技术对儿童数字健康的影响

父母和孩子(弱势和非弱势)体验对幸福的影响

在我们的 2022 年数字世界儿童福祉指数报告中,我们评估了数字技术对儿童和青少年福祉的影响。 我们的研究揭示了现代英国家庭中数字参与的有趣方面。

2022 年数字世界中儿童的幸福指数报告

我们了解到,随着孩子年龄的增长并花更多的时间在数字技术上,他们会体验到更多的积极因素和消极因素。 该报告还展示了过度使用的潜在健康结果 社交媒体使用 和游戏。

此外,从根本上说,它强化了这一点,即 弱势儿童因参与数字空间而受到更大影响.

在 2023 年指数发布之前,我们对 4-16 岁儿童和儿童(9-16 岁)的父母进行了额外研究。 我们研究了影响儿童数字生活的主题,包括关注 福祉. 在这里,我们将研究这如何进一步构建数字世界中儿童福祉的图景。

2022年指数报告

我们额外研究的主要发现

对在线安全充满信心的父母更有可能相信数字技术会以积极的方式影响儿童的福祉

在过去两年中,对儿童使用互联网的积极性有所增加,尤其是来自父亲。 当爸爸妈妈对如何保证孩子上网安全有了更深入的了解时,他们的积极性就会增强。

阅读更多

父母比孩子更容易察觉到孩子情绪的负面影响

与父母相比,孩子们对上网感到更加积极。 正如预期的那样,父母对可能的危险有更大的担忧。 对于男孩的父母来说尤其如此,他们表现出更大的担忧。 然而,他们也比女孩的父母更认识到这些好处。

阅读更多

与非弱势儿童相比,弱势儿童在网上有更多令人不安的经历

弱势儿童与没有弱势的儿童一样享有积极的一面。 然而,那些被归类为漏洞的人更有可能体验到更多的在线负面影响。 与弱势儿童的父母交谈时,受影响最严重的是 10 岁以下和青少年(14-16 岁)。

阅读更多

家长对在线安全的信心

当被问及数字技术对孩子健康的总体影响时,父母大多表示支持。 当直接与父母交谈时,我们会看到这种积极性随着时间的推移而增长。

随时间推移对父母信心的数字健康洞察(针对弱势和非弱势儿童)

表 1. 综合考虑,您认为 [孩子的姓名] 对技术和互联网的体验和使用对他们的整体幸福感有正面还是负面的影响? C。 每波 N-2,000 名父母。

父母之间阳性水平的差异

年幼儿童(4-8 岁)的父母对数字技术的积极性(59% 的净积极性)低于 大一点的孩子 (62%,15-16 岁)。 这表明 随着孩子年龄的增长,上网的好处会增加.

父亲 (67%) 的积极性明显高于 母亲 (54%) 关于数字技术使用对孩子的影响。 这可能与父亲对知道如何让孩子安全上网更有信心有关。 例如,80% 的父亲对如何做到这一点有信心,而母亲的这一比例为 74%。

当我们看到那些“自信”的妈妈和爸爸时,他们都对互联网的使用总体上更加积极。 他们之间的差距也更小——84% 的爸爸对互联网对孩子健康的影响持积极态度,而妈妈则为 81%。

总结

我们可以得出结论,随着理解和信心的增加,与缺乏信心的父母相比,父母更加认可和欣赏数字技术对孩子的好处。

帮助父母学习如何让孩子安全上网可能有助于父母了解数字世界的各个方面,从而提高幸福感。 因此,儿童访问这些元素的可能性也会增加。

父母比孩子看到更大的情感影响

我们要求父母反思上网对孩子的健康有什么影响,并要求孩子们自己做同样的事情。 关于在线的解释存在一个有趣的分歧。 正如预期的那样,与孩子自己相比,父母更有可能对孩子使用互联网表示担忧。

最明显的区别在于“感到悲伤”——这是一种复杂的情绪,大约三分之一 (31%) 的父母将其与孩子的在线使用联系起来。 然而,只有不到五分之一的儿童 (18%) 同意这一观点。

数字健康洞察表明父母比儿童(弱势和非弱势)感受到更多的负面情绪影响

表 2 考虑在线和使用数字技术如何影响您的孩子/孩子/您自己的福祉,当您的孩子/孩子上网时,它会做这些事情吗? 取自 22 月 2,001 日波; 父母 N-1,000(“是的,肯定的”,“是的,主要是”,不包括“混合”的回答,以便与儿童的回答进行比较),儿童 N-XNUMX(“是的,肯定的”,“是的,大部分是”)

