菜单

在线虐待儿童

家长/照顾者和教师指南

有时被称为同伴虐待,现在比以前更频繁地在线虐待儿童。

了解它是什么,包括标志,以及如何支持和告知年轻人,以防止在学校和家中发生在线虐待儿童行为。

这个页面上有什么

什么是网络虐待儿童?

在线儿童对儿童的虐待通常与网络欺凌有关。 然而,这只是其中的一部分。 Ofsted 解释 它还可以包括:

虽然学校经常接受线下虐待儿童的培训,但只有 玛丽柯林斯基金会进行的一项调查中,68% 的学校 建议他们接受专门针对在线虐待的培训。 在本次培训中,只有 48% 的学校包括所有教职员工。 因此,有些关键员工可能没有接受过适当的培训,无法处理在线虐待儿童行为。

然而,大多数在线虐待儿童的行为都发生在课外时间,儿童在家和使用设备时。 因此,父母和照顾者在确保儿童和青少年不参与这些行为方面也发挥了关键作用。 此外,老师和家长都需要共同努力,帮助年轻人了解如果他们发现自己在网上受到虐待,该怎么办。

家长故事 灯泡

博主兼 3 岁的妈妈 Emma Bradley 分享了她在虐待儿童方面的经验以及她对如何预防这种情况的建议。

阅读更多

给父母和照顾者的信息

父母和看护人在教孩子网上适当的行为方面发挥着关键作用。 有 就他们在网上所做的事情展开对话 以及他们如何与他人互动。 帮助他们了解健康的行为是什么样的,以及如果他们需要支持,他们可以去哪里。

Linda Papadopolous 博士的见解

心理学家 Linda Papadopoulos博士 在此视频中讨论了父母在防止虐待儿童方面的作用。 看看它可能如何影响您的孩子,以及如果他们发现自己成为另一个孩子虐待的受害者,您可以做些什么来支持他们。

为什么儿童可能不会报告对儿童的虐待以及如何支持他们

“很多时候,一个被虐待的孩子会对此感到内疚。 他们可能会经历自我毁灭的想法,甚至失去自尊,或者觉得他们不值得得到帮助。”

技术在虐待儿童中的作用

“孩子们一直在使用他们的设备。 因此,虽然“传统的”点对点虐待发生在人们距离很近的地方,但当它在线时,它可能发生在世界任何地方; 可以延长; 很难逃脱。”

创造一个谈论虐待儿童的环境

“你可以做几件事。 我认为第一个是创造时间和安全的谈话空间。 向你的孩子表明你不会感到震惊——你相信他们,你相信他们。 听他们说。”

如果您的孩子受到虐待,您可以做些什么来支持他们

“你如何让你的孩子觉得他们重新控制了正在发生的事情? 可能是它正在面对施虐者,并可能告诉他们生活中的其他成年人保护他们的安全。 它可能是改变行为或改变位置,因此施虐者无法再控制他们,无论是通过他们的设备还是在学校。”

学校如何支持您的孩子

“向学校解释发生了什么,询问学校他们处理这个问题的过程,并要求他们就如何共同努力确保孩子的安全提供明确的指导。”

给父母和照顾者的提示

如果您的孩子以受害者或施暴者的身份参与虐待儿童的行为,请查看需要注意哪些迹象。 通过这些专家提示了解您可以做些什么来支持他们的康复和理解。

进行适合年龄的对话

确保您的孩子或青少年明白什么是虐待儿童 定期交谈.

向他们解释适合他们年龄的不当行为,并授权他们报告任何让他们感到不舒服的事情,即使是密友所做的。 重要的是,他们不要将虐待行为视为无害的玩笑。

提高您对儿童可能面临的不同在线问题以及如何针对他们的认识 请点击此处尝试搜索。.

设置隐私和安全控制

大多数应用程序、平台和设备都有隐私和安全设置,用户可以使用这些设置来确保自己的在线安全。

与您的孩子或青少年一起设置这些控件。 解释它们是如何工作的,以及它们可能对他们的安全产生什么影响。 将它们放在一起可以帮助他们加深理解并掌握自己的安全。

让全家人参与数字边界和在线安全 套家庭协约,.

