社交化针对年幼儿童的在线安全建议

对于大多数社交媒体应用程序而言,平台或游戏的年龄分级为13岁以上并不意味着年轻人不在。 这就是为什么如果您的孩子正在网上社交,他们安全进行的话,作为父母或照顾者很重要。


卡尔·霍普伍德

独立的在线安全专家
专家网站

父母可以做些什么来帮助他们的孩子安全地在线社交?

在最近的COVID-19锁定期间,在线交流变得越来越重要。 家庭使用社交媒体进行联系,幸运的是,越来越多的人意识到技术的好处。
儿童和年轻人没有什么不同-从很小的时候开始,他们就知道一些较流行的社交媒体平台,无论是年龄较大的兄弟姐妹或父母,还是尽管年龄通常在13岁以上但有账户的朋友。 6-10岁的孩子可能会在玩的游戏中与朋友聊天,我们知道,随着他们进入小学的最后几年,很多人确实开始使用社交网站。 父母与孩子坐下来并以最安全的方式建立账户很​​重要。

确保将它们设置为私人(默认情况下,许多都是公开的,所以不要以为是相反的方式),请考虑关闭评论,以使孩子不会收到任何不愉快或意外的消息。

谨慎选择在线朋友,仅与他们已经认识的人交流是明智的。 始终确保进行公开对话-如果出了问题,那么重要的是让孩子们感到可以与父母谈论对话-如果他们担心后果,那么就不太可能公开。 还要为自己的行为设定一些基本规则-他们应该以自己希望自己受到对待的方式在线对待他人,值得重申这一信息。 随着孩子的长大,父母可以帮助他们熟悉一些更细粒度的设置,例如审核评论和阻止特定的单词或短语等。某些游戏将为父母提供定制工具-例如Roblox具有“年龄可见性”功能可以让父母确定是否 他们的孩子的设置适合​​年龄.

在线共享您孩子的照片-您是否需要他们的许可?
鉴于孩子们会意识到这些平台,因此父母和看护者与他们讨论这一点很重要。 也许父母可以同意发布一些家庭郊游或生日庆祝活动的照片。 这可以帮助介绍有关共享和隐私的一些重要概念-谁将能够看到我们发布的内容! 同样,父母可以树立良好的社交媒体礼仪-除非他们先与孩子核对,否则他们不应在社交媒体上发布孩子的图片。

在这个年龄段,社交媒体体验应该是基于父母的帐户并有机会讨论隐私设置的共享体验,如果有问题该怎么办以及认真考虑您发布的内容和谁能够做到的重要性看见!

父母可以做些什么来帮助他们的孩子安全地在线社交?

幼儿不对自己的网络安全负责,因此作为父母,我们的第一步应该是了解应用程序,检查隐私设置,对其进行测试,并确信这是我们希望我们的孩子成为的地方。

签到,看看他们如何使用它,喜欢什么,不喜欢什么以及我们是否可以提供帮助。 讨论成为朋友(面对面和在线)的意义,为什么重要的是要小心与他人分享的内容,我们所说和所做的事情的潜在影响,以及他们如何处理棘手的情况,例如接收消息让他们伤心或与朋友堕落。

最后,共同决定合理的时间花在网上社交上,并确保它是建立关系和与他人相处的平衡方法的一部分。

凯特琼斯

Childnet副首席执行官
专家网站

父母可以做些什么来帮助他们的孩子安全地在线社交?
在线世界可能是让孩子保持联系的好地方,无论是与假期中的朋友还是居住在遥远的家人。 他们在使用技术时,需要牢记一些关键事项。
谈话时要与他们交谈,以及您要设定的任何规则或期望,这一点很重要; 例如,是否允许他们与朋友的朋友加入聊天或游戏? 事先设定期望通常比以后限制使用容易。

讨论他们何时,何地以及将使用技术多长时间,共同商定可接受的限制和行为。 例如,您可以决定仅在共享的家庭空间或开着门的卧室中使用技术。 一个 套家庭协约, 可以帮助您的家人决定什么是最适合您的。 请记住,至关重要的是让您的孩子知道,如果在线上发生任何令他们担心或不安的事情,他们可以与您交谈。

写下评论

向上滚动

Socialising online safety advice for younger children

With most social media apps, platforms or games age rating of 13+ doesn’t mean those younger are not on them. This is why it is important as a parent or carer if your child is socialising online, they are doing it safely.


