孩子们为什么鼓励他人在网上“烤”他们?

尽管自残被视为身体虐待,但如今,越来越多的青少年正在使用社交媒体来鼓励他人在线上虐待他们。 专家可以深入了解发生这种情况的原因以及您可以采取哪些措施来抚养您的孩子。

尽管自残被视为身体虐待,但如今,越来越多的青少年正在使用社交媒体来鼓励他人在线上虐待他们。 专家可以深入了解发生这种情况的原因以及您可以采取哪些措施来抚养您的孩子。


Linda Papadopoulos博士

心理学家和互联网事务大使
专家网站

什么是“数字自我伤害”?

近年来,随着互联网和社交媒体的出现,很多身份,社交互动以及实际上的心理健康问题开始在网上播放。 我开始看到的一件事是我称之为“数字自我伤害”的东西。

它具有自残的所有特征,因为实施该法的人处于极度情绪困扰和内心动荡的状态,感到孤立,无能为力和无法控制。 但是,他们没有寻找刀刃,而是转向在线世界,邀请其他人在情感上切入现实。

如何通过它支持孩子

如果父母怀疑孩子正在经历这个事情,那可能会非常不高兴。 与所有与健康相关的问题一样,您越早让他们谈论和寻求支持就越好。 解释情绪的来去去去,即使是最痛苦的情绪也不会永远存在,因此学习以健康的方式摆脱情绪很重要-无论是通过分散自己的其他行为或活动或谈论情绪。

尽量不要批评或评判,而是鼓励他们在他们感到自我伤害时告诉你,这样你就可以帮助他们通过它 - 最后如果你觉得你需要进一步的支持和指导,请告诉你GP并要求转介给注册治疗师或有一些地方,你可以给你和你的家人在线专业支持,如 Selfharm.co.uk –致力于支持受自残或自残影响的年轻人的项目 自伤支持 该网站提供了年轻女性的短信和电子邮件服务,针对自残妇女的任何年龄的求助热线,英国范围内的自残支持列表和自助工具。

Andy Phippen教授

普利茅斯大学教授
专家网站

了解青少年对在线“烘焙”的看法  

虽然公众对自我伤害的看法通常以身体虐待为中心,但互联网为可能被视为对个人有害的不同行为提供了机会。 汉娜·史密斯在2013中惨死,他在看似网络欺凌之后自杀,实际上是汉娜自己在Ask.FM上发布的滥用行为,个人可以邀请人们匿名问他们问题(我们经常辱骂)在自然界)。

虽然Ask.FM并不像以前那样受欢迎,但是“烘焙”的名人趋势 - 邀请其他人向你发出攻击性评论 - 也是我们在许多社交媒体平台上看到的。 年轻人告诉我,自从Ask.FM多年以来,这种情况的动机几乎没有变化 - 你必须证明你可以应对“戏”,你必须表明你有弹性,你必须加入但是,他们还告诉我,虽然参与可能是自愿的,但对于一些人而言,这些言论可能会带来伤害并且极度令人不安。

我从年轻人那里一遍又一遍地听到的一件事是,如果他们觉得父母会因此“生气”,他们就不会透露担忧或不安。

虽然我们的第一反应可能是告诉孩子因这种被邀请的虐待导致的不安,但重要的是要意识到他们正在寻求帮助,而不是惩罚。 为儿童提供安全的空间,让他们能够谈论忧虑和担忧,这比告诉他们更有效 - 对于像自我伤害一样敏感的问题,我们想要的最后一件事是让孩子觉得他们没有人可以与之交谈。

在线烘焙对孩子的行为和自我认知的影响

人们很容易指望自我伤害永远是对人体造成伤害的身体行为,但是越来越多的儿童和年轻人正在使用互联网对自己造成情感伤害。 通过发布图像和自拍照,(尤其是带有煽动性的评论或对他人的侮辱),孩子们意识到他们可以激怒其他在线用户,向他们发送负面的(通常是令人难以置信的)关于其外观的评论。

但是为什么呢?

