弱势儿童在线生活方面的实践差距

弱势儿童往往有一个与他们互动的服务团队。 Aiman El Asam、Rebecca Lane、Keli Pearson 和 Adrienne Katz 的一项研究(2021 年 XNUMX 月出版)旨在探索儿童周围的专业人士如何承认数字生活并将其融入他们的实践中。

弱势儿童的数字生活

数字生活迅速发展,积极和消极的影响正在得到更好的理解。 随着这些发展,大量弱势儿童所需的支持变得更加复杂。 对于某些可能比同龄人更有可能遇到特定问题的弱势青少年来说尤其如此 网上危害.

这项研究对来自不同地方当局的一系列服务的 29 名一线专业人员进行了焦点小组和深入的一对一访谈。 专业人士将互联网对年轻人的重要性描述为“几乎无法量化”和“他们生活中不可或缺的一部分”。 它决定了他们的外表和感受。”

报告中出现的问题

尽管有这种认识,研究发现数字生活并未完全融入实践。 重点往往是识别风险,而不是理解动机、帮助儿童避免伤害或支持康复。 在专业人员培训、系统和在线风险管理中发现的不一致可能会影响所有与儿童和青少年一起工作或照顾儿童和青少年的人的保护程序。 这是因为由于缺乏评估工具或服务程序,在线生活和风险经常被推荐忽略或没有被提及。 出现的问题包括:

训练差距

虽然保护培训是强制性的,但数字风险(在线安全)培训不是。 更常见的是,它是保障或儿童保护培训的“附加”。 确认我们先前研究的结果,如果作为独立课程提供培训,则可能是通用的,而不是为相关服务量身定制的专业知识。

互联网的利​​弊混杂

这项定性研究的参与者将互联网视为“放大可用信息的好坏”的媒介。 他们认识到互联网为儿童提供了“自由和资源”,并描述了年轻人如何“发展自己的声音”或“使用游戏来逃避他们所面临的任何其他事情”。 但他们也觉得年轻人“没有从网上得到喘息的机会”。 他们观察到年轻人在网上寻求“情感联系”,感觉网上存在一个避难所,例如 LGBT+ 年轻人。

他们说,这种环境也助长了欺凌和骚扰,年轻人因害怕错过或避免受到“社会惩罚”而从事一些高风险活动。 参与者认为,网络上的分离和脱敏可能会助长网络欺凌:“他们没有看到对方的反应。” 一个人这样描述这种张力:“对于那个年轻人来说,在社交上可以发生好事的空间,也是空间……。 会有人欺负或骚扰。

缺少关于孩子能力的知识

受访者描述了在线形象和身份的重要性,以及孩子们如何“只想成为重要的、相关的、有影响力的人”。 尽管参与者提出了这些敏感的见解,但对在线风险和危害以及它们可能如何影响弱势儿童和年轻人的知识却很少。 参与者声称,一些照顾者甚至低估了年轻人上网的能力,尤其是那些有特殊教育需要的人,他们的数字技能进步速度比照顾者预期的要快。

识别内部结构所面临的挑战,以及参与者使用的一系列在线漏洞定义表明,儿童面临着巨大的风险:

“我们甚至无法接触到那些年轻人,除非他们表现得与众不同或看起来不同,所以我们想念那个在学校里继续保持良好状态的孩子。”

拿走设备

监控在线活动时经常出现的一个主题是把手机从孩子身边拿走,以及这方面的复杂性。 这可能导致孩子失去支持来源并与社会生活隔绝。 他们能感觉到自己的身份丢失了。 在没收手机(例如由亲生父母购买的手机)方面,寄养照顾者或寄宿家庭工作人员面临着额外的挑战,从而导致有关所有权和照顾者责任的法律复杂性。

害怕被指责

一个特别令人担忧的是受害者指责的文化:“孩子们害怕诚实,害怕隐藏所发生的事情,因为父母妖魔化了这一点。 另一位说:“我认为儿童在网上易受伤害的最大危险之一是他们因此受到惩罚。”

对技术缺乏认识

成年人缺乏意识和厌恶科技说明了代沟:“我完全避免与科技有任何关系。” 虽然参与者说“有一些专业人士确实有很好的理解”,但他们也认为:“全科医生完全不知道”。 据说寄养照顾者和社会工作者“可悲的是,他们毫无准备,缺乏互联网安全知识”。

