中学资源

免费的电子安全教材

大多数视频游戏和社交媒体平台都是为 13 岁以上的儿童设计的。 虽然 44% 的小学生拥有自己的手机,但 97% 的中学儿童也是如此。 然而,并不是所有的孩子都了解网络空间的危险,或者认为他们已经足够成熟来应对这些危险。 这就是为什么给予他们所需的技能以通过优质中学资源做出安全选择很重要的原因。

从管理他们的屏幕时间到浏览网络欺凌或不适当的内容,我们拥有各种小学资源来帮助教导青少年安全上网。

为学校和教师寻找免费的中学资源。

关键阶段 3 和 4 中的常见在线安全问题

数字世界为儿童和年轻人提供了多种好处,但并非所有青少年都了解可能影响他们上网的有害风险。 以下是 KS3 和 KS4 的儿童可能遇到的常见电子安全问题。 看看他们是什么以及教师如何支持他们。

网络欺凌

根据 Ofcom 的 2022 年报告, 71% 的 12-15 岁儿童的父母担心网络欺凌。 12-15 岁最有可能通过短信/消息应用程序被欺负。 与其他年龄组相比,12-15 岁的儿童被面对面欺负的可能性低于网络欺凌。

一些研究表明,孩子们可能会停止报告欺凌行为,因为他们觉得没有得到适当的处理。 作为教育工作者,重要的是要教会孩子报告在线欺凌的最佳途径,同时共享资源供他们使用。 虐待行为永远不应该不受控制。

补充阅读

支持儿童的中学资源

假新闻和虚假信息

91% 的 12-15 岁儿童使用社交媒体。 根据 Ofcom 的 2022 年新闻消费报告,Instagram、TikTok 和 Youtube 是青少年最常见的新闻来源。 由于通过社交媒体传播了如此多的虚假信息,因此教青少年如何批判性地思考他们在网上看到的内容非常重要。

虚假信息通常被称为“假新闻”,但不仅如此。 虚假信息的两种主要类型是错误信息和虚假信息。 错误信息是人们共享的虚假信息,因为他们认为这是真实的,而虚假信息是已知为虚假且故意共享的虚假信息。 在许多情况下,虚假信息可能会变成错误信息。

如果有人故意分享虚假信息,他们通常是有动机的。 这可能是为了进行销售、影响信念或获得浏览量/页面参与度。 当其他人相信该信息时,他们很可能会将其分享并传播给其他可能也相信该信息的人。 如果用户不对他们看到的内容进行事实核查,他们可能会在不知不觉中继续传播。

补充阅读

支持儿童的中学资源

不适内容

不当内容可能包括任何不适合儿童年龄的内容,例如:

与孩子们就不当内容进行对话和上课可以帮助他们了解什么是可以看到的,什么是不可以看到的,以及为什么。

补充阅读

支持儿童的中学资源

隐私和安全

在他们的 2022 儿童媒体的使用和态度 报告称,Ofcom 发现儿童使用一系列隐私和安全措施来保持在线安全。 其中包括以隐身模式浏览 (21%) 和使用代理服务器 (5%)。 虽然这些措施促进了隐私,但它们实际上可能会让青少年对更多的在线危害持开放态度,例如不适当或极端主义的内容。

此外,6% 的儿童表示绕过了阻止他们访问某些应用程序和网站的家长控制。 因此,教育青少年很重要 为什么 隐私设置和家长控制使他们受益。 他们可能尚未完全了解其在线安全的重要性。

94% 的 12-17 岁儿童使用社交媒体,虽然这些平台通常允许用户限制可以与他们互动的人,但只有 30% 的人报告使用这些控件。 帮助青少年了解在线隐私的重要性可以帮助他们更好地掌握在线安全。 拥有这些功能将确保他们的 在线声誉 对未来保持乐观。

补充阅读

支持儿童的中学资源

检测时间

97% 的 12-15 岁儿童拥有自己的手机,在 100-16 岁这一比例达到 17%。 他们使用各种设备和平台,包括视频游戏、视频共享平台和社交媒体应用程序。 平均而言:男孩每天玩大约 4 小时的电子游戏,而女孩每天玩大约 2 小时; 7-16 岁的儿童每天上网时间不到 3 小时; 4-15 岁的儿童每周观看视频内容的时间不到 62 小时。 此外,7% 的 16-XNUMX 岁人士可以随时使用手机,这意味着他们花费的时间可能比记录的要多。