很难确切地知道,但有迹象表明,在线“烤”加强了儿童和年轻人对自己持有的负面态度。 如果他们认为他们是丑陋的,或者是肥胖的或者没有价值的,那么由其他人强化(无论他们需要多少操纵这些评论)都会提供一种感知的确认和验证感。 这些评论也可能助长身体自我伤害行为,并防止他们被诱惑寻求帮助。

对于受影响的孩子来说,这种行为往往是非常隐秘,令人难以置信的可耻和非常混乱,因为他们可能会开始发现在线虐待上瘾,导致他们变得更加孤立和自我厌恶。

露丝艾尔斯

英国Selfharm项目经理
专家网站

在线论坛的影响和自我伤害的增加

我们处于流行状态,年轻人感到自尊心和焦虑程度低,我们因自残学校而入院人数最多,学校被年轻人感到迷茫和生活不确定所淹没。

在线论坛允许年轻人验证他们对自己的一些感受。 你和我似乎都很奇怪,但如果我认为并且相信自己的坏事是真实的,那么听别人说它在某种程度上证实了这一点。

也可能是年轻人寻求它,希望他们喜欢的人会介入并告诉那些“烧烤”他们不是真的。

使用社交媒体作为恢复的积极工具,而不是自我伤害

现在有越来越多的恢复网站在线, 混合儿童热线 两者都为年轻人提供在线论坛和咨询服务,帮助他们处理自我伤害和其他困难。 SelfharmUK 还有一个新内容的网站,以帮助人们解决自我伤害的问题。

凯瑟琳尼布斯

儿童创伤心理治疗师(Cyber​​trauma)
专家网站

是什么促使孩子自我伤害?

自残可能是一个非常复杂的主题。 有许多因素构成了为什么有人会主动选择伤害自己的原因。 简而言之,自我伤害是指释放一些情绪,心理和有时身体上的痛苦。 伤害自己的动机来自于一种根深蒂固的感受,包括自我厌恶/仇恨,恐惧,悲伤和愤怒。

为什么儿童“网络自我伤害”是其他形式的自我伤害的一种变体,而CYP可能会将自己置于网上,要求他们“烧烤”(受到他人或他人的侮辱,批评和指责)。自行解决),以解决并从痛苦中释放出来。 网络自我伤害的儿童处于非常困难的境地。

如果您的孩子要求他人批评/侮辱并在网上烤他们,请花点时间考虑一下,他们可能正试图“拥有”他人的卑鄙/无礼,以帮助他们应对自己的自尊和自信问题。 ,这比“别人减轻痛苦”要容易得多,因为这“减轻了痛苦”,而这正是许多儿童和年轻人正在努力做的事情。 在一个完美的世界中,我们所有人都可能会陷入自我批评。 如果可以先拥有它; 你会?

马克布什

YoungMinds首席政策顾问
专家网站

社交媒体对青少年的影响的利弊

对于年轻人来说,社交媒体提供了一个连接,获取信息和知识的世界。 但随之而来的是响应,更新和可用的持续压力,这可能导致负面后果。

社交媒体即将存在,年轻人经常告诉我们能够在线与他人联系的巨大好处。 然而,随着我们所有24 / 7越来越多地居住在线世界,我们需要确保年轻人通过从小就建立对在线压力的抵御能力来照顾自己。

  • 盗版泡泡 说:

    我在学校被欺负,但至少你是欺凌者的新人,它仍然影响着你的自尊。
    青年俱乐部的日子似乎已经消失,也许是因为它并不酷,而且还削减了场地,青年工人和儿童和青少年心理健康服务的资金。
    因此,要有效地欺负电话线,入侵家庭显然会对一些年轻人产生巨大影响。
    因此,尽管你不会让陌生人进入你的前门,但似乎需要更多地了解如何将锁和限制放在线上。
    我同意取消设备并不是解决方案,因为恶霸会说年轻人在线或不在线的可怕事情。
    所以父母并不总是了解快速移动的技术。
    我觉得手机供应商和电脑商店可以做更多的事情,设置手机,平板电脑和父母锁定为默认设置的电脑。
    设置家庭中的设备可以使用的时间,如果没有连接技术24 / 7,似乎很多年轻人感到断开连接。
    可悲的是,总会有恶霸,它正试图学习应对的策略。
    正如我在离开学校时发现的恶霸存在于工作场所,社会环境中,所以帮助年轻人在成长时期建立信心和自尊在我们的高科技快速发展的世界中比以往任何时候都更加重要。

写下评论

向上滚动

Why are children encouraging others to ‘roast’ them online?

