管理在线陌生人的危险和与孩子的数字关系 - 父母的故事

学习如何在线互动对于孩子迈出第一步进入网络世界来说可能是一个陡峭的学习曲线。 四个妈妈Laura Hitchcock分享了她帮助孩子们应对陌生危险和数字关系的经历。

Laura Hitchcock不记得她没有教她的孩子在线交流的时候。 “就在他们开始使用计算机时,就像我们教他们过马路并使用叉子一样,我们教他们如何在线与人交谈。”

使在线安全技术工具适用于儿童

凭借技术和在线销售的背景,劳拉有信心给孩子们保持安全的建议。 但是,她还依赖McAfee,Norton和BT的软件和在线安全工具。 “我们发现在线家长控制软件非常有用,”劳拉说。

劳拉补充说,如果你正在使用家长控制,请与孩子们讨论,并解释他们为什么重要。 “如果他们发现他们限制太多,公开谈论,看看是否有妥协,你们都会感到高兴。”

同意在线安全规则

在希区柯克家族中,最重要的规则是,如果您在现实生活中不认识某人,则不得分享您的姓名,年龄,地址或任何其他个人信息。 “其他规则适合年龄,”劳拉解释说。 “我希望我的9岁的孩子在与新朋友交朋友之前与我核实,但我相信我的16岁的孩子会选择自己的朋友。”

帮助孩子管理数字关系

时代变迁,劳拉敦促其他父母意识到,在线关系对于孩子来说可能与“现实生活”的友谊一样真实和重要。 “如果一个女孩或男孩出现在不在你厨房的屏幕上,请不要将他们视为'只是'在线,”劳拉说。

去年,Laura的儿子第一次飞往芬兰与他的一年在线女友见面。 劳拉说:“在他们的关系中,他努力保存到机票上去探望她三次,我们帮他安排了。” “我认为将它们视为儿童生活的自然组成部分非常重要。 不要把它们视为一个单独的“在线”关系; 他们只是所有的关系。“

相信孩子在网上做出明智的选择

也就是说,当孩子们在网上与陌生人交谈时,劳拉会监控。 当孩子们年龄越来越小,随着年龄的增长,他们会更加自由。 “我相信他们遵守规则,就像我相信他们自己过马路一样。 这是为了保持沟通畅通,并且知道他们可以来聊聊所发生的任何事情。“

Laura的一个儿子在另一个男孩的网络游戏服务器上成为朋友,他给了他一个昂贵的新游戏。 “在几周之内,他要求通过网络摄像头聊天,虽然他自己的相机碰巧坏了,”劳拉说。

此时,劳拉的儿子退后了,挡住了陌生人并告诉他的父母发生了什么事。 “我认为我的儿子在那之前一直非常信任,但现在他更加谨慎,”劳拉说。 “但他遵循家庭规则。 他走开了,阻止了让他感到不舒服的人,他还告诉我们并向服务器管理员报告了该帐户。“

了解科技小孩使用的重要性

劳拉发现这是朋友,他们不了解最容易出现问题的技术。 “这就是我告诉父母自学的原因; 这是保证儿童安全的最重要因素,“她说。 “我的孩子遵守规则,因为我设定了它们,我理解它们,并且我强制执行它们。”

多年来,劳拉一直在努力寻找平衡她如何处理在线关系管理问题的方法。 “我想教给我的孩子们关于风险,但我不想吓唬他们认为互联网上到处都是坏人!”她说。

形成数字关系的好处

Laura补充道,总体而言,孩子们的在线关系非常积极。 “我所有的孩子都有来自世界各地的朋友,他们在线时很少'独自',他们很容易找到他们的部落,”她说。 “我自己拥有大量的在线朋友,我完全理解互联网为在日常生活中不会去的地方会见志同道合的人开辟了道路。”

劳拉写道 LittleStuff博客 多塞特全职与她的丈夫和四个孩子住在一起。 当她不写作时,她拼命想要避免洗衣和做饭的需要(以及她的宝宝几乎都是成年人的事实)。

最近的帖子

向上滚动

Managing online stranger danger and digital relationships with kids – a parent’s story

By Laura Hitchcock on

Learning how to interact online can be a steep learning curve for children taking their first steps into the online world. Mum of four Laura Hitchcock shares her experiences helping her children navigate stranger danger and digital relationships.

