科技与儿童

孩子们如何在网上赚钱

了解孩子们如何通过他们最喜欢的平台进行在线购物和销售,以及潜在的风险和收益。

为什么孩子们想在网上赚钱?

GoHenry 表示,超过 70% 的英国和美国 6-18 岁青少年表示,自己赚钱对他们来说很重要。

此外,42% 的 16-18 岁人群表示,生活成本危机导致他们“尽早开始为重大生活事件进行储蓄”。

这些“人生大事”包括买房子、参加驾驶课程、去度假、搬出去和上大学。 这些节省可能是由于此类活动对父母的依赖减少了。

高亨利 另据报道,71%的儿童担心生活成本危机。 孩子们的反应表明他们希望在困难时期帮助父母。 例如,25% 的 9 岁儿童表示他们会用零用钱帮助经营家庭食品店。 此外,54% 的 16 岁青少年表示他们有一份兼职工作或正在寻找一份兼职工作来帮助家人赚点外快。

UCAS的进一步研究 还发现,79% 开始上大学的青少年担心财务问题,这可能导致他们想要赚点额外的钱。

这是图片:获取您的数字工具包

获取免费的个性化资源和建议,以掌握新兴技术。

获取您的数字工具包

孩子们如何在网上赚钱?

数字空间意味着孩子们可以通过多种方式赚钱。 这些是他们采取的一些更受欢迎的路线。

内容创建

社交媒体的“影响力”

投资/交易股票

投资加密货币

通过视频游戏赚钱

Roblox 等视频游戏允许用户创建和销售自己的内容。 该内容可以包括用户头像的“皮肤”或配件以及迷你游戏、世界或其他资产。

在 Roblox 中,创作者市场为用户提供了一种与他人分享其创作的简单方法。 它的工作原理与其他类似 在线市场 用户可以查看产品并浏览项目。 要使用此服务,用户必须年满 13 岁并验证其帐户。

一旦 Roblox 创作者通过销售赚取一定数量的 Robux,他们就可以将这种虚拟货币转换为真实货币。 这仅适用于创作者,不适用于其他用户。

通过视频游戏流赚钱也很受欢迎,尤其是通过内容货币化的选项。 GoHenry 表示,“多达 18% 的孩子通过在线游戏赚钱。” 这通常仅适用于 13 岁及以上的人,并且父母通常负责管理帐户内容。

通过在线市场销售

据 GoHenry 称,25% 的英国 6-18 岁青少年通过网上卖东西赚钱。

从出售旧衣服到通过工艺品赚钱,许多孩子通过市场在网上赚钱。 然而,父母通常需要拥有这些市场中的帐户,以便孩子使用它们。 这是由于国家年龄要求和安全问题。

孩子们用什么应用程序赚钱?

消除爆音

什么是德波普?

Depop是一个社交电子商务平台,允许用户买卖二手物品。 Depop 上的大多数商品都是服装。

与社交媒体平台一样,用户可以关注其他人并查看建议购买商品的“探索”页面。

要在 Depop 上销售,用户必须年满 13 岁。 但是,18 岁以下的儿童必须获得父母的许可。 此外,该支付系统与 Paypal 相连,要求用户年满 18 岁。 因此,孩子们不太可能在父母或照顾者不知情的情况下使用 Depop。

有多少孩子使用 Depop?

Depop拥有约30万用户,大多数年龄在26岁以下。 虽然没有确切数字说明有多少人未满 18 岁,但重点关注青少年和年轻人表明这一数字很大。

Depop 在对 Z 世代用户的调查中发现,75 名受访用户中,2167% 的人表示购买二手物品的主要原因是为了减少消费。

Etsy

孩子们如何使用 Etsy?

Etsy 是一个在线市场,致力于销售手工制作和个性化的商品。 13-17 岁的儿童可以在 Etsy 上销售。 但是,父母或看护人必须为 18 岁以下儿童创建帐户并购物。 此外,财务信息、首选姓名和电子邮件地址都必须属于父母。

然后,孩子们可以出售他们制作的物品,例如绘画、工艺品和其他创作。

有多少孩子使用 Etsy?

