社交媒体是否会影响我孩子的心理健康?

如果您想了解如何帮助您的孩子在社交媒体上管理自己的生活并限制他们的心理健康风险,我们的专家会提供很多很好的建议。


Linda Papadopoulos博士

心理学家和互联网事务大使
专家网站

如果父母因为压力和社交媒体的使用而感到自己的孩子患有心理健康问题,他们应该采取哪些步骤?

几年前,当我开始研究社交媒体对年轻人的影响时,大部分担心都在于获取色情内容以及网上陌生人接触孩子的可能性。 虽然这些仍然是需要解决的重要问题,但我认为越来越多的是网络世界中更隐蔽的方面可能会影响我们孩子的心理健康。

年轻人生活在一个不断联系的世界,虽然这带来了好处,但也有一种感觉,你经常可见,并通过延伸判断。 这提高了人们对您的知名度和对其他人的意见的认识; 他们的外表,行为,行为,他们发布的内容,他们发布的频率,他们喜欢什么,他们如何评论其他人的个人资料 - 让许多孩子感到压力,无法摆脱社交媒体不可避免的自我意识离开你。

如果您怀疑您的孩子感到压力使他们的在线身份更加活跃,那么您可以做一些事情:

如何支持你的孩子

1。 告知:了解您孩子正在使用的社交媒体网站,以便您真正了解他们的感受。 如果你说他们的语言,他们更有可能接受你的建议。
2。 鼓励批判性思维:了解您如何与孩子进行讨论。 避免做出评判或讲道,而是邀请你的孩子谈论他们的感受,并鼓励他们批判地思考他们为什么做他们在网上做的事情,他们感受到的压力以及他们实际拥有多少控制权。

3。 一般说来:不要害怕将社交媒体称为一种不仅影响他们而且影响每个人的现象。 这可能使他们更容易开放和批判性思考。 例如,您可能会讨论社交媒体是否会扭曲对美丽或受欢迎程度的期望,或者他们相信他们的朋友或他们发布的图片或想法对生活和幸福的现实描绘有多少。

4。 承认有时候事情会让人感到压倒一切:考试,家庭,放学后的承诺,朋友们都需要做很多工作 - 请注意这一点。 将其正常化将有助于抑制焦虑情绪。 还要看看他们的社交媒体承诺如何添加到他们的待办事项列表中。 这样做可以让他们更容易谈论他们花在社交媒体上的时间。

5。 帮助他们培养切合实际的期望和更好的时间管理技能:告诉他们您了解社交媒体对他们的重要程度以及您对此的尊重,同时也解释了强调的感受是您可以同情和帮助的。 共同努力建立家庭作业和其他承诺计划。 确保您包含所有“必须”的停机时间,包括社交媒体。 谈论有助于减轻体力活动和创造力的活动,以及与家人朋友面对面交流的重要性。 帮助他们理解2事物(在线连接和面对面连接)不必相互排斥的想法。

凯瑟琳尼布斯

儿童创伤治疗师,同伴支持约克郡
专家网站

社交媒体对心理健康的最大影响是什么? 即身体形象,睡觉,FOMO? 父母应该注意什么?

社交媒体可能是一把双刃剑。 如果它为年轻人之间的关系互动提供了许多积极的好处,那么它也可以突出存在这些关系中的困难。 类似于操场上的压力,以适应,顺应和驱动属于它,它可以在数字空间中呈现持久的感觉。 每个影响都是个体的,父母需要寻找的迹象与每个孩子一样个性化,并且面临着压力。

作为父母,了解青少年大脑可以感知到这些压力对他们来说更加强烈,并且不是愚蠢或过分夸大。 一种开放的,非评判性的方法和温和的好奇心可以帮助解决这个问题。 与人际关系斗争的年轻人可能需要一个更温和和接受的框架,以便他们形成或创造一种身份,帮助他们度过这段时间并适应这些压力。 问一个年轻人他们认为数字世界应该受到什么责任(许多年轻人对此有意见),这些答案将揭示他们如何看待他们和其他人可能面临的压力。

劳拉希金斯

Roblox社区安全和数字文明主任
专家网站

社交媒体越来越被视为儿童心理健康的一个有害因素,有没有一种方法可以用来对年轻人的心理健康产生积极影响?