正面与负面影响

互联网的积极影响不仅仅是对父母和孩子的负面影响。 “感到快乐”是父母(80%)和孩子(89%)选择最多的选项。 此外,“展示他们引以为豪的东西”得到了广泛认同(63% 的父母,72% 的孩子)。

家长对网络安全更有信心 对互联网也有更大的积极反应。 例如,84% 的自信父母承认互联网让他们的孩子“感到快乐”,而缺乏自信的父母中这一比例为 72%。

对于更消极的特征也是如此。 例如,38% 的自信父母表示互联网让他们的孩子“感到难过”。 然而,只有 18% 的不自信父母这么说。

男孩的父母与女孩的父母

此外,与女孩的父母相比,男孩的父母更有可能识别互联网的积极影响。 这包括感到快乐、自豪和自信的感觉。 此外,年龄较大的男孩(15-16 岁)的父母对互联网使他们的儿子更加自信的看法明显更加积极(48% 对 42% 总体)。

数字健康洞察显示男孩和女孩在父母信心方面的差异

表 3. 考虑在线和使用数字技术如何影响您孩子的幸福感,当您的孩子/孩子上网时,它会做这些事情吗? 取自 22 月 2,000 日波; 总计 - 所有父母 N-11。 男孩,771 岁及以下 N-12,男孩,14-340 岁 N-15,男孩,16-308 岁 N-11,女孩,627 岁及以下 N-12,女孩,14-297 N-15,女孩,16-286 N-XNUMX。 粗体表示与总分的显着差异。

然而,男孩的父母对互联网的影响也更加消极,抵消了这种积极性。 尤其是 12-14 岁男孩的父母在所有负面问题(即体型、嫉妒、担心外表和感到悲伤)方面得分更高。

这与该群体对保持在线安全的信心较低有关。 只有 35% 的 12-14 岁男孩对保持在线安全感到“非常”或“完全”有信心,而 39-12 岁的女孩和 14-48 岁的男孩分别为 15% 和 16%。

12-14 岁女孩的父母与同龄男孩的父母有类似的担忧。 年幼女孩 (<11) 的父母通常对互联网对孩子的作用不那么挑剔。 例如,他们在嫉妒的负面影响(23%,总共 27%)和感到悲伤(21% 对 25%)的负面影响上得分较低。

孩子们的反应

孩子们被问到关于互联网对他们健康的影响的相同问题,但性别之间的差异不太明显。 性别之间唯一的显着差异体现在“让你感到自信”(男孩为 71%,女孩为 64%)和“让你对自己的外表感到担心”——这一次男孩(22%)低于女孩(31%)。

同样,按年龄划分时,唯一的显着差异是与年龄较大的青少年更相关的影响。 其中包括“担心自己的外表”(24 岁以下 13%,31-14 岁为 16%)和“担心体型或大小”(22 岁以下 13%,30-14 岁 16% )。

弱势儿童受到的影响更大

看着 儿童的数字健康 更广泛地说,我们可以看到那些易受伤害儿童的熟悉模式。 一般来说,他们会体验到更多在线的负面影响。 这导致数据集中的段之间出现了一些最明显的差异。

洞察力显示对弱势儿童福祉的影响

表 4. 22 月 202 日儿童追踪器中要求的数字幸福指数测量。 粗体数字显示与总分相比明显更高的分数。 易受攻击的 N-805,不易受攻击的 N-XNUMX。 附录中每个维度的完整描述。

对发展、情感、身体和社会福祉的影响

在评估时 社交、 在儿童福祉方面,我们使用了“与他人在线互动(例如,欺凌)有令人不快的经历”这一说法。

我们可以看到,近一半 (49%) 有脆弱性的儿童经历过这种情况(“一直”、“相当多”)。 相比之下,只有五分之一的儿童没有任何弱点。 在“令人不快的重复数字行为”(73% 到 52%;发育性)和“在网上看到令人不快的事情”(54% 到 28%;情绪性)方面,弱势群体和非弱势群体之间也存在类似的巨大差异。

然而,对于那些被归类为弱势群体的人来说,数字健康领域的积极分数并没有显着降低。 事实上,在某些情况下得分更高。 例如,83% 的弱势儿童同意“[互联网]帮助我为学校修改或学习东西” 发展的 与 77% 的非弱势儿童相比。 这再次表明,这组儿童的积极体验水平与他们的非弱势同龄人相似。

