在大流行期间管理在线身份和社交互动

互联网事务专家小组分享了他们对该流行病如何影响儿童的在线身份和社交互动的看法。


Sajda Mughal OBE

JAN Trust的首席执行官,活动家和顾问
专家网站

在考虑如何使互联网更安全时,我们还应该考虑这种流行病如何改变了许多人,尤其是年轻人与社交媒体的关系。 现在,它通常是与我们家庭之外的任何人进行娱乐或交流的唯一来源。

儿童在探索世界并尝试建立自己的身份时极易受到不当影响。 随着社交媒体越来越受欢迎,年轻人很容易被看似“受欢迎”的东西或假设每个人都是“朋友”所吸引,特别是当孩子们不能出门体验“现实世界”时。 后者对年幼的孩子来说更成问题,他们对网络世界的不现实性的了解甚至更少。 因此,保护​​儿童免受伤害至关重要 在线危险.

父母可以从在互联网上设置强大的安全设置开始。 除此之外,还需要长期的方法。 我们必须教给孩子有关在线安全,维护隐私的重要性以及应注意的事项。 对于某些人来说,技术是一个未知的实体,这没关系; 有很多帮助资源,例如此站点。 Web GuardiansTM 编程者 JAN Trust例如,授权母亲保护自己的孩子免受网络危险。

卡尔·霍普伍德

独立的在线安全专家
专家网站

COVID-19以某种方式改变了我们的整个生活,就互联网和 社会化媒体。 由于明显的原因,我们大多数人都会发现我们在网上花费的时间越来越多,尤其是在当前的锁定期间。

对于儿童和年轻人来说,这是他们与朋友保持联系并拥有最重要的互动和时间进行社交和追赶的唯一途径。 就是说,许多人都在努力寻找平衡–他们想与学校的朋友社交,但是当他们整天上在线课程时,对于某些人来说,他们发现很难立即与朋友一起进入另一个在线空间。 确实,许多年轻人在上课时都在谈论双重放映-他们不仅与班级联系在一起,而且还与朋友进行平行对话或在线观看其他(与学校无关的)内容。

社交媒体通常是我们分享生活中精彩,编辑精采的地方,在这里庆祝最美好的时刻,同时也在困难时期寻求安慰。 许多年轻人将在这些平台上试验自己的身份,并使用相对匿名性来突破界限,并测试他人对他们可能做或说的事情的反应。 令人遗憾的是,人们在离线世界中会说或做的事情与在线可能发生的事情之间通常会存在重大差异。 我们可能会失去在线上的束缚,有时表现出的行为就像站在别人面前一样。

社交媒体无疑会影响我们所有人-有时会变得更好,但绝对不会总是如此。 最近几天英超联赛足球运动员的令人震惊的虐待以及汤姆队长及其家人的巨魔证明了这一点。 显而易见的是,我们在网上说和做的事已成为我们在线声誉中越来越重要的一部分,互联网也不会轻易忘记! 周六晚上坐在舒适的起居室里,在社交媒体上发表评论非常容易,但有时会产生长期和意想不到的后果。

Parven Kaur

Kids N Clicks的创始人
专家网站

在锁定期间禁止互动受限的情况下,孩子们转向社交媒体与朋友保持联系。 当前对运动的限制可能会对人们的心理健康产生不利影响。 因此,社交网络平台在帮助儿童建立社交联系方面变得越来越重要。

爱好和兴趣也已尽可能转移到虚拟事件上。 许多孩子积极玩多人视频游戏或尝试在线健身课。 然后,这些内容将在社交媒体上共享。

随着社交媒体平台的兴起 TikTok 许多年轻用户在平台上分享创造力。 很自然地希望在锁定期间可以在线共享的内容数量会增加。

尽管社交媒体是使人们团结一致的有用工具,但它也可能对儿童产生负面影响,具体取决于他们所接触的内容。 因此,父母应始终与孩子一起检查并了解他们的感受。 现在在锁定期间更是如此。

另外,随着年轻用户在线共享更多内容,重要的是不要忘记这将影响他们的在线身份。 警惕在线上发布的所有内容始终是一个好习惯。 分享积极性。 例如, 许多孩子在锁定期间利用他们的时间为他们相信的事业筹款。

尽管社交媒体可以成为大流行期间的重要生命线,但仍建议对数字媒体进行适度的消费。 遵循指南,鼓励孩子至少花一定时间进行户外活动。 对于年幼的孩子,鼓励激动 放大 与他们的朋友的会议。 另外,请避免在就寝前使用屏幕时间,并注意他们在网上观看的内容。

 

写下评论

向上滚动

Managing online identity and social interactions during the pandemic

Internet Matters expert panel share their thoughts about how the pandemic is shaping children’s online identity and social interactions.


