在线管理孩子的数据时应该注意些什么?

如果您的家人正在使用更多平台来保持联系并管理儿童的教育,则您可能对这些站点上的数据和隐私有疑问。 请参阅有关您需要了解的专家建议。


互联网上与儿童数据相关的风险有两种。 一种是商业的。 另一个与可能威胁儿童的人身安全和福祉有关。

顺便说一句,我们都知道“数据是新的石油”这一表达。 互联网已成为当今世界运作方式的核心部分。 在线销售或提供越来越多的商品和服务,销售或提供商品和服务的公司希望将广告投放到潜在客户的面前。 为此,他们需要信息,数据,人们的品味,对什么东西感兴趣。他们可以从数据经纪人处购买或获取此类数据,或者将在Facebook或Instagram等在线平台上做广告。已经完成了对它们的筛选,分类和分类。

考虑到儿童的人身安全,欺凌者或恋童癖者通常会去与在线游戏或网络上其他互动空间相关的聊天区域,寻找可能共享过多自身信息的人,也许会发出信号,表明他们感到孤独或无聊,或两者兼而有之。 在锁定中,人们非常担心这种情况正在增加。

有什么措施可以保护我的孩子免受数字数据收集的侵害?

这次采用相反的顺序,第一个建议是最明显的,而且通常也是最难的。 坐下来,与您的孩子讨论不要在“外面”放置过多玩具的重要性,尤其是在他们不会也不知道可能参与游戏的所有人的环境中。

他们需要特别谨慎,以让他们知道自己的住所,去哪所学校,电话号码,社交媒体的处理方式等信息。 如果您还必须在家工作或照顾一个以上的孩子,则在锁定方面可能会更加困难,请确保将无聊的可能性降到最低。 有 软件位 您可以加载到孩子的设备上,这些设备可以帮助监视孩子的活动,而不必让您“窥探”所有事情-他们可以向您发送文本警报,以便您查看出来-并且他们不允许电话号码或显示在屏幕上的电子邮件地址。

在商业方面,有一些被称为广告拦截器的东西,您可以将网络浏览器设置为“不跟踪”或使用无论如何都不收集此类数据的浏览器。 上述某些程序还会阻止所有金融交易或向您发送文本警报,因此您可以再次检查它,然后再决定是否继续进行。 谁说做父母很容易?

Elizabeth Milovidov博士,Esq

法律教授和数字育儿专家
专家网站

如果我在在线平台上开设帐户,该怎么办s 通常使用我的或我孩子的数据? 

平台通常会收集有关其用户的数据,以了解有关您和您的在线偏好的更多信息。 数据可用于帮助平台改善其服务以及帮助平台为您调整广告。

网站可能收集的数据类型可以包括您的位置,使用的设备类型以及cookie(保存您的网站设置记录的小文件)。 Cookies可能特别有趣(或有问题),因为它们也可以告诉您喜欢和不喜欢以及您一直在和谁聊天。

有什么措施可以保护我的孩子免受数字数据收集的侵害?

许多孩子可能从出生开始就有在线存在,甚至早于 父母共享产前检查 并在社交媒体上记录。 父母要对现有的有关子女的许多数据负责,父母需要对子女的声誉和足迹负责任的数字监护人。 为了保护您的孩子免于数字数据收集,父母需要了解在线隐私的基本知识。

  • 关闭位置跟踪。
  • 将您的隐私设置调整为最大隐私。
  • 查看在线平台的在线隐私政策。
  • 教您的孩子不要盲目“点击并接受”平台的条款以玩游戏或上网。
  • 为孩子使用正确的年龄和帐户位置,因为成人和儿童可能适用不同的规则,欧洲不同国家/地区可能会有不同的规则。
  • 提醒您的孩子保持个人信息私密性的重要性。

在哪里可以找到有关数据保护和隐私的更多资源?

通常,每个社交媒体和游戏平台都将包含使用该平台的条款和条件。 该法律语言将突出显示如何使用和保护您的数据,以及使用该平台可以期望的隐私程度。

如果您不熟悉或不确定某些事情,则应联系客户服务或为此目的提供的联系信息。 大多数技术公司都在努力改善用户体验和用户安全,因此很高兴为您提供帮助。

ICO发布《行为准则》 为了在2020年XNUMX月在线保护儿童的隐私,该法规规定了负责设计,开发或提供在线服务(如应用程序,联网玩具,社交媒体平台,在线游戏,教育网站和流媒体服务)的人员的标准。 它涵盖了儿童可能访问并处理其数据的服务。

写下评论

向上滚动

What should I be aware of when managing my child’s data online?