不同年龄的易受伤害儿童的结果不同

当我们查看弱势和非弱势儿童的父母分数时,结果更加值得注意。 与非弱势儿童的父母相比,弱势儿童的父母在所有指标(无论是正面的还是负面的)上的得分都明显更高。

在查看故障时 弱势儿童的年龄,我们可以看到有趣的差异。

如这些见解所示,弱势儿童的幸福水平因年龄而异

表 5. 22 月 797 日父母追踪器中询问的数字幸福指数测量。 粗体数字显示总分明显更高。 弱势儿童的父母 N-4; 10-394 n-11、13-208 n-14、16-195 n-XNUMX。

一般来说,11-13 岁弱势儿童的父母在各个年龄段中得分最低。 尽管仍显着高于非弱势儿童,但与年龄较大和较年幼的弱势儿童的父母相比,该年龄组的父母看到的互联网对孩子的正面和负面影响较少。

其他年龄组的反应更加多样化。 一些比其他更具体的年龄测量可以解释这一点。 与 14 岁以下 (16%) 相比,73-10 岁的人 (69%) 的“因为想玩游戏/看电视而停止体育活动”可能更高,因为这些年龄组之间的媒体和互联网消费水平存在显着差异。

但是, 在网上欺负 与年龄较大的孩子(43%)相比,年龄较小的孩子(39%)的父母可能更关心这些问题,因为年龄较大的孩子存在成熟度和更大的支持网络。

总结

弱势儿童和他们的父母认识到,他们的身份使他们面临上网的某些负面影响的更大风险。 由于弱势儿童父母的反应各不相同,因此需要为该群体量身定制针对特定年龄的指导。 这将确保弱势儿童充分利用数字技术,并在发生不良经历时获得正确的支持。

包容性数字安全中心

2023 年数字世界中的儿童福祉

我们将继续衡量和跟踪有助于我们更好地了解数字化对儿童福祉影响的重要因素。 我们关于数字世界中儿童福祉的第二份年度报告将于 2023 年 XNUMX 月发布。

附录

来自研究来源的方法论

  • 家长追踪器:N-2,000 英国 4-16 岁儿童的父母
  • 儿童追踪器——N-1,000 名 9-16 岁的英国代表
  • 这两项调查每年进行两次
改变对话

通过改变围绕在线使用的对话可以支持弱势儿童的福祉

在数字世界中赋予弱势儿童权力的指南

查看报告
这有用吗?
告诉我们如何改进它

最近的帖子

The impact of technology on children’s digital wellbeing

Parents and children (vulnerable and non-vulnerable) experience the impacts on wellbeing

In our Children’s Wellbeing in a Digital World Index Report 2022, we assessed the impact of digital technology on the wellbeing of children and young people. Our research revealed interesting aspects of digital participation in the modern UK home.

Children’s Wellbeing in a Digital World 2022 Index Report

We learned that as children get older and spend more time with digital technology, they experience more of the positives as well as the negatives. The report also demonstrated the potential wellbeing outcomes of excessive social media usage and gaming.

Additionally, and fundamentally, it reinforced the point that vulnerable children experience greater impact from participation in the digital space.

Ahead of the launch of the 2023 Index, we conducted additional research with parents of children aged 4-16 and children (aged 9-16). We looked at subjects that impact children’s digital lives, including a focus on wellbeing. Here we examine how this further builds the picture of children’s wellbeing in a digital world.

Index Report 2022

Key findings in our additional research

Parents who feel confident in online safety are more likely to believe digital technology impacts children's wellbeing in a positive way

Over the past two years, positivity towards children’s usage of the internet has increased, particularly from fathers. Positivity grows amongst dads and mums when they have greater understanding about how to keep their children safe online.

READ MORE

Parents are more likely than their children to perceive negative impacts on their children's emotions

Children feel more positive about being online compared to their parents. As expected, parents have greater concerns about possible dangers. This was particularly true for parents of boys, who show greater concerns. However, they also recognise the benefits more than parents of girls.

READ MORE

Vulnerable children have more upsetting experiences online compared to non-vulnerable children

Vulnerable children enjoy as many positives as those without vulnerabilities. However, those classed with a vulnerability were more likely to experience more of the negative aspects of being online. When speaking with parents of vulnerable children, those most affected were under 10s, and late teens (14-16).

