网络欺凌有多大可能发生在我的孩子身上,我该如何保护他们?

数字时代的育儿带来了一系列新的挑战,其中包括网络欺凌等问题。 我们的专家为您如何帮助您的孩子提供建议。


朱莉娅冯威勒

心理学家兼执行董事
专家网站

有多大可能发生在我的孩子身上?

不幸的是,许多研究表明,有20%至50%的儿童报告受到网络欺凌的影响。 考虑这一点意味着几乎每个孩子都会受到某种影响-被欺负自己,认识被欺负的人或被欺负另一个孩子的人的一部分。

因此,参与孩子的数字生活非常重要-了解数字设备,社交网站和Messenger应用程序如何改变了欺凌行为。 借助24小时的互联网特性,这使得欺凌者更容易接近受害者,并且难以摆脱。

在社交媒体上处理网络欺凌

阻止,报告可能会有所帮助,但父母可以指示孩子做更多事情来处理欺凌情况吗?

最好但也是最难遵循的建议是–立即对其进行公开讨论。 不要保持安静-如果您发表自己的看法,那么您就会摆脱欺负者的力量。 立即找到同盟,从朋友,父母,老师那里得到帮助-不要以为自己必须自己解决这个问题,最重要的是,不要相信恶霸对你说的可怕话。 它对他们的影响远大于对您的影响。 知道您并不孤单,帮助迫在眉睫。

什么时候认为网络欺凌是生活的一部分并在成长中变得可以接受?

网络欺凌从来都不是可以接受的-但是像所有形式的欺凌一样,将其勾销是所有年轻人都应该经历的一种通过仪式。 可能有一种趋势认为,儿童和青少年通过在网络上花费太多时间并与他人分享过多的生活而将自己带到自己身上。

孩子们往往不会区分他们在网上与离线之间的关系-对话通常是在学校,在线和返回时进行的。 但是,在网络世界中,成人的监督较少,看到或听到更有可能面对面挑战的内容(例如种族主义词语和仇视同性恋的言论)非常普遍。 事实是我们 所有 我们的在线生活越来越多 - 我们有责任清理我们的行为并采取行动打击网络欺凌和滥用行为。

如果我的孩子不想谈论被欺负怎么办?

创造一个安全的谈话空间

如果被欺负,大多数孩子往往会责备自己,并认为谈论它会使情况变得更糟,因为你会把“所有的枪支”闯入学校或网上进行整理。 因此,让孩子放心,就像他们生活的方方面面一样,无论如何,你都在那里,并创造一个开放和健康的空间来聊聊任何可能让他们担心的事情。

向他们保证,这绝不是他们的错,绝不允许恶霸逃脱它。

反复欺凌会导致严重的情感伤害,并会侵蚀孩子的自尊和心理健康。 无论欺凌是言语,身体,关系还是在线,长期影响同样有害。

学习警告标志

因此,是时候变得精明,了解网络欺凌的警告信号了,记住,欺凌总是故意的,卑鄙的,很少发生一次,而且总是存在权力失衡。 受害人无法自拔,常常需要成人帮助。

因此,与您的孩子谈谈并教他们如何保持在线安全,并鼓励他们在发现自己陷入困境或感到沮丧时来找您。

写下评论

向上滚动

How likely will cyberbullying happen to my child and how can I protect them?

Parenting in the digital age brings a new set of challenges that include issues such as cyberbullying. Our experts offer advice on how you can help your child deal with it.

Julia von Weiler

Julia von Weiler

Psychologist & Executive Director

Expert Website

How likely is it to happen to my child?

Unfortunately, many studies show that between 20 and 50 percent of children report being affected by cyberbullying. Thinking about it that means almost every child is somehow affected – either being bullied him/herself, knowing someone who is being bullied or being part of the group that bullies another child.

For this reason, it is important to be involved in your child’s digital life – and to understand how digital devices, social networking sites and messenger apps have changed bullying. It has made it easier for the bullies to get to their victims and difficult to get away from with the 24-hour nature of the internet.

Dealing with cyberbullying on social media

Blocking, reporting can help but is there anything more that parents can instruct a child to do to deal with a situation of bullying as it happens?

The best but also hardest advice to follow is – talk about it openly right away. Don’t keep quiet – if you voice yourself you take away from the power of the bullies. Go find allies right away, get help from friends, parents, teachers – don’t think you have to deal with this on your own and most importantly, don’t believe the terrible things bullies say about you. It reflects more on them than it does on you. Know you are not alone and help is around the corner.

Comment on article

When did it become acceptable to think that cyberbullying is part of life and growing up?

Cyberbullying is never acceptable – but like with all forms of bullying there can be a temptation to write it off as a rite of passage that all young people should expect to go through.  There might be a tendency to think that somehow children and teens bring it upon themselves by spending too much time online and sharing too much of their lives with others.

Children don’t tend to distinguish between their relationships on and offline – conversations are often carried from school, online and back again. But in the online world, there is less adult supervision and it is all too common to see or hear content that is more likely to be challenged face to face (e.g. racist words and homophobic views). The fact is we all live an increasing amount of our lives online – and we have a collective responsibility to clean up our act and take action against cyberbullying and abuse.

Comment on article

What can I do if my child doesn’t want to talk about being bullied?

Creating a safe space to talk

Most children tend to blame themselves if they have been bullied and think that talking about it will make it worse as you’ll go ‘all guns blazing’ into school or online to sort it out. So reassure your child, as in all aspects of their life, that you are there for them, no matter what, and create an open and healthy space to chat through anything that might be worrying them.

Reassure them that it’s never their fault and bullies must never be allowed to get away with it.

Repeated bullying causes severe emotional harm and can erode a child’s self-esteem and mental health. Whether bullying is verbal, physical, relational, or online the long-term effects are equally harmful.

Learning the warning signs

So it’s time to get savvy and learn the warning signs of cyberbullying, remembering that bullying is always intentional, mean-spirited, & rarely happens only once and there is always a power imbalance. The victim cannot hold their own and will often need adult help.

So talk and teach your child about how to stay safe online and encourage them to come to you if they find themselves feeling out of their depth or distressed.

Comment on article