辅助功能:适合所有人的视频游戏

我们的常驻技术专家安迪·罗伯逊(Andy Robertson)概述了可应用于视频游戏的一些关键内容,以使它们对于那些可能有其他学习需求和残疾的热衷游戏玩家的家庭更加有吸引力。

正如Internet事项的一般读者所知道的,该站点提供了广泛而灵活的可访问性设置,使您可以调整对比度,文本,光标和页面结构。 网站上的这种规定是突飞猛进的。

鲜为人知的是视频游戏在提供包容性设计或设置方面所取得的进步,使更多人可以享受这些体验。 电子游戏提供难度设置,调整游戏显示方式和声音听起来的能力。 它们还可以提供不同的控制方式,包括可用于减少电机功能的方案。

面临的挑战可能是找到哪些游戏提供对您和您的家人有用的这些设置。 的 家庭视频游戏数据库 提供一种搜索符合您特定条件的游戏的方法。 这可能是 不需要年轻玩家阅读的游戏,提供字幕的游戏或具有高对比度模式的游戏。

游戏难度

这些设置不仅可以调整游戏的难度,还可以调整向玩家呈现挑战的方式。 一些游戏使您可以从预设的难度级别中进行选择,而其他游戏则提供一系列可自定义的设置和辅助模式。

游戏中阅读量

游戏中的阅读量可以极大地改变体验。 电子游戏设计中有许多标准可以提供不同阅读量的体验。 同样,游戏可以提供完整的配音或带字幕的旁白和对话。 在有字幕的地方,某些游戏还会在背景中提供字幕说明,以表明谁在讲话,他们的语气和其他声音。

可用于玩游戏的控件

游戏本质上是互动的。 如何实现这些交互取决于它们提供给我们的控制方案。 这些可以设计为简单或复杂。 它们还可以提供设置以确保诸如按下按钮或快速按下按钮之类的操作不会妨碍操作。

无障碍视频游戏图像设计

电子游戏的外观是我们了解游戏世界正在发生的事情的重要方式。 不同的视觉风格和技术可能以不同的方式实现这一目标。 如果您有视力障碍,晕车或色盲敏感性,游戏如何指示交互作用或前进的方向很重要。

音讯控制

电子游戏还使用声音来指示游戏中发生的事情。 无论是设置场景的背景氛围还是在拐角处听到其他玩家的脚步,音频都是游戏的关键要素。 能够根据您的要求调整音频,以及提供在播放关键音频时突出显示的视觉提示,也很有用。

游戏中的通讯选项

当然,视频游戏通常是在线的并且与其他人一起玩,而不是在同一房间。 与他们进行有效的交流通常是能够玩视频游戏的关键要素。 有许多功能和设置可以帮助进行这种交互。

掌握了这些信息,您可以找到更广泛的人可以使用的游戏。 将其与有关适当的PEGI等级以及您的房屋中使用的系统的信息结合在一起,您可以找到一系列有趣的游戏,并且适合您孩子的年龄。

向上滚动

Accessibility: Video games designed for everyone

Our resident tech expert Andy Robertson outlines some of the key things that can be applied on video games to make them more engaging for families with keen gamers who may have additional learning needs and disabilities.

As regular readers of Internet Matters will know, the site provides extensive and flexible accessibility settings to enable you to adjust contrast, text, cursor and page structure. This kind of provision on websites has come on leaps and bounds.

Lesser known is the progress being made by video games to offer inclusive design or setting that enable more people to enjoy these experiences. Video games offer difficulty settings, the ability to adjust how the game is displayed and how it sounds. They can also offer different ways to be controlled, including schemes that can be used with reduced motor function.

The challenge can be finding which games offer these settings that are useful to you and your family. The Family Video Game Database provides a way to search for games that meet your specific criteria. This could be games that don’t require reading for a younger player, games that offer subtitles or games that have high contrast modes.

Level of difficulty of the game

These settings adjust not only how hard a game is, but the way that challenge is presented to the player. Some games enable you to select from pre-set difficulty levels while others provide a customisable series of settings and assistance modes.

Amount of reading in-game

The amount of reading in a game can greatly change the experience. There are a number of criteria in video game design that offer an experience with different amounts of reading. Equally, games can provide this narration and dialogue as fully voiced or subtitled. Where there are subtitles, some games also provide a caption indication of who is speaking, their tone and other sounds in the background.

Controls available to play the game

Games are, by their nature, interactive. How these interactions are achieved depends on the control scheme they offer us. These may be designed to be simple or complex. They may also provide settings to ensure that things like holding down buttons, or rapidly pressing buttons aren’t a barrier from proceeding.

Accessible video game image design

How a video game looks is an important way for us to understand what is happening in the game world. Different visual styles and techniques may achieve this in different ways. How a game signposts interactions or the way forward is important if you have a visual impairment, motion sickness or colourblind sensitivities.

Audio controls

Video games also use sounds to signpost what is happening in the game. Whether this is a background ambience that sets the scene or hearing the footsteps of another player around a corner, audio is a crucial element of a game. Being able to adjust the audio for your requirements, as well as a provision of visual cues that highlight when key audio is played, is also useful.

Communication options in gameplay

Of course, video games are often online and played with other people, not in the same room. Communicating with them effectively is often a critical element of being able to play a video game. There are a number of features and settings that can aid this interaction.

With this information in hand, you can find games that are more accessible to a wide range of people. Combine this with information about the appropriate PEGI ratings and which System you have in your house, and you can find a set of games that are a lot of fun and will work for the ages of your children.

Scroll Up