小学资源

免费的电子安全教材

虽然许多游戏和社交媒体应用程序是为 13 岁以上的儿童设计的,但小学适龄儿童仍然在网上很活跃。 这就是为什么给予他们必要的技能以通过优质小学资源做出安全选择很重要。

从网络欺凌到批判性地思考他们阅读的在线信息,我们有各种小学资源来帮助教孩子们安全使用网络。

小学教学资源

关键阶段 1 和 2 中的常见在线安全问题

数字世界为儿童和年轻人提供了多种好处,但并非所有儿童都了解可能影响他们上网的有害风险。 以下是 KS1 和 KS2 的儿童可能遇到的常见电子安全问题。 看看他们是什么以及教师如何支持他们。

网络欺凌

根据 Ofcom 的 2022 年报告, 76% 的 8-11 岁儿童的父母担心网络欺凌。 8-11 最有可能被面对面欺负,但在线欺凌通过短信/消息应用程序和在线游戏继续存在。 然而,这个年龄段的人也最有可能告诉像值得信赖的成年人这样的人他们被欺负了。 这种可能性随着年龄的增长而降低。

一些研究表明,孩子们可能会停止报告欺凌行为,因为他们觉得没有得到适当的处理。 作为教育工作者,重要的是要教会孩子报告在线欺凌的最佳途径,同时共享资源供他们使用。 虐待行为永远不应该不受控制。

补充阅读

支持儿童的小学资源

假新闻和虚假信息

尽管大多数平台要求最低年龄为 47 岁,但仍有 5% 的 11-13 岁儿童拥有自己的社交媒体资料。社交媒体上散布着如此多的虚假信息,因此教孩子们如何批判性地思考他们在网上看到的内容非常重要。

虚假信息通常被称为“假新闻”,但不仅如此。 虚假信息的两种主要类型是错误信息和虚假信息。 错误信息是人们共享的虚假信息,因为他们认为这是真实的,而虚假信息是已知为虚假且故意共享的虚假信息。 在许多情况下,虚假信息可能会变成错误信息。

如果有人故意分享虚假信息,他们通常是有动机的。 这可能是为了进行销售、影响信念或获得浏览量/页面参与度。 当其他人相信该信息时,他们很可能会将其分享并传播给其他可能也相信该信息的人。 如果用户不对他们看到的内容进行事实核查,他们可能会在不知不觉中继续传播。

补充阅读

支持儿童的小学资源

不适内容

大多数社交媒体和游戏平台要求用户年满 13 岁。 然而, Ofcom 的 2022 年报告 发现 33% 的 5-7 岁儿童和 60% 的 8-11 岁儿童已经拥有社交媒体资料。 在同一份报告中,只有 42% 的父母能够确定拥有社交媒体账户的正确最低年龄。 在许多情况下,孩子们不明白年龄要求背后的原因。 所以,教他们很重要。

不当内容可能包括任何不适合儿童年龄的内容,例如:

  • 色情影片或图片
  • 讨厌的语言
  • 仇恨言论
  • 宣传饮食失调和自残的内容
  • 显示暴力或残忍行为的图像或视频
  • 性别歧视或厌恶女性的内容

与孩子们就不当内容进行对话和上课可以帮助他们了解什么是他们可以看到的,什么是不可以看到的。

补充阅读

支持儿童的小学资源

隐私和安全

在他们的 2022 儿童媒体的使用和态度 报告称,Ofcom 发现 35% 的儿童使用的隐私和安全功能实际上可能使他们面临更大的风险。 与成年人一样,儿童在使用设备时也面临身份被盗或在线声誉受到影响的风险。

与成人相比,儿童更有可能在网上过度分享他们的地址或电话号码等个人详细信息。 他们可能不完全了解他们的信息如何被用来针对他们进行勒索、修饰、虐待或欺凌,因此让他们了解情况很重要。

说到密码,很多孩子都用 简单的话 或者不明白数字、大小写字母和字符组合的必要性。 他们通常会创建相当弱的密码,他们可以跨平台和帐户使用这些密码,并且可以与朋友分享这些密码。

补充阅读

支持儿童的小学资源

检测时间

44% 的 5 至 11 岁儿童拥有自己的手机。 他们使用各种设备和平台,包括视频游戏、视频共享平台和社交媒体应用程序。 平均而言:男孩每天玩大约 4 小时的电子游戏,而女孩每天玩大约 2 小时; 7-16 岁的儿童每天上网时间不到 3 小时; 4-15 岁的儿童每周观看视频内容的时间不到 62 小时。 此外,7% 的 16-XNUMX 岁人士可以随时使用手机,这意味着他们花费的时间可能比记录的要多。

在相同的 来自Ofcom的报告 如上所述,40% 的父母表示他们很难管理孩子的屏幕时间。 学校的支持对于帮助孩子了解如何平衡屏幕使用至关重要。

平衡屏幕使用意味着将设备用于不同目的。 这可能是玩电子游戏或浏览社交媒体,但也可能包括完成家庭作业、做功课、学习新技能、练习健康等等。 这也意味着从数字媒体中休息一下,专注于学校等线下活动,与家人和朋友共度时光,保持活跃等等。 在许多情况下,儿童需要支持来帮助管理这种平衡,尤其是在小学阶段。