If your family is using more platforms to stay connected and manage children’s education, you may have questions around data and privacy on these sites. See expert advice on what you need to know.


John Carr

Online safety expert
Expert Website

There are two kinds of risks associated with children’s data on the internet. One is commercial. The other is connected with possible threats to a child’s physical safety and well-being.

Taking them in turn, we all know the expression “Data is the new oil”. The internet has become a central part of the way the world now works. More and more goods and services are being sold or provided online and the companies that sell or provide them want to place their advertisements in front of potential customers. To do this they need information, data, about the kind of tastes people have, what kind of things they are interested in. They can either buy or acquire such data from data brokers or they will advertise on online platforms such as Facebook or Instagram who have already pretty much done the sifting, sorting, and categorizing for them.

In relation to a child’s physical safety, bullies or paedophiles will often go to chat areas linked with online games, or other interactive spaces on the web looking out for someone who is perhaps sharing too much information about themselves, perhaps sending out a signal that they are lonely or bored, or both. In lockdown, there is a great fear that this has been on the increase.

Are there steps I can take to protect my children from digital data collection?

Taking them in reverse order this time, the first recommendation is the most obvious and often also the hardest. Sit down and talk to your children about the importance of not putting too much “out there”, particularly in environments where they will not and cannot know everyone who might be involved in a game.

They need to be particularly careful about letting slip information about where they live, what school they go to, telephone numbers, social media handles, that kind of thing. Maybe even harder in lockdown if you also have to work or look after more than one child at home, try to make sure the possibility of getting bored is minimised. There are bits of software you can load on to your children’s devices that can help monitor what they are up to without necessarily allowing you to “spy” on everything – they can send you a text alert so you can check it out – and they won’t allow telephone numbers or email addresses to appear on screen.

On the commercial aspect, there are things called ad-blockers and you can set your web browser to “do not track” or use a browser that doesn’t collect that kind of data anyway. Some of the programmes mentioned above will also block all financial transactions or send you a text alert so once again you can check it out before deciding whether or not to let it proceed. Who said being a parent was easy?

Dr. Elizabeth Milovidov, Esq

Law Professor and Digital Parenting Expert
Expert Website

If I open an account on an online platform how do sites typically use mine or my child’s data? 

Platforms will typically collect data about their users in order to learn more about you and your online preferences.  The data can be used to help the platform improve its services as well as help the platform finetune advertisements for you.

The types of data that a website may collect can include your location, what type of device you are using, and cookies (small files that keep records of your site settings).  Cookies can be particularly interesting (or problematic) because they can also tell your likes and dislikes and who you’ve been talking to.

Are there steps I can take to protect my children from digital data collection?

Many children may have an online presence from their birth or even earlier as parents share pre-natal scans and records on social media.  Parents are responsible for much of the data that is out there regarding their children and parents need to act as responsible digital guardians of their children’s reputation and footprint. In order to protect your child from digital data collection, parents need to understand the fundamentals of online privacy.

  • Turn off location tracking.
  • Adjust your privacy settings to maximum privacy.
  • Review online privacy policies of online platforms.
  • Teach your children to not blindly “click and accept” a platform’s terms in order to play or get online.
  • Use the correct age and location on the accounts for your children because different rules may apply for adults and children and there may be different rules in different European countries.
  • Remind your children of the importance of keeping personal information private.

Where I can find more resources on data protection and privacy?

As a general rule, every social media and gaming platform will contain terms and conditions for using the platform.  That legal language will highlight how your data is used and protected and what degree of privacy you can expect from using the platform.

If there is something that you are unfamiliar with or uncertain about, you should reach out to customer service or the contact information provided for that purpose.  The majority of technology companies are trying to improve the user experience and user safety, so they will be pleased to assist you.

ICO publishes Code of Practice to protect children’s privacy online in January 2020 and the code sets out the standards expected of those responsible for designing, developing or providing online services like apps, connected toys, social media platforms, online games, educational websites and streaming services. It covers services likely to be accessed by children and which process their data.

Write the comment

Scroll Up