在相同的 来自Ofcom的报告 如上所述,40% 的父母表示他们很难管理孩子的屏幕时间。 学校的支持对于帮助孩子了解如何平衡屏幕使用至关重要。

平衡屏幕使用意味着将设备用于不同目的。 这可能是玩电子游戏或浏览社交媒体,但也可能包括完成家庭作业、做功课、学习新技能、练习健康等等。 这也意味着从数字媒体中休息一下,专注于学校等线下活动,与家人和朋友共度时光,保持活跃等等。

在我们的 使用 TikTok 创建的报告,我们发现大多数青少年都意识到他们需要管理自己的屏幕时间。 他们通过各种方法来做到这一点,包括屏幕时间应用程序。 虽然他们认识到他们可能需要一些支持,但他们想要灵活的能力。 教青少年如何找到平衡是他们在学校之外可以随身携带的一项重要技能。

补充阅读

支持儿童的小学资源

自残

虽然在线自残与线下自残看起来不同,但它们都对年轻人造成伤害。 在线,它可能包括:

  • 年轻人鼓励他人 他们
  • 消费促进饮食失调或自残的内容
  • 在在线论坛上确认自杀或有害情绪
  • 或在网上说一些话来接收辱骂性反应

数字自我伤害通常会验证某人的抑郁或无价值感,不应被忽视。 向年轻人传授情绪低落的健康出路可以帮助他们学习如何调节自己并识别何时该寻求帮助。

补充阅读

支持儿童的中学资源

色情短信

色情短信是在线分享色情信息和图片,通常是通过短信和短信应用程序。

年轻人出于各种原因从事色情短信。 17% 的 15 岁以上儿童报告说,他们曾分享过自己的裸照 2020报告. 在这个数字中,有弱点的儿童更有可能发短信。 例如,接受过护理的儿童 (26%)、饮食失调的儿童 (23%) 和长期身体疾病的儿童 (20%) 比没有脆弱性的儿童 (6%) 更有可能进行色情短信。

在那些分享过裸体的人中,18% 的人表示他们是被勒索或被迫这样做的。 然而,不管他们分享这些图像的原因是什么,这都是一种 虐待儿童 受害者需要了解他们可以获得帮助的方式。