知识、数据和评估不一致

参与者发现了他们服务中的知识差距,以及儿童和成人之间的风险认知差异。 由于缺乏数据和评估工具,这些差距得以持续:“我认为我们并不总是在问正确的问题。” 其他人提到了不一致的协作和沟通,尤其是在网络风险方面:“我想根据我的经验,在网上工作的多机构真的很差”和“孩子们一直在上网。” 他们提到了人员流动和人员不足,人们努力跟上,没有可以参考的服务以及提出担忧的尝试失败。 但机构合作不力的根本原因是“没有定期整理和分析”的数据。

对弱势儿童的转介限制

转诊门槛和过早出院的概念也维持了跨机构工作的困难,依靠年轻人参与:“我们已经建立了这个真正的防御系统,它是关于门槛的。 “你在一个方框里打勾,不是吗?” 如果[年轻人]没有参加这么多的约会,他们就会被淘汰。 虽然从上下文保护和警察映射的角度来看存在积极的数据共享,但数据共享中的其他挑战因过时的系统而长期存在:“一些系统无法相互通信”。

为安置孩子而忽略了数字因素

人们对选择性遗漏信息表示严重关切,以免影响主要关注点。 或由于安置孩子的压力:“即使孩子周围的其他专业人士知道存在数字问题,也并不总是包括数字。” 令人担忧的是,带有数字元素的案例可能会导致寻找安置的额外困难,并最终导致更糟糕的结果。

缺乏对数字生活的评估

最重要的是,对儿童的评估存在“明显差距”。 大多数使用的评估工具不包括数字生活。 关于在线风险的常规调查有限:“它没有充分纳入程序”,并且“取决于团队对社会工作者的投入程度。 对我来说,它还没有融入实践中。

有一种迫切需要改变的感觉,“现在没有数据,工具太通用,不专业”,数据“在案例说明中,只有在试图证明假设和进行抽样抽样时才共享。”

在 Covid-19 大流行期间,有证据表明,年轻人在网上受到伤害的风险增加,网上虐待儿童事件显着增加。 需要改变。 更待何时?

本研究的出版过程得到了培育网络 (eNurture) 和英国研究与创新 (Research Council Grant Ref: ES/S004467/1) 的财政支持。 这是题为“脆弱性、在线生活和心理健康:迈向新实践模式”项目的一部分。

Gaps in practice around the online lives of vulnerable children

Vulnerable children tend to have a team of services that interact with them. A research study by Aiman El Asam, Rebecca Lane, Keli Pearson and Adrienne Katz (published in November 2021) aimed to explore how professionals around the child acknowledge and incorporate digital life into their practice.

The digital lives of vulnerable children

Digital life evolves rapidly, and both positive and negative impacts are becoming better understood. With these developments, the support that large numbers of vulnerable children require becomes more complex. This is especially true for certain vulnerable teens who may be more likely than peers to encounter specific online harms.

This study of 29 frontline professionals from a range of services in different local authorities undertook a focus group and in-depth one-to-one interviews. The professionals described the importance of the internet to young people as “Almost unquantifiable” and “An integral part of their lives. It governs how they look, how they feel.”

Issues that emerged in the report

Despite this awareness, the study found that digital life was not fully integrated into practice. The focus tended to be on identifying risk and less on understanding motivation, helping children avoid harm, or supporting recovery. Inconsistencies found in professionals’ training, systems and management of online risks, can affect safeguarding procedures for all those working with or caring for children and young people. This is because online life and risk were often omitted from referrals or not picked up, due to a lack of assessment tools or service procedures. Issues that emerged include:

Gaps in training

While safeguarding training is mandatory, training in digital risk (online safety) is not. More often it is an ‘add-on’ to safeguarding or child protection training. Confirming findings of our previous study, training if provided as a stand-alone session, is likely to be generic rather than specialised knowledge tailored for the service concerned.

The mixed benefits and harms of the internet

Participants in this qualitative study saw the internet as a medium that ‘magnifies the good and the bad of what’s available’. They recognised that the internet offered children ‘freedom and resource’ and described how young people could ‘develop a voice of their own’ or ‘use games to escape from whatever else they are facing.’ But they also felt young people had ‘no respite from the net.’ They observed that young people were seeking ‘emotional connection’ online, with a sense that a sanctuary existed online, for example for LGBT+ young people.

