社交媒体骗局建议指南,以支持年轻人-互联网事务

社交媒体诈骗

在线资金管理指南

我们与巴克莱数字鹰公司一起创建了该指南,您将在其中详细了解社交媒体如何影响年轻人的消费习惯,以及如何使他们掌握识别社交媒体骗局的技能。

您还将获得有关如何帮助他们更好地了解如何在线管理他们的钱并做出更明智的决定的指导。

页面上有什么

社交媒体如何影响孩子的消费习惯?

社交媒体对儿童和年轻人非常重要, Ofcom的研究 强调指出,超过四分之三的8-11岁和12-15岁的孩子表示,这可以帮助他们与朋友更加亲密,使用它可以使他们感到快乐。

尽管社交媒体可以帮助孩子们管理友谊,但在社交媒体上,他们可能会接触到直接影响他们的内容。 以下是社交媒体如何做到这一点的一些示例:

影响者的力量

我们也知道,在最受欢迎的网站上,有影响力的人能够做到这一点–影响力,而且不一定总是以正确的方式。 一种 Wunderman Thompson于2019年研究 研究发现,有25%的6-16岁的年轻人表示,他们购买商品的偏好受到了Instagram,Snapchat和YouTube等社交媒体渠道上的影响者和博客的最大影响。

社会同伴压力

同伴也可以发挥影响力,这一直都是这种情况–在互联网出现之前,孩子们会向父母要求最新的书包,一对教练或当时最受欢迎的收藏品。 现在的区别是,互联网似乎可以不断地推动和推广旨在使他们进行最重要的购买的内容/广告,从而给儿童和年轻人带来更大的压力。

网上骗局上升

诈骗图标COVID-19的在线诈骗数量大幅增加,其中一些 报告 建议在锁定期间增加66%。 部分原因是由于许多新用户在线,诈骗者看到了利用已知漏洞的机会,但是,这意味着我们所有人当前都更可能遭受诈骗。

事实上, 来自巴克莱的数据 显示2020年是有史以来网上诈骗最高的一年,显然我们受害者中有54%太尴尬而无法举报该犯罪。

专家支持
最新民意调查
发现社交媒体骗局
您认为您的孩子会发现社交媒体骗局吗?
0%
没有
100%

社交平台如何处理在线诈骗?

社交媒体平台制定了明确的政策,以保护用户免受欺诈和欺诈性或误导性内容的侵害。

在2020年下半年, TikTok拒绝了超过3.5万条广告 违反了他们的广告政策和指南。 同样,我们扮演着用户的角色,需要标记我们认为可能是骗局的内容。

#广告和有影响力的人

在英国,只要有影响力的人或vlogger收到品牌的付款,就必须在任何在线内容(包括视频,社交媒体帖子或博客)中进行披露,因此与该品牌的关系的本质很明显,很明显在与之互动之前进行广告投放(在用户点击或打开任何内容之前)。 早在2019年,YouTube就广告如何发挥作用发布了更严格的准则 YouTube儿童 并确保所有广告均带有明确的标签。

流行社交网络的社交骗局指导

通过访问各自的指南以获取进一步的支持,了解如何在最流行的社交媒体平台上发现骗局。

 社交媒体如何才能积极地支持儿童的理财习惯?

依赖客户的评论和建议

调研 建议大约93%的客户在购买产品之前先阅读在线评论。 确实,有91%的18-34岁的人表示,他们对在线评论和个人推荐的信任程度一样高。 考虑到当前使用COVID-19的情况,在线购物以及社交媒体的使用都在增加,这两者相互关联–社交媒体对我们的购买产生了影响。

显然,那些受到社交媒体影响的消费者花更多的钱进行购买的可能性是后者的四倍。 Snapchat或Instagram等网站上的短期内容非常重要,因为它们可以帮助品牌与消费者(尤其是年轻人)建立联系。

超过75%的青少年表示,他们信任YouTuber而不是电视广告,而视频博客的影响力正在上升。 研究发现,有95%的美国父母认为让孩子购买适合他们的商品非常重要,而67%的父母会与孩子一起上网查看产品。