Sajda Mughal OBE

CEO of JAN Trust, Campaigner and Consultant
Expert Website

As we think about how to make the internet safer, we should also think about how this pandemic has changed the relationship many, especially young people, have with social media. It is now often the only source of entertainment or communication with anyone outside of our own households.

Children are extremely susceptible to undue influence as they explore the world and try to establish their own identities. As social media gains traction, it is very easy for young people to be consumed by what seems ‘popular’ or assuming that everyone is a ‘friend’, particularly when children cannot go outside to experience the ‘real world’. The latter is even more problematic for younger children, who have even less awareness of how unrealistic the online world is. It is therefore vital to protect children from online dangers.

Parents can begin with setting strong security settings on their internet. Beyond this, a long-term approach is needed. We must teach our children about online safety, the importance of maintaining privacy, and what to be wary of. For some, technology is an unknown entity, and that is ok; there are plenty of sources of help, like this site. The Web GuardiansTM programme by JAN Trust, for example, empowers mothers to protect their children from online dangers.

Karl Hopwood

Independent online safety expert
Expert Website

COVID-19 has changed all of our lives in some way and this is definitely true with regards to the internet and social media. For obvious reasons most of us will find that we are spending more and more time online, particularly during this current lockdown.

For children and young people, it is the only way for them to keep in touch with friends and have those all-important interactions and times to socialise and catch up. That said, many are struggling to find the balance – they want to socialise with school friends but when they have had online classes all day, for some, they find it hard to then immediately move into another online space with friends. Indeed many young people talk about dual-screening during lessons – they are connected to their class but are also having a parallel conversation with friends or watching some other (non-school related) content online.

Social media is often a place where we share the polished, edited highlights of our lives, somewhere to celebrate the best but also to seek comfort in difficult times. Many young people will experiment with their identity on these platforms and use the relative anonymity to push boundaries and test the reactions of others to things that they might do or say. Sadly there can often be a significant difference between the things that individuals would say or do in the offline world and what can happen online. We can lose our inhibitions online and sometimes behave in a way that we just wouldn’t if we were standing in front of someone.

Social media can undoubtedly influence all of us – sometimes for the better but absolutely not always. The shocking abuse of premier league footballers and the trolling of Captain Tom and his family in recent days is testament to that. What is clear is that what we say and do online forms an increasing part of our online reputation and the internet doesn’t easily forget! Sitting in the comfort of our living room on a Saturday evening, making a comment on social media is very easy but can sometimes have long-lasting and unintended consequences.

Parven Kaur

Founder of Kids N Clicks
Expert Website

With limited interaction prohibited during the lockdown children turn to social media to keep in touch with their friends. The current restriction on movement can have a detrimental impact on people’s mental health. Thus, social network platforms have become increasingly important in helping children to be socially connected.

Hobbies and interests have also moved to virtual events where possible. Many children actively play multiplayer video games or trying exercise classes online. These are then being shared on social media.

With the rise of social media platforms like TikTok many young users are sharing creativity on the platform. It is natural to expect that the number of contents that would be shared online would increase during the lockdown.

While social media can be a useful tool for keeping people united, it can also have negative effects on children, depending on the content they are exposed to. Hence, parents should always check in with their children and get to know how they are feeling. Even more so now during the lockdown.

Also, as young users share more content online, it is important to not forget that this will shape their online identity. It is always good practice to be wary of everything that is being posted online. Share positivity. For example, many children are using their time during lockdown to fundraise for a cause they believe in.

While social media can be a crucial lifeline during the pandemic, it is still recommended to have moderate digital consumption. Following the guidelines try to encourage children to at least spend a certain amount of time doing outdoor activities. For younger children encourage exciting Zoom sessions with their friends. Also, avoid using screen time before bedtime and be intentional with the content that they watch online.

 

Write the comment

Scroll Up