Etsy 在全球有超过 95 万活跃用户。 然而,由于帐户所有者必须年满 18 岁,因此无法知道有多少人未满 18 岁。

然而,Etsy 在 18-35 岁的人群中最受欢迎,其中 30% 的卖家居住在英国。

Vinted

什么是 Vinted?

Vinted 是一个专为买卖二手服装和配饰而设计的在线市场。 其条款和条件规定,该服务不适合 18 岁以下的人。但是,父母可以代表孩子创建这些帐户。 他们对帐户上的任何活动负责。

青少年可以卖掉旧衣服来赚钱(和空间)购买新物品。 与 Depop 一样,Vinted 鼓励用户回收并购买旧衣服,而不是经常花钱购买新衣服。

有多少孩子使用 Vinted?

由于 Vinted 面向 18 岁及以上的人群,因此很难知道有多少儿童使用该服务。 它在全球拥有数百万用户,仅在英国就有超过 8 万用户。 许多青少年和年轻人可能会使用该应用程序来打造自己的衣柜和风格。

孩子们的钱怎么花?

除了网上赚钱之外,还有很多消费机会。 这些是孩子们在网上花钱的一些常见方式。

游戏内支出

德米特里·威廉姆斯教授 教授技术与社会、游戏和数据分析等课程。 谈到视频游戏,他说我们购买视频游戏的方式已经发生了变化——从我们亲自购买的东西变成了我们现在下载或作为服务一部分的东西。 “这意味着游戏开发商不再通过销售预先赚钱,而是转向其他收入来源。 。 。 。 解决方案是要么让游戏变得便宜或免费,然后再追加销售其中的内容。”

他说,这些费用要么可以节省开支,要么可以增加开支。 “从本质上讲,开发商已经找到了一种方法,让人们愿意支付多少钱,而不是固定价格。”

游戏内消费指南

了解如何管理游戏内支出,以帮助孩子保持积极的体验。

前往指南
玩家买什么?

威廉姆斯教授表示,游戏内支出分为 4 类。

1.更多游戏内容

“第一个就是更多的游戏内容。 如果我们认为游戏的内容类似于电视剧,那么更多的内容就像是另一集或一季。 这可能意味着有更多的地方可供探索,更多的恶棍可供击败,等等。”

2. 虚拟游戏内物品

“第二个是游戏中的虚拟物品。 通常这些东西会帮助玩家竞争,比如更快的汽车、更强的剑等等。”

3. 自我表达的物品

“第三种物品实际上并不能帮助玩家获胜,而是让他们自我表达。 这些东西比如五颜六色的帽子、一把漂亮的枪,甚至是角色或游戏中头像的完全不同的外观。 令许多人惊讶的是,这是支出的很大一部分; 这表明身份和表达对于所有年龄段的球员来说是多么重要。”

4. 跳过广告

“最后,许多游戏都是免费的,或者是通过观看广告来驱动的,因此玩家可以花时间或注意力来付费。 游戏开发者通常会采取一些方法来跳过这些步骤来获得好东西,而无需无意义地进行磨练(开发者使部分内容变得不那么有趣,因此玩家想跳过它)或观看广告。 当然,他们允许小额(或大额)购买。”

要知道的单词和术语

“其中许多采购规模较小,被称为 “微交易”(MTX),尽管有些逃脱了微观定义并且可能变得相当昂贵。

当新内容作为原始游戏的附加内容提供时,这称为 “可下载内容”(DLC).

一些视频游戏允许玩家帮助创建内容(整个游戏、化妆品、关卡等),然后其他玩家可以消费或购买。 有时他们会向玩家提供利润分成,有时则不会。 玩家制作的东西称为 “用户生成的内容”(UGC).

