在社交媒体时代,我怎样才能帮助我的孩子保持积极的身体形象?

A 研究超过5,000女孩 在10个国家中,年龄介于17至14岁之间的女孩发现,一半以上的女孩身体自卑。 在“ Gram”和“ SnapChat”时代,我们的专家就如何帮助孩子保持积极的身体形象提供了建议。

对5,000个国家/地区的10多名17至14岁的女童进行的研究发现,一半以上的女童的身体自卑。 在“ Gram”和“ SnapChat”时代,我们的专家就如何帮助孩子保持积极的身体形象提供了建议。


Linda Papadopoulos博士

心理学家和互联网事务大使
专家网站

其中一个最重要的事情就是让他们批判性地思考他们看到的图像。 有一项非常着名的研究,要求女孩和男孩对自己的感受进行评分。 然后他们被要求查看有光泽的杂志并评价他们的感受,他们都感觉更糟。

当我们查看理想化的图像时,比较自己是很自然的。 处理这些图像的方法是认识到它们更像是新闻稿,它们展示了人脸或身体的最佳版本。 因此,将自己与Instagram图像进行比较就像将自己与杂志进行比较,他们将自己与某人的最佳版本进行比较。

父母需要教会他们的孩子对自己的意识有更多的选择-如果他们对没有腹肌感到非常难过,并且他们所关注的每张照片都是患有腹肌的人,那么他们的孩子会突然认为每个人都有八个孩子。包。 事实并非如此。 他们需要更平衡地了解那里的情况。

第三,关于视觉的东西很多。 如果您根据外观来评估自己,这意味着您错过了重要的东西。 如果以爱情岛为例,是的,它们很漂亮,但是您是否真的想和一个没有趣味或没有有趣对话的人共度时光,也许不是吗?

玛莎埃文斯

国家协调员,反欺凌联盟
专家网站

在自拍生成中,父母如何帮助孩子应对青少年生活中的陷阱,例如与外表相关的欺凌或者对食物和身体形状进行挂钩?

最重要的是让父母有信心与他们的孩子谈论在线关系,并确保他们知道,如果他们对他们在网上看到的事情感到不安,他们可以和你谈谈。

如果他们遭受欺凌,请提醒他们,这不是他们的错,您将一起解决。 积极谈论孩子的新兴个性,以及他们表达其积极态度的方式,例如在服装,活动或行为中(无论是离线还是在线)。 您可能会发表评论“我喜欢您……”。

让他们批评性地思考他们在网上看到的人物形象。 问他们为什么认为人们上传某些照片并且他们认为照片已被编辑? 提醒他们,他们很漂亮,永远做你自己很重要。 保持积极态度,帮助他们了解每个人的不同。

凯瑟琳尼布斯

儿童创伤心理治疗师(Cyber​​trauma)
专家网站

与另一个人的比较是成为人类的先天部分。 我们比较了我们的婴儿进展,学校成绩,中学(及以后)的服装和音乐选择以及成年后的收入/成功等等。 然而,对于年龄较小的儿童,身体意象信息的接触频率发生了变化,被认为是可接受的,正常的或美丽的。 这可能会被名人偶像加剧,这些偶像暗示人们对自己的身体感到舒服,甚至可能“不关心仇敌”,并且“显示这一点并不羞耻”(这对成年人而言可能是一个很好的信息,但不是年幼的孩子)。

幼儿可能容易受到这种信息的影响,并通过发布他们的身体图像(衣服,半穿或裸体)来跟进这一点,这可能会使他们面临负面,恶意,仇恨,伤害或评论的风险或者在赤身裸体的情况下违法。

每个孩子对这些类型的评论都有不同的反应,知道我们作为父母,我们可以通过不否定这些评论的影响来帮助我们的孩子,无论我们对他们看起来或听起来如何的看法都是有帮助的。 知道有一定的压力是我们与孩子交谈的最大盟友,它与他们联系,他们感觉被人看到和听到,这是我们给孩子们的宝贵礼物,并创造了一个与你交谈的开放空间。

写下评论

向上滚动

In the age of social media, how can I help my child maintain a positive body image?

A study of over 5,000 girls aged between 10 to 17 in 14 countries found that more than half of girls had low body esteem. In the age of the ‘Gram’ and ‘SnapChat’, our experts give advice on how we can help children maintain a positive body image.


Dr. Linda Papadopoulos

Psychologist and Internet Matters Ambassador
Expert Website

One of the most important things is getting them to think critically about the images they see. There is a very famous study where girls and boys were asked to rate how they felt about themselves. Then they were asked to look at glossy magazines and rate how they feel and they all felt worse.

When we look at idealised images – it’s natural to compare ourselves.  The way to deal with these images is to recognise that they are more like press releases, they showcase the best possible version of a face or body.  So, comparing yourself to Instagram images is the same as comparing yourselves to magazines, they are comparing themselves to someone’s best possible version.

Parents need to teach their kids to be more selective about what comes into their consciousness – if they feel really bad about not having abs and every picture they’re following is people with abs then their child is suddenly going to think everybody has an eight-pack. It’s not the case. They need a more balanced view of what is out there.

Thirdly, it’s a lot about the visual; if you’re valuing yourself based on how you look, it means you’re missing out on the important stuff. If you take Love Island for example, yes they are beautiful, but would you really want to spend time with someone you don’t have fun with or don’t have interesting conversations with, probably not?

Martha Evans

National Coordinator, Anti-bullying Alliance
Expert Website

In the selfie generation, how can parents help children deal with the pitfalls of teenage life such as appearance-related bullying or getting hang-ups about food and body shape?

The most important thing is for parents to have the confidence to talk to their children about online relationships and make sure they know that they can talk to you if they’re upset about something they’ve seen online.

If they are experiencing bullying remind them that it’s not their fault and that you will address it together. Talk positively about your child’s emerging personality and the positive ways in which they are expressing it, for example in clothing, activities or behaviour – both offline and online. You might start your comment “I like it when you…..”

Ask them to think critically about images they see of people online. Ask them why they think people upload certain photos and do they think photos have been edited? Remind them that they are beautiful and that it’s important to always be yourself. Stay positive and help them understand that everyone’s different.

Catherine Knibbs

Child Trauma therapist, Peer Support Yorkshire
Expert Website

Comparisons to another person are an innate part of being a human. We compare our babies progress, grades in school, clothes and music choices at secondary school (and beyond) and earnings/success when we reach adulthood to name a few. However, for younger children, there has been a change in the frequency to the exposure to the message of body imagery and what is considered acceptable, normal or beautiful. This can be exacerbated by celebrity idols suggesting that people are comfortable in their body and perhaps even ‘dont care about the haters’ and ‘show this off there’s no shame’(this may be a great message for adults but not young children).

Young children can be susceptible to this message and follow this up by posting images of their bodies (clothed, half-clothed or naked) in doing so this can put them at risk of negative, spiteful, hateful, hurtful or comments that are not complimentary or in the case of nakedness is breaking the law.

Each child reacts differently to each of these types of comments and it can be helpful to know that we as parents we can help our children by not negating the impact of such comments, regardless of our perception of how they look or sound to us. Knowing there is a pressure to conform is our greatest ally in talking with our child, it connects with them and they feel seen and heard and this is our precious gift to our children and creates an open space to talk with you.

    Write the comment