学校是否做得足以支持父母和孩子应对极端主义?

为了帮助家长深入了解学校应如何帮助他们解决与孩子一起解决极端主义的问题,我们的小组成员提供了更多学校可以做些什么来帮助父母指导的见解。


Sajda Mughal OBE

JAN Trust的首席执行官,活动家和顾问
专家网站

在2015的 反恐怖主义和安全法 对学校负有法律责任,以“防止人们被恐怖主义吸引。”然而,通过我们在JAN Trust所做的工作,我们相信可以做更多工作来支持父母和孩子。

至关重要的是,学校应创造一种环境,让家长和教师能够与年轻人就极端主义影响造成的威胁进行公开和诚实的对话。 JAN Trust与英国的一些学校合作,为学生,教师和家长提供极端主义保护(SAFE)学校讲习班。

JAN Trust在研究极端主义问题方面拥有丰富的经验; 我们知道,通过与年轻人接触并倾听他们的不满 - 无论是孤立还是欺凌 - 可以采取措施防止弱势年轻人面临风险。 在研讨会结束时,参与者将了解如何防止自己,同龄人,孩子或学生转向极端主义。 与其他培训不同,我们的研讨会没有争议,旨在鼓励社区凝聚力,而不是孤立社区。

有关我们工作的更多信息,请访问: www.jantrust.org

Jade Gayle

教育,就业能力和保护项目经理,Kidscape
专家网站

学校通常认为他们有责任防止年轻人被卷入恐怖主义作为保护问题。 根据政府的法定“预防”义务,学校目前将他们怀疑被激进化的学生转介到海峡小组的外部支持。 然而,学校对父母和子女的预防性早期支持是不一致的。

一些学校为学生提供有关该问题的课程,但目前,学习规定不完整,没有“最佳实践”。 学校需要在整个学校课程中为学生嵌入批判性思维技能。 这些技能需要从幼儿学校适当引入年龄,并通过中学和后16教育建立。

此外,鉴于入学率通常只占年轻人一天的1 / 3,学校必须与家长一起解决激进化问题。 这包括向家庭提供有关该问题的指导,并确保那些可能没有英语作为第一语言的人可以访问。 此外,家长需要明确指导在学校日或学期之外获得支持或帮助的位置。 最后,学校需要确保其员工和家长/护理人员了解最新的社交网络,激进化的发生方式以及年轻人如果能够有效地挑战极端主义的叙述和方法,他们如何使用互联网。

亚当·迪恩

Quilliam International执行董事(英国)
专家网站

除了自己的家园,学校是年轻人花费最多时间的地方,使他们成为一个安全网,如果个人在家里没有得到这种支持,就可以提供实际支持,防止激进化和极端主义。

学校应该致力于提供强烈的社区意识和归属感,这样年轻人就不太可能想要成为其他有害群体的成员,例如帮派,毒品界和极端组织。

更多探索

查看更多文章和资源,以帮助儿童保持在线安全。

写下评论

向上滚动

Are schools doing enough to support parents and children in tackling extremism?

To help parents get insight on how schools should be helping them to tackle the issue of extremism with their children, our panellist offer insight on what more schools can do to give parents a guiding hand.

Sajda Mughal OBE

Sajda Mughal OBE

CEO of JAN Trust, Campaigner and Consultant

Expert Website

In 2015 the Counter-Terrorism and Security Act placed legal responsibility upon schools to “prevent people from being drawn into terrorism.” However, through the work we do at JAN Trust we believe that more could be done to support parents and children.

It is vital that schools create an environment where parents and teachers are able to develop an open and honest dialogue with young people about the threat poses by extremist influences. JAN Trust has worked with a number of schools across the UK, to deliver our Safeguarding from Extremism (SAFE) schools workshops for students, teachers and parents.

JAN Trust has extensive experience in researching the issue of extremism; we know that by engaging with youth and listening to their grievances – whether it is isolation or bullying – steps can be taken to prevent a vulnerable young person becoming at risk. By the end of the workshop, participants leave understanding how they can prevent themselves, their peers, their children, or their students from turning to extremism. Unlike other training, our workshops are not controversial and are aimed at encouraging community cohesion, rather than isolating communities.

For more information about our work, please visit: www.jantrust.org

Comment on article
Jade Gayle

Jade Gayle

Education, Employability and Safeguarding Programme Manager, Kidscape

Expert Website

Schools typically see their duty to prevent young people from being drawn into terrorism as a safeguarding issue. Under the government’s statutory Prevent duty, schools currently refer pupils they suspect of being radicalised, for external support from Channel panels. However preventative early-support in schools for parents and children is inconsistent.

Some schools provide their students with lessons around the issue, but currently, provision is patchy and there is no ‘best practice’. Schools need to embed critical thinking skills for pupils across the whole-school curriculum. Such skills need to be age-appropriately introduced from infant school and built upon through secondary and post-16 education.

Additionally, given that school attendance typically only makes up 1/3 of a young person’s day, schools must work with parents in tackling the issue of radicalisation. This includes providing guidance to families about the issue and ensuring this is accessible to those who may not have English as a first language. Additionally, parents need clear guidance on where to access support or help outside of the school day or term. Lastly, schools need to ensure that both their staff and parents/carers understand the latest social networks, how radicalisation takes place and how young people are using the internet if they are to be able to effectively challenge extremist narratives and methods.

Comment on article
Adam Deen

Adam Deen

Executive Director (UK), Quilliam International

Expert Website

Aside from their own homes, schools are where young people spend the most time, making them a safety net that provides practical support against radicalisation and extremism if the individual is not receiving this support at home.

Schools should aim to provide a strong sense of community and belonging, so that young people are less likely to be tempted to subscribe to the membership of other harmful groups, such as gangs, drug circles, and extremist organisations.

Comment on article

More to explore

Learn more about online radicalisation and get support

Diana award