父母如何为孩子们创造一个开放的环境?

随着孩子的成长,让孩子们在线上和线下开放他们的生活可能会充满挑战。 为了帮助您让他们说话,我们的专家会提供建议来帮助您实现这一目标。


Linda Papadopoulos博士

心理学家和互联网事务大使
专家网站

父母要求我提出的最常见问题之一是“如何让我的孩子与我交谈并向我敞开心扉”。 这很难,因为随着孩子年龄的增长,所有这些障碍都会引发自我意识,希望看起来自给自足并且更加注意自己的隐私。 这并不意味着沟通是不可能的,您只需要以一种让他们感觉,安全,倾听和尊重的方式接近您的孩子 - 这里是您需要记住的3事项:

选择合适的时间: 当你在一起吃饭时,比如吃饭,在睡前常规或在车上开车的时候,开始谈话。 当他们没有分心时,他们更倾向于说话,并且在做一些熟悉你的事情时感到很舒服。

询问开放式问题: 养成提出更开放式问题的习惯 - 比如“你今天最好和最糟糕的事情是什么?” 这将集中您的孩子的思想,并引出一个更周到,有意义的反应。

不要强迫对话 - 并且真的倾听: 为您的孩子创造一个安全的空间,并确保您倾听并理解。 许多父母犯的错误就是他们倾听的意图是回应 - 你的目标应该是倾听而不是说话。 虽然插入,跳到结论或提供建议并不总是容易的,但只有通过积极的倾听才能真正听到孩子生活中发生的事情。

玛莎埃文斯

国家协调员,反欺凌联盟
专家网站

在他们不知情的情况下监控孩子的电话是否正确?

间谍还是不间谍? 这是一个古老的问题,许多父母在考虑他们的在线安全时会问自己。 一方面,您希望保护您的孩子安全,但另一方面,您不希望失去信任或不让他们与您分享。 答案并不简单。

根据他们的年龄(年龄较小的孩子应该监督他们的在线活动),除非你有理由怀疑他们或他人有受到伤害的风险 - 例如,他们正在与危险的人交谈或者他们正在发送性行为(向他人发送色情图片)或消息) - 然后我们建议不要窥探他们的私信。 如果发现,这可能意味着您的孩子选择不与您分享并隐藏他们的在线活动。 相反,我们建议:

- 与他们的在线活动进行公开交流

- 向他们保证,如果他们担心他们在网上看到的任何事情,他们可以来找你

- 随时了解最新的技术趋势和时尚

- 同意明确界限,例如,通过就寝时间关闭Wi-Fi

凯瑟琳尼布斯

儿童创伤治疗师,同伴支持约克郡
专家网站

为什么随着年龄的增长,孩子与父母的关系越来越少?

家长: “你今天在学校做了什么?”

儿童(7 +年龄)的平均回复如下: “没什么”,“不知道”,“不多”,“不记得了”

家长现在感到沮丧和拒绝。 听起来有点熟?

孩子大脑发育的方式意味着他们常常失去用语言表达自己的能力,甚至不记得他们当天所做的事情(在学校)。

这是非常正常的,并且显示了某些大脑区域的成熟,尽管这通常伴随着“我忘了”这个短语在整个青春期的回声(这实际上是非常事实!)

那么你如何引出一个鼓励扩张的反应呢? 好吧,你问一个悬而未决的问题。

您可能想知道其中一个是什么以及为什么使用它?

嗯,这是一个产生“思考时刻”的问题,并鼓励大脑的前部与大脑的下半部分一起工作,并将故事讲述当天的事件。 这是一个单词答案无法回答的问题。

为了帮助您更多地考虑这个问题,请考虑他们可能想要告诉您的内容并提出问题。

秘密就在这里......

当你有时间听取答案时,要真正感兴趣并询问。 孩子真的需要被听到和验证,这是开始这个​​过程的简单方法。

Tamasine Preece博士

个人和社会教育负责人
专家网站

青少年时代是天生的,具有挑战性和变革性,使年轻人有机会在他们接近成年时探索自我和价值观。

此外,这是他们开发技能的时候,这些技能将使他们能够驾驭复杂的成人世界。 为了做到这一点,重要的是在安全和适当的环境中探索和表达想法和身份,即使他们后来回顾过青少年自我的尴尬和恐惧,就像许多成年人一样。

社交媒体行为,例如记录青少年世界的细枝末节,扰乱了这个重要的人生阶段,使得应该永久性地转瞬即逝。 我们与孩子谈论对未来声誉和职业生涯的影响,但没有明确指出儿童在成长过程中否认自己和他人犯错误的权利这一事实。

通过参与“行为准则”,儿童和青少年能够反思他们想要成为的社区和更广阔的世界,以及他们希望在线和现在以及将来成为他们的人。 。

写下评论

向上滚动

How can parents create an open environment for children to talk?

