YouTube:儿童安全提示和技巧| 互联网事项

YouTube:让您的孩子保持娱乐和安全的提示和技巧

家庭娱乐不再意味着坐在电视机前,在当天的固定时间观看适当的节目。 现在,有多种方式可以观看您喜欢的节目,包括在线节目。 其中一种最受欢迎​​的方式是通过YouTube。

在安全、负责任地使用时,YouTube 为儿童提供了大量学习、娱乐、发挥创造力和玩耍的机会。 然而,有如此多的内容可供您使用——您不希望年幼的孩子看到其中的大部分内容。

您如何找到正确的频道和节目? 你如何确保你的孩子在看他们的时候是安全的?

开始使用YouTube

拥有一个共享的 YouTube 家庭帐户很重要,这样您就可以轻松跟踪正在观看和推荐的视频。 我建议 打开受限模式 或使用目前处于测试模式且仅在某些国家/地区可用的“监督体验”。

“受监督的体验”适用于希望让孩子从 YouTube Kids 过渡到主要 YouTube 平台的父母。 您可以通过创建一个 监管账户.

了解您的孩子观看哪些 YouTube 频道

在我们家中取得成功的一种方法是限制我们的孩子观看某些 YouTube 频道。 如果他们想开始观看新视频,我们会先自己观看一些视频来审核内容。

公认的品牌在这里很有用,因为它们在适当性方面带有更严格的标准。 但是,同时可以更商业化。 Peacock Kids、Mother Goose Club、Talking Tom & Friends 和 National Geographic Kids 是 10 岁以下儿童的好例子。
查看最近的视频,还可以浏览频道的过往目录。 尽管如此,这些较旧的视频通常会被 YouTube 推荐给年轻观众,如果他们已经在观看该频道的话。

小技巧:订阅您喜欢的频道。 这会为您的孩子创建安全视频供稿,供您在 YouTube 的“订阅”区域中浏览和观看。

YouTube 如何帮助保护平台上的儿童?

  • YouTube儿童 – 是专为 13 岁以下儿童设计的独立应用程序,可为他们提供更安全、更简单的探索体验。 该应用程序还具有家长监督的体验,可帮助指导您的孩子踏上旅程。 查看 YouTube Kids 应用家长控制指南 for more information.
  • 成人内容或“非面向儿童的内容”– 内容创作者可以在其不为 18 岁以下观众制作的内容中加入年龄限制选项。在其“观看”页面上为儿童制作的内容上的个性化广告将被删除,但是,广告的显示是基于视频,但不太个性化。 货币化功能已被删除,例如超级留言或商品货架——需要用户信息。
  • 受信任的举报者计划 – 从平台中删除有害内容。 2021 年 9 月至 XNUMX 月期间,他们删除了令人震惊的 XNUMX 万个违反其 社区准则.
  • 机器识别 – 他们的机器学习系统识别可能使儿童处于危险之中的视频。 他们还应用了一些保护工具,例如限制实时功能、禁用评论和限制推荐。 YouTube 还与非政府组织合作,通过向相关法律机构报告此类内容来打击儿童性虐待图像 (CSAI)。
  • 报告 – 当视频/频道被举报给 YouTube 时,他们会对此进行调查,如果这违反了他们的准则或政策,他们将终止相关帐户。 如果他们发现任何涉及未成年人的性不当内容,他们不仅会终止帐户,而且还会向国家失踪和受虐儿童中心 (NCMEC) 报告非法活动。

设置家长控制

观看来自木乃伊博主 Adele Jennings 的视频,其中她谈到了 YouTube 家长控制设置。 此外,请访问 家长控制中心 对于实际步骤。

18 岁以下的安全和数字健康选项

截至 10 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日:
YouTube 宣布了对 YouTube 和 YouTube Kids 上未满 18 岁的人的额外保护,这些保护将在未来几周内推出:

  • 更新默认隐私设置 – YouTube 将逐渐将默认上传设置更改为 YouTube 上 13-17 岁用户可用的最私密选项。 如果他们希望他们的内容公开,他们可以在设置中这样做。
  • 数字健康 – 除了目前的数字健康工具之外,YouTube 还将为 13-17 岁之间的所有用户切换就寝时间提醒作为默认设置。 他们还将默认关闭自动播放。 用户始终可以在设置中更改这些功能。
  • 在 YouTube Kids 上自动播放 – 自动播放选项将在 YouTube Kids 上可用,YouTube 将在应用程序中默认关闭自动播放。 YouTube 还将在 YouTube Kids 应用中推出额外的家长控制功能,包括家长可以选择“锁定”的默认自动播放设置。
  • 有关商业内容的保护措施和教育 – YouTube 不允许在 YouTube Kids 中放置付费产品,但他们会开始从 YouTube Kids 中删除过于商业化的内容,例如只关注产品包装或直接鼓励儿童花钱的视频。

互联网问题的YouTubing提示

  • 定期与您的孩子讨论他们的线上和线下活动,并了解 他们可以在哪里以及如何获得帮助 如果他们看到任何让他们不安的事情。
  • 您的孩子有 YouTube 频道吗? 如果有,你看过他们的视频吗? 你知道他们在发什么吗?
  • 与您的孩子一起观看和欣赏 YouTube 节目,帮助他们理解他们不理解的主题,并评估哪些内容对他们的整体健康有益。
  • 使用方法 监督经验 如果您的孩子使用 YouTube 主要平台。
  • 尝试 YouTube儿童应用 如果您有 13 岁以下的孩子。
  • Google Family Link 非常适合用于其他家长控制。
  • 使用方法 Google安全搜索 过滤不适当的搜索结果。
  • 报告 任何有害内容。

最近的帖子

向上滚动

YouTube: child safety tips and tricks | Internet Matters

YouTube: Tips and tricks to keep your children entertained and safe

Entertainment for families no longer means sitting in front of the television, watching appropriate programming at set times in the day. Now, there are multiple ways to watch your favourite shows, including online. And one of the most popular ways is through YouTube.