教授数字弹性和责任感

就像学习安全过马路或获得道路许可证一样,访问网络世界所提供的一切都需要一定的知识、责任和应变能力。

当他们获得第一台设备时,帮助您的孩子学习如何正确使用互联网。 这可能包括如何与他人交流以及在他们需要时从哪里获得帮助。

与他们一起度过他们的旅程,因为他们通过里程碑,例如获得新设备或加入社交媒体平台以帮助他们与他人进行积极的互动。

注意标志

儿童可能成为虐待儿童的受害者的迹象可能包括:

  • 他们正常行为的变化
  • 对不适合他们年龄的事物的了解
  • 药物滥用
  • 睡眠问题
  • 逃学
  • 无法解释的伤害
  • 自残

承认他们的感受

为他们可能因虐待儿童而产生的感受腾出空间。 倾听他们的感受——悲伤、愤怒、害怕——并让他们知道,只要你在他们痊愈时支持他们,感受这些事情是可以的。

然而,受到虐待的儿童和青少年往往会责怪自己,挑战这些内疚感至关重要。 他们的虐待并没有发生在他们身上,因为他们做错了什么。 这不是他们的错; 他们不应该受到虐待。 帮助他们将这些想法外化,而不是将责任归咎于自己。

联系您孩子的学校

如果您知道学校不存在儿童对儿童的虐待,您必须通知他们,以便他们能够采取自己的保护措施来保护您的孩子。 询问他们处理问题的政策和流程; 请他们就您作为他们的监护人可以做什么提供明确的指导。

如果您的孩子是施暴者怎么办

如果您发现您的孩子以某种方式针对另一个孩子,这可能很难处理。 以下是一些提示,可帮助您帮助他们从错误中吸取教训并寻求支持。

有什么迹象?

与可能虐待另一个孩子的孩子有关的行为包括:

  • 侵略
  • 冲动
  • 脾气暴躁
  • 缺乏同理心
  • 容易沮丧
  • 不太可能对自己的行为负责
  • 需要控制或主张支配地位
追究他们的责任

重要的是,不适当的行为不会被忽视或作为一次性的轻率行为而被注销。 它需要受到挑战。 与他们的学校一起解决后果并帮助教育他们适当的行为。

教育他们

在许多情况下,他们可能没有意识到发送裸照或分享暴力视频或对朋友不好是虐待行为。 教他们关于儿童对儿童的虐待以及为什么他们采取的行动是错误的。 请参阅我们的儿童和青少年指南。

进行平静的交谈

如果您发现您的孩子行为不当,很容易生气。 然而,冷静地与他们交谈以了解他们为什么采取他们所做的行动可以帮助他们理解他们的错误。 它还可能发现他们的其他需求,您可以获得支持。

为自己获得支持

根据虐待的严重程度,您可能会感到压力或被拉伸到极限。 为了能够完全支持您的孩子,您需要支持自己。 与诸如此类的组织交谈 家庭生活年轻的头脑 获得有关如何前进的支持和建议。

教师和学校信息

教师和学校通常负责为儿童提供超出教育范围的照顾。 在许多情况下,他们处于保护和牧灵问题的最前沿。 然而,当谈到在线虐待儿童时,他们并不总是感到准备就绪。 一个 玛丽柯林斯基金会的报告 发现 90% 的受访者在他们的学校经历过在线虐待儿童事件,但只有 68% 的受访者表示他们接受了这方面的培训。

本节提供了一些建议,以帮助支持教师和学校创造一个支持可能成为受害者或施暴者的儿童和青少年的环境。

给老师和学校的提示

看看如果您的学生作为受害者或施暴者参与虐待儿童的行为,可能会出现哪些迹象。 通过在在线安全专家的帮助下创建的这些提示,了解您可以做些什么来支持他们的康复和理解, 卡尔·霍普伍德.

专家见解 灯泡

看看老师和 Tamasine Preece 博士对管理学校虐待儿童行为的看法。

教师经常难以解决在线儿童虐待问题,需要培训

阅读更多
保持知情

教师和学校工作人员应了解虐待儿童的不同类型,并有机会谈论具体案例。

什么是孩子对孩子/同伴对同伴的虐待?

