适合年龄的设计规范和您的孩子 | 互联网事务

适合年龄的设计规范对我的孩子意味着什么?

Internet Matters 的专家小组分享了他们对适龄设计规范及其对使用在线服务的儿童意味着什么的看法。

安全地在线浏览的年轻女孩


卡尔·霍普伍德

独立的在线安全专家
专家网站

对于大多数人来说,适龄设计规范并没有多大意义——只是我们不太关注的另一项立法。 然而,从在线安全的角度来看,该准则很重要,因为它要求科技公司确保他们的平台和服务对儿童和年轻人更安全。

许多主要参与者已经开始进行更改,Instagram 将所有儿童帐户默认设置为私人帐户,并要求提供出生日期才能登录。 TikTok 正在为 16 岁以下的用户执行此操作,并且还将在晚上 9 点之后停止发送通知给 16 岁以下的用户。当然,这很大程度上取决于用户在注册时输入出生日期时是否诚实,我们知道并非总是如此! 但是,简而言之,该准则将推动公司为儿童及其数据提供具体保护,应该受到欢迎。 违规者可能会面临高达全球营业额 4% 的巨额罚款,许多大型科技公司已经实施了变革,不仅在英国,而且在全球范围内,这必须有利于儿童和年轻人。

适合年龄的设计规范 终于在2号全面生效nd 2021 年 XNUMX 月。这是英国的又一个世界第一。

负责执行本准则规定的机构是英国主要的隐私保护机构信息专员办公室 (ICO)。

这给了我们一个线索。 该准则完全是关于儿童数据,更具体地说,是关于在线企业如何合法收集和使用儿童数据。 许多在线企业收集数据是为了了解他们的客户可能有兴趣购买或使用哪些类型的广告或服务。 但是,如果他们的客户是儿童,则是有限制的。 守则解释了它们。

ICO 产生了一些顶级资源,帮助企业了解他们的新职责是什么,以及如何履行这些职责。 但是 ICO 也遇到了很多麻烦来提供一些非常深思熟虑的方案 为父母和孩子提供建议和指导。

该守则包含 15种不同的标准. 从父母的角度来看,关键之一是  标准4. 这要求企业解释他们收集什么数据以及他们如何使用这些数据,但是——这是一个非常重要的一点——如果他们的客户是儿童或可能是儿童,无论他们正在做什么或打算做什么,都必须以适合其年龄的方式进行解释语。 期待看到更多的卡通、象形图和图画。

Sajda Mughal OBE

JAN Trust的首席执行官,活动家和顾问
专家网站

The Age-Appropriate Design Code 是一套适合年龄的规则和标准,用于在英国使用互联网时根据数据保护法保护儿童的数据隐私。 这些标准包括考虑儿童的最大利益、平衡儿童隐私权与任何披露数据的需要的影响评估,以及默认最强的隐私设置。

该准则适用于“儿童可能访问的信息社会服务”,因此强制大多数付费在线服务为儿童实施强大的个人隐私和安全设置,以他们能够理解的语言提供数据保护的解释,并避免推荐有害的内容。

因此,这将为儿童创造一个更安全的在线环境,根据年龄和重视他们最大利益的方式适当对待他们,而不是将儿童作为数据和统计数据的来源。

写下评论

向上滚动

The Age-Appropriate Design Code and your child | Internet Matters

What does the Age-Appropriate Design Code mean for my child?

Internet Matters’ expert panel shares their thoughts about the Age-Appropriate Design Code and what it means for children using online services.

Young girl browsing safely online


Karl Hopwood

Independent online safety expert
Expert Website

For most people, the Age-Appropriate Design Code doesn’t mean much – just another piece of legislation that we don’t pay much attention to. However, from an online safety point of view, the Code is important as it mandates tech companies to ensure that their platforms and services are safer for children and young people.

Many of the key players have already started to make changes with Instagram setting all child accounts to private by default and asking for a date of birth in order to log in. TikTok are doing this for users under 16 and will also stop sending notifications after 9pm to users under 16. Of course, much of this is dependent on users being honest when entering their date of birth at sign up, something we know does not always happen! But, in short, the Code will push companies to give specific protections for children and their data and should be welcomed. Non-compliance can be met with hefty fines of up to 4% of global turnover and many of the big tech companies have already implemented changes, not just in the UK but globally, which has to be good for children and young people.

John Carr

Online Safety Expert
Expert Website

The Age-Appropriate Design Code finally came fully into force on 2nd September 2021. It’s another world first for the UK.

The body responsible for enforcing the provisions of the Code is the Information Commissioner’s Office (ICO), Britain’s principal privacy protection agency.

That gives us a clue. The Code is all about children’s data or, more particularly, how online businesses can lawfully collect and use children’s data.  Data are collected by many online businesses in order to know what kinds of advertisements or services their customers are likely to be interested in buying or using. But if their customers are children, there are limits. The Code explains them.

The ICO has produced some top-class resources which help businesses understand what their new responsibilities are, and how to discharge them. But the ICO has also gone to a lot of trouble to provide some really well thought-through advice and guidance for both parents and children.

The Code contains 15 different standards. From a parent’s perspective one of the key ones is  Standard 4. This requires businesses to explain what data they collect and how they use it but — and here’s a really important bit — if their customers are children or are likely to be children, whatever they are doing or proposing to do must be explained in age-appropriate language.  Expect to see many more cartoons, pictograms and drawings.

Sajda Mughal OBE

CEO of JAN Trust, Campaigner and Consultant
Expert Website

The Age-Appropriate Design Code is a set of rules and standards, tailored to age, that protect children’s data privacy under data protection laws when using the internet in the UK. The standards include taking account of children’s best interest, an impact assessment balancing the privacy rights of a child with any need to disclose data, and defaulting to the strongest privacy settings.

The Code applies to “information society services likely to be accessed by children” and therefore compels most paid online services to implement strong personal privacy and security settings for children, provide explanations of data protection in language that they will understand, and refrain from recommending harmful content.

This will therefore result in a safer online environment for children where they are treated appropriately according to age and in a way that values their best interests, instead of using children as a source of data and statistics.

Write the comment

Scroll Up