家人分享了在第三次英国封锁期间技术被证明是必不可少的

随着许多父母继续寻找平衡工作和家庭教育的方法,卡拉分享了她的家庭经历,并为其他家庭提供了技巧。

感觉更准备

从某些方面来说,卡拉这次感到为在家学习做好了更多准备。 “我觉得家庭学习有更多的结构,因为我的女儿每天和她的老师一起在Google课堂上上两个半小时的在线课程。 然后,老师在一天的剩余时间里给孩子们任务,”她说。

卡拉说,希望阿德里安的托儿所能在下周开放,但目前,这个家庭很幸运,因为每个孩子都可以使用iPad。 “这意味着不会在设备上发生争执,我们可以在Google Classroom内容旁边使用教育应用程序。”

对于她最小的孩子,Kala使用了CBeebies应用程序,并且Kala还是BBC锁定学习课程的粉丝。 她说:“它们恰到好处地吸引了她的注意力,并保持了她的前进,所以我们这次可能会看更多。”

选择活动以保持孩子们的忙碌

卡拉最大的担心是她的孩子们精力充沛。 她说:“他们是典型的孩子,所以我主要担心的是让他们忙碌,尤其是我的小男孩。” “他喜欢在户外去拜访朋友和家人,但我们需要找到办法使他主要从事室内活动。”

寻找活动将使三岁的孩子开心并让十岁的阿里安娜有机会专注于她的学习,这是很困难的。 该家庭还意识到要设法让年龄较大的孩子保持活跃和活跃,而不是让他们成为屏幕僵尸。 卡拉说:“我女儿上小学的最后一年,所以我担心她错过了与同学们在一起的宝贵时间,然后他们都朝着不同的方向出发。” “我还担心,如果我不进行干预,她会很乐意整天在iPad上度过。 考虑其他娱乐形式可能会很困难。”

帮助孩子控制情绪

除了家庭学习的挑战,卡拉和她的丈夫也意识到新闻对女儿的影响。 “她是一个经典的补间,到处都是情绪,所以我担心她是否能够消化过去九个月中发生的一切,”卡拉说。 “我很感激她似乎能够与我聊起自己的想法和忧虑,我经常问她对这种情况的感觉。”

家长获得更多成功在家上学的秘诀

卡拉建议其他父母平衡不同年龄段的需求,不要过分强调。 她说:“在第一次封锁期间,我和女儿就在家上学发生了很多争论,然后才意识到这是不值得的,” “我们只能做我们能做的,最重要的是,每个人-父母和孩子-都要保持快乐。”

另一个想法是在一天的不同时间将家庭教育分成较小的块,并安排更多的休息时间,而不是期望孩子一次坐几个小时。 “这使每个人都更容易!” 卡拉说。 “还有父母,别忘了分担负担。 我感到有时候组织一切都是我的罪恶感,但合作伙伴也可以发挥重要作用。”

卡拉·保罗·沃里卡(Kala Paul-Worika)是一位40岁的妈妈,有两个人,与丈夫和他们的孩子阿里安娜(10)和阿德里安(3)一起生活在东伦敦。 卡拉(Kala)是作家,在家中经营自己的纺织品业务。 阿德里安(Adrian)的托儿所已经关闭了两个星期,阿里安娜(Arianna)正在在家上学,因此卡拉(Kala)试图在兼顾在家工作与支持孩子学习和活动之间取得平衡。
她在发表博客 英国媒体木乃伊.

向上滚动

Family shares how tech is proving essential during third UK lockdown

As many parents continue to find ways to balance work and home-schooling yet again, Kala shares her family’s experience and offers tips for other families.

Feeling more prepared

In some ways, Kala feels more prepared for home learning this time around. “I feel there’s more structure with home learning because my daughter has two half-hour online lessons on Google Classroom with her teacher each day. Then the teacher gives the children tasks for the rest of the day,” she says.

The hope is that Adrian’s nursery will open next week, but for now, the family is lucky because each of the children has access to an iPad, says Kala. “It means there is no fighting over devices, and we can use educational apps alongside the Google Classroom content.”

For her youngest child, Kala has made use of the CBeebies app, and Kala is also a fan of the BBC lockdown learning lessons. “They are just the right length to hold her attention and keep her going, so we may watch more of those this time,” she says.

Choosing activities to keep kids occupied

Kala’s biggest worry is that her children are full of energy. “They’re typical kids so my main worry is keeping them occupied, especially my little boy,” she says. “He loves being outside and going to visit friends and family, but we need to find ways to keep him occupied with mainly indoor activities.”

Finding activities that will entertain a three-year-old and allow ten-year-old Arianna the chance to concentrate on her learning has been difficult. The family is also aware of trying to keep older children engaged and active rather than letting them become screen zombies. “My daughter is in her last year of primary school, so I worry she is missing out on precious time with her schoolmates before they all set off in different directions,” says Kala. “I also worry that, if I didn’t intervene, she would be happy to spend all day on her iPad. It can be a struggle to think of alternative forms of entertainment.”

Helping children manage emotions

Alongside the challenges of home learning, Kala and her husband are aware of the impact that news has on their daughter. “She’s a classic tween, with emotions all over the place, so I worry if she’s able to digest what’s happening over the past nine months,” Kala says. “I’m grateful she seems able to chat with me about her thoughts and worries, and I often ask her how she’s feeling about the situation.”

Parent tips for more success homeschooling

Kala advises other parents balancing the needs of different age groups not to stress too much. “During the first lockdown I had so many arguments with my daughter about homeschooling before I realised it’s just not worth it,” she says. “We can only do what we’re able, and the most important thing is that everyone – parents and kids – stays happy.”

Another idea is to split homeschooling into smaller chunks at different times of day, with more breaks, rather than expecting children to sit and focus for hours at a time. “It makes it easier for everyone!” says Kala. “And parents, don’t forget to share the load. I’m guilty of feeling like it’s all on me to organise sometimes, but partners can also play an important role.”

Kala Paul-Worika is a 40-year-old Mum of two living in East London with husband, and their children Arianna (10) and Adrian (3). Kala works as a writer and runs her own textile business from home. Adrian’s nursery has closed for two weeks and Arianna is doing home school, so Kala is trying to balance working from home with supporting both the children with learning and activities.
She blogs at UK Media Mummy.

Scroll Up