补充阅读

支持儿童的小学资源

KS1 和 KS2 中儿童的热门平台

了解您的学生可能使用的更受欢迎的游戏和平台,包括它们的好处和需要注意的问题。

注意:许多平台只适合 13 岁以上的儿童,但可能供 KS1 和 KS2 的儿童使用。 但是,以下内容适合该年龄段。

在课堂上使用的精选小学资源

我们的免费电子安全资源有助于轻松教授在线安全。 从详细的课程到独特的工具,这些小学资源涵盖了小学儿童最重要的一些在线安全主题。

Digital Matters 是面向教师的免费小学资源

数字事务

与互联世界教育框架相一致,Digital Matters 是一个免费的小学资源和学习平台,可向 5 岁和 6 岁的儿童教授电子安全。了解它如何让您的学生参与他们的在线安全。

查看资源

在线一起项目

使用此工具开始讨论在网上找到的刻板印象。 创建一个使用性别刻板印象测验作为评估、活动或启动器的课程,并开始在线挑战偏见。

查看资源

FTF-资产1-1200x630

寻找假货

使用这个由 Google 创建的测验,帮助孩子们学习如何在线识别不可靠或虚假的信息。 在您的课程中使用它作为入门、主要活动或评估,以帮助最大限度地降低在线风险。

查看资源

男孩被网络欺凌的卡通形象

网络欺凌对话

使用我们的对话入门指南帮助学生对坦诚面对网络欺凌感到自在。 创建一个家庭作业,让父母参与到孩子的在线安全中。

查看资源

数字弹性6-10-1200x630

数字弹性工具包

通过使用此小学资源作为课程指南,教孩子们在网上保持弹性。 或者将此资源发送回家,以帮助父母支持孩子在家中和学校的数字复原力。

查看资源

家庭协议-1200x630

数字协议

使用此家庭协议模板,帮助孩子们思考他们的家人在设备上花费了多少时间。 让孩子创建一个模板与家人分享或将模板寄回家给父母。

查看资源

其他资源

课程资源
谷歌在家教学
Google和YouTube从家教
Google提供了一系列教育者提供的视频,以支持在家中学习。
Google提供的视频来自...
课程资源
BBC-Bitesize-徽标
BBC Bitesize
Bitesize是针对KS1至GCSE学生的修订和总结服务
Bitesize是修订和概述服务...
课程资源
英雄
TikTok 剧本
我们的 TikTok 手册让您的学生触手可及整个世界的数字内容,为您提供识别潜在保护问题、了解最新隐私和安全功能并支持学生安全使用平台所需的所有信息和建议。
拥有整个数字内容世界...
课程资源
数字事务-Logo-470 (1) (2)
数字事务学习平台
在 ESET 的支持下创建的 Digital Matters 是我们的新学习平台,可帮助学校改变他们教授在线安全的方式。 通过互动活动、讨论和沉浸式场景,孩子们会对数字安全感到兴奋。
在 ESET 的支持下创建,Digital Matters ...
这有用吗?
告诉我们如何改进它

Primary School Resources

Free e-safety teaching materials

While many games and social media apps are designed for children 13+, primary school-aged children are still active online. That’s why it’s important to give them the skills they need to make safe choices with quality primary school resources.

From cyberbullying to thinking critically about the online information they read, we have a variety of primary school resources to help teach children about safe online use.

Primary school teaching resources

Common online safety issues in Key Stages 1 and 2

The digital world offers a variety of benefits to children and young people, but not all children understand the harmful risks that may affect them online. Below are common e-safety issues that children in KS1 and KS2 may experience. See what they are and how teachers can support them.

Cyberbullying

According to Ofcom’s 2022 report, 76% of parents of children aged 8-11 were worried about online bullying. 8-11s were most likely to be bullied face-to-face but online bullying continues via text/messaging apps and in online games. However, this age group is also most likely to tell someone like a trusted adult that they have been bullied. This likelihood decreases with age.

Some research suggests that children might stop reporting bullying because they feel like it’s not dealt with appropriately. As educators, it’s important to teach children the best routes for reporting online bullying while also sharing resources for them to use. Abusive behaviour should never go unchecked.

Additional reading

Primary school resources to support children

Fake news and misinformation

47% of children aged 5-11 have their own social media profile despite most platforms requiring a minimum age of 13. With so much false information spread through social media, it’s important to teach children how to think critically about what they see online.

False information is often called ‘fake news’, but it’s more than that. The two main types of false information are misinformation and disinformation. Misinformation is false information that people share because they think it’s true while disinformation is false information that is known to be false and purposely shared. In many cases, disinformation can become misinformation.

If someone purposely shares false information, they usually have a motive for it. This could be to make sales, influence beliefs or get views/page engagement. When others believe the information, they are likely to share and spread it to others who may also believe it. If users don’t fact-check what they see, they may continue to spread it unknowingly.

