我如何帮助我的孩子养成良好的网上货币习惯?

互联网事务专家小组分享了他们对如何帮助孩子更批判地思考如何在线管理金钱的想法。


Elizabeth Milovidov博士,Esq

法律教授和数字育儿专家
专家网站

今天,它很容易并且几乎无缝 孩子们在网上花钱。 不管重点是什么:视频游戏(应用内购买,游戏配件)或有影响力的人(赠与,光顾)或类似赌博的游戏(掠夺盒,玩家礼包)中的孩子可能会高枕无忧,容易受到欺诈,诈骗的侵害。或其他经济损失。

随着在线支出的这些趋势,帮助儿童和年轻人了解金融知识比以往任何时候都更加重要。 赚钱,存钱和消费的重要性,将在以后的生活中支持适当的理财技巧,并确保儿童了解虚拟世界/成长中的无现金社会的货币价值。

识别潜在风险(例如欺诈/诈骗)的快速提示

  • 从可信赖的来源购买
  • 拒绝来自未知联系人的请求或付款请求的方式异常
  • 检查印刷错误和错误
  • 对试图诱骗您单击链接或打开附件的故事保持怀疑

确保儿童/年轻人的财务信息安全的快速提示

  • 使用密码管理器
  • 启用两因素或多因素身份验证
  • 通过安装和更新防病毒软件来保护设备

支持(和跟踪)的快速提示 在游戏中 和在线消费

  • 创建有关权限和游戏花费金额的协议
  • 使用家长控制来指导支出
  • 使用预付费储值卡
  • 了解发生了什么事 儿童和网上赌博

 

卡尔·霍普伍德

独立的在线安全专家
专家网站

在过去的12个月中,在线购买量激增,其中家用商品的销售额在83.5年增长了2020%,非食品商品的增长了77.6%。 可以鼓励我们的孩子在他们使用的应用和游戏上进行在线购买,有时通过游戏内购买很难抗拒,即使游戏本身可能是免费的,也可以为他们提供更快的解锁更多级别的方法。

作为父母,我们应该熟悉孩子使用的游戏和应用程序-大多数人会拥有 控件和设置 这样可以避免任何不必要的支出,我们需要花一些时间来查找和使用这些支出。

此外,有关骗局,如何发现这些骗局的一些建议以及有关不共享卡详细信息的一些重要信息也很重要。 确保您的信用卡或借记卡未同步到孩子的帐户。 他们很容易点击,却没有意识到这是在浪费“真实”的钱。 如果出现问题,请鼓励他们过来与您交谈,以便您可以一起解决问题。

保持在线购物支票的一种好方法是为您的孩子提供一张预付卡,您可以给他们一个每周或每月的限额,让他们可以自己管理和消费。 这将帮助他们预算和学习金钱的价值。

 

莎拉史密斯

布雷克基金会演讲者
专家网站

帮助孩子安全地渡过网上金融的波折面至关重要。 从在虚假的FIFA投币网站上丢失的零用钱(发生在我几年前的儿子身上)到意外地在智能手机游戏中积the费用,有很多方法可以使孩子(当然也包括父母!)在财务上陷入困境。

当前的热门土豆是游戏内支出–也就是说,在您已经拥有的游戏中积极花钱购买产品。 这包括战利品盒,卡片包,奖轮等等。 对于孩子来说,这可能非常诱人,因为它可以让您快速进入游戏或快速解锁功能,但是很明显,没有任何控制,这是一场灾难。

年度GameTrack调查中的最新研究表明,允许玩游戏的孩子中有超过三分之一的人可以在游戏中消费。 PEGI对游戏本身的评级现在必须披露游戏内购买是否属于游戏的一部分,因此,作为父母,当您考虑让孩子玩什么游戏时,您可以清楚地看到这是否是一个问题。

如果您乐于将银行卡与孩子的游戏相关联,则需要与他们达成协议,以确保他们清楚自己的限制。 控制台上的家长控制也可以限制支出,或者您可以使用预付卡,该卡仅允许玩家支出卡上的金额,而不用承担债务。 确保孩子知道这是真实的钱,而不是虚拟的!