READ MORE

Parental confidence in online safety

When asked about the overall impact of digital technology on their children’s wellbeing, parents were mostly supportive. When speaking directly to parents, we see growth in that positivity over time.

Digital wellbeing insights into parental confidence over time (for both vulnerable and non-vulnerable children)

Table 1. Taking all things into consideration, do you think [child’s name]’s experience and use of technology and the internet has positive or negative impact on their overall wellbeing? c. N-2,000 parents per wave.

Differences in positivity levels between parents

Parents of younger children (4-8 years old) were less positive about digital technology (59% net positivity) than parents of older children (62%, 15-16 years old). This suggests the benefits of being online increase as children get older.

Fathers (67%) were significantly more positive than mothers (54%) about the impact of digital technology usage amongst their children. This may link to dads feeling more confident in knowing how to keep their children safe online. For instance, 80% of fathers felt confident about how to do this vs. 74% of mothers.

When we look at those ‘confident’ mums and dads, both were significantly more positive towards internet usage overall. The gap between them was also smaller – 84% of dads feel positive about the internet’s impact on their children’s wellbeing vs. 81% of mums.

Conclusion

We can conclude that with increased understanding and confidence, parents acknowledge and appreciate the benefits of digital technology for their children more so than parents lacking that confidence.

Helping parents learn how to keep their children safe online may support parents in understanding the aspects of the digital world, which enhance wellbeing. As such, the potential for children accessing these elements also increases.

Parents see greater emotional impacts than children

We asked parents to reflect on what being online does to children’s wellbeing, asking children the same for themselves. There was an interesting split in the interpretation about being online. As expected, parents were more likely to show concern about their children’s usage of the internet compared to children themselves.

The starkest difference was around ‘feeling sad’ – a complex emotion that around a third of parents (31%) link to their children’s online use. However, less than one in five children (18%) share this view.

Digital wellbeing insights showing parents perceive more negative emotional impacts than children (both vulnerable and non-vulnerable)

Table 2 Thinking about how being online and access to digital technologies impacts your child/children’s/your own wellbeing, when your child/children goes online, does it do any of these things? Taken from June-22 wave; Parents N-2,001 (‘Yes, definitely’, ‘Yes, mostly’ excluding ‘a mix’ responses to make comparable with Children responses), Children N-1,000 (‘Yes, definitely’, ‘Yes, mostly’)

Positive versus negative impacts

The positive impact of the internet comes through more than negative impacts for both parents and children. ‘Feeling happy’ was the most selected option for both parents (80%) and children (89%). Also, ‘showing things they are proud of’ was widely agreed with (63% parents, 72% children).

Parents with greater confidence in online safety have greater positive responses to the internet as well. For example, 84% of confident parents acknowledge the internet makes their children ‘feel happy’ compared to 72% of parents who lack confidence.

This is also true of the more negative traits. For example, 38% of confident parents say the internet makes their children ‘feel sad’. However, just 18% of unconfident parents say the same.

Parents of boys versus parents of girls

Additionally, parents of boys were more likely to identify the positive impact of the internet when compared to parents of girls. This includes feelings of feeling happy, proud and confident. Also, parents of older teen boys (15-16) were significantly more positive that the internet made their sons more confident (48% vs. 42% overall).

Digital wellbeing insights showing the difference between boys and girls in parent confidence

Table 3. Thinking about how being online and access to digital technologies impacts your child/children’s wellbeing, when your child/children goes online, does it do any of these things? Taken from June-22 wave; Total – all parents N-2,000. Boy, 11 and under N-771, Boy, 12-14 N-340, Boy, 15-16 N-308, Girl, 11 and under N-627, Girl, 12-14 N-297, Girl, 15-16 N-286. Bold indicates significant difference against the Total score.

However, parents of boys were also more negative about the internet’s impact, counteracting this positivity. Parents of 12–14 year old boys in particular scored higher across all the negative issues (i.e., body shape, jealousy, worried about looks and feeling sad).

This correlates with the lower levels of confidence in staying safe online for this group. Just 35% of 12-14 year old boys feel ‘very’ or ‘totally’ confident in staying safe online, compared to 39% for girls aged 12-14 and 48% for 15-16 year old boys.

Parents of girls aged 12-14 had similar concerns to parents of boys of the same age. Parents of younger girls (<11) were generally less critical about the role of the internet on their children. For instance, they scored lower on the negative impacts of jealousy (23%, 27% total) and feeling sad (21% vs. 25%).

