新儿童专员的2019报告揭示了童年的脆弱性

新报告显示,由于家庭背景脆弱,估计有100万2.3儿童面临风险。

主要调查结果

这场 报告 检查童年脆弱率的最新规模和随时间变化的趋势。

关于童年脆弱性流行率如何随时间变化的数据是有限的。 对于许多弱势群体,例如需要保护的儿童,健康问题,在主流学校以外接受教育或面临住房困难,不可能可靠地探讨这个问题。

根据这一警告,我们可以看到一些漏洞变得更加普遍:

  • 5-15儿童与任何心理健康问题的比例略有增加,从10的1999%略低于11的2017%。 情绪障碍的患病率上升主要但并非完全由行为障碍的流行率下降所抵消。
  • 11-15女孩的心理健康问题的流行率有所增加:从9的1999%到13的2017%。 这包括情绪障碍(例如焦虑和抑郁)的增加超过50%。
  • 在76季度和2012第一季度之间,临时住宿的儿童人数增加了2018%。
  • 50 / 2012和13 / 2016之间的学校永久性排除率增加了17%以上,而在同一时期内,经历固定期限排除的儿童的比率增加了20%。
  • 在66 / 2012和13 / 2017之间,评估不需要儿童的“有需要儿童”推荐人数增加了18%。
  • 最近,生活在物质匮乏和严重贫困中的儿童比例略有增加(从4 / 2016的17%增加到5 / 2017的18%)。

最近的帖子

向上滚动

New Children’s Commissioner’s 2019 report reveals rates of childhood vulnerability

New report reveals that an estimated 2.3 million children are living with risk because of a vulnerable family background.

Key findings

This report examines the latest scale of, and trends over time in, rates of childhood vulnerability.

Data on how the prevalence of childhood vulnerability is changing over time is limited. It is not possible to explore this question reliably for many vulnerable groups, such as children in need of protection, with health issues, educated outside mainstream schools, or facing housing difficulties.

Subject to this caveat, we can see that some vulnerabilities have become more common:

  • The proportion of children aged 5-15 with any mental health issue has increased slightly, from just under 10% in 1999 to just over 11% in 2017. Rising prevalence of emotional disorders has been mostly, but not entirely, offset by falling prevalence of behavioural disorders.
  •  There has been a faster increase in the prevalence of mental health issues among girls aged 11- 15: from 9% in 1999 to 13% in 2017. This includes an increase of more than 50% in the rate of emotional disorders (such as anxiety and depression).
  • The number of children living in temporary accommodation has increased by 76% between the quarter of 2012 and the first quarter of 2018.
  • The rate of permanent exclusions from school has increased by over 50% between 2012/13 and 2016/17, while the rate of children experiencing a fixed term exclusion has increased by 20% over the same period.
  • The number of ‘Child in Need’ referrals where the child was assessed not to be in need increased by 66% between 2012/13 and 2017/18.
  • The proportion of children living in material deprivation and severe poverty has recently increased slightly (from 4% in 2016/17 to 5% in 2017/18).
Scroll Up