其次,与您的孩子谈谈他们在游戏中花钱对“跟上朋友”的压力。 儿童事务专员安妮·朗菲尔德(Anne Longfield)在2019年发表的《游戏系统》报告显示,在某些情况下,儿童花了数百英镑,却没有对奖励的真正含义有任何真正的了解(这在很多情况下都是抢劫箱的常见现象)。热门游戏),但希望他们能够跟上游戏中的朋友。 这种“跟上琼斯时代的步伐”可能很难,但是要记住,仍然有很多游戏提供互动的娱乐性体验,而不会影响玩家在游戏中的购买。 您可以在家庭视频游戏数据库中找到所有这些内容 点击此处.

对孩子来说,在线上有良好的金钱感觉还有很多其他方面,包括发现什么时候可能是假的或诈骗的–切记要向您的孩子指出,当看起来太好了而不能成立时,那就可能是! 提供有关硬币,积分和其他装备的交易的第三方网站通常是骗局。 一旦孩子因“交易”或“交易”而被骗了钱或被骗了(这确实发生了很多;当我在学校时与我交谈的孩子总是非常热衷于谈论他们的经历)他们通常比较警惕,已经学会了艰辛的方法。 但是,适当地教育我们的孩子关于数字弹性和成为一个好的数字公民,从而使他们从一开始就不会陷入这种情况会更好呢? 布雷克基金会(Breck Foundation)积极开展以下活动:-教育孩子们能够保持智能,安全的网上生活;以及未来的互联网,所有孩子都可以安全地玩耍和学习。

Linda Papadopoulos博士

心理学家和互联网事务大使
专家网站

像大多数带孩子的事情一样,对适当的行为进行建模是使他们敏感于重要问题的一种好方法,而在网上承担财务责任确实如此。

尝试与他们交谈,了解在网上购物时变得轻松无聊的情况,并解释一下用来使自己负责的技术,例如坚持每周预算或在看到某些东西时给自己24小时的冷静期您希望自己不会冲动,但会认真考虑。 即使进行研究以找到可以在线上找到的最好的交易,也将强化这样一种观念,即花费时间和金钱来进行购买很重要,要通过购买来思考,而不是一时冲动地购买。

与他们交谈以了解其财务状况也很重要。 建立一个儿童储蓄账户,让他们在储蓄以及养成财务习惯方面养成良好的习惯,知道他们花了多少钱并对支出负责,这是与重要问题进行重要对话的好方法,例如识别诈骗与真正的数字货币银行的来信,并通常跟踪其帐户中进出的款项以及财务责任。

更多探索

查看更多文章和资源,以帮助儿童保持在线安全。

写下评论

向上滚动

How do I help my child develop good online money habits?

Internet Matters expert panel share their thoughts about how to help children think more critically about how to manage money online.


Dr. Elizabeth Milovidov, Esq

Law Professor and Digital Parenting Expert
Expert Website

Today, it is easy and almost seamless for children to spend money online.  Regardless of the focus: video games (in-app purchases, gaming accessories), or influencers (gifting, patronage) or on gambling-like games (loot boxes, player packs) children may be in over their heads and susceptible to fraud, scams or other financial harms.

With these trends in online spending, it is more important than ever to help children and young people understand financial literacy. The significance of earning, saving and spending money, will support proper money management skills later in life and will ensure that children understand the value of money in a virtual world / growing cashless society.

Quick tips to recognise potential risks (i.e., fraud/scams)

  • Purchase from trusted sources
  • Refuse request from unknown contacts or payment requests in an unusual manner
  • Check for typographical errors and mistakes
  • Be suspicious of stories trying to trick you into clicking a link or opening an attachment

Quick tips to keep children/young people’s financial information safe

  • Use a password manager
  • Enable two-factor or multi-factor authentication
  • Keep devices protected by installing and updating antivirus software

Quick tips to support (and track) in-game and online spending

  • Create an agreement regarding permissions and amounts spent on games
  • Use parental controls to guide spending
  • Use pre-paid value cards
  • Understand what is happening with respect to children and online gambling

 

Karl Hopwood

Independent online safety expert
Expert Website

The last 12 months have seen huge rises in online purchases with sales of household goods rising by 83.5% in 2020 and non-food goods by 77.6%. Our children can be encouraged to make online purchases in apps and games that they use and it can sometimes be difficult to resist with in-game purchases offering them a quicker way to unlock more levels even though the game itself might have been free.