While self-harm is seen to be physical abuse, now, more teens are using social media to encourage others to abuse them online. Experts give insight into why this is happening and what you can do to support your child.

What is ‘digital self-harm’?

In recent years with the advent of the internet and social media – much of identity, social interaction and indeed mental health issues are beginning to be played out online.  One of the things that I am beginning to see is something that I call “digital self-harm”.

It has all the hallmarks of self-harm in that the person who enacts it is in a state of high emotion distress and inner turmoil- feeling isolated, powerless and out of control.  But rather than seeking out a blade they turn to the online world to invite others to cut through them emotionally.

How to support children through it

It can be hugely upsetting if parents suspect that their kids are going through this. As is the case with all health related issues the sooner you get them talking about it and seeking support the better.  Explain that emotions come and go and even at their most painful they don’t last forever so it is important to learn to ride them out in a healthy way- whether it is by distracting themselves with other behaviours or activities or by talking about it.

Try not be critical or judgmental, instead encourage them to let you know when they feel like self-harming so you can help them through it- finally if you feel you need further support and guidance speak to you GP and ask for a referral to a registered therapist or there are places that can you give you and your family professional support online such as Selfharm.co.uk – a project dedicated to supporting young people who are affected by self-harm or Self Injury Support which provides a young women’s text and email service, any age helpline for women who self-harm, UK-wide listings for self-harm support and self-help tools.

Comment on article
Andy Phippen

Andy Phippen

Professor, University of Plymouth

Expert Website

Understanding teens’ perception of ‘roasting’ online  

While the public perception of self-harm generally centres on the physical abuse, the Internet provides opportunities for different behaviours that might be considered harmful to the individual. The tragic death of Hannah Smith in 2013, who committed suicide after what appeared to be cyberbullying was actually revealed to be abuse posted by Hannah herself on Ask.FM, a site where individuals could invite people to anonymously ask them questions (which we often abusive in nature).

While Ask.FM is not as popular are it once was, the celebrity trend for “roasting” – inviting offensive comments to be made to you by others – is also something we are seeing across many social media platforms. I am told by young people that the motivation for this has changed little over since the years of Ask.FM – you have to show you can cope with the “banter”, you have to show you’re resilient, you have to join in. However, they also tell me that while participation might be voluntary, for some the remarks can be hurtful and extremely upsetting.

One of the things I hear from young people over and over again is that they would not disclose concern or upset if they felt a parent would “go mad” as a result.

While our first reactions might be to tell a child off for upset caused by such invited abuse, it is important to realise that they are reaching out for help, not chastisement. Providing safe spaces for children to be able to talk about worries and concerns is more effective than a telling off – with issues as sensitive as self-harm the last thing we want is for children to feel they have no one they can talk to.

Comment on article

Effects of online roasting on child’s behaviour and perception of themselves

It’s easy to expect self-harm to always be a physical act of causing an injury to one’s body, but increasingly, children and young people are using the internet to cause themselves emotional harm. By posting images and selfies, (particularly alongside inflammatory comments or insults towards others) children have realised they can provoke other online users to send them negative and (often unbelievably) abusive comments about their appearance.

But why?

It’s hard to know for certain, but indications suggest being ‘roasted’ online reinforces the negative attitudes children and young people may be holding about themselves. If they believe they are ugly, or fat or worthless, then having that reinforced by other people (regardless of how much they may need to manipulate those comments into being) provides a perceived sense of confirmation and validation. The comments may also fuel physical acts of self-harm, and prevent them from being tempted to ask for help.