When used safely and responsibly, YouTube provides a wealth of opportunities for children to learn, be entertained, be creative, and play. However, with so much content available – much of which you don’t want your younger children to see.

How do you find the correct channels and shows? How do you ensure your children are safe while watching them?

Getting started with YouTube

It’s important to have a shared family account for YouTube so that you can easily track what videos are being watched and suggested. I recommend turning Restricted Mode on or use ‘Supervised Experiences’ which is currently in the testing mode and only available in certain countries/regions.

‘Supervised Experiences’ is for parents who want to allow their child to transition from YouTube Kids to the main YouTube platform. You can do so by creating a supervised account.

Know what YouTube channels your children watch

An approach that has been successful in our houses has been to restrict our children from watching certain YouTube channels. If they want to start watching a new one, we watch some videos ourselves first to vet the content.

Recognised brands are useful here as they carry with them more rigorous standards in terms of appropriateness.  However, at the same time can be more commercial. Peacock Kids, Mother Goose Club, Talking Tom & Friends, and National Geographic Kids are good examples for children under 10.
Check out recent videos but also browse the channel’s back catalog. Although, these older videos will often be suggested by YouTube for young viewers to watch next if they are already watching the channel.

Tip: Subscribe to channels that you feel comfortable with. This creates a feed of safe videos for your children to browse and watch in the ‘Subscriptions’ area of YouTube.

How does YouTube help protect kids on the platform?

  • YouTube Kids – is a separate app made for children under 13 which allows a safer and simpler experience for them to explore. The app also has a parent-supervised experience to help guide your kids on their journey. Check out the YouTube Kids app parental control guide for more information.
  • Mature content or ‘Not made for kids’– content creators can include an age-restrict option on their content not made for viewers under 18. Personalised ads will be removed on content that is made for kids on their ‘watch’ page, however, ads are shown based on the context of the video but less personalised. Monetised features have been removed like Super Chat or the Merch Shelf – which requires user information.
  • Trusted Flagger program – removes harmful content from the platform. Between Jan -Mar 2021, they have removed a staggering 9 million videos that violated their Community Guidelines.
  • Machine learning – their machine learning systems identify videos that may put children at risk. They also apply a few protection tools, such as restricting live features, disabling comments, and limiting recommendations. YouTube also works with NGOs to combat child sexual abuse imagery (CSAI) by reporting this type of content to the relevant law agencies.
  • Reporting – when a video/channel is reported to YouTube, they will investigate this and if it goes against their guidelines or policies, they will terminate the account in question. If they find any sexually inappropriate content featuring minors, not only will they terminate the account, but they will report the illegal activities to the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (NCMEC).

Setting parental controls

Watch the video from mummy blogger Adele Jennings where she talks about YouTube parental control settings. Also, visit the parental controls hub for the practical steps.

Safety and digital wellbeing options for under 18s

As of 10 Aug 2021:
YouTube announced additional protections for people under 18 on YouTube and YouTube Kids, which will be rolling out over the coming weeks:

  • Updating default privacy settings – YouTube will gradually change the default upload settings to the most private option available for users between 13-17 years old on YouTube. If they want their content public, they are able to do so in the settings.
  • Digital wellbeing – In addition to their current digital well-being tools, YouTube will switch bedtime reminders as a default for all users between 13-17 years old. They also will turn off auto-play as a default. A user can always change these features in the settings.
  • Auto-play on YouTube Kids – The autoplay option will be available on YouTube Kids and YouTube will be turning autoplay off by default in the app. YouTube will also be launching additional parental controls in the YouTube Kids app, including the ability for a parent to choose a “locked” default autoplay setting.
  • Safeguards and education about commercial content – YouTube do not allow paid product placements in YouTube Kids, but they will begin to remove overly commercial content from YouTube Kids, such as a video that only focuses on product packaging or directly encourages children to spend money.

Internet Matters’ YouTubing tips

  • Have regular conversations with your children about their on and offline activities and know where and how they can get help if they should see anything that upsets them.
  • Does your child have a YouTube channel? If yes, do you watched their videos? Do you know what they are posting?
  • Watch and enjoy YouTube shows together with your child to help them make sense of themes they don’t understand and gauge what content will be beneficial for their overall wellbeing.
  • Use Supervised Experiences if your child is using the main YouTube platform.
  • Try the YouTube Kids app if you have children under 13.
  • Google Family Link is great to use for other parental controls.
  • Use Google SafeSearch which filters inappropriate search results.
  • Report any harmful content.
Scroll Up