如何与儿童谈论#BlackLivesMatter,网上仇恨和种族主义

抗议活动是对一名名叫乔治·弗洛伊德(George Floyd)的人在美国被警察拦下后死亡的反应而开始的。 在此之前,示威游行席卷了美国和英国的多个城市,警察和示威者之间发生了几次抗议和暴力冲突。

因此,重要的是要确保对媒体和在线仇恨与种族主义中的这些图像感到沮丧的儿童和年轻人,获得父母或照顾者的支持以应对。


在网上解决种族主义问题时,我可以扮演什么角色来帮助我的孩子分享和安全地表达自己的意见?

作为混血儿父母,我们一直在讨论种族问题,但是,在最近几周中,这种感觉和讨论不断增多。 我儿子很想告诉我他正在玩一个网络游戏,其中提到了“黑色生活”,他告诉另一个孩子他是黑人。 他很高兴,因为他们然后“赠予他宠物”。 我很放心,这是结果(我们必须聊聊与谁在线交谈),但是这表明孩子们非常了解当前的环境,这些讨论正在他们的在线世界中进行。

我给父母的建议是不要等到种族和种族歧视。 在聊天和帖子中讨论它如何在线出现,您的孩子可能看到什么以及他们想分享什么。 孩子们会看到肯定的,积极的满足感,但也可能会受到偏见和仇恨的影响(那里有很多)。 我们必须用知识武装他们,以便他们能够庆祝自己是谁并肯定黑人的生活,但随时准备发现仇恨并与我们分享任何忧虑。

Sajda Mughal OBE

JAN Trust的首席执行官,活动家和顾问
专家网站

当我的孩子在网上看到有关世界各地种族主义的令人沮丧的图像时,我该怎么做才能解决我的孩子所感到的焦虑和沮丧?

进行有关种族主义的对话的第一个地方是完全诚实。 这的确意味着要有适合年龄的解释,这个问题必须并且不能忽略。 通过开始适合年龄的对话,可以为儿童理解复杂而困难的现实提供有用的框架。 忽视这一点将给孩子们画画的机会,这可能会给孩子一个无助的框架,帮助他们理解困难的现实。 如果父母保持沉默,孩子们将对情况及其发生的原因得出自己经常不正确的结论,这可能非常危险。

认识到孩子的感觉并允许他们表达这些感觉,以及提供一种以健康且有意义的方式表达这些情绪的方法,这一点非常重要。 这可能包括儿童可能采取的解决社会不公正行为的措施,或者他们可能参与竞选活动或谈论见证社会不公正现象的应对方法。

写下评论

向上滚动

How to talk about #BlackLivesMatter, online hate & racism with children

The protests began in reaction to the death of a man named George Floyd in Minneapolis, the U.S after he was stopped by police. This followed several protests and some violent clashes between police and protesters – as demonstrations swept across cities in the US and also in the UK.

So it’s important to ensure children and young people who are feeling distressed by these images in the media and online hate and racism, have support from their parents or carers about how to cope.


What role can I play to help my child share and express themselves safely when it comes to addressing issues around racism online?

As parents of mixed-race children we have always discussed race – however, feelings and discussions have amplified over recent weeks. My son was eager to tell me he was playing an online game where Black Lives Matter was mentioned and he told another child he was black. He was beaming because they then ‘gifted him pets’. I was relieved this was the outcome (we had to have a chat about who we talk to online), but it shows children are well aware of the current environment and these discussions are playing out in their online world.

My advice to parents is don’t wait to talk about race and racism. Talk about how it might come up online in chats and in posts, what your child might see, and what they may want to share. Children will see affirming, positive content, but may also be exposed to prejudice and hate (there’s a lot of it out there). We must arm them with knowledge so they can celebrate who they are and affirm black lives, but be ready to spot hate and share any worries with us.

Sajda Mughal OBE

CEO of JAN Trust, Campaigner and Consultant
Expert Website

What can I do to address any anxiety and frustration that my children feel when seeing upsetting images online regarding racism around the world?

The first place to start a conversation regarding racism is with complete honesty. This indeed means an age-appropriate explanation, the issue must, and cannot be ignored. Beginning an age-appropriate conversation allows for the development of a useful frame for children to understand complex and difficult realities. Ignoring this leaves open the opportunity for children to draw their own, which potentially can give children an unhelpful frame for understanding difficult realities. If parents are silent, children will draw their own often incorrect conclusions about a situation and why it is happening, this is potentially very dangerous.

It is further important to acknowledge the child’s feelings and allow them to express these feelings, as well as, providing ways to express these emotions in a healthy and meaningful way. This may include potential actions children can take to tackle social injustices or ways they may be able to get involved in campaigns or talking about ways to cope when they witness social injustices.

Write the comment

Scroll Up