Karl Hopwood

Independent online safety expert
Expert Website

What can parents do to help their kids socialise safely online?

Communicating online has become increasingly important during the recent COVID-19 lockdown. Families have used social media to keep in touch and fortunately, more and more people are recognising the benefits of technology as a result.
Children and young people are no different – from an early age, they are aware of some of the more popular social media platforms either from older siblings or parents or from friends who have an account despite the usual 13+ age limit. 6-10-year-olds are likely to be chatting to friends in games that they are playing and we know that as they get into the final years at primary school many do start using social networking sites themselves. It is important that parents sit down with their children and set up their accounts in the safest possible way.

Ensure that they are set to private (many are public by default so don’t assume it’s the other way around), consider turning off comments so that children won’t receive anything that is unpleasant or unexpected.

Choosing online friends carefully and only communicating with people they already know is sensible. Always ensuring that there is open dialogue – if something goes wrong then it is important that children feel that they can talk to their parents about it – if they are fearful of the consequences then they are unlikely to open up. Setting some ground rules about their own behaviour too – they should treat others online in the way they would want to be treated themselves and it is worth reiterating this message. As children get older, parents can help them to become familiar with some of the more granular settings such as moderating comments and blocking particular words or phrases etc. Some games will provide bespoke tools for parents – e.g. Roblox has an “age-visibility” feature which allows parents to determine whether settings for their children are age-appropriate.

Sharing your children’s photos online – should you ask for their permission?
Given that children will be aware of these platforms, it is important for parents and carers to talk to them about it. Perhaps parents can agree to post some photos of a family outing or birthday celebration. This can help to introduce some of the important concepts around sharing and privacy – who will be able to see what we post! Similarly, parents can model good social media etiquette – they shouldn’t be posting images of their children onto social media unless they have checked with their children first.

At this age, a social media experience should be a shared experience based around the parent’s account and taking opportunities to discuss privacy settings, what to do if there is a problem and the importance of giving careful consideration to what you post and who is able to see it!

What can parents do to help their kids socialise safely online?

Young children are not accountable for their safety online and so our first step as parents should be to understand the app, check the privacy settings, test it out, and feel confident that this is a place we want our child to be.

Check-in and see how they are using it, what they like, what they don’t like, and if we can help with anything. Discuss what it means to be a friend (face to face and online), why it’s important to be careful what we share with others, the potential impact of what we say and do, and how they might manage tricky situations like receiving a message that makes them sad or falling out with a friend.

Finally decide together a sensible amount of time to spend socialising online, and make sure it’s part of a balanced approach to building relationships and spending time with others.

Kate Jones

Deputy CEO of Childnet
Expert Website

What can parents do to help their kids socialise safely online?
The online world can be a great place for children to stay connected, whether that’s with friends over the holidays or family who live far away. Whilst they’re using technology there are a few key things to keep in mind.
It’s important to have a conversation about who they’re talking to, and any rules or expectations you want to set; for example, are they allowed to join chats or games with friends of friends? Setting expectations beforehand is often easier than restricting use later.

Discuss when, where, and for how long they will use technology, agreeing together on acceptable limits and behaviours. For example, you could decide that technology is only used in a shared family space, or in bedrooms with the door open. A family agreement can help your family decide what’s right for you. And remember, it’s vital to let your child know that they can speak with you if anything happens online that worries or upsets them.

Write the comment

Scroll Up