KCSIE(确保儿童在教育中的安全) 引用了不同形式的儿童虐待儿童:

  • 欺凌(包括网络欺凌、基于偏见和歧视性的欺凌)
  • 虐待儿童之间的亲密个人关系
  • 身体虐待
  • 性暴力和性骚扰
  • 自愿和非自愿分享裸照和半裸照
  • 导致某人在未经同意的情况下进行性活动
  • Upskirting(未经他人许可在他人衣服下拍照)
  • 启动/欺凌类型的暴力和仪式。

报告一切

报告/记录您可能遇到的最小问题也很重要。 尽管它可能看起来微不足道,但当被视为更大图景的一部分或较长时期内的行为模式时,它可能是至关重要的。 当许多(实际上大多数)其他员工没有时,DSL(指定保障负责人)将拥有概览。

认真对待学生报告

教师和学校需要对发生在学校环境之外的任何事件表示支持,并采取“它可能在这里发生”的立场。

重要的是不要将虐待儿童视为“玩笑”或“成长的一部分”或“只是开怀大笑”或“男孩就是男孩”。 这在 凯思 至关重要的是,不要让年轻人觉得这是学校或教职员工的观点。 每个人都应该清楚,他们的担忧将得到认真对待。

创建一个安全的空间

请记住,对于儿童和年轻人来说,谈论儿童对儿童的虐待是非常困难的。 因此,学校应尽一切努力创造安全的空间,让年轻人可以谈论发生在他们身上的事情。

明确流程,如果存在保护问题,不要承诺对他们告诉你的内容保密,但要解释如果有人披露虐待儿童会发生什么。

让学生了解情况

报告途径非常重要,年轻人应该知道有什么可用的。 随着年龄的增长,他们不太可能与父母/照顾者或老师交谈,更有可能自己尝试处理。 学校应明确标示可能的举报途径:

给儿童和青少年的小贴士

儿童和青少年可能难以理解在线儿童虐待儿童的情况以及他们如何/在哪里可以报告这种行为或获得支持。 本指南提供了有用的提示和指导,以便他们可以保持安全并在网上感到自信。

如果他们在线或离线虐待儿童:

鼓励他们与他们信任的人交谈: 迈出正确的第一步可能很困难,因此与他们信任的人交谈可以帮助他们弄清楚下一步该做什么。 如果他们不想与父母或老师交谈,通过 Childline 或 The Mix 与辅导员交谈也会有所帮助。

告知他们接下来的步骤: 根据虐待的类型,他们可能需要完全停止与该人互动。 他们也可能被要求道歉或可能需要与警方交谈。

帮助他们从错误中吸取教训: 无论他们必须做什么,重要的是他们从经验中学习。 帮助他们了解儿童对儿童的虐待,这样他们就可以避免与其他人重复同样的错误。

1. 线上线下宣传积极性

从您在社交媒体上发表的评论到您在视频游戏中与人的互动方式,积极的互动可以帮助人们在网上感到快乐和安全。 这也意味着呼吁或报告不那么积极的行为。

如果你看到 网络欺凌行为 或在学校(即使您不确定),通过向受信任的成年人或平台本身报告来帮助受害者。

在你评论或说之前想想你的话。 当对方听到或读到你说的话时会有什么感觉,它对你有什么影响?

2.了解健康的行为是什么样的

健康的行为使人们对自己感觉良好。 他们也让你对自己感觉良好!

通过关注、点赞、评论好消息和一起玩视频游戏来在线支持人们。

但是,在评论负面信息(侮辱、垃圾邮件、让人们失望的事情)之前,或者在未经照片中的人(包括陌生人)许可的情况下拍摄和分享照片之前,请三思而后行。

您想与您可能不认识的人分享您自己的随机照片吗?

3. 保持知情

了解虐待儿童的情况,这样您就可以帮助阻止它的发生。 任何因为另一个年轻人而让另一个年轻人感到不舒服或不安全的事情都可能是虐待儿童。

留意并报告您认为可能存在滥用行为的任何事情。

即使你有疑问,也比不理它而做对要好!

