您今年的数字节日将是什么样? | 互联网事务

您今年的数字节日将是什么样?

由于今年3月制定了与社会隔离的规定,对于许多家庭来说,今年的节日季节将有很大不同。 了解XNUMX Damion Founde的父亲如何向我们讲述他的家人将为庆祝使用技术所做的事情。

Founde家族的亲戚遍布东北和约克郡,他们希望在圣诞节期间探望他们。 通常,节日期间会有大家庭聚会,晚餐和休息日。

庆祝视频通话

今年的情况看起来非常不同。 这个家庭将在圣诞节那天使用FaceTime与家人聊天,并且计划使用Zoom与一些远亲戚进行家庭测验。 “ FaceTime是最简单的跟家人见面的方式,但是Chloe(17)与朋友经常使用Zoom,因此我们将在家庭测验之夜尝试这种方式,” Damion说。

放宽数字界限

这个家庭将使用很多技术,Damion承认,经过艰难的几个月后,一些规则将在今年圣诞节放宽。 “孩子们确实突破了界限,但过了一年,我想今年圣诞节我会放松一些,只是为了给他们某种形式的常态,”达米恩说。

Damion在技术领域工作了多年,在技术上非常精通,这已经传给了他的孩子们。 “我的孩子们非常聪明,甚至Alfie(4)都知道他应该在网上做什么的是非。” Damion补充道。

但这并不是说Damion不喜欢技术。 他称自己为“技术拥护者”,并认为家庭应拥护技术。 “无论是游戏机,笔记本电脑还是手机,我们都不能否认我们的孩子在科技方面的时间。 现在是圣诞节,孩子们可能想整天玩耍!”

儿童圣诞节愿望清单

但是,还有其他令人兴奋的玩具供孩子们玩,而这些玩具不涉及屏幕。 礼来(11)和阿尔菲(4)今年已要求购买乐高玩具,以及新衣服和恐龙玩具。 克洛伊(Chloe)要求提供一台笔记本电脑来帮助大学工作,达米恩(Damion)已经安装了该笔记本电脑,可以在包装前安全地进行在线使用。

在屏幕时间上取得平衡

Damion认为,管理屏幕时间对父母来说是一项持续的挑战,并且随着越来越多的技术可用,这一挑战每年都在增加。 像全国各地的许多孩子一样,Damion的孩子们将在圣诞节收到一些技术礼物。 他说:“这真是太棒了,这些天我们不能没有技术,但是我们确实需要教育我们的孩子技术的使用以及对安全和福祉的后果。”

这个圣诞节Damion和他的妻子将制定规则来管理放映时间。 没有学校来分散他们的注意力,达米翁和他的妻子不希望他们养成过多盯着银幕的习惯。 取而代之的是,将会有很多棋盘游戏和拼图游戏让孩子们思考。 该家庭还计划与其他人,户外活动和离线玩具进行大量互动。

父屏幕时间提示

Damion建议父母为圣诞节创建一个结构,该结构涉及具有技术时间的孩子以及拥有家庭时间的孩子,使他们脱离那些诱人的屏幕。 这可能是棋盘游戏,离线玩具或在桌子上与家人聊天。 “重要的是,我们有责任确保孩子们知道还有其他事情可以做,而不是坐在屏幕前,”达米恩说。

尽管听起来很严重,但Damion表示,今年圣诞节Founde家族的头等大事很简单:尽情享受。 “经历了糟糕的一年,我们所有人都应该享受自己,并度过了美好的一年。”

达米恩·Founde 是住在米德尔斯堡的全职父亲,他和三个孩子分别是克洛伊(17),莉莉(11)和阿尔菲(4)。 他在撰写了一个受欢迎的育儿博客 北方爸爸

最近的帖子

向上滚动

What will your digital festive season look like this year?

With social distancing rules in place this December, for many families, the festive season will look very different this year. To understand how Dad of 3 Damion Founde speaks to us about what his family will be doing to celebrate using tech.

The Founde family has relatives spread across the North East and Yorkshire that they were looking forward to visiting at Christmas. Ordinarily, there would be big family reunions, dinners and days out during the festive season.

Celebrating over video calls

This year things look very different. The family will be using FaceTime to chat with family members on Christmas Day, and there are plans to use Zoom for family quizzes with some of the distant relatives. “FaceTime is the easiest way to catch up with family, but Chloe (17) uses Zoom a lot with her friends, so we’re going to try that for a family quiz night,” says Damion.

Relaxed digital boundaries

The family will be using lots of technology and Damion admits that after a tough few months, some of the rules will be relaxed this Christmas. “The kids do push the boundaries, but after the year we’ve had, I think I’ll be a little more relaxed this Christmas just to give them some form of normality,” Damion says.

Damion has worked in the technology sector for many years and is quite technically savvy, something he has passed on to his children. “My kids are quite clued up and even Alfie (4) knows the rights and wrongs of what he should be doing online,” adds Damion.

That’s not to say Damion isn’t a fan of technology. He describes himself as a “technology advocate” and thinks that families should embrace technology. “We can’t deny our children tech time, whether it’s games consoles, laptops or phones. It’s Christmas and kids will want to play on it – probably all day!”

Kids’ Christmas wish list

There will be other exciting toys for the children to enjoy that don’t involve screens, however. Lilly (11) and Alfie (4) have asked for LEGO toys this year, as well as new clothes and dinosaur toys. Chloe has asked for a laptop to help with college work, which Damion has already set up and made safe for online use before it’s wrapped up.

Striking a balance with screen time

Managing screen time is a constant challenge for parents, and one that increases every year as more tech becomes available, Damion believes. Like many kids around the country, Damion’s children will receive some technology gifts at Christmas. “It’s fantastic, we can’t live without technology these days, but we do need to educate our kids on the use of technology and the consequences around safety and wellbeing,” he says.

This Christmas Damion and his wife will be setting rules to manage screen time. Without school to distract them, Damion and his wife don’t want them to fall into the habit of staring at screens too much. Instead, there will be lots of board games and puzzles to get the kids thinking. The family is also planning lots of interaction with other people, outdoor time and offline toys.

Parent screen time tip

Damion recommends that parents create a structure for Christmas Day that involves children having tech time but also family time that pulls them away from those tempting screens. That might be board games, offline toys, or chatting with the family over the table. “The important thing is that we have a duty of care to ensure children are aware there are other things that we can be doing instead of being in front of a screen,” says Damion.

While this sounds quite serious, Damion says the number one priority for the Founde family this Christmas is simple: enjoy yourself. “After a terrible year, we all deserve to enjoy ourselves and have a great end to the year.”

Damion Founde is a stay-at-home Dad living in Middlesbrough with his three children, Chloe (17), Lilly (11) and Alfie (4). He writes a popular parenting blog at The Northern Dad

Scroll Up