孩子们回到学校时,关键的电子安全问题是什么?

进入第一学期的几周,您的孩子可能仍然会回到学校模式。 我们的专家小组随时为您提供有关如何支持他们的建议。

发短信社​​交媒体


网络欺凌 - 如何装备你的孩子来处理它?

回到学校可能是儿童可能更容易遭受网络欺凌的时候,父母让孩子有能力处理这些问题的最佳秘诀是什么?

学年始终是应对友谊的意义和适合自己的地方的时候。你的孩子会有同样的焦虑 - 但也有可能他们会考虑他们的在线人气以及他们如何与同龄人互动线上。 他们可能是第一次建立社交网络帐户,并将面临一些棘手的问题,例如分享自己多少以及人们可能对这些信息做些什么。

即使你不觉得技术娴熟,你也可以提供帮助。 谈论应该保持私密和珍贵的东西,以及他们可以轻松分享的内容。 谈论是什么让一个好朋友 - 无论是在线还是离线,谈论善意和尊重,以及他们如何在线上和线下处理冲突。 最重要的是让他们知道,如果出现问题,并且他们认为他们被欺负 - 无论是在线还是离线,你都可以提供帮助。

在学校在线保护他们

在保护网上儿童方面,学校有什么责任,您应该期望什么?

许多老师认为手机是诅咒。 它们通常小到可以毫无困难地隐藏它们的多种通信方式,更不用说高清摄像机了
现在已经内置,意味着当学生应该关注其他事情时,很容易想象它们会如何成为一种极大的分心。

当手机首次出现在学校时,一些负责人试图完全禁止它们。 最终很明显这太粗糙了。 移动设备已成为现代家庭运营方式的一部分。 出现了一条更为复杂的路线:如果电话响起或被视为在课程或大会期间被使用,则可能会被没收,至少在当天,有时父母需要参加收听电话。 这确保他们知道他们的儿子或女儿一直在做什么!

如果教师有任何理由相信,例如,手机可能包含色情图片,教师可以搜索孩子并抓住手机,即使孩子反对。

威尔加纳

英国更安全的互联网中心主任,更安全的互联网日协调员和Childnet的首席执行官
专家网站

让他们为社交媒体做好准备

随着孩子们开始上中学,现在是谈论社交媒体的关键时刻。 随着新的友谊团体在学校中的形成,这些关系也在网上发挥作用。 尽管Facebook,Instagram和Snapchat之类的应用程序的最低年龄限制为13岁,但加入社交网络还是有压力的。使用这些服务的孩子很可能会与许多新朋友建立联系,他们需要确保仅与他们认识的人并已激活隐私设置。

此外,随着友谊的变化,可能会发生网络欺凌和数字戏剧。 可能存在排斥他人或对他人卑鄙的压力,他们可能会发现自己处于这种行为的接受端。 孩子知道要寻求成年人的帮助并报告社交网络,这一点很重要。 如果您作为父母需要支持,那么学校可以为您提供真正的帮助。

卡梅尔格拉布鲁克

帮助热线从业者,专业人员在线安全热线
专家网站

性爱 - 这个问题有多大?

根据最近的报道,超过2,000的年轻人被报警报警。 当他们的孩子回到学校时,你会对可能担心这件事的父母说些什么?

首先,这句话引人误解,因为这些孩子可能不需要被定罪。 “如果您向我展示自己的东西,请告诉我”是儿童成长的自然而重要的部分,只是现在孩子们正在用手机而不是在自行车棚后面这样做。 父母需要与孩子就性/性交进行公开,透明的对话,如果发生任何事情,不要逃避。 如果您的孩子愿意告诉您,那是您完成工作的最大部分!

如果图像在网上找到了,几乎总是可以删除它们,尤其是18岁以下的儿童,因为这些都是非法图像。 关于不雅图像的法律是在70年代甚至还没有想到手机的情况下就制定的,因此无法考虑到儿童会迅速为自己创建“不雅图像”,幸运的是NCA创建了一个新的结果代码,这意味着警察仍然可以提供帮助,但不必将孩子定为犯罪。 在这些情况下,最重要的重点不应是图像,而应是所涉儿童获得的情感支持。 没有孩子希望父母看到或什至认为他们可能会拍这样的照片,所以请保持谅解并尝试将自己摆在自己的位置; 这仍然是几年前的行为,只是技术
改变。

写下评论

向上滚动

What are the key e-safety concerns as children head back to school?

