As it’s the start of the year, it’s great to do some digital spring cleaning. If you or your kids stop using a social network site, app, platform or website, it is a good idea to deactivate or delete these. Having too many digital accounts raises your risk of data being misused or stolen. So, we have provided steps on how to delete or deactivate some of the popular apps/ platforms.
You can reactivate your account at any time by logging back into Facebook or by using your Facebook account to log in somewhere else. You’ll need to have access to the email or mobile number you use to log in to complete the reactivation.
Please note: Some things may remain visible (for example private messages you have sent).
On Twitter, you can deactivate your account – it deletes permanently after 30 days. During this time your account is deactivated.
Temporarily disabling your account means your profile, photos, comments and likes will be hidden. You can reactivate your account by logging back in.
Please note, deleted accounts cannot be recovered or reactivated in future.
Deactivation is not available on Snapchat, but you can permanently delete your account. It will take 30 days for the deletion to take place – and during this time your account will be deactivated.
You are only able to permanently delete your account on TikTok.
Once you delete your account it is permanent and can’t be recovered at any point. You will no longer be able to log in, all videos will be lost and purchased items. Shared information and messages may still be visible to other
Google owns YouTube, and so your Google account is linked to your YouTube channel. You don’t need a channel to use YouTube. It may be a good idea to delete it to limit data collection while keeping your Google account.
In 2016, hackers leaked the login credentials for 360 million accounts, including many that had been. In response, Myspace invalidated those accounts’ passwords, so you may need to use the ‘Forgot Password’ tool if you want to delete your account.