补充阅读

支持儿童的中学资源

KS3 和 KS4 中儿童的热门平台

了解您的学生可能使用的更受欢迎的游戏和平台,包括它们的好处和需要注意的问题。

在课堂上使用的精选小学资源

我们的免费电子安全资源有助于轻松教授在线安全。 从详细的课程到独特的工具,这些中学资源涵盖了中学儿童最重要的一些在线安全主题。

在线一起项目

使用此工具开始讨论在网上找到的刻板印象。 创建一个使用性别刻板印象测验作为评估、活动或启动器的课程,并开始在线挑战偏见。

查看资源

FTF-资产1-1200x630

寻找假货

使用这个由 Google 创建的测验,帮助孩子们学习如何在线识别不可靠或虚假的信息。 在您的课程中使用它作为入门、主要活动或评估,以帮助最大限度地降低在线风险。

查看资源

网络欺凌14plus-1200x630

网络欺凌对话

使用我们的对话入门指南帮助学生对坦诚面对网络欺凌感到自在。 创建一个家庭作业,让父母参与到孩子的在线安全中。

查看资源

数字弹性14plus-1200x630

数字弹性工具包

通过使用此中学资源作为您的课程指南,教孩子们在网上保持弹性。 或者将此资源发送回家,以帮助父母支持孩子在家中和学校的数字复原力。

查看资源

DigitalWellbeing-1200x630

应用指南

通过有目的地使用他们的设备,帮助中学生平衡他们的屏幕时间。 这些应用程序和游戏可帮助孩子们保持活跃、管理他们的健康并学习一系列新技能。

查看资源

家庭协议-1200x630

数字协议

使用此家庭协议模板,帮助孩子们思考他们的家人在设备上花费了多少时间。 让孩子创建一个模板与家人分享或将模板寄回家给父母。

查看资源

其他资源

课程资源
谷歌在家教学
Google和YouTube从家教
Google提供了一系列教育者提供的视频,以支持在家中学习。
Google提供的视频来自...
课程资源
BBC-Bitesize-徽标
BBC Bitesize
Bitesize是针对KS1至GCSE学生的修订和总结服务
Bitesize是修订和概述服务...
课程资源
bill.png
智能手机智能化
Childnet International和电话支付服务管理局(PSA)设计了一个专为教师设计的课程,与8-11岁的孩子一起使用,帮助他们了解可以通过手机花钱赚钱
Childnet International和电话支付服务机构......
课程资源
M-story 行为早期故事 image2
LGfL 尽早行动——激进化故事
基于三个生活受到激进化影响的年轻人的真实故事,Act Early Stories 包括强大的视频和随时可用的会议幻灯片,旨在引发讨论和支持弱势年轻人。 为了帮助建立信心并减少工作量,它还包含指导说明,因此教师和青年工作者可以使用整个课程或个人活动。
基于三个年轻人的真实故事...
这有用吗?
告诉我们如何改进它

Secondary school resources

Free e-safety teaching materials

Most videos games and social media platforms are designed for children aged 13+. While 44% of primary school children have their own mobile phones, the same is true for 97% of children in secondary school. However, not all children understand the dangers of the online space or believe they are mature enough to handle them. That’s why it’s important to give them the skills they need to make safe choices with quality secondary school resources.

From managing their screen time to navigating cyberbullying or inappropriate content, we have a variety of primary school resources to help teach teens about safe online use.

Find free secondary school resources for schools and teachers.

Common online safety issues in Key Stages 3 and 4

The digital world offers a variety of benefits to children and young people, but not all teens understand the harmful risks that may affect them online. Below are common e-safety issues that children in KS3 and KS4 may experience. See what they are and how teachers can support them.

Cyberbullying

According to Ofcom’s 2022 report, 71% of parents of children aged 12-15 were worried about online bullying. 12-15s were most likely to be bullied via text/messaging apps. Compared to other age groups, children aged 12-15 were less likely to be bullied face-to-face than online.

Some research suggests that children might stop reporting bullying because they feel like it’s not dealt with appropriately. As educators, it’s important to teach children the best routes for reporting online bullying while also sharing resources for them to use. Abusive behaviour should never go unchecked.

Additional reading

Secondary school resource to support children

Fake news and misinformation

91% of children aged 12-15 use social media. According to Ofcom’s 2022 News Consumption report, Instagram, TikTok and Youtube are the most common sources of news among teens. With so much false information spread through social media, it’s important to teach teens how to think critically about what they see online.

False information is often called ‘fake news’, but it’s more than that. The two main types of false information are misinformation and disinformation. Misinformation is false information that people share because they think it’s true while disinformation is false information that is known to be false and purposely shared. In many cases, disinformation can become misinformation.

If someone purposely shares false information, they usually have a motive for it. This could be to make sales, influence beliefs or get views/page engagement. When others believe the information, they are likely to share and spread it to others who may also believe it. If users don’t fact-check what they see, they may continue to spread it unknowingly.

Additional reading

Secondary school resource to support children

Inappropriate content

Inappropriate content can include anything not suitable for a child’s age such as:

Conversations and lessons with children about inappropriate content can help them understand what is and isn’t okay for them to see and why.

Additional reading

Secondary school resources to support children

Privacy and security

In their 2022 Children’s Media Use and Attitudes report, Ofcom found that children use a range of privacy and security measure to keep safe online. These include browsing in incognito mode (21%) and using a proxy server (5%). While these measure promote privacy, they may actually leave teens open to more online harms like inappropriate or extremist content.

Additionally, 6% of children report bypassing parental controls that keep them from visiting some apps and sites. Therefore, it’s important to teach teens why privacy settings and parental controls benefit them. They may not yet fully understand the importance of their online safety.

94% of children aged 12-17 use social media and while these platforms often allow users to limit who can interact with them, only 30% report using these controls. Helping teens to understand the importance of privacy online can help them take greater ownership of their security online. Having these features in place will ensure their online reputation remains positive for the future.

Additional reading

Secondary school resources to support children

Screen time

97% of children aged 12-15 have their own mobile phones, going up to 100% for 16-17s. They use a variety of devices and platforms including video games, video-sharing platforms and social media apps. On average: boys play around 4 hours of video games per day while girls play around 2 hours; children aged 7-16 spend just under 3 ½ hours per day online; children aged 4-15 spend just under six hours per week watching video content. Additionally, 62% of 7-16s have access to their mobile phones at all times, which means they may spend more time than is recorded.

In the same report from Ofcom as the above, 40% of parents say they struggle to manage their child’s screen time. Support from schools is vital in helping children understand how to balance screen use.