Additional reading

Primary school resources to support children

Inappropriate content

Most social media and gaming platforms require users to be 13-years-old or older. However, Ofcom’s 2022 report found that 33% of 5-7-year-olds and 60% of 8-11-year-olds already had a social media profile. Only 42% of parents in the same report could identify the correct minimum age for having a social media account. In many cases, children don’t understand the reasons behind age requirements. So, it’s important to teach them.

Inappropriate content can include anything not suitable for a child’s age such as:

  • pornographic videos or images
  • nasty language
  • hate speech
  • content promoting eating disorders and self-harm
  • images or videos showing violent or cruel acts
  • sexism or misogynistic content

Conversations and lessons with children about inappropriate content can help them understand what is and isn’t okay for them to see.

Additional reading

Primary school resources to support children

Privacy and security

In their 2022 Children’s Media Use and Attitudes report, Ofcom found that 35% of children use privacy and security features that might actually put them at more risk. Just like adults, children are at risk of having their identities stolen or their online reputation impacted while they use their devices.

Children are more likely than adults to overshare personal details like their address or phone number online. They may not fully understand how their information could be used to target them for blackmail, grooming, abuse or bullying, so it’s important to keep them informed.

When it comes to passwords, many children use simple words or don’t understand the need for a combination of numbers, uppercase and lowercase letters and characters. They usually create passwords that are fairly weak, which they may use across platforms and accounts, and which they may share with friends.

Additional reading

Primary school resources to support children

Screen time

44% of children aged 5 to 11 have their own mobile phones. They use a variety of devices and platforms including video games, video-sharing platforms and social media apps. On average: boys play around 4 hours of video games per day while girls play around 2 hours; children aged 7-16 spend just under 3 ½ hours per day online; children aged 4-15 spend just under six hours per week watching video content. Additionally, 62% of 7-16s have access to their mobile phones at all times, which means they may spend more time than is recorded.

In the same report from Ofcom as the above, 40% of parents say they struggle to manage their child’s screen time. Support from schools is vital in helping children understand how to balance screen use.

Balanced screen use means using devices for different purposes. This may be playing video games or browsing social media but could also include completing homework, doing school work, learning new skills, practising wellbeing and more. It also means taking breaks from digital to focus on offline activities like school, spending time with family and friends, staying active and more. In many cases, children need support to help manage this balance, especially at the primary level.

Additional reading

Primary school resources to support children

Popular platforms for children in KS1 and KS2

Learn about the more popular games and platforms that your students might use, including their benefits and the issues to watch out for.

Note: Many platforms are only suitable for children over the age of 13 but may be used by children in KS1 and KS2. However, the following are suitable for this age group.

Featured primary school resources to use in the classroom

Our free e-safety resources help make teaching online safety easy. From detailed lessons to unique tools, these resources for primary school cover some of the most important online safety topics for children in primary school.

Digital Matters is a free primary school resource for teachers

Digital Matters

Aligned with the Education for a Connected World framework, Digital Matters is a free primary school resource and learning platform to teach e-safety to children in years 5 and 6. See how it can engage your students in their online safety.

SEE RESOURCE

The Online Together Project

Use this tool to start a discussion about stereotypes found online. Create a lesson that uses the gender stereotypes quiz as an assessment, activity or starter, and begin challenging biases online.

SEE RESOURCE

FTF-Asset1-1200x630

Find the Fake

Help children learn how to recognise unreliable or false information online using this quiz created with Google. Use it within your lesson as a starter, main activity or assessment to help minimise risk online.

SEE RESOURCE

Cartoon image of boy being cyberbullied

Cyberbullying conversations

Use our conversation starter guides to help students feel comfortable about being honest about cyberbullying. Create a homework task to get parents involved in their child’s online safety.

SEE RESOURCE

DigitalResilience6-10-1200x630

Digital Resilience Toolkit

Teach children to be resilient online by using this primary school resource as a guide to your lesson. Or send this resource home to help parents support children’s digital resilience at home and at school.

SEE RESOURCE

FamilyAgreement-1200x630

Digital agreement

Help children think about how much time their families spend on devices with this family agreement template. Have children create one to share with their families or send the template home to parents.

SEE RESOURCE

Other resources

Lesson resources
google-teach-from-home
Google and YouTube Teach from Home
Google offers videos from a range of educators to support learning at home.
Google offers videos from a range of ...
Lesson resources
BBC-Bitesize-logo
BBC Bitesize
Bitesize is a revision and recap service for students from KS1 to GCSE
Bitesize is a revision and recap service ...
Lesson resources
Hero
TikTok Playbook
With a whole world of digital content at your students’ fingertips, our TikTok Playbook has all the information and advice you need to recognise the potential safeguarding issues, understand the latest privacy and security features and support students to use the platform safely.
With a whole world of digital content ...
Lesson resources
Digital-Matters-Logo-470 (1) (2)
Digital Matters learning platform
Created with support from ESET, Digital Matters is our new learning platform to help schools change the way they teach online safety. With interactive activities, discussion and immersive scenarios, kids will get excited about digital safety.
Created with support from ESET, Digital Matters ...
Was this useful?
Tell us how we can improve it