我怎样才能帮助我的孩子批判性思考以保护他们免受极端主义影响?

在保护儿童免受极端主义影响(在线和离线)时,父母如何反驳叙述并鼓励“批判性思维”? 我们的专家为您提供支持和洞察力。


Sajda Mughal OBE

JAN Trust的首席执行官,活动家和顾问
专家网站

与儿童谈论极端主义可能很难接近,但我们让年轻人了解周围世界正在发生的事情变得越来越重要。 我们现在生活在一个高度数字化的世界中,除了离线信息之外,年轻人越来越容易在线访问一系列信息。

因此,儿童必须意识到在线和离线发现的材料的危险和风险。 因此,为了保护我们的孩子,我们必须拥有并保持我们与孩子之间的公开对话,这使他们能够批判性地思考他们在线上和线下遇到的材料。

如果我们可以公开诚实地谈论不同的观点和意见以及存在的潜在危险,以及用于激励人们离线和离线的各种技术和方法,那么我们就会增加孩子对我们诚实的机会,如果他们觉得他们可能正在被捕,他们会感到很自在。 教育我们的孩子并使他们自我意识是预防极端主义的关键。

Jade Gayle

教育,就业能力和保护项目经理,Kidscape
专家网站

父母如何反对保护儿童免受极端主义影响(在线和离线)的叙述?

营造一种家庭氛围,鼓励围绕这些问题进行对话。 与您的孩子就世界事件和积极应对负面情绪的方式进行公开讨论,将有助于您的孩子将自己视为可以转向的人。

在讨论极端主义团体或个人时,探讨其行为的后果。 例如,您的孩子可能会觉得一个团体对某一事业感到愤怒是合理的,但暴力极端主义的后果包括死亡,监狱,失去亲人等等,因此请与您的孩子讨论合法和安全的机会。获得对事业的关注。

想想你用来描述孩子面前其他人的语言。 培养积极言论的氛围,并尽量避免使用威胁性或侮辱性语言。 在您和您的孩子遇到或无意中听到仇恨言论或行为的情况下,尝试挑战它,即使只是通过告诉您的孩子您不喜欢这种行为和语言。 确保您的孩子也得到其他积极榜样的支持; 这可能是通过体育俱乐部或青年团体进入。

如果您的孩子似乎正在改变生活,并且您对引起这种情况的因素感到担忧,请与孩子讨论孩子的动机以及任何决定的影响。 如果您没有专业知识与您的孩子有效地讨论某个主题,请向合格的专业人士寻求帮助。

亚当·迪恩

Quilliam International执行董事(英国)
专家网站

我该怎样做才能保护我的孩子免受极端主义影响?

家长和学校处于反极端主义努力的前沿。 当我们谈到反极端主义时,我们保护弱势群体免受激进化影响的关键方法之一就是建立他们的 弹性 反对极端叙述和招聘技巧。 虽然为个人配备工具来建立这种弹性是一个优先事项,但弱势个体周围的人同样重要。

从小就灌输价值观

个人圈子中最亲密的成员通常是他们的家人,他们可以作为一种非常有效的免疫接种来对抗激进化。 这些行动者可以通过从极小的时代灌输他们的孩子来接受极端主义观点,如宽容,民主和人道主义原则等价值观。 父母应该鼓励孩子批判性地思考,分析,消化和批评他们所接受的任何信息,这样他们就可能不太愿意为激进的招聘人员用来影响弱势个体的简化的,简化的世界观而堕落。

注重情感素养

除了批判性思维之外,父母还应该从年轻时开始专注于帮助培养孩子的情感素养,这样他们就可以反对极端的叙事,这些叙事往往会掠夺个人孤独,抑郁或愤怒的感觉。

时代和 NSPCC视频: 观看真正的父母和孩子讨论极端主义行为,以了解更多关于开始激进化的对话。

  • 生气的人 说:

    悲伤的小女孩认为恐怖分子必须是不信的人 - 为什么无神论者总是受到指责? 我知道恐怖分子没有遵循伊斯兰教的真正教义 - 我会同意 - 但是非宗教并不会使某人成为恐怖分子! 这是令人鼓舞的误解。 所有种族和所有信仰都有好人和坏人。

写下评论

向上滚动

How can I help my child to think critically to protect them against extremist influences?

