如何在孩子入读中学的过程中管理孩子数字生活的变化?

从了解如何在线与他人互动以及开设第一个社交帐户,我们的专家提供了有关如何通过在线过渡支持儿童的见解。


Linda Papadopoulos博士

心理学家和互联网事务大使
专家网站

真正非常重要的是让孩子们明白他们的父母保护他们并引导他们通过的所有东西现在都落入了他们的手中。 他们正在过渡,因此转移责任。

同样地,父母不会把孩子放在公共汽车上第一次上学,他们会通过路线说话,一起做,然后帮助他们独自完成路线。

父母应该和孩子坐下来,看看他们数字生活中可能出错的所有事情,然后讨论解决方案。 他们应该 讨论误读文本,如果有人说过让他们感觉不好的事情,数据窃取,在线欺凌 - 这些都是潜在的问题。 父母应该提醒孩子,因为他们可能面临这些问题或风险 - 他们会帮助指导他们应对这些挑战。

在最初阶段,父母应该告诉他们的孩子他们如何意识到问题,因此他们将帮助指导他们,然后当他们变得更加舒适时,你会相信他们通过他们自我指导。 父母应该提醒孩子没有责任没有权力 - 他们应该遵守你的规则。 如果他们能够解决问题, 他们也应该在必要时来到父母或适当的人身边。 让他们了解时间表的运作方式。

Tamasine Preece博士

个人和社会教育负责人
专家网站

儿童在升入中学时必须面对哪些数字化挑战?

近年来,我可以概括地描述离开小学的孩子和几个月后进入7年的孩子的数字行为之间的显着差异。 然而,现在,关键阶段在很大程度上难以区分,因为有相当多的学生在一段时间内拥有智能手机,因此有机会参与通常与年龄较大的学生相关的行为,例如生产,发送,请求或分享性或欺凌图像或文字,未经许可拍摄人或参与打架或危险活动的同伴。 这可能意味着,即使在开始上中学之前,当大多数与年龄相关的关于在线安全和礼仪的干预措施发生时,行为通常也可以正常化。

在中学开始之前,少数儿童将首次获得第一部智能手机。 这在数字媒介沟通成为常态的学生与刚刚开始的学生之间产生了重大的经验差距。 我注意到后一组中的孩子数量增加,他们感到被他们遇到的行为疏远和孤立 因为他们第一次独自上网,并感到很大的压力,他们参与活动或查看他们感到不舒服的内容。

玛莎埃文斯

国家协调员,反欺凌联盟
专家网站

研究表明,虽然孩子不一定希望他们的父母在网上闲逛,但他们确实希望他们的父母与他们谈论他们的在线行为并设定适当的界限。

当孩子们开始上中学时,他们可能面临来自朋友和同伴的新压力,无法以某种方式表现或穿着,随着他们的成长,他们自然会对浪漫关系产生更多的好奇心,所以父母支持他们的孩子识别风险并鼓励健康是很重要的。在线关系。 定期与您的孩子交谈,讨论您对友谊和关系的看法和价值观。 了解并指导孩子的在线行为,并协商和建立界限。 确保您的孩子知道,虽然您可能并不总是喜欢或赞同他们做的事情 - 这包括他们在网上做的事情,但您会永远爱他们并且总是为他们服务。

凯瑟琳尼布斯

儿童创伤治疗师,同伴支持约克郡
专家网站

进入中学就是要在新的环境中建立新的关系并融入这种环境。 在这种转变过程中,父母和教师的同伴压力通常会变得“更加明显” 随着孩子的开始(由于青春期的大脑成熟过程),改变自己的身份,想要最新的配件,如特定的运动装备,包包,衣服以及当今世界的智能手机。 这意味着他们有能力通过社交媒体“添加”和“共享”网站和应用来增加“朋友”的关系圈。

家长可以通过富有同情心的探究和真正感兴趣的移情方式帮助他们的孩子实现这种转变。 在今天的世界里,这与我们移动学校变得有兴趣并参与他们的旅程和必要时的情况非常不同,并且可能反映出它与您的体验有多么不同,以及您希望如何了解和了解它对他们的影响。他们对此的意义。 这将帮助您确定孩子何时将他们不认识的人添加到他们的社交网络中,并打开交流对话,这是进一步对话的基础,如果他们对可能遇到的问题感到困惑。

丽贝卡艾弗里

肯特县议会教育保障顾问
专家网站

有些孩子可能会在这个年龄段的第一部手机上单独来往学校旅行; 在此之前讨论安全和负责任的使用很重要。 设定明确的界限,包括支出限额(特别是如果您支付账单!) 以及他们可以下载哪些应用。 谈论他们应该给谁的电话号码,并讨论密码安全等问题。

孩子们可能想利用互联网与老学校的朋友保持联系,并制作新的; 许多孩子可能会开始要求使用社交网络服务来做到这一点。 重要的是要记住,大多数平台的年龄限制为13或更高,因此家长应做出明智的决定,允许他们的孩子注册帐户。 这也很重要 谈论在网上成为好朋友 并且要注意,在线发布了一个图像或评论,可能很难控制或删除。

最重要的是 保持沟通畅通; 您希望您的孩子能够分享他们的担忧,以及在线和离线的成功。 谈论他们使用的在线平台和游戏; 让他们告诉你他们是如何工作的以及他们做了什么。 这将有助于在中学期间保持开放和诚实的对话。

写下评论

向上滚动

How can I manage the step change in my child’s digital life as they start secondary school?