游戏中角色或物体的新外观是“皮肤',这意味着它保留了原来的功能和通常的形状,但现在看起来不同了。 一个例子是,一个女性精灵现在打扮得像现代摇滚明星,但在其他方面也可以做同样的事情。”

以自己的方式储蓄或支付

研究表明,越来越多的儿童和青少年正在为未来的开支储蓄或为自己的服务付费。 例如,11% 的人开始为自己的娱乐活动付费,例如看电影和体育赛事。 此外,大约 3/4 的年轻人不希望父母为他们支付婚礼、教育或新房的费用。

时装及配饰

通过 Depop 和 Vinted 等应用程序,许多年轻人用赚到的钱再投资于其他物品。 例如,青少年可以卖掉一件旧毛衣,然后用这笔钱购买另一件新的毛衣。

Depop 和 UCAS 的研究表明,年轻人的消费更加有意识,无论是为了省钱还是做出更可持续的选择。

然而,大量购买是在亚马逊等在线市场或耐克等在线商店进行的。 《经济学人》还指出,Z 世代更有可能购买老一代人认为“奢侈品”的物品,其中通常包括自我护理物品。 儿童和青少年更有可能将福利购买置于其他购买之前。

帮助孩子安全在线赚钱的 4 个技巧

网上买卖可能有很多风险,但也有很多好处。 以下是一些增加这些好处的方法。

培养他们的金融素养

如何帮助孩子培养金融知识技能

通过网上银行和电子商务,互联网提供了多种方法来帮助儿童培养金融知识技能。 这样做可以帮助孩子们了解和管理他们想要购买或出售的物品的预算。

看看妈妈 Steph 如何帮助她的孩子学习关键的财务技能:

经常谈论财务

需要谈论的事情

无论网络问题是什么,定期讨论它是保证孩子安全的最佳方法。 当您进行定期、开放的对话时,孩子们就有机会表达任何担忧或向您介绍他们的数字空间。

通过在线金融,定期讨论赚钱可以帮助您的孩子与在线买卖建立良好的关系。

您可以考虑谈论:

  • 他们花多少时间在网上赚钱?
  • 他们喜欢它什么? 如果他们不再享受它,他们会做什么?
  • 他们如何平衡赚钱与其他活动?
  • 网上赚钱有什么挑战吗? 他们如何应对这些挑战?
  • 作为他们的家长,您有什么可以支持的吗?

开店并一起销售

支持和管理儿童网上商店

如果您的孩子在线销售商品,他们将需要您帮助在大多数平台上创建帐户。 这是一个很好的机会,可以鼓励他们的创业精神,同时保持他们正在做的事情的领先地位。

每周留出时间检查商店的经营情况,并与您的孩子讨论他们的销售情况以及他们的愿望。 虽然网上卖东西可以教授宝贵的技能,但它不应该妨碍学业或其他爱好。 定期交谈可以帮助您解决与他们之间的任何困难。

专注于他们可以培养的技能

孩子们可以通过网上赚钱学到哪些技能?

除了金融知识之外,孩子们还可以学习一系列网上赚钱的技能。 不要关注电子商务带来的收入或支出,而是鼓励他们正在学习的其他技能。

  • 平面设计:如果您的孩子创建并销售游戏内物品,他们可能会学到很多有关图形设计的知识,以便在以后的生活中使用。
  • 编码或网页开发:如果您的孩子经营商店或创建游戏内物品,他们也可能学习编码或网络开发方面的技能。
  • 客户服务和沟通:销售将涉及一定程度的客户服务,包括专业沟通和同理心以了解他们的需求。
  • 耐心和毅力:无论是制作工艺品还是虚拟物品,创作过程和销售过程都会花费大量时间。 他们可能看不到立竿见影的结果或销售,因此对他们来说保持耐心并不断尝试很重要。
  • 永续发展:对于儿童转售物品的在线市场,他们将学习有关可持续发展的关键想法,这些想法可以随着他们的成长而随身携带。

虽然看到您的孩子在网上赚钱可能会引起一些担忧,但在您的指导和支持下,您可以确保他们体验到的好处多于风险。

认识专家

德米特里·威廉姆斯博士的头像
德米特里·威廉姆斯博士

德米特里·威廉姆斯(Dmitri Williams) (密歇根州博士,2004 年)是南加州大学安纳伯格传播学院教授,​​教授技术与社会、游戏和数据分析等课程。

他目前的工作重点是通过“社会价值”概念研究人群之间的影响力。 他目前的工作重点是新媒体(通常是在线游戏)的社会和经济影响。 他积极与科技领域的公司和初创公司合作。