影响者可能是揭露诈骗的关键

这些影响者可以发挥作用-拥有大量的追随者,其中许多是儿童和年轻人,他们可以轻松地与听众分享有关骗局或其他在线问题的重要信息。 最近, 有影响力的人一直在分享故事 关于他们自己如何成为在线骗局的受害者,并提高人们的意识,以防止追随者发生相同的事情。

社交平台可以成为讨价还价的地方

尽管您可以在社交媒体上找到明显的骗局,但它还是可以讨价还价的地方。 在其社交媒体渠道上关注知名公司可以为订户提供独家交易或提早访问销售商品。 确实,据报道有些公司会响应在线折扣请求,但这很少见,尽管建议其他人注册以接收公司的营销会给您带来折扣,如果您进行了转介。

谨防那些暗示您喜欢页面的广告可能会获得免费产品或参加抽奖活动,这些广告可能是收集数据的方式。

您需要了解的有关社交媒体骗局的信息

如果某件商品在网上被宣传为“免费”,请花点时间仔细检查一下,然后再分享您的详细信息

这尤其适用于我们可能在社交媒体上遇到的优惠。 底线是,如果看起来好得令人难以置信,那可能就是事实。 乍一看,许多社交媒体骗局例如都是真实的骗局-它们可能包含流行品牌的徽标,这些徽标引起您的注意并鼓励您点击。

骗局经常寻求收集数据并将其出售给第三方

一款应用特别受儿童和年轻人欢迎,可声称能够告诉您谁在看(或跟踪)您的社交媒体资料。 对于正在经历充满挑战的人际关系体验并希望受到欢迎的青少年来说,这可能真的很有吸引力。 但是,这些应用程序只是通过将恶意软件(病毒)引入收集数据且未连接到所讨论的社交媒体平台的设备上来收集个人数据。 社交媒体网站不会共享使此类应用正常工作所需的数据。 这些应用程序通常会向朋友发布消息,而您与在线联系的人也会向他们推荐消息-研究表明,我们更有可能相信朋友的推荐,因此问题不断蔓延。

骗局可能很老套,冒充流行品牌或趋势

社交媒体上流传着许多不同类型的骗局,尽管有些容易发现拼写错误(徽标已被明显更改和复制),但有些更复杂且难以识别。 我们已经习惯于在社交媒体上看到我们关注或购物的品牌的广告,并且骗子利用了这一点,因此很难区分合法广告和骗局之间的区别。 诈骗者还将抓住当前的问题,例如COVID-19疫苗接种计划,并尝试利用对这些问题的焦虑和担忧。

热门类型的骗局要注意

了解有关社交骗局类型的更多信息
Clickbait

图片或文字旨在引起我们的注意,并鼓励我们单击链接或与诸如视频或短文章之类的内容互动。 内容经常会引起轰动(您不会相信)或提出要约(最后机会,仅剩3个)。 Clickbait承诺会发生一些不太可能实现的事情。

身份盗用

我们许多人在社交媒体上发布了大量信息。 他人可能会将其用作盗窃我们的身份的手段。 姓名,地址,出生日期通常很容易找到-即使您不共享DOB,生日那天家人和朋友发的帖子也说16号快乐很容易确定。 拥有私人帐户很重要,但是您实际上知道537个追踪者中有多少个?

快速致富

显然,这属于“如果看起来好得令人难以置信,则可能是”类别。 如果真的那么容易,那么肯定每个人都会这么做吗?

SmiShing利用

这是网络钓鱼,但在移动设备上。 通常,欺骗会利用文本(人们似乎比他们在社交媒体上发表的文章更信任他们)。 最常见的情况之一是假装来自您的银行或包裹运送公司,告诉您他们无法运送您一直在等待的重要包裹,并鼓励您单击此处组织其他日期的收集或运送。

 

Catfishing

为了从个人那里获取金钱或个人信息,某人会假装成为其他人。 这些类型的骗局通常针对的是寻求浪漫关系的人,如果使用在线约会网站,这一点尤其要注意。

购买诈骗

这些是在拍卖网站或社交媒体上的虚假广告,它们使用商品的真实图片诱使您购买商品。 但是,当您单击该站点时,它看起来可能是真实的,但实际上,它是一个克隆的站点,其设置为可以接收付款和个人详细信息,而无意发送购买的物品。