How can parents counter the narrative and encourage ‘critical thinking’ when it comes to protecting children against extremist influences (on and offline)? Our experts offer support and insight to get you started.


Sajda Mughal OBE

CEO of JAN Trust, Campaigner and Consultant
Expert Website

Talking to children about extremism may be difficult to approach, but it is increasingly important that we make our young people aware of what is happening in the world around them. We now live in a highly digitalised world, where young people have increasingly easy access to an array of information online, in addition to the information offline.

It is therefore vital that children are aware of the dangers and risks of material found on and offline. In order to safeguard our children, we must therefore have and maintain an open dialogue between ourselves and our children, that enables them to think critically of materials they come across on and offline.

If we can speak openly and honestly about varying views and opinions and the potential dangers that exist, as well as the varying techniques and methods that are used to radicalise people on and offline, then we increase the chances of our children being honest with us, and feeling comfortable to approach us if they feel that perhaps they are being preyed on. Educating our children and making them self-aware is key to prevention of extremism.

Jade Gayle

Education, Employability and Safeguarding Programme Manager, Kidscape
Expert Website

How can parents counter the narrative to protecting children against extremist influences (on and offline)? 

Create a home atmosphere where dialogue around these issues is encouraged. Having open discussions with your child about world events and ways to positively deal with negative emotions, will help your child see you as someone they can turn to with their own concerns.

When it comes to discussing extremist groups or individuals, explore the consequences of their actions. For example, your child may feel that a group was justified in feeling angry about a cause, but the consequences of violent extremism include death, prison, loss of loved ones etc., so discuss with your child legal and safe opportunities for a group to gain attention for a cause.

Think about the language you use to describe other people in front of your child. Foster an atmosphere of positive speech, and try to avoid threatening or abusive language. Where you and your child encounter or overhear hateful speech or behaviour, try to challenge it, even if just by voicing to your child your dislike of such behaviour and language. Ensure your child also has support from other positive role models; this may be through access to sports clubs or youth groups.

Where your child appears to be making a big life change and you feel concerned about the factors causing this, discuss your child’s motivations with them and the impact of any decisions. Where you do not have the specialist knowledge to effectively discuss a subject with your child, seek help from suitably qualified professionals.

Adam Deen

Executive Director (UK), Quilliam International
Expert Website

What can I do to protect my child from extremist influences?

Parents and schools are on the frontlines of counter-extremism efforts. When we speak of counter-extremism, one of the key ways we protect vulnerable individuals from the sway of radicalisation is by building their resilience against extreme narratives and recruitment techniques. While equipping the individual with tools to build this resilience is a priority, the people surrounding the vulnerable individual are equally important.

Instil values from a young age

The closest members of an individual’s circle are usually their family and they can act as an extremely effective vaccination against radicalisation. These actors can help by inoculating their children from extremist views by instilling in them from a very young age, values like tolerance, democracy, and humanist principles. Parents should encourage children to think critically, to analyse, digest, and critique any information that they take in, so that they may be less inclined to fall for the simplified, reductionist worldview that radical recruiters employ to influence vulnerable individuals.

Focus on emotional literacy

Aside from critical thinking, parents should also focus on helping to develop their child’s emotional literacy, again from a young age, so that they are armed against extreme narratives that often prey on the individual’s feelings of loneliness, depression, or anger.

The Times and NSPCC video: Watch real parents and children discuss extremist acts to understand more about starting a conversation about radicalisation.

  • Annoyed Person says:

    Sad the little girl thought the terrorists must be unbelievers – why do atheists always get the blame? I get that the terrorists were not following the true teachings of Islam -I would agree -but being non-religious does not make someone a terrorist! This is encouraging misunderstanding. There are good and bad people of all races and all beliefs.

Write the comment

Scroll Up