4. 在您​​的设备上创建安全网

所有智能手机和应用程序都有自己的 隐私和安全设置. 与值得信赖的成年人一起进行设置,以帮助您在网上感到安全。

保持帐户私密,关闭 AirDrop 等图像共享设置,并设置您的社交信息流,以便它们只显示您感兴趣的内容。

了解如何报告和阻止让您感到不安全或不舒服的事情。

5. 说出来!

你有一个强有力的声音,可以结束任何让你或其他人感到不安全或不舒服的事情。

有些人担心没有人会听,或者只会让事情变得更糟,但保持沉默将确保一切都不会变得更好。 因此,请确保您报告所有内容——无论大小——并继续报告。

告诉一个值得信赖的成年人,比如父母、照顾者或老师。 或者,如果您不愿意与认识的人交谈,您可以致电/短信/消息服务,例如 儿童热线混合 与匿名的人交谈。

这有用吗?
告诉我们如何改进它

Child-on-child abuse online

A guide for parents/carers and teachers

Sometimes called peer-on-peer abuse, child-on-child abuse is online more often now than it once was.

Learn what it is, including the signs, and how you can support and inform young people to prevent online child-on-child abuse from happening in schools and at home.

What’s on this page

What is online child-on-child abuse?

Online child-on-child abuse is often associated with cyberbullying. However, that is only a part of it. Ofsted explains that it can also include:

While schools often receive training for offline child-on-child abuse, only 68% of schools in a survey done by the Marie Collins Foundation suggested they received training for abuse specifically online. In this training, only 48% of schools included all staff. As such, there are key members of staff who may not be appropriately trained to handle online child-on-child abuse.

However, most child-on-child abuse online happens outside of school hours when children are at home and on devices. So, there is also a key part for parents and carers to play in ensuring children and young people are not engaging in these behaviours. Additionally, both teachers and parents need to work together to help young people understand what to do if they find themselves in an abusive situation online.

Information for parents and carers

Parents and carers play a key role in teaching their child about appropriate behaviours online. Have open conversations about what they do online and how they interact with others. Help them understand what healthy behaviours look like and where they can go if they need support.

Insight from Dr Linda Papadopolous

Psychologist and Internet Matters Ambassador Dr Linda Papadopoulos discusses parents’ role in preventing child-on-child abuse in this video. See how it might impact your child and what you can do to support them if they find themselves victim to abuse by another child.

Parent Story light-bulb

Blogger and mum to 3, Emma Bradley, shares her experience with child-on-child abuse and her advice for how to prevent it.

READ MORE

Why children might not report child-on-child abuse and how to support them

“Many times, a child that’s abused has a feeling of guilt about it. They may experience self-destructive thoughts or even a loss of self-esteem or like they don’t deserve to be helped.”

The role of technology in child-on-child abuse

“Kids are with their devices all the time. So, whereas ‘traditional’ peer-to-peer abuse occurs where people are in close proximity, when it’s online, it can occur from anywhere in the world; it could be prolonged; it’s difficult to escape.”

Creating an environment to talk about child-on-child abuse

“There’s a few things you can do. I think the first one is to create time and safe space to talk. Show your child that you are not going to be shocked – that you believe them, that you trust them. Listen to them.”

What you can do to support your child if they are abused

“How do you make your child feel like they’re back in control of what’s going on? It may be that it’s confronting the abuser and maybe telling the other adults in their lives to keep them safe. It may be changing behaviours or changing location so their abuser can’t get a hold of them anymore, whether it’s through their device or at school.”

How schools can support your child

“Explain to the school what’s happening, ask the school what their process is for dealing with this and ask them for clear guidance on how to work together to ensure the child is safe.”

Tips for parents and carers

See what signs to look out for if your child is involved in child-on-child abuse as either the victim or the perpetrator. Learn what you can do to support their recovery and understanding with these expert tips.

Have age-appropriate conversations

Make sure your child or teen understands what child-on-child abuse is by having regular conversations.

Explain to them what inappropriate behaviour looks like as appropriate to their age and empower them to report anything that makes them uncomfortable, even if it’s done by a close friend. It’s important they don’t brush abusive behaviour off as harmless banter.

Improve you knowledge about the different online issues children may face and how they might be targeted here.

Set up privacy and security controls

Most apps, platforms and devices have privacy and security settings users can use to keep themselves safe online.

