妈妈分享了她保护数字精明的青少年免受不适当内容的经验

Beth分享了她如何帮助她精通数字的10岁男孩,他可以通过他使用的平台(从YouTube到Xbox)查看不当内容的风险。

在Beth的家庭中,十岁的查理是最热衷的技术用户。 他喜欢在他的Xbox上玩视频游戏,还使用他父母的iPad和旧手机观看YouTube视频,玩在线游戏和制作TikTok视频。

看到不适当内容的经验

今年早些时候,当查理设法访问一些不适当的内容时,查理正在YouTube上播放。 “查理正在观看儿童的视频,并开始点击最后出现的推荐视频链接,”贝丝解释道。 “他最后看了一些播放恶作剧的青少年YouTubers的视频,但也使用了一些非常强大,挑衅性的语言。”

这不是查理第一次遇到在线内容的缺点。 当他年轻的时候,他通过在网上足球比赛上花钱,设法在祖父母的电话账单上增加了数百英镑。

“我们肯定已经了解了使用密码来保护设备的重要性,但主要是与查理谈话,”贝丝解释说。 “他被告知他只能订阅我们认为合适的纯游戏频道。 我自己也看过这些频道,所以我知道它适合他的年龄组。“

关于未经许可进行网上购物,查理被要求给他的祖父写一封道歉信。 “在最初的恐慌之后,我们都平静下来并解释了游戏是如何运作的,并且这是真正的花钱,”Beth补充道。

平衡安全问题并让儿童有探索的自由

对于父母来说,让孩子在网上获得更多自由可能会令人担忧 Beth说她会更喜欢游戏和视频中的更多控件,因此孩子们根本无法访问过多的成人或商业内容。 “我也认为学校可以做更多的事情来解释危险。 我们在学期开始时会给我们一份传单,但更实用的第一手经验比文本页更好,“贝丝说。 “它需要针对孩子们自己,所以他们获得了理解。”

关于年龄验证法的观点

Beth支持互联网平台立法的想法,但她担心拟议的年龄验证立法会有多么有效。 “例如,大多数社交网络都要求孩子们注册13,但我知道查理班级的一半有9或10年龄段的Instagram和Facebook页面。 更需要做的是保护孩子,特别是在YouTube上,任何人都可以上传看似无害的内容,但可以在几秒钟内变成阴险,“她说。

使用各种工具保护儿童安全

在过去的几个月里,贝丝和她的丈夫在家里做了一些改变。 这包括将指纹识别添加到与信用卡关联的所有设备,并使用设置以确保始终需要进行购买。

查理现在正在使用YouTube儿童应用程序,这并不完美,但确实让贝丝放心,查理不太可能偶然发现不适当的内容。 “我觉得查理是我的老大,这是一个雷区,但我感觉更有控制力,并且意识到我的小孩子会发生什么,”她说。

父母对不适当的内容表示担忧

克莱尔对她的经历感到惊讶的是,其他父母的共同点是多么的普遍。 “一旦我提到它,很多朋友和家人都有类似的故事,”贝丝说。 “当Peppa变成恶魔并开始攻击其他角色时,一位朋友的三岁小孩一直在看Peppa Pig情节。 她非常烦恼。“

Beth是30的一个已婚的母亲,十岁的Charlie和五岁的双胞胎女儿Poppy和Phoebe,住在英格兰的Shropshire。

更多探索

如果您想了解更多关于如何帮助您的孩子保持在线安全的信息,请访问以下资源:

向上滚动

Mum shares her experience of protecting digitally savvy pre-teen from inappropriate content

Beth shares how she helps her digitally-savvy 10-year-old navigate the risks of seeing inappropriate content through the platforms he uses, from YouTube to Xbox.

In Beth’s family, ten-year-old Charlie is the most enthusiastic user of technology. He enjoys playing video games on his Xbox, and also uses his parents’ iPad and old phones to watch YouTube videos, play online games and make TikTok videos.

Experiences of seeing inappropriate content

Earlier this year, Charlie was playing on YouTube when he managed to access some inappropriate content. “Charlie was watching kids’ videos and started clicking on the recommended video links that come up at the end,” explains Beth. “He ended up watching some videos of teen YouTubers who were playing pranks, but also using some really strong, provocative language.”

It’s not the first time Charlie has experienced the downside of online content. When he was younger, he managed to rack up hundreds of pounds on his grandparents’ phone bill by spending money on an online football game.

“We’ve definitely learned the importance of using PIN numbers to protect devices, but mostly it’s been about talking to Charlie,” explains Beth. “He’s been told he can only subscribe to purely gaming channels that we know are suitable. I’ve also watched those channels myself, so I know it’s suitable for his age group.”

With regards to making online purchases without permission, Charlie was asked to write an apology letter to his grandfather. “After the initial panic, we all calmed down and explained how the games worked, and that it was real money that was being spent,” Beth adds.

Balancing safety concerns and giving children the freedom to explore

For parents, allowing children more freedom online can be worrying. Beth says she would have appreciated more controls within the games and videos themselves, so children simply cannot access overly adult or commercial content. “I also think schools could do more to explain the dangers. We’re given a leaflet at the start of term, but more practical first-hand experience would work better than pages of text,” says Beth. “It needs to be aimed at the children themselves, so they gain an understanding.”

View on Age Verification law

Beth is supportive of the idea of legislation of Internet platforms, but she worries how effective the proposed age verification legislation will be. “For instance, most social networks require children to be 13 to sign up, but I know that half of Charlie’s class have Instagram and Facebook pages at the age of 9 or 10. More definitely needs to be done to protect kids, especially on YouTube, where anyone can upload content that looks innocuous but can turn sinister in seconds,” she says.

Using a variety of tools to keep children safe

Over the past few months, Beth and her husband have made a few changes at home. This has included adding fingerprint recognition to all devices that are associated with credit cards and using setting to ensure this is always required to make a purchase.

Charlie is now using the YouTube Kids app, which isn’t perfect but does reassure Beth that Charlie is less likely to stumble across inappropriate content. “I think with Charlie being my eldest it’s been a minefield, but I feel a lot more in control and aware of what can happen for my younger children,” she says.

Parents share concerns on inappropriate content

What did surprise Claire about her experience was how common it was among other parents. “Once I mentioned it, so many friends and family had similar stories,” says Beth. “One friend’s three-year-old had been watching a Peppa Pig episode when Peppa turned into a demon and started attacking the other characters. She was incredibly distraught.”

Beth is a 30-something married Mother of ten-year-old Charlie and five-year-old twin daughters Poppy and Phoebe, living in Shropshire, England.

More to Explore

If you’d like to learn more about how you can help your children stay safe online, here are some great resources:

Recent posts

Scroll Up