Balanced screen use means using devices for different purposes. This may be playing video games or browsing social media but could also include completing homework, doing school work, learning new skills, practising wellbeing and more. It also means taking breaks from digital to focus on offline activities like school, spending time with family and friends, staying active and more.

In our report created with TikTok, we found that most teens are aware of their need to manage their screen time. They do so through a variety of methods including screen time apps. While they recognise they may need some support, they want the ability for flexibility. Teaching teens how to find balance is an important skill they can take with them beyond school.

Additional reading

Primary school resources to support children

Self-harm

While online self-harm appears different from offline self-harm, they are both damaging to a young person. Online, it may include:

  • young people encouraging others to roast them
  • consuming content that promotes eating disorders or self-harm
  • getting validation of suicidal or harmful feelings on online forums
  • trolling or saying things online to receive abusive reactions

Digital self-harm often validates someone’s feelings of depression or worthlessness and should not be brushed off. Teaching young people about healthy outlets for low moods can help them learn how to regulate themselves and recognise when it’s time to seek help.

Additional reading

Secondary school resources to support children

Sexting

Sexting is the sharing of sexually explicit messages and images online, often over messaging and texting apps.

Young people engage in sexting for a variety of reasons. 17% of children aged 15+ report having shared nude images of themselves in a 2020 report. Among this number, children with vulnerabilities are more likely to sext. For instance, care-experienced children (26%), those with eating disorders (23%) and those with long-standing physical illnesses (20%) were more likely than those without vulnerabilities (6%) to engage in sexting.

Among those who have shared nudes, 18% report they were blackmailed or pressured into doing it. However, regardless of their reason for sharing these images, it is a form of child-on-child abuse and victims need to be aware of the ways they can get help.

Additional reading

Secondary school resources to support children

Popular platforms for children in KS3 and KS4

Learn about the more popular games and platforms that your students might use, including their benefits and the issues to watch out for.

Featured primary school resources to use in the classroom

Our free e-safety resources help make teaching online safety easy. From detailed lessons to unique tools, these resources for secondary school cover some of the most important online safety topics for children in secondary school.

The Online Together Project

Use this tool to start a discussion about stereotypes found online. Create a lesson that uses the gender stereotypes quiz as an assessment, activity or starter, and begin challenging biases online.

SEE RESOURCE

FTF-Asset1-1200x630

Find the Fake

Help children learn how to recognise unreliable or false information online using this quiz created with Google. Use it within your lesson as a starter, main activity or assessment to help minimise risk online.

SEE RESOURCE

Cyberbullying14plus-1200x630

Cyberbullying conversations

Use our conversation starter guides to help students feel comfortable about being honest about cyberbullying. Create a homework task to get parents involved in their child’s online safety.

SEE RESOURCE

DigitalResilience14plus-1200x630

Digital Resilience Toolkit

Teach children to be resilient online by using this secondary school resource as a guide to your lesson. Or send this resource home to help parents support children’s digital resilience at home and at school.

SEE RESOURCE

DigitalWellbeing-1200x630

Guide to apps

Help secondary school children balance their screen time by using their devices purposefully. These apps and games help children stay active, manage their wellbeing and learn a range of new skills.

SEE RESOURCE

FamilyAgreement-1200x630

Digital agreement

Help children think about how much time their families spend on devices with this family agreement template. Have children create one to share with their families or send the template home to parents.

SEE RESOURCE

Other resources

Lesson resources
google-teach-from-home
Google and YouTube Teach from Home
Google offers videos from a range of educators to support learning at home.
Google offers videos from a range of ...
Lesson resources
BBC-Bitesize-logo
BBC Bitesize
Bitesize is a revision and recap service for students from KS1 to GCSE
Bitesize is a revision and recap service ...
Lesson resources
bill.png
Being Smart with your Smartphone
Childnet International and the Phone-paid Services Authority (PSA) have designed a lesson designed for teachers to use with 8-11 year olds to help them understand that it is possible to spend real money through their phones
Childnet International and the Phone-paid Services Authority ...
Lesson resources
M-story act early stories image2
LGfL Act Early – Radicalisation Stories
Based on three real-life stories of young people whose lives have been affected by radicalisation, Act Early Stories includes powerful videos and ready to use session slides, designed to spark discussion and support vulnerable young people. To help build confidence and reduce workload it also contains guidance notes, so teachers and youth workers can either use the entire session or individual activities.
Based on three real-life stories of young ...
Was this useful?
Tell us how we can improve it