Dr. Linda Papadopoulos

Psychologist and Internet Matters Ambassador
Expert Website

One of the key difficulties is the cues that young people have for communicating face to face and reading emotion –  aren’t there. It takes a while to build this up online as there is huge scope for misreading things, which can make children upset. Parents should talk about the difference between verbal and written communication and how people understand the meaning behind things they see online. For example, pictures you may be really proud such as a picture of you winning at sports day, can be read as boasting perhaps. That’s why parents need to have nuanced discussions about how to assimilate each others’ behaviour.  What parents do is discuss is how we the discourse is often different.

The other key thing about managing children’s digital relationships is the feedback they get online. A child may be upset their friend didn’t like a picture or they may feel pressure to like every picture that a certain friends post. Parents need to discuss why they post images such as if they like what they posted, isn’t that what’s really important or can posting a picture or not like a picture be seen as an act of aggression. This will really help minimise the impact that has on children. If they feel upset about something – its’ about moving it on from an emoji to a conversation in the offline world.

Dr Tamasine Preece

Head of Personal and Social Education
Expert Website

Smartphones have the ability to disrupt the very normal – albeit challenging – process of developing the skills and experience needed to manage their increasingly complex relationships. Digital communication often fails to capture the nuance and subtext of human relationships and conversations can often be taken out of context, leading to upset.

A printscreen or image relating to the conflict may then be shared with the wider per group who often offer judgement and blame in ways that are disproportionate to the original offence. Many young people express marked anxiety within their relationships as they become hypervigilant and mistrustful of their friends. The most detrimental aspect of digitally mediated relationships is, in my experience, the lack of space that it affords the young person to ‘cool off’ and reflect on a course or action or response before responding.

    Write the comment