This behaviour is often deeply secretive, incredibly shameful and very confusing for the children affected, as they may begin to find the online abuse addictive, leading them to become further isolated and self-loathing.

Comment on article
Ruth Ayres

Ruth Ayres

Project Manager, Selfharm UK

Expert Website

Impact of online forums and rise in self-harm

We are in an epidemic of young people feeling low self-esteem and anxiety, we have the highest number of hospital admissions due to self-harm schools and colleges are inundated with young people feeling lost and unsure about life.

Online forums allow young people to validate some of the things they feel about themselves. It may seem strange to you and I but if I think and believe the bad things about myself to be true, hearing someone else say it confirms it in myself somehow.

It can also be that young people seek it out in the hope that someone they love will intervene and tell those ‘roasting’ them that it is not true.

Using social media as a positive tool for recovery, not self-harm

There are more and more pro-recovery sites online now than ever before, The Mix and Childline both offer online forums and counselling for young people to engage with to help them deal with not only self-harm but other difficulties too. SelfharmUK also has a website with new content to help people tackle the issues of self-harm.

Comment on article
Catherine Knibbs

Catherine Knibbs

Child Trauma therapist, Peer Support Yorkshire

Expert Website

What motivates a child to self-harm?

Self-harm can be a very complicated subject. There are many factors that underlie why someone would actively choose to harm themselves. In short, self-harm is about a release of some emotional, psychological and at times physical pain. The motivation to harm oneself comes from a deep-seated set of feelings that include self-loathing/hatred, fear, sadness and anger.

Why children “cyber- self-harm” is a variation on the other forms of self-harm and CYP may put themselves into situations online where they ask for “a roasting” (to be humiliated, criticised and berated at the hands of others or by themselves) in an attempt to resolve and release themselves from an inordinate amount of pain. Children who cyber self-harm are in a very stuck place.

If your child is asking others to criticise/humiliate and roast them online take a moment to contemplate that they are perhaps trying to ‘own’ the mean/unkindness of others as a way to help them deal with their own self-esteem and confidence issues, it’s much easier to laugh at yourself before others do as this ‘lessens the pain’ and that’s exactly what many children and young people are trying to do. In a world of perfectness, we can all fall foul to self-criticism. If you could own it first; would you?

Comment on article
Marc Bush

Marc Bush

Chief Policy Advisor, YoungMinds

Expert Website

Pros and cons of social media’s influence on teens

For young people, social media provides a world of connections, access to information and knowledge. But with it comes constant pressure to respond, update and be available, which can result in negative consequences.

Social media is here to stay and young people often tell us of the huge benefits of being able to connect with others online. However, as the online world is increasingly inhabited by us all 24/7, we need to ensure young people are looking after themselves by building resilience to online pressures from an early age.

Comment on article

More to explore

Have a question? Ask Selfharm UK

Childline offers one-to-one support

  • Bootleg Bubble

    I was bullied at school but a least you new who the bullies were, it still impacted on your self esteem.
    The days of youth clubs seem to have gone, perhaps because it is not cool, but also funding cuts to venues, Youth Workers and Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services.
    So to be bullied down effectively a telephone line, intrusion into the home is obviously having a massive effect on some young people.
    So as much as you would not let a stranger in through your front door, it seems there needs to be much more understanding of how to put locks and restrictions on line.
    I agree taking devices away is not the solution as bullies will say horrible things wether the young person is on line or not.
    So parents are not always knowledgeable of fast moving technology.
    I feel mobile phone suppliers and computer stores could do far more to set phones, tablets and computers with a parental lock set as default.
    Set times where devices in the home can be used, it seems a lot of young people feel disconnected if there tech is not connected 24/7.
    Sadly there will always be bullies, it is trying to learn strategies to cope.
    As I discovered when leaving school bullies exist in the work place, Social Environments, so to help young people to build confidence and self esteem when in there formative years is more important than ever in our Hi Tech fast moving world.

  • Tanya

    If you have a cheating spouse or suspecting your spouse of infidelity, get along with a good hacker on bella.russels@mail.ru