在最奇怪的地方可以找到支持,我们称之为“寻找你的部落”。 同样地,在物理世界中,你会根据外表,态度,价值观和类似兴趣吸引人们,这同样适用于网络。 如果一个年轻人经历了一个低迷期,患有焦虑或更糟,他们会寻找其他类似问题的互联网用户,寻求他们的支持,建议和应对策略。

通常,他们选择匿名平台,在这些平台上,他们可以表达自己而不会感到尴尬或感到被评判,并且这些社区的反应绝对是支持和积极的。 许多管理心理健康问题的人都回到这些社区,提供同伴支持,“回馈”。 如果有适当的适度,这是一件很可爱的事情。

一些年轻人可能会质疑他们的性行为,但感觉不能谈论它,其他人可能会对他们的焦虑问题或身体形象的担忧感到尴尬。 在这些时刻拥有一个安全,支持的网络是非常重要的,而这不仅仅发生在“现实世界”中。

慈善机构也有很多使用技术积极参与年轻人的例子。 Kooth 就是一个例子,一个针对儿童和青少年的在线咨询和情感福利平台,提供辅导员和同行的主持建议。 其他例子是小型慈善机构和辅导员,他们监控社交媒体网站上的内容,如果他们遇到困难就联系他们,在他们最需要的时候提供他们的服务 - “我可以看到你的时间不好,你可以给我们免费打电话在xxx“。

对于一个年轻人来说,在任何可能的地方寻求支持比在沉默中受苦更好。

克里斯·马丁

首席执行官,The Mix
专家网站

我们知道,社交媒体的需求可能会对一些年轻人产生影响 - 加速线下世界的压力或对社会地位和身体形象产生不合理的期望。 一些年轻人甚至可以发现自己依赖于从喜欢和分享中获得的验证感受。 但社交媒体有好的和坏的元素,可能并不像你想象的那样容易让孩子干掉它 - 特别是当很多年轻人也把它作为娱乐,社区和支持的来源时。

作为家长,重要的是要记住年轻人在生活的各个方面都面临挑战,而社交媒体可能只是复杂情况的一部分。 如果您的孩子似乎正在使用社交媒体并且正在变得紧张,请尝试帮助他们重新平衡他们的离线和离线生活。 混合 有一篇文章介绍了一些从社交媒体中休息的策略。 鼓励你的孩子思考

向上滚动

Is social media an obstacle to my child’s mental health?

If you’d like to understand how you can help your child manage their life on social media and limit any risks to their mental wellbeing, our experts have plenty of great advice.

What are the steps that parents should take if they feel that their child is suffering from mental health issue because of stress and social media use?

A few years ago, when I began researching the effects of social media on young people much of the worry was around access to things like pornography and the possibility of children being approached by strangers online.  While these are still important issues to address, I think that increasingly it’s the more hidden aspects of the online world that have the potential to affect our children’s mental health.

Young people live in a world today that is constantly connected and while this comes with benefits, it also comes with a feeling that you’re constantly visible, and by extension judged.  This increased awareness of your visibility and access to other people’s opinions about; how they look, behave, act, what they post, how often they post, what they like, how they comment on others profiles – is leaving many children feeling stressed and unable to turn off the amplified sense of self-awareness that social media inevitably leaves you with.

If you suspect that your children are feeling the pressure to liven up their online identities, there are a few things that you can do:

Ways to support your child

1.    Be informed: Educate yourself about the social media sites your child is using so you can really understand what they are feeling. They are more likely to take your advice onboard if you’re speaking their language.

2.    Encourage critical thinking: Be aware of how you approach a discussion with your child. Avoid being judgmental or preaching, instead invite your kids to talk about their feelings and encourage them to think critically about why they do what they do online, the pressure they feel and about how much control they actually have.

3.   Talk generally: Don’t be afraid to talk about social media as a phenomenon that effects not just them but everyone. This may make it easier for them to open up and think critically. For example you might discuss whether social media can distort expectations of beauty or popularity or how much they believe the pictures or ideas that their friends or indeed they post are a realistic portrayal of life and happiness.

