我的孩子正在积极寻求粉丝在线建立品牌,我该如何保证他们的安全?

随着Instagram和Snapchat等图像共享平台的发展,青少年开始将自己视为品牌而非个人在线。 为了帮助父母了解如何帮助孩子管理他们的数字福利,我们的专家将对他们的发展趋势有所了解。


Linda Papadopoulos博士

心理学家和互联网事务大使
专家网站

这种社会曝光会对儿童的数字健康产生什么影响?

几年前,我为政府做了一份报告 年轻人的性别化和客观化。 在其中,我回顾了研究表明,将自己视为一个对象,作为一种被他人消费的东西,使年轻人感到焦虑,脆弱,并对他们的自尊和整体福祉产生影响。

该报告在2010上发布,从那以后,社交媒体平台上的年轻人数量激增 - 并且随之而来的感觉就是他们的展示,他们的照片,评论和生活在那里供全世界消费和评论上。

虽然社交媒体当然可以在年轻人的生活中发挥积极作用,允许他们与朋友联系并分享经验,但也有可能感受到他们为这些人创造(通常是为了他人)的人格。站点。 这就是为什么你要对你的孩子谈论他们对数字身份的投入以及保护他们如何允许他人消费它的重要性 - 谈论如何限制喜欢的追逐以及如何在情感上加重尝试和描绘了他们的外表或他们的生活的理想版本。

你越是让年轻人批判性地思考他们如何与他们的在线身份互动,他们就会越有弹性,无论是在线还是在线。

本博尔顿

在线健康研究负责人,HeadStart Kernow
专家网站

家长如何鼓励孩子利用可用的新平台来帮助管理他们的数字福祉?

知道你的孩子正在遭受痛苦是父母必须处理的最艰难的事情之一。 知道他们的斗争与心理健康有关,对许多人来说可能是可怕的。 作为一个社会,我们已经习惯于处理身体健康,但我们仍然很难公开谈论心理健康。

作为父母,你可以发挥巨大的作用。 只是在那里,倾听和支持似乎是一件小事,但它是你能做的最重要的事情,它将产生巨大的变化。 尽可能努力,不经判断地倾听,保持冷静,并试图从他们的角度看问题。

此外,您还可以采取其他措施来支持您的孩子。 在线提供大量支持,鼓励并支持您的孩子从中受益。 您可能会感到无助,但您可以通过以下方式提供帮助:

让他们知道他们有选择权,在线支持就是其中之一。 一种尺寸不适合所有,但你会找到帮助的资源。

利用您的经验寻找值得信赖和可靠的在线资源。 不幸的是,并非你在网上找到的一切都是可信的。 从您认可的名称开始。

和他们一起去旅行吧。 如果他们需要支持以从在线工具中受益,请与他们并肩公开谈话。

最重要的是,保持沟通并作为他们的安全网在线,而他们感觉不太好。

写下评论

向上滚动

My child is actively seeking followers to build a brand online, how can I keep them safe?

With the growth of image sharing platforms such as Instagram and Snapchat, teens have begun to see themselves more as brands rather than individuals online. To help parents understand how to help children manage their digital wellbeing, our experts give their insight on the growing trend.


Dr. Linda Papadopoulos

Psychologist and Internet Matters Ambassador
Expert Website

What impact can this exposure on social have on children’s digital wellbeing?

A few years ago, I did a report for the Government on the sexualisation and objectification of young people. In it I reviewed research that suggested that seeing one’s self as an object, as a thing to be consumed by others, made young people feel anxious, vulnerable and had an impact on their self-esteem and overall well-being.

That report came out in 2010 and since then the amount of young people on social media platforms has exploded – and with it so has the feeling that they are on display, that their photos, comments and lives are there for the world to consume and comment on.

While social media can certainly have a positive function in a young person’s life, allowing them to connect with friends and share experiences, there is also the potential to feel beholden to the persona that they are creating (often for the sake of others) on these sites. That’s why its vital that you speak to your child about how invested they are in their digital identity and being protective of how they allow others to consume it- talk about how constricting the chasing of likes can be and how emotionally taxing  it is to try and portray an ideal version of their looks or indeed their life.

The more you get young people to think critically about how they engage with their online identities the more resilient they will be, both online and off.

Ben Bolton

Online Wellbeing Research Lead , HeadStart Kernow
Expert Website

How can parents encourage children to make use of the new platforms available to help manage their digital well-being?

Knowing that your child is suffering is one of the hardest things a parent ever has to deal with. Knowing that their struggle relates to mental health can be terrifying for many. As a society, we have become used to dealing with physical health, but we still struggle to talk openly about mental health.

As a parent, you can make a huge difference. Just being there, listening and supporting may seem like a small thing, but it is the most important thing you can do, and it will make a huge difference. As hard as it may be, listen without judgement, remain calm and try to see things from their perspective.

In addition, there are other things you can do to support your child. There is a huge amount of support available online, encourage and support your child to benefit from these. You may be feeling helpless, but you can help in the following ways:

Let them know they have options, online support being one of them. One size does not fit all but together you will find the resources to help.

Use your experience to seek out the trustworthy and reliable online sources. Unfortunately, not everything you find online is credible. Start with the names you recognise.

Go on the journey with them. If they need support to benefit from online tools, be alongside them and talk openly.

Above all, keep communicating and be available as their safety net online whilst they are not feeling so good.

Write the comment

Scroll Up