测验和比赛

通常,这些测验会要求用户回答3个问题,并有可能被抽中以赢得彩票或商品。 回答问题后,您将被带到一个网站上输入个人信息,因此,如果您有幸赢得大奖,则可以领取该奖项。 问卷调查也会发生同样的情况-如果您参加我们的短期问卷调查,则有机会获胜……。

網絡釣魚

使用我们最喜欢的社交媒体平台来获取我们的个人数据和信息。 这些帖子通常可以出现在我们朋友的个人资料上,以提高他们的真实性,并意味着我们更有可能被诱骗点击。

 

如何保护年轻人免受社交媒体骗局的侵害

以下是为年轻人提供识别和报告社交媒体骗局技能的一系列主要技巧:

使用新闻故事与孩子们谈论这个问题,开始对话

当新闻中有关于最新在线骗局的故事时,然后与全家人分享–不要只针对年轻人,因为任何人都可能受到这些事情的影响,而且我们谈论在线问题的次数越多,越自然和正常。会变成!

鼓励年轻人在社交媒体帐户上检查其隐私设置

默认情况下,大多数社交媒体平台和流行的应用程序是公开的,但是大多数社交媒体平台和流行的应用程序将允许用户控制其隐私,例如选择谁可以看到其内容或可以联系他们。 您可以找到有关如何访问这些隐私设置的信息 点击此处.

一旦设置好隐私设置,仍然重要的是要提醒年轻人在共享太多信息之前要仔细考虑。

鼓励年轻人对他们在社交媒体上看到的广告更加挑剔

社交媒体上的广告通常看起来很真实,并会鼓励您单击以访问其网站进行购买,尤其重要的是要确保您位于自己认为所访问的网站上。 如有疑问,请自己浏览网站,而不要依赖广告中的链接。 另外,请阅读我们的 在线批判性思维指南 帮助年轻人学习如何在线做出更明智的选择。

如果您对要约或职位是否真实有任何疑问,请自己访问网站

鼓励年轻人不要单击社交媒体帖子或电子邮件中的任何链接-输入地址,如有必要,请登录并查看要约或声明确实是真实的。 另外,提醒他们不要向某人付款,除非他们确定要向其汇款的人并且付款是真实的。

加强保护个人数据的重要性

提醒年轻人,如果他们正在通过电子邮件或社交媒体平台使用两因素身份验证,则他们的银行绝不会要求他们提供网上银行密码详细信息或一次性密码,也不会要求他们将资金转移到一个安全的帐户,或者说他们的钱有风险。

始终报告是否看起来像骗局

如果您或您的孩子发现网上看起来可疑的东西,那么采取行动很重要。 向平台报告(您可以了解操作方法) 点击此处),您还可以向“欺诈行为”报告。 行动欺诈 是英国的国家欺诈与网络犯罪举报中心,如果我们居住在英格兰,威尔士或北爱尔兰,我们应该在这里举报诈骗。 在 苏格兰,这可以直接报告给警察。

更多资源

这有用吗?
告诉我们为什么

小巴克莱标志

向上滚动

Social media scams

Online money management guide

Together with Barclays Digital Eagles, we have created this guide where you’ll learn more about how social media can influence young people’s spending habits and how to equip them with the skills to recognise social media scams.

You’ll also get guidance on how to help them have a better understanding of how to manage their money online and make more informed decisions.

What’s on the page

How can social media influence children’s spending habits?

Social media is very important to children and young people, research from Ofcom highlighting that over three-quarters of 8-11 and 12-15-year-olds say it helps them to feel closer to their friends and that using it makes them feel happy.

While social media can help children manage friendships, it may also be a place where they are exposed to content which can directly influence them. Here are a few examples of how social media can do this:

The power of influencers

We also know that influencers on the most popular sites are able to do just that – to influence and perhaps not always in the right way. A study by Wunderman Thompson in 2019 found that 25% of 6-16-year-olds said that their preference for what to buy was influenced most by influencers and bloggers on social media channels such as Instagram, Snapchat and YouTube.

Social peer pressure

Peers can also exert influence, which has always been the case – way before the internet appeared children would ask their parents for the latest school bag, pair of trainers or the most popular collectable at the time. The difference now is that the internet can seemingly put more pressure on children and young people with constant nudging and promotion of content/adverts designed to get them to make the all-important purchase.