Getting children to open up about their lives on and offline can be challenging as they grow up. To help you get them to talk, our experts offer advice to help you do just that.


Dr. Linda Papadopoulos

Psychologist and Internet Matters Ambassador
Expert Website

One of the most common questions I get asked by parents is ‘how do I get my child to talk and open up to me’. It’s a hard because as your child gets older all those barriers to a discussion like self-awareness, wanting to seem self-sufficient and being more mindful of their own privacy begin to arise. That doesn’t mean that communication is impossible, you just need to approach your child in a way that makes them feel, safe, heard and respected- here are the 3 things you need to keep in mind:

Choose the right Time: Start a conversation when you are due to spend some time together, like over a meal, during their bedtime routine or when you’re driving in the car.  They are more inclined to speak when they aren’t distracted and feel comfortable doing something familiar with you.

Ask Open Ended Questions: Get into the habit of asking more open-ended questions- something like “what was the best and worst thing about your day?’ this will focus your child’s mind and elicit a more thoughtful, meaningful response.

Don’t Force a Conversation- and really listen: Create a safe space for your child and ensure that you listen with the intent to understand. The mistake many parents make is that they listen with the intent to respond- your goal should be to listen more than you speak.  While it’s not always easy to interject,  jump to conclusions or give advice, it’s only through active listening that you’ll really hear what is going on in your child’s life.

Martha Evans

National Coordinator, Anti-bullying Alliance
Expert Website

Is it right to monitor my child’s phone without their knowledge?

To spy or not to spy? It’s the age-old question that many parents ask themselves when thinking about their online safety. On one hand, you want to keep your child safe but, on the other, you don’t want to lose their trust or make them not share with you. The answer is not simple.

Depending on their age (younger children should have their online activity supervised) and unless you have reason to suspect they or others are at risk of harm – for example, they are talking to a dangerous person or they are sexting (sending someone sexually explicit images or messages) – then we would advise not to snoop on their private messages. If found out, this could mean that your child chooses not to share with you and hides their online activity. Instead, we would advise:

– Have open communication about their online activity

– Reassure them they can come to you if they are worried about anything they see online

– Keep up to date with the new technological trends and fashions

– Agree together clear boundaries, for example, turning the Wi-Fi off by bedtime

Catherine Knibbs

Child Trauma therapist, Peer Support Yorkshire
Expert Website

Why do children tend to share less and less with their parents as they get older?

Parent: “What did you do at school today?”

Average replies of children (aged 7+) are as follows: “nothing”, “Dunno”, “not much”, “can’t remember”

Parent is now feeling frustrated and rejected. Sound familiar?

The way in which a child’s brain develops means they often lose the capacity to express themselves with words or even remember what they did that day (at school).

This is quite normal and shows the maturation of certain brain areas, though often this accompanies the phrase “I forgot” that echoes throughout the adolescence period (it is actually quite a fact!)

So how do you elicit a response that will encourage expansion? Well, You ask an open question.

You might be wondering what one of those is and why use one?

Well, It is a question that generates a ‘thinking moment’ and encourages the frontal part of the brain to work with the lower parts of the brain and put a story to the events of that day. It’s a question that cannot be answered by one-word answers.

To help you think about this some more, consider what they might want to tell you and ask a question around that.

Hereon lies the secret…

Be genuinely interested and ask when you have time to listen to the answer. Children really need to be heard and validated and this is a simple way to begin this process.

Dr Tamasine Preece

Head of Personal and Social Education
Expert Website

The teenage years are by nature, challenging and transformative, giving young people the opportunity to explore their sense of self and values as they approach adulthood.

Also, it’s a time when they are developing the skills that will enable them to navigate the complex adult world. In order to do so, it is important that ideas and identity are explored and expressed in safe and appropriate contexts, even if they later look back in embarrassment and horror at their teenage self, as many adults do.

Social media behaviours such as recording the minutiae of the adolescent world disrupt this important life stage in terms of making what should be fleeting permanent. We talk to children about the impact on future reputation and career but don’t make explicit the fact that children are denying themselves and others the right to make mistakes as part of the growing up process.

Through engagement with the Code of Conduct, children and young people are able to reflect on the community and wider world to which they would like to belong as well as the person that they would like to be, on and offline, now and in the future.

    Write the comment