This environment, they said, also facilitated bullying and harassment and young people engaged in some high-risk activities for fear of missing out or to avoid being ‘socially punished.’ Participants felt that dissociation and desensitisation online might facilitate Cyberbullying: ‘they’re not seeing the reaction of the other person.’ One described the tension thus: ‘The very space where good things can be happening for that young person socially, is also the space…. someone bullying or harassing is going to come into.’

Missing knowledge about children’s ability

Interviewees described the importance of image and identity online and how children, ‘just want to be important and relevant and powerful and somebody.’ Despite these sensitive insights by participants, knowledge was poor regarding online risks and harms, and how they might impact vulnerable children and young people. Participants claimed that some carers underestimate young people’s capacity to even go online, particularly those with SEN who can progress their digital skills more rapidly than carers expect.

Challenges with identifying internal constructs, as well as the array of definitions of online vulnerability used by participants, suggests a significant risk of children falling through the gaps:

‘We don’t even get access to those young people unless they’re acting out or look different, so we’re missing the child who carries on OK at school holding it together.’

Taking devices away

A recurrent theme when monitoring online activities, was taking phones away from children and the complexities around this. It could lead to a child losing a source of support and becoming isolated from social life. They could feel their identity was lost. There are additional challenges for foster carers or residential workers in confiscating phones, for instance if purchased by a birth parent, resulting in legal complexities about ownership and carers’ responsibilities.

Fear of being blamed

A particular concern was the culture of victim blaming: ‘Children are fearful of being honest, hiding what has happened because parents demonise that. And another said: ‘I think one of the greatest dangers of children’s vulnerability online is the fact that they’re punished for it.’

Lack of awareness around tech

The generational gap was illustrated by adults’ lack of awareness and being tech averse: ‘I totally avoid anything to do with tech.’ Although participants said there were ‘pockets of a few professionals who do have a good understanding’, they also felt that: ‘GPs were completely not aware’. Foster carers and social workers were said to be ‘woefully unprepared and lacking in knowledge about internet safety.’

Inconsistencies in knowledge, data and assessment

Participants identified gaps in knowledge within their services, as well as a discrepancy in perceptions of risk between children and adults. These gaps are sustained by a lack of data and assessment tools: ‘I don’t think we’re always asking the right questions.’ Others mentioned inconsistent collaboration and communication, particularly around online risks: ‘I guess from my experience multi-agency working around online is really poor’ and ‘kids fell through the net the whole time.’ They mentioned staff turnover and understaffing, with people struggling to keep up, not having services to refer on to and unsuccessful attempts to raise concerns. But a root cause of poor agency collaboration was data which was ‘not routinely collated and analysed.’

Limits to referrals for vulnerable children

Difficulties of cross-agency working were also maintained by the concept of referral thresholds and premature discharge, relying on young people to engage: ‘We’ve built this really defensive system where it’s about thresholds. ‘Do you tick a box, do you not?’ and if [young people] don’t show up for so many appointments, they’re just struck off.’ While positive data sharing existed from a contextual safeguarding and police mapping standpoint, other challenges in data sharing were perpetuated by outdated systems: ‘Some systems can’t speak to each other’.

Digital factors omitted to get a child placed

There were serious concerns about information being omitted by choice, so as not to detract from primary concerns. or due to pressures to get children placed: ‘Digital is not always included even if other professionals around the child know there are digital issues.’ Worryingly, cases with digital elements might result in additional difficulties in finding placements and ultimately, poorer outcomes.

Lack of assessments for digital life

Most importantly, there was a ‘glaring gap’ in the assessment of children. Most assessment tools in use did not include digital life. There is limited routine enquiry regarding online risk: ‘it is insufficiently built into procedures,’ and ‘depends on how switched on the social worker, the team is. It doesn’t feel yet for me, integrated into practice.’

There was a sense of an urgent need for change, ‘Right now there is no data and tools are too generic, not specialised’ and the data ‘is within case notes and only shared if trying to prove a hypothesis and doing dip sampling.’

During the Covid-19 pandemic, there is evidence that young people were at increased risk of harm online and incidents of online child abuse rose markedly. Change is needed. If not now, when?

The publication process of this study has received financial support from the Nurture Network (eNurture) and UK Research and Innovation (Research Council Grant Ref: ES/S004467/1). This is part of a project titled “Vulnerability, Online Lives and Mental Health: Towards a New Practice Model”.