As parents, we should familiarise ourselves with the games and the apps that our children are using – most will have controls and settings which will prevent any unwanted spending and we need to take the time to find out about and use these.

In addition, some advice around scams and how to spot them as well as some key messages around not sharing card details is important. Make sure that your credit or debit card isn’t synced up to your child’s account. It is very easy for them to click and not realise that it is costing “real” money. If something does go wrong encourage them to come and speak to you so that you can sort it out together.

A great way to keep a check on online purchases is by providing your child with a pre-paid card where you can give them a weekly or monthly limit that they can manage and spend themselves. This will help them to budget and to learn the value of money.

 

Sarah Smith

Breck Foundation Speaker
Expert Website

Helping children safely navigate the choppy waters of online finances is crucial. From pocket money lost on fake Fifa coin sites (which happened to my son years ago) to accidentally racking up the charges in smartphone games, there are many ways children (and by implication, parents!) can come financially unstuck.

One current hot potato is in-game spending – that is, actively spending money on purchases within a game that you already own. This includes Loot Boxes, card packs, prize wheels and more. It can be hugely tempting for children because it lets you advance in a game or unlock features quickly, but obviously, without any controls, it is a disaster waiting to happen.

Recent research in the annual GameTrack Survey shows that just over a third of children who game are allowed to spend money on in-game purchases. The PEGI rating on games themselves now has to disclose whether in-game purchases are part of the game, so as a parent you can see clearly whether this may be an issue when you are considering what games to let your child play.

If you are happy to link a bank card to your child’s game you need to have an agreement in place with them to make sure that they are clear what their limits are. Parental controls on consoles can also limit spending, or you can use a pre-paid card that will only allow a player to spend what is on the card rather than going into debt. Make sure the child knows this is real money, not virtual!

Secondly, talk to your child about any pressures they feel about ‘keeping up with friends’ by spending money in-game. The 2019 report ‘Gaming the System’ by the Children’s Commissioner Anne Longfield revealed that in some cases children were spending hundreds of pounds without any real idea of what the rewards would be (this is very much the case with loot boxes, a common feature in popular games) but in the hope that they would be able to keep up with their friends in the game. This ‘keeping up with the Joneses’ can be tough, but it’s important to remember that there are still plenty of games that offer interactive, entertaining experiences without pestering players for in-game purchases. You can find a whole selection of them in the Family Video Games Database here.

There are so many other aspects to good money sense online for children, including spotting when things may be fake or scams – do remember to point out to your children that when it seems too good to be true, it probably is! Third-party websites offering deals on coins, points and other gear are often scams. Once a child has been scammed or tricked out of pocket money for ‘trades’ or ‘deals’ (and it does happen a lot; the children I talk to when I present in schools are always very keen to talk about their experiences with this) they are generally warier, having learnt the hard way. But how much better would it be to educate our children properly about both digital resilience and being a good digital citizen so that they don’t end up in these situations in the first place? This is something the Breck Foundation actively campaigns for – educating children to be able to stay smart and safe online, and for a future internet where all children can play and learn safely.

Dr. Linda Papadopoulos

Psychologist and Internet Matters Ambassador
Expert Website

Like most things with kids, modelling appropriate behaviour is a great way to sensitise them to important issues and this is true of being fiscally responsible online.

Try speaking to them about how much easier it is to get carried away when shopping online and explain the techniques that you use to hold yourself to account, like sticking to a weekly budget or giving yourself a 24 hour cooling off period when you see something that you want so that you don’t act on impulse but really think things through. Even doing your research to find the best deal you can online will reinforce the idea that it’s important to take time and value your money, thinking through purchases rather than buying impulsively.

It’s also important to speak to them about keeping track of their finances. Setting up a kids saver account where they develop good habits around saving but also around keeping track of finances, knowing how much they spend and being accountable for their spending is a great way to have important conversations about important issues like recognising scams vs. genuine digital correspondence from banks and generally around keeping track of what comes in and out of their account and being financially responsible.

More to explore

See more articles and resources to help children stay safe online.

Write the comment

Scroll Up