Laura Hitchcock can’t remember a time when she wasn’t teaching her children about communication online. “It was as soon as they started using a computer, just like we taught them to cross the road and use a fork, we taught them about how to talk to people online.”

Making online safety tech tools work for kids

With a background in technology and online sales, Laura felt confident to give her children advice on keeping safe. However, she also relied on software and online safety tools from McAfee, Norton, and BT. “We found the online parental control software to be really helpful,” Laura says.

If you’re using parental controls, talk them through with children and explain why they’re important, adds Laura. “If they find they’re too restrictive, talk openly and see if there’s a compromise you can both be happy with.”

Agreeing on online safety rules

In the Hitchcock family, the number one rule is that if you don’t know someone in real life, you must not share your name, age, address or any other personal information. “The other rules are age-appropriate,” explains Laura. “I expected my 9-year-old to check with me before befriending someone new, but I trust my 16-year-olds to choose their own friends.”

Helping children manage digital relationships

Times change and Laura urges other parents to realise that online relationships can be just as real and important to kids as “real life” friendships. “Don’t dismiss them as ‘just’ online, if a girl or boy is present on a screen not in your kitchen,” Laura says.

Last year, Laura’s son flew to Finland to meet his online girlfriend of a year for the first time. “He worked to save to airfare to visit her three times during their relationship, and we helped him to arrange that,” says Laura. “I think it’s important to just treat them as a natural part of a child’s life. Stop thinking of them as a separate ‘online’ relationship; they’re just all relationships.”

Trusting children to make smart choices online

That said, Laura does monitor when the children are talking to strangers online. This is much closer when the children are younger with a bit more freedom as they get older. “I trust them to keep  the rules as much as I trust them to cross the road by themselves. It’s about keeping communication open, and knowing they can come and chat about anything that happens.”

One of Laura’s sons was befriended in an online game server by another boy, who gifted him an expensive new game. “Within a couple of weeks, he was asking to chat via webcam, although his own camera happened to be broken,” says Laura.

At this point, Laura’s son backed away, blocked the stranger and told his parents what had happened. “I think my son had been very trusting until then, but now he’s more cautious,” says Laura. “But he followed the family rules. He walked away and blocked someone who made him uncomfortable, and he also told us and reported the account to the server admins.”

Importance of understanding tech kids use

Laura finds that it’s friends who don’t know about the technology that tend to have the biggest problems. “That’s why I tell parents to educate themselves; it’s the most important factor in keeping children safe,” she says. “My kids kept to the rules because I set them, I understood them, and I enforced them.”

Over the years, Laura has worked hard to find a balance in how she approaches the issue of managing online relationships. “I want to teach my kids about the risks, but I don’t want to scare them into thinking the Internet is full of Bad People!” she says.

Benefits of forming digital relationships

Overall, the children have very positive online relationships, Laura adds. “All of my children have wide groups of friends from all over the world, they’re rarely ‘alone’ when they’re online, and they can easily find their tribe,” she says. “Having a large number of online friends myself, I completely understand that the Internet opens the way to meeting like-minded people in places you just wouldn’t go in your everyday life.”

See more parent stories

More to explore

If you’d like to learn more about how you can help your children stay safe online, here are some great resources:

E-safety issues – tips for parents 

Expert article: How can I help my child manage their friendships online safely?

E-safety advice by age 

Social networking advice

Setting controls on devices

Laura writes the LittleStuff blog full-time from Dorset where she lives with her husband and four kids. When she’s not writing she’s trying desperately to avoid the laundry and the need to cook (and the fact that her babies are almost grown-ups).