他的作品还被多家主要媒体报道,包括 NPR、CNN、《经济学人》、《纽约时报》、《旧金山纪事报》、《芝加哥太阳时报》等。 威廉姆斯曾在美国参议院就电子游戏问题作证,并曾担任联邦法院案件的专家证人和顾问。

参观 dmitriwilliams.com 或跟着他 LinkedIn.

戈亨利标志
资料来源:GoHenry

虽然 GoHenry 并未为本指南做出贡献,但他们的研究有助于了解本指南中的大部分内容。

高亨利 是一家专注于6-18岁人群金融教育的金融科技公司。 该公司为 18 岁以下青少年提供 Visa 借记卡和应用程序,帮助他们培养金融知识技能。

在本指南中,我们参考了 GoHenry 的以下研究:

这有用吗?
告诉我们如何改进它

Tech & Kids

How kids make money online

Learn how children buy and sell online with their favourite platforms along with potential risks and benefits.

Tech & Kids

How kids make money online

Learn how children buy and sell online with their favourite platforms along with potential risks and benefits.

Why do kids want to make money online?

According to GoHenry, over 70% of 6-18-year-olds in the UK and US say earning their own money is important to them.

Additionally, 42% of 16-18-year-olds say the Cost of Living crisis has led them to “start saving early for big life events.”

These ‘big life events’ include buying a house, taking driving lessons, going on holiday, moving out and going to university. These savings are likely due to less dependence on parents for such events.

GoHenry also reported 71% of children worry about the Cost of Living crisis. Responses from children saw them wanting to help their parents during difficult times. For instance, 25% of 9-year-olds say they would use their pocket money to help with family food shops. Additionally, 54% of 16-year-olds said they had a part-time job or were looking for one to help their family earn extra money.

Further research from UCAS also found that 79% of teens starting university worried about finances, which could lead to them wanting to earn a little extra.

This is the image for: GET YOUR DIGITAL TOOLKIT

Get free personalised resources and advice to stay on top of new and emerging tech.

GET YOUR DIGITAL TOOLKIT

How do kids make money online?

The digital space means kids can make money in a range of ways. These are some of the more popular routes they take.

Content creation

Social media ‘influence’

Investing / trading stocks

Investing in cryptocurrency

Making money with video games

Video games like Roblox allows users to create and sell their own content. This content can include ‘skins’ or accessories for user avatars as well as mini games, worlds or other assets.

In Roblox, the Creator Marketplace gives users an easy way to share their creations with others. It works similar to other online marketplaces in that users can review products and browse items. To use this service, users must be 13 or older and verify their account.

Once Roblox creators earn a certain amount of Robux from sales, they can then convert this virtual currency to real currency. This is only available for creators, not other users.

Earning through video game streams is also popular, especially with options to monetise content. GoHenry says “as many as 18% of kids earn money through online gaming.” This is usually only available to those aged 13 and over, and parents will often be in charge of managing account content.

Selling with online marketplaces

According to GoHenry, 25% of 6-18-year-olds in the UK sell things online to make money.

From selling used clothes to earning money from crafts, many kids make money online with marketplaces. However, parents will often need to own the accounts in these marketplaces for children to make use of them. This is due to country age requirements and safety concerns.

What apps do kids use to make money?

Depop

What is Depop?

Depop is a social e-commerce platform that lets users buy and sell secondhand items. Most items on Depop are clothing items.

Like social media platforms, users can follow others and view an ‘explore’ page that suggests items to purchase.

To sell on Depop, users must be 13 or older. However, children under the age of 18 must get parent permission. Additionally, the payment system is linked to Paypal, which requires users to be 18 or older. As such, children are unlikely to use Depop without parents or carers knowing.

How many kids use Depop?

Depop has a user base of about 30 million users and most are aged below 26-years-old. While there isn’t an exact figure for how many are under 18, the focus on teens and young adults suggests a large number.

