There are various steps you can take to make sure your child’s profile and experience are both as safe as possible starting with the option of a Public or Private Profile:
- Private Profile
This ensures only followers that your child knows and approves personally can see their posts.
- Public Profile
All posts and activity can be seen by everyone who uses the app and web version of Instagram.
By default, all profiles are Private for children. However, you can also turn this feature off and on by selecting the gear icon in the top right of the profile view followed by “Private Account”.
The sharing and posting of content
There are 3 options to consider when posting content and who with:
The most relaxed profile setting. All photos and videos are searchable and can be viewed and commented on by all users.
Videos and photos are only seen by ‘approved followers’. All followers must be approved by your child.
Instagram has an option to send the content directly to up to 15 people. Messages are deleted after 2 weeks if they remain ignored.
Additional message controls are also available here to allow users to decide who they want to receive messages from such as ‘Your followers on Instagram’ or ‘People Who Like Your Page on Facebook’.
Limit on advertising targeting
Instagram limits advertising to children under 18 based on age, gender and location.
When young people turn 18, they are notified about targeting options that advertisers can now use to reach them and the tools available on the platform to control their ad experience.
Tagging a location when posting will show where the photo or video was captured including private vicinities. Explaining to your child the consequences of this is advisable.
Managing the content in your child’s feed
For more information about what, as a user, you can and cannot post click here. To manage the content that your child sees on their feed you can:
- Unfollow a user
If your child no longer wants to see a particular user’s content or doesn’t like what they see, simply unfollow that person. This can be executed directly from their profile page.
- Block a user and/or report their content as inappropriate
A user can be blocked, or their content reported as inappropriate, by tapping the ellipsis in the top right-hand corner of their profile. Select ‘Block User’ and/or ‘Report Inappropriate Content’.
See step-by-step guidance here.