With your child or teen, set up these controls. Explain how they work and what impact they could have on their safety. Setting them up together can help them develop their understanding and take ownership of their safety.

Get the whole family involved in digital boundaries and online safety with a family agreement.

Teach digital resilience and responsibility

Just like learning to cross the road safely or getting a road license, accessing everything the online world has to offer needs a certain amount of knowledge, responsibility and resilience.

When they get their first device, help your child learn how to use the internet properly. This could include how to communicate with others and where to get help when they need it.

Go along with them on their journey as they pass milestones like getting a new device or joining social media platforms to help them have positive interactions with others.

Watch out for the signs

Signs that a child might be a victim of child-on-child abuse could include:

  • changes in their normal behaviour
  • knowledge of things inappropriate for their age
  • substance abuse
  • problems with sleep
  • school avoidance
  • unexplained injuries
  • self-harm

Acknowledge their feelings

Make space for what they might be feeling as a result of child-on-child abuse. Listen to how they feel – sad, angry, scared – and let them know that it’s okay to feel those things as long as you support them as they heal.

However, children and young people who have been abused tend to blame themselves, and it’s vital that you challenge these feelings of guilt. Their abuse didn’t happen to them because they did something wrong. It is not their fault; they did not deserve the abuse. Help them externalise these thoughts instead of placing the blame on themselves.

Reach out to your child’s school

If you are aware of child-on-child abuse that the school is not, it is critical that you inform them so they can put their own safeguards in place to protect your child. Ask them about their policies and their process for dealing with the issue; ask them for clear guidance on what you can do as their guardian.

What to do if your child is the perpetrator

If you discover your child has targeted another child in some way, it might be hard to deal with. Below are some tips to help for you to help them learn from their mistakes and find support.

What are the signs?

Behaviours associated with a child who may be abusive towards another child include:

  • aggression
  • impulsivity
  • short-temperedness
  • lack of empathy
  • easily frustrated
  • less likely to take responsibility for their actions
  • a need to control or assert dominance
Hold them accountable

It’s important that inappropriate behaviour isn’t ignored or written off as a one-time indiscretion. It needs to be challenged. Work with their school to sort out consequences and help educate them on appropriate behaviour.

Educate them

In many cases, they may not realise that sending a nude or sharing violent videos or treating a friend poorly is abusive behaviour. Teach them about child-on-child abuse and why the actions they took are wrong. See our guide for children and young people.

Have calm conversations

It is easy to get angry if you find your child behaving inappropriately. However, speaking to them calmly to understand why they took the actions they did can help them understand their mistakes. It may also uncover additional needs they have that you can get support for.

Get support for yourself

Depending on the severity of the abuse, you may feel stressed or stretched to your limits. To be fully able to support your child, you need to support yourself. Talk to organisations like Family Lives and Young Minds to get support and advice for how to move forward.

Information for teachers and schools

Teachers and schools are often charged with providing care for children that extends beyond education. In many cases, they are at the forefront of safeguarding and pastoral issues. However, when it comes to child-on-child abuse online, they don’t always feel prepared. A report from the Marie Collins Foundation found that 90% of respondents experienced incidents of online child-on-child abuse in their school but only 68% reported that they received training for this.

This section has advice to help support teachers and schools in creating an environment that supports children and young people who may be victims or perpetrators.

Tips for teachers and schools

See what signs may present themselves if your students are involved in child-on-child abuse as either the victim or the perpetrator. Learn what you can do to support their recovery and understanding with these tips created with the help of online safety expert, Karl Hopwood.

Expert Insight light-bulb

See what teacher and Dr Tamasine Preece says about managing child-on-child abuse in schools.

Teachers often struggle to tackle online child-on-child abuse, needing training

READ MORE
Stay informed

Teachers and school staff should be aware of the different types of child on child abuse and have opportunities to talk about specific cases.

What is child-on-child/peer-on-peer abuse?

KCSIE (Keeping Children Safe in Education) references different forms of child-on-child abuse:

  • Bullying (including cyberbullying, prejudice-based and discriminatory bullying)
  • Abuse in intimate personal relationships between children
  • Physical abuse
  • Sexual violence and sexual harassment
  • Consensual and non-consensual sharing of nude and semi-nude images
  • Causing someone to engage in sexual activity without consent
  • Upskirting (taking a photo under someone’s clothing without their permission)
  • Initiation/hazing type violence and rituals.