In a survey of Gen Z users, Depop found that 75% of 2167 surveyed users said their main reason for buying secondhand items was to reduce consumption.

Etsy

How do kids use Etsy?

Etsy is an online marketplace that promotes handmade and personalised items for sale. Children aged 13-17 can sell on Etsy. However, parents or carers must create the account and shop for under-18s. Additionally, the financial information, preferred name and email address must all belong to the parent.

Children can then sell items they make such as drawings, crafts and other creations.

How many kids use Etsy?

There are over 95 million active users on Etsy across the world. However, because account owners must be 18 or older, it’s impossible to know how many are under 18.

However, Etsy is most popular among 18-35-year-olds with 30% of sellers living in the UK.

Vinted

What is Vinted?

Vinted is an online marketplace designed for buying and selling secondhand clothing and accessories. Its Terms and Conditions say the service is not for those under 18. However, parents can create these accounts on their children’s behalf. They take responsibility for any activity on the account.

Teens can sell their old clothes to make money (and space) for new items. Like Depop, Vinted encourages users to recycle and purchase used clothes rather than spending regularly on new items.

How many kids use Vinted?

Because Vinted is for those aged 18 and over, it’s difficult to know how many children use the service. It has millions of users around the world with over 8 million in the UK alone. It’s likely that many teens and young adults use the app to build their wardrobe and style.

How do kids spend their money?

Along with making money online, there are also plenty of opportunities for spending. These are some common ways children spend money online.

In-game spending

Professor Dmitri Williams teaches courses on technology and society, games and data analytics. When it comes to video games, he says that the way we buy video games has changed — from something we’d buy in person to something we now download or have as part of a service. “That’s meant that rather than making money up front on a sale, game developers have turned to other income sources. . . . The solution has been to either make a game inexpensive or free, and then to upsell things inside it later on.”

He says that these charges can either lead to savings or more expenses. “Essentially, the developers have found a way to get people to pay however much they want to, rather than one set price.”

In-game spending guide

Learn how to manage in-game spending to help keep kids' experiences positive.

GO TO GUIDE
What do players buy?

Professor Williams says that there are 4 categories when it comes to in-game spending.

1. More of the game

“The first is simply more of the game. If we think about games having content like a TV series, then more of it is like another episode or season. That might mean more places to explore, more villains to defeat, etc.”

2. Virtual in-game items

“The second is virtual items within a game. Usually these are things that will help the player compete like a faster car, stronger sword, etc.”

3. Items for self-expression

“The third are items that actually don’t help a player win, but instead let them self-express. These are things like a colourful hat, a fancy gun or even a whole different appearance for their character or in-game avatar. Surprisingly to many, this is a very large portion of spending; it goes to show how important identity and expression is for players of all ages.”

4. Skipping ads

“Lastly, many of these games are free or are driven by watching ads, and so the player can instead pay with their time or attention. Game developers often build in ways to skip these steps to get to the good stuff without either grinding away meaninglessly (the developers make portions not fun so players want to skip it) or watching ads. Naturally, they allow this with small (or large) purchases.”

Words and terms to know

“Many of these purchases are small and are called ‘microtransactions’ (MTX), though some escape the micro definition and can become quite expensive.

When new content becomes available as an add-on to the original game, that’s called ‘downloadable content’ (DLC).

Some video games allow players to help create the content (whole games, cosmetics, levels, etc.), which other players can then consumer or buy. Sometimes they offer players a cut of the profits, and sometimes not. The stuff players make is called ‘user-generated content’ (UGC).

A new look for a character or an object in a game is a ‘skin‘, which means it retains its original function and usually its shape, but now it looks different. An example would be a female elf is now dressed up like a modern rock star, but otherwise can do the same things.”

Saving or paying their own way

Research shows that more children and teens are saving for future expenses or paying for their own services. For instance, 11% have begun paying for their own entertainment such as cinema and sporting events. Furthermore, around 3/4s of young people don’t expect their parents to pay for their wedding, education or towards a new house.