Online scams on the rise

Scams IconCOVID-19 has seen a significant rise in the number of online scams with some reports suggesting an increase of 66% during the lockdown. This is partly due to a lot of new users being online and scammers seeing an opportunity to exploit a perceived vulnerability but nonetheless, it means that all of us are more likely to be exposed to scams at the current time.

Indeed, data from Barclays shows that 2020 was the highest year ever for online scams and apparently 54% of us who are victims are too embarrassed to even report the crime.

Supported by Expert
Latest Poll
Spotting social media scams
Do you think your child could spot a social media scam?
Yes
0%
No
100%

How are social platforms dealing with online scams?

Social media platforms have clear policies that they enforce to protect users from scams and fraudulent or misleading content.

During the second half of 2020, TikTok rejected over 3.5 million ads that violated their advertising policies and guidelines. Equally, we have a role to play as users and need to flag content which we think might be a scam.

#Ads and influencers

In the UK, whenever an influencer or vlogger receives payment from a brand this has to be disclosed in any online content, including videos, social media post or blogs, so the nature of the relationship with the brand is clear and it is clear something is advertising prior to any engagement with it (before a user clicks on or opens anything). Back in 2019, YouTube announced stricter guidelines on how advertising could work on YouTube Kids and to ensure any ads are clearly labelled as such.

Social scams guidance from popular social networks

Learn how to spot scams on the most popular social media platforms by visiting their respective guides for further support.

 How can social media support children’s money management habits positively?

Reliance on customer reviews and recommendations

Research suggests that around 93% of customers read online reviews before buying a product. Indeed, 91% of 18-34-year-olds said that they trust online reviews as much as personal recommendations. Given the current situation with COVID-19, there has been a rise in online shopping as well as a rise in social media use and the two are linked – social media has an impact on what we buy.

Apparently, those consumers who are influenced by social media are four times more likely to spend more money on purchases. Short-term content on sites such as Snapchat or Instagram is important as they help brands to connect with consumers and particularly young people.

Over 75% of teens said that they trust YouTubers over commercials on TV and there has been a rise in the influence that vloggers are having. The research found that 95% of US parents felt that it was important to involve their children in purchases that were for them and 67% looked at products online with their children to do this.

Influencers can be key to exposing scams

These influencers have a role to play – with huge numbers of followers, many of them children and young people, they can easily share important messages about scams or other online problems to an audience who will listen to them. Recently, influencers have been sharing stories about how they themselves have been victims of online scams and are raising awareness in order to prevent the same thing from happening to their followers.

Social platforms can be a place to find bargains

Despite the obvious scams that you can find on social media, it can also be a place to find a bargain. Following reputable companies on their social media channels can give subscribers exclusive deals or early access to sale items. Indeed some companies have been reported to respond to online requests for discounts, but this is rare although recommending others to sign up to receive marketing from a company can result in discounts for you if you made the referral.

Be very wary of the ads that suggest that by liking a page you could receive free products or entered into a prize draw – these can be ways of collecting your data.

What you need to know about social media scams

If something is advertised as ‘free’ online take time to review it more closely before sharing your details

This particularly applies to offers that we might encounter on social media. The bottom line is that if it looks too good to be true then it probably is. At a quick glance, many social media scams appear genuine for example – they might include the logo of a popular brand that catches your eye and encourages you to click.

Scams often are looking to harvest data and sell it to a third party

One scam particularly popular with children and young people are apps which claims to be able to tell you who has been looking at (or stalking) your social media profile. This can be really attractive for teenagers who are navigating the challenging experiences of relationships and wanting to be popular. However, these apps are merely looking to collect personal data by introducing malware (viruses) to devices which harvest data and are not connected to the social media platform in question. Social media sites do not share the data that would be needed to make such an app work. Often these apps will post a message to friends and those you are connected to online recommending it to them – research has shown that we are much more likely to believe a recommendation from a friend and so the problem spreads.