Children’s responses

Children were asked the same set of questions about the impact of the internet on their wellbeing, but the difference between genders was less obvious. The only significant differences between genders were seen in ‘makes you feel confident’ (71% amongst boys, 64% for girls) and in ‘makes you feel worried about how you look’ – this time lower for boys (22%) compared to girls (31%).

Similarly, when split by age, the only significant differences were in impacts more associated with older teens. These included ‘worried about how you look’ (24% for under 13s and 31% for 14–16-year-olds) and in ‘worried about body shape or size’ (22% for under 13s, 30% for 14-16).

Vulnerable children more significantly impacted

When looking at digital wellbeing of children more broadly, we can see a familiar pattern of those children with a vulnerability. Generally, they experience more of the negative aspects of being online. This results in some of the starkest differences seen between segments in the dataset.

Insights showing the impacts on vulnerable children's wellbeing

Table 4. Digital Wellbeing index measures asked in June-22 children’s tracker. Bold figures show the significantly higher score compared to the total. Vulnerable N-202, Non-vulnerable N-805. Full descriptions for each dimension in the Appendix.

Impacts across developmental, emotional, physical and social wellbeing

When assessing the social aspect of children’s wellbeing, we used the statement ‘having upsetting experiences interacting with other people online (e.g., bullying)’.

We can see that nearly half of children (49%) with a vulnerability experienced this (‘all the time’, ‘quite a lot’). This is compared to just one in five of children without any vulnerabilities. Similarly large differences were seen between vulnerable and non-vulnerable in ‘unenjoyable repetitive digital behaviours’ (73% to 52%; Developmental) and ‘seeing upsetting things online’ (54% to 28%; Emotional).

However, the positive scores across the digital wellbeing areas were not significantly lower for those classed as vulnerable. In fact, in some cases the score was higher. For example, 83% of vulnerable children agreed with ‘[the internet] helps me to revise or learn things for school’ in developmental compared to 77% of non-vulnerable children. Again, this shows that this group of children had similar levels of positive experiences as their non-vulnerable peers.

Varying results in vulnerable children of different ages

When we looked at parent scores of vulnerable and non-vulnerable children, the results were even more noteworthy. Parents of vulnerable children scored significantly higher for all measures — both positive and negative ones — compared to parents of non-vulnerable children.

When looking at the breakdown of the ages of the vulnerable children, we can see interesting differences.

Vulnerable children's wellbeing levels differ by age as shown in these insights

Table 5. Digital Wellbeing index measures asked in June-22 parent’s tracker. Bold figures show the significantly higher scores against the total. Parents of vulnerable children N-797; 4-10 n-394, 11-13 n-208, 14-16 n-195.

Generally, parents of vulnerable children aged 11-13 have the lowest scores amongst the age ranges. Although still significantly higher than non-vulnerable children, parents of this age group saw less of the positives and negatives of the internet for the children compared to parents of older and younger vulnerable children.

The other age groups have more varied responses. Some measures being more age specific than others may explain this. ‘Stopped physical activity as wanted to play on games / watch TV’ may be higher for those aged 14-16 (73%) compared to under 10s (69%) because media and internet consumption levels differ significantly between these age groups.

However, being bullied online may be a greater concern for parents of younger children (43%) compared to older children (39%) where maturity levels and greater support networks exist.

Conclusion

Vulnerable children and their parents recognise that their status puts them at greater risk of some of the negative aspects of being online. Due to the varied responses by parents of vulnerable children, tailored age-specific guidance is needed for this group. This will ensure that vulnerable children get the best out of digital and have the correct support in place when bad experiences occur.

Inclusive Digital Safety hub

Children’s Wellbeing in a Digital World 2023

We will continue to measure and track the important factors that help us better understand the impact of digital on children’s wellbeing. Our second annual report on Children’s Wellbeing in a Digital World will be released in January 2023.

Appendix

Methodologies from research sources

  • Parent tracker: N-2,000 UK parents of children aged 4-16 years old
  • Children tracker – N-1,000 9–16-year-olds representative of the UK
  • Both surveys are conducted twice per year
Changing conversations

Vulnerable children's wellbeing can be supported by changing conversations around online use

Guidance to empower vulnerable children in a digital world

VIEW REPORT
Was this useful?
Tell us how we can improve it

Recent posts