Report everything

It is important to report/log even the smallest concerns that you might have. Although it may appear insignificant, it could be crucial when seen as part of a bigger picture or a pattern of behaviour over a longer period of time. The DSL (Designated Safeguard Lead) will have the overview when many (indeed most) other staff will not.

Take student reports seriously

Teachers and schools need to be supportive about any incidents that have taken place outside of the school setting and also adopt an “it could happen here” stance.

It is important to not dismiss child-on-child abuse as “banter” or “part of growing up” or “just having a laugh” or “boys being boys”. This is clearly highlighted in KCSIE and it is crucial that young people are not given the impression that this is the view of the school or staff. Everyone should be clear that their concerns will be taken seriously.

Create a safe space

Remember that it can be incredibly difficult for children and young people to talk about child-on-child abuse. As such, schools should make every effort to create safe spaces where young people can talk about what has happened to them.

Be clear about the process, don’t make promises to keep what they tell you secret if there are safeguarding concerns but explain what will happen if someone discloses child-on-child abuse.

Keep pupils informed

Reporting routes are vitally important, and young people should be aware of what is available. As they get older, they are less likely to speak to a parent/carer or teacher and are more likely to try and deal with it themselves. Schools should clearly signpost possible reporting routes:

Tips for children and young people

Children and young people may struggle to understand what online child-on-child abuse looks like and how/where they can report this behaviour or get support. This guide offers useful tips and guidance so they can stay safe and feel confident online.

If they have committed child-on-child abuse online or offline:

Encourage them to talk to someone they trust: It can be hard to take the first step in making things right, so talking to someone they trust can help them figure out what to do next. Talking to counsellors through Childline or The Mix can also help if they don’t want to speak to a parent or teacher.

Inform them about next steps: Depending on what kind of abuse it is, they may need to stop interacting with the person entirely. They may also be asked to apologise or might need to speak with the police.

Help them learn from their mistakes: Whatever they have to do, it’s important they learn from the experience. Help them learn about child-on-child abuse so they can avoid repeating the same mistakes with someone else.

1. Promote positivity online and off

From the comments you make on social media to how you interact with people in video games, positive interactions help people feel happy and safe online. That also means calling out or reporting behaviour that isn’t so positive.

If you see bullying behaviours online or at school (even if you’re not sure), help the victims by reporting it to a trusted adult or on the platform itself.

And think about your words before you comment or say them. How will the other person feel when they hear or read what you say and how does it reflect on you?

2. Know what healthy behaviours look like

Healthy behaviours make people feel good about themselves. And they make you feel good about yourself too!

Support people online by following, liking, commenting nice messages and playing video games together.

But think twice before commenting negative messages — insults, spamming, things to put people down — or before taking and sharing images without permission from the people in them (including strangers).

Would you want a random picture of yourself shared with people you might not know?

3. Stay in the know

Recognise what child-on-child abuse looks like so you can help stop it from happening. Anything that makes another young person feel uncomfortable or unsafe because of another young person could be child-on-child abuse.

Keep an eye out and report anything you think could be abusive.

Even if you have your doubts, it’s better to report it and be wrong than ignore it and be right!

4. Create a safety net on your devices

All smartphones and apps have their own privacy and security settings. With a trusted adult, set these up to help you feel safe online.

Keep accounts private, turn off image-sharing settings like AirDrop, and set your social feeds up so they only show content that you are interested in.

Learn how to report and block things that make you feel unsafe or uncomfortable.

5. Speak out!

You have a powerful voice that can put an end to anything that makes you or someone else feel unsafe or uncomfortable.

Some people worry that no one will listen or that it will only make it worse, but keeping silent will make sure nothing ever gets better. So make sure you report everything — big or small — and keep reporting it.

Tell a trusted adult like a parent, carer or teacher. Or, if you don’t feel comfortable talking to someone you know, you can call/text/message services like Childline and The Mix to speak with someone anonymous.

Was this useful?
Tell us how we can improve it