Scams can be sophisticated and impersonate popular brands or trends

There are many different types of scams circulating on social media and while some might be easy to spot with spelling mistakes – logos that have clearly been altered and copied – some are more sophisticated and difficult to identify. We are used to seeing advertising from brands that we follow or have shopped with on social media and scammers exploit this, so it can be difficult to tell the difference between a legitimate advert and a scam. Scammers will also seize on current issues such as the COVID-19 vaccination programme, and try to exploit anxieties and concerns around these.

Popular types of scam to look out for

Learn more about types of social scams
Clickbait

An image or text designed to grab our attention and encourage us to click on a link or to engage with a piece of content such as a video or short article. The content will very often be sensational (you’re not going to believe this) or present an offer (last chance, only 3 left). Clickbait will promise something which is very unlikely to materialise.

Identity theft

Many of us post a lot of information on social media. This can be taken by others and used to steal our identity. Names, addresses, dates of birth are often easy to find – even if you don’t share your DOB, posts on your birthday from family and friends saying Happy 16th will make it easy to determine. Having a private account is important, but how many of your 537 followers do you actually know?

Get rich quick

This clearly falls into the ‘if it looks too good to be true then it probably’ is category. If it was really that easy then surely everyone would be doing it?

Smishing

This is phishing but on a mobile device. Usually, smishing will make use of texts (which people often seem to trust more than they would a post on social media). One of the most common will pretend to be from your bank or from a parcel delivery company telling you that they were unable to deliver that important package you’ve been waiting for and encouraging you to click here to organise collection or delivery on another date.

 

Catfishing

Someone will pretend to be someone else online in order to acquire money or personal information from an individual. These types of scams are usually targeted at those looking for a romantic relationship and this is something to be particularly aware of if using online dating sites.

Purchasing scams

These are fake adverts on auction sites or social media that use genuine images of items to persuade you to buy something. However, when you click through to the site it may look real but in fact, it’s a cloned site that is set up to take payment and personal details without the intention of sending out the purchased item.

Quizzes and competitions

Very often these quizzes will ask users to answer 3 questions with the promise of being put into a draw to win tickets or merchandise. Once the questions are answered, you are taken to a website to input personal information so you can receive the prize if you are lucky enough to win it. The same can happen with surveys – if you take part in our short survey you can have the chance to win….

Phishing

Using our favourite social media platforms in order to take our personal data and information. These posts can often appear on our friends’ profiles to give them more authenticity and mean that we are more likely to be duped into clicking.

 

How to protect young people from social media scams

Here is a range of top tips to equip young people with the skills to recognise and report social media scams:

Talk to children about the issue using news stories to start conversations

When there is a story in the news about the latest online scam then share this with the whole family – don’t just target young people as anyone can be affected by these things and the more we talk about online issues the more natural and normal it will become!

Encourage young people to check their privacy settings on their social media accounts

Most social media platforms and popular apps are public by default, but most will allow users to control their privacy for example choosing who can see their content or who can contact them. You can find information on how to access these privacy settings here.

Once the privacy settings are in place it is still important to remind young people to think carefully before sharing too much information.

Encourage young people to be more critical about the ads they see on social media

Adverts on social media will often look genuine and encourage you to click to visit their website to make a purchase, it is especially important to make sure that you are on the site that you think you are on. If in doubt, then browse the site yourself rather than relying on a link in an advert. Also, read our Online critical thinking guide to help young people learn how to make smarter choices online.

If you are in any doubt about whether an offer or a post is genuine then visit the website yourself

Encourage young people not to click on any links in a social media post or email – type in the address, login if necessary and see whether the offer or claim is indeed genuine. Also, remind them never to make a payment to someone unless they are sure that the person they are sending money to and the payment is genuine.

Reinforce the importance of protecting personal data

Remind young people that their bank will NEVER ask them to provide online banking password details or a One-Time-Passcode if they are using two-factor authentication via an email or social media platform, nor will their bank ever ask them to transfer funds to a safe account or say their money is at risk.

Always report if something looks like a scam

If you or your children become aware of something that looks suspicious online, then it is important to act. Report it to the platform (you can find out how to do that here) and you can also report to Action Fraud. Action Fraud is the UK’s national reporting centre for fraud and cybercrime and is the place where we should report scams if we live in England, Wales, or Northern Ireland. In Scotland, this can be reported directly to the police.

Further resources

Was this useful?
Tell us why

Barclays logo small

Scroll Up