Fashion and accessories

With apps like Depop and Vinted, many young people use the money they earn to then reinvest in other items. For instance, a teen can sell an old jumper and then use that money to buy another jumper that’s new-to-them.

Research from both Depop and UCAS suggest young people are spending more consciously, whether that’s to save money or make more sustainable choices.

However, plenty of purchases are made to online marketplaces like Amazon or online shops like Nike. The Economist also suggests that Gen Z are more likely to purchase items considered ‘luxury’ to older generations, which often include self-care items. Children and young people are more likely to put wellbeing purchases ahead of other purchases.

4 tips to help kids make money online safely

Buying and selling online can have many risks as well as benefits. Here are some ways to increase those benefits.

Develop their financial literacy

How to help kids build financial literacy skills

With online banking and e-commerce, the internet offers many ways to help children build financial literacy skills. And doing this helps children understand and manage budgets for things they want to buy or sell.

See how mum, Steph, helps her children learn key finance skills:

Talk regularly about finance

What to talk about

Whatever the online issue, talking regularly about it is the best way to keep kids safe. When you have regular, open conversations, you give children the opportunity to express any concerns or to teach you about their digital space.

With online finance, regular conversations about making money can help your child develop a good relationships with buying and selling online.

You might consider talking about:

  • How much of their time does making money online take?
  • What do they enjoy about it? What would they do if they no longer enjoyed it?
  • How do they balance making money with other activities?
  • Are there any challenges with making money online? How do they manage those challenges?
  • Is there anything you as their parent can support with?

Set up shop and sell together

Support and manage children’s online shops

If your child sells items online, they will need your help creating an account on most platforms. This is a great opportunity to encourage their entrepreneurial spirit while also keeping on top of what they’re doing.

Set time aside every week to check in on how the shop is doing, and talk with your child about their sales as well as their aspirations. While selling things online can teach valuable skills, it should not get in the way of schoolwork or other hobbies. Regular conversations can help you talk through any struggles with them.

Focus on the skills they can build

What skills can kids learn with making money online?

Beyond financial literacy, children can learn a range of skills when it comes to making money online. Instead of focusing on the income or spending that comes with e-commerce, encourage the others skills they’re learning.

  • Graphic design: If your child creates and sells in-game items, they are likely to learn a lot about graphic design that they can use later in life.
  • Coding or web development: If your child runs a shop or creates in-game items, they are likely to learn skills around coding or web development as well.
  • Customer service and communication: Sales will involve some amount of customer service, including professional communication and empathy to understand their needs.
  • Patience and perseverance: Whether creating crafts or virtual items, both the creation process and selling process can take a lot of time. They might not see instant results or sales, so it’s important for them to remain patient and keep trying.
  • Sustainability: For online marketplaces where children resell their items, they will learn key ideas around sustainability that they can take with them as they grow.

While seeing your kid making money online can cause some concern, with your guidance and support, you can ensure they experience more of the benefits than the risks.

Meet the experts

Headshot of Dmitri Williams, PhD
Dmitri Williams, PhD

Dmitri Williams (PhD, Michigan 2004) is a professor at the University of Southern California Annenberg School for Communication, where he teaches courses on technology and society, games and data analytics.

His current work focuses on the study of influence among populations through the concept of ‘social value.’ His ongoing work centres on the social and economic impacts of new media, often within online games. He works actively with companies and startups across the tech sectors.

His work has also been featured in several major media outlets, including NPR, CNN, the Economist, the New York Times, the San Francisco Chronicle, the Chicago Sun-Times and others. Williams testified before the U.S. Senate on video games and has served as an expert witness and consultant in federal court cases.

Visit dmitriwilliams.com or follow him on LinkedIn.

GoHenry logo
Source: GoHenry

While GoHenry did not contribute to this guide, their research helped inform much of the content within this guide.

GoHenry is a financial technology company that focuses on financial education for 6-18-year-olds. The company offers a Visa debit card and app for under-18s to help them develop financial literacy skills.

In this guide, we referred to the following research from GoHenry:

Was this useful?
Tell us how we can improve it