4.    Acknowledge that sometimes things can feel overwhelming: Exams, family, after school commitments, friends it’s a lot to juggle – make a point of acknowledging this. Normalising it will help contain feelings of anxiety. Also look at how their social media commitments add to their to do list. Doing this will make it easier for them talk about boundaries when it comes to how much time they spend engaging on social media.

5.     Help them develop realistic expectations and better time management skills: Tell them that you understand how important social media is to them and that you respect that but also explain that feelings stressed is something that you can empathise and help with.  Work together to set up a homework and other commitments schedule. Ensure you incorporate down times from all the ‘have to’s’ including social media. Talk about activities that can help de-stress like physical activity and creativity and the importance of face to face time with family friends. Help them understand that the idea that the 2 things (connecting on line and connecting face to face) don’t have to be mutually exclusive.

Comment on article
Catherine Knibbs

Catherine Knibbs

Child Trauma therapist, Peer Support Yorkshire

Expert Website

What is the biggest impact that social media can have on mental health? I.e. body image, sleep, FOMO? What should parents watch out for?

Social media can be a double-edged sword. Where it provides many positive benefits of relational interactions between young people it can also highlight where difficulties in those relationships exist. Akin to the playground pressures to fit in, conform and the drive to belong, it can appear with a persistent feel when in the digital space. Each impact is individual and the signs that parents need to look for are as individual as each child and the pressures they face.

As parents, it is helpful to understand that these pressures can be perceived by an adolescent brain as more intense to them and are not silly or over exaggerated. An open, non-judgemental approach and gentle curiosity can help with this. Young people who struggle with interpersonal relationships may need a more gentle and accepting framework in order for them to form or create an identity that helps them move through this time and be resilient to these pressures. Ask a young person what they feel the digital world is to blame for (many young people have an opinion on this) and those answers will reveal how they perceive the pressures they and others are possibly under.

Comment on article
Laura Higgins

Laura Higgins

Online Safety Operations Manager, SWGfL

Expert Website

Social media is increasingly seen as a harmful factor in children mental health, is there a way that it can be used to have a positive impact on young people’s mental health?

Support can be found in the strangest places, we call it “finding your tribe”. In the same way that in the physical world you are attracted to people based on looks, attitude, values and similar interests, the same applies online. If a young person is experiencing a low period, suffering from anxiety or worse, they will seek out other internet users with similar issues, to ask for their support, advice and coping strategies.

Often, they choose anonymous platforms where they can express themselves without embarrassment or feeling judged, and the response in these communities is overwhelmingly supporting and positive. Many people who are managing their mental health issues return to these communities to offer peer support, to “give something back”. And if there is appropriate moderation in place, this is a lovely thing.

Some young people may be questioning their sexuality but don’t feel able to talk about it, others may be embarrassed about their anxiety issues, or body image worries. Having a safe, supportive network around you is incredibly important in those moments, and that doesn’t just happen “in the real world”.

There are also great examples of charities using technology to engage with young people positively. Kooth is one example, an online counselling and emotional well-being platform for children and young people, offering counsellors and peer to peer moderated advice. Other examples are small charities and counsellors who monitor content on social media sites and reach out to people if they appear in distress, offering their services when they are most needed – “I can see you are having a bad time, you can call us free on xxx”.

It is better for a young person to ask for support wherever that may come from, than to suffer in silence.

Comment on article

We know that the demands of social media can take their toll on some young people – accelerating pressures found in the offline world or creating unreasonable expectations around social position and body image. Some young people can even find themselves dependent on the feelings of validation they get from likes and shares. But social media has both good and bad elements and it may not be as easy as you think for your child to simply turn it off – especially when many young people also use it as a source of entertainment, community and support.

As a parent, it’s important to remember that young people face challenges in all elements of their life and social media may just be one part of a complex picture. If your child seems to be using social media a lot and is becoming stressed, try to help them regain balance between their on and offline lives. The Mix has an article with some strategies for taking a break from social media. Encourage your children to reflect on everything that’s going on. If they need further help they could call our helpline on 0808 808 4994.

Comment on article

More to explore

See free apps available to help child’s general wellbeing

wellbeing-apps

Free & anonymous online support for young people

Childnet