Weeks into the first term of school, your child may still be settling into back to school mode. Our expert panel is on hand with advice on what you can do to support them.

Cyberbullying – how to equip your child to deal with it?

Back to school can be a time when children may be more at risk of cyberbullying, what are your top tips for parents to get their children equipped to deal with it?

The school years have always been a time to grapple with the meaning of friendship and where you fit in. Your child will have the same anxieties – but it’s also likely they’ll be thinking about their online popularity and how they interact with their peer group online. They may be setting up social network accounts for the first time and will face some tricky issues such as how much to share of themselves and what people might do with that information.

Even if you don’t feel that tech savvy, you can help. Talk about what should remain private and precious and what they can comfortably share. Talk about what makes a good friend – whether on or offline, talk about kindness and respect and how they might handle conflict both on and offline. Most importantly let them know that if something goes wrong, and they think they’re being bullied – whether on or offline, you are there to help.

Comment on article

Protecting them online at school

What is the responsibility of the school when it comes to safeguarding a child online, what should you expect?

A great many teachers regard mobiles as a curse. They are generally small enough to hide without any difficulty and their multiple ways of communicating, not to mention the high definition cameras that are
now built in, mean it is easy to imagine how they might become a source of great distraction when pupils ought to be paying attention to other matters.

When mobiles first started appearing in schools some Heads tried to ban them altogether. Eventually it became clear this was way too crude. Mobiles have become integral to how modern families operate. A more sophisticated line has emerged: if a phone rings or is seen being used during lessons or Assembly it is likely to be confiscated, at least for the day and sometimes a parent is required to attend to collect the phone. That makes sure they know what their son or daughter has been up to!

And if a teacher has any reason to believe that, for example, a mobile phone might contain pornographic images the teacher can search the child and seize the phone, even if the child objects.

Comment on article

Getting them ready for social media

With children starting secondary school, it’s a key time to talk about social media. As new friendship groups are forming in school these relationships are also playing out online. There can be pressure to join social networks, despite the fact that apps like Facebook, Instagram and Snapchat have a minimum age of 13. Children using those services are likely to be connecting with lots of new friends and they need to ensure they only connect with people they know in person and have activated privacy settings.

Furthermore, with friendships changing, cyberbullying and digital drama could occur. There can be a pressure to exclude or be mean to others, and they may find themselves on the receiving end of such behaviour. It’s important that children know to seek help from an adult and report on social networks. If you as a parent need support, then the school can be a real help here.

Comment on article
Carmel Glassbrook

Carmel Glassbrook

Helpline Practitioner, Professionals Online Safety Helpline

Expert Website

Sexting – how big is the problem?

According to recent reports, more than 2,000 youngsters were reported to the police for sexting. What would you say to parents who may be worried about this as their child heads back to school?

Firstly, this quote is wildly misleading as it’s probable that these children did not need to be criminalised. “Show you mine if you show me yours” is a natural & important part of childhood development, only now kids are doing that with their phones rather than behind the bike shed. Parents need to have open & transparent conversations with their children about sex/sexting and not fly off the handle if anything does happen. If your child feels comfortable to tell you, that’s the biggest part of your job done!

If images find their way online there is nearly always a way to remove them, especially children under 18 as these are illegal images. The law about indecent images was created in the 70’s before mobiles were even thought of, so it can’t possibly take into account that children would be rapidly creating “indecent images” of themselves, thankfully the NCA have created a new outcome code that means police can still help but do not have to criminalise kids. The most important focus in these situations should not be about the images but the emotional support the children involved get. No child wants their parent to see or even think they might take a picture like that, so be kind be understanding and try to put yourself in their position; it’s still the same behaviour as years ago, it’s just the tech that’s

Comment on article

More to explore

Tips on giving child first phone


Sexting advice for parents