From learning how to interact with others online to opening their first social account, our experts provide insight on how to support children through this transition online.


Dr. Linda Papadopoulos

Psychologist and Internet Matters Ambassador
Expert Website

What’s really, really important is getting kids to understand that all the stuff that their parents protected them from and guided them through will now fall into their hands. They are transitioning and as a result, transferring responsibility.

In the same way, parents wouldn’t put their child on the bus to go to school the first time by themselves, they would talk them through the route, do it together and then help them on their way to do the route alone.

Parents should sit down with their child and look at all the things that could go wrong in their digital life and then discuss the solutions. They should discuss misreading texts, if someone has said something that makes them feel bad, data stealing, online bullying –  these are all potential issues. And parents should remind their children that because they may face those issues or risks – they are there to help guide them through these challenges.

In the initial stages parents should tell their kids how they are aware of the issues and therefore they will help guide them, then as they become more comfortable, you will trust them to guide themselves through them. Parents should remind their children there’s no power without responsibility – and they should follow your rules. If they are able to navigate issues, they should also feel comfortable to come to parents or an appropriate person when necessary. Give them a sense of how that timeline will work.

Dr Tamasine Preece

Head of Personal and Social Education
Expert Website

What digital challenges do children have to deal with as they make the move to secondary school?

In recent years I could have described, in general terms, a marked difference between the digital behaviours of children leaving primary school and those after a few months into Year 7. Now, however, the key stages are largely indistinguishable with a significant number of students having had a smartphone for some time and, therefore, the opportunity to engage in behaviours that would normally be associated with much older students during their primary years, such as producing, sending, requesting or sharing sexual or bulling images or text, the filming of people without their permission or of peers involved in fights or dangerous activities. This can mean that behaviours can often be normalised even before starting secondary school when the majority of age-appropriate interventions regarding online safety and etiquette takes place.

A minority of children will be given their first smartphone for the first time before starting at secondary school. This creates a significant experiential gap between those students for whom digitally mediated communication is the norm and those who are just starting out. I am noticing an increase in the number of children in the latter group who feel alienated and isolated by the behaviours that they encounter as they go online on their own for the first time and feel significant pressure to engage in activities or view content with which they do not feel comfortable.

Martha Evans

National Coordinator, Anti-bullying Alliance
Expert Website

Research shows that while children don’t necessarily want their parents hanging over their shoulder whenever they are online, they do want their parents to talk to them about their online behaviour and to set appropriate boundaries.

As children start secondary school they may face new pressures from friends and peers to behave or dress in certain ways and as they grow up they naturally become more curious about romantic relationships, so it’s important that parents support their children to recognise the risks and encourage healthy online relationships. Talk to your children regularly and discuss your views and values on friendships and relationships. Understand and guide your child’s online behaviour and negotiate and establish boundaries. Make sure your child knows that while you may not always like or approve of what they do –and this includes what they do online, you will always love them and are always there for them.

Catherine Knibbs

Child Trauma therapist, Peer Support Yorkshire
Expert Website

Moving to secondary school is all about forging new relationships in a new environment and fitting into that environment. Peer pressure can often become ‘more visible’ to parents and teachers during this transition as children begin (due to adolescent brain maturation processes), to change their identity, want the latest accessories such as particular sports gear, bags, clothes and in today’s world a smartphone. This now means that they have the ability to increase their relationship circles of ‘friends’ through social media ‘adds’ and ‘shares’ of sites and apps.

Parents can help their children with this transition through an empathic approach of compassionate inquiry and genuine interestedness. In today’s world, this is very different from when we moved schools so become interested and take part in their journey and where necessary and possible reflect how different it is to your experience and how you would like to know and understand how it is for them and the meaning they make of this. This will help you identify when children are adding people they don’t know to their social network and opens up a communicative dialogue which is the fundamental foundation for further conversations if and when they feel stuck about issues they may have.

Rebecca Avery

Education Safeguarding Adviser, Kent County Council
Expert Website

Some children may be getting their first phone at this age for travelling to and from school alone; it’s important to discuss safe and responsible use before this happens. Set clear boundaries including spending limits (especially if you are paying the bill!) and what apps they can download. Talk about who they should give their phone number to and discuss things such as password safety.

Children may want to use the internet to stay in touch with friends from their old school, as well as make new ones; many children may start to ask to use social networking services to do this. It’s important to remember that most platforms have age limits of 13 or more, so parents should make informed decisions about allowing their children to sign up for accounts. It’s also important to talk about being a good friend online and to be aware that one an image or comment is posted online it can be difficult to control or remove.

The most important thing is to keep communication open; you want your child to be able to share their worries, as well as successes both on and offline. Talk about the online platforms and games they use; ask them to show you how they work and what they do. This will help keep a dialogue open and honest throughout their time at secondary school.

Write the comment