网络欺凌如何影响我孩子的心理健康?

如果您的孩子经历过网络欺凌或接触过网络欺凌,我们的专家随时为您提供有关如何影响他们的心理健康的支持的建议。


凯蒂科莱特

戴安娜奖高级反欺凌项目经理
专家网站

如果儿童的心理健康受到网络欺凌的影响,父母应该注意哪些关键迹象?

欺凌可以使年轻人感到愤怒,孤立和不安,并可能对他们的心理健康产生不利影响。 父母可能很难知道他们的孩子是否被欺负,但有些迹象需要注意:

- 变得沮丧或退缩,特别是在看了他们的手机,电脑或设备之后

- 害怕上学或逃学

- 突然停止使用手机或电脑

- 害怕在网上错过和错过; 过度使用设备

- 如果您的孩子遭受网络欺凌,请确保他们知道他们可以随时与您交谈。 这些步骤可以帮助您建立自信和自尊:

- 倾听他们并询问他们如何处理这种情况

- 监控他们的进度 - 询问他们学校的情况,并定期与老师一起检查,了解他们在白天的工作情况

- 当您的孩子在家时,尽量突出自己的优势并开展他们喜欢的活动

- 研究您的孩子使用的社交媒体平台,并了解他们如何使用阻止和报告工具来处理网络欺凌

更多信息请访问 Antibullyingpro or 年轻的头脑 还有一个家长帮助热线:0808 802 5544

如果儿童心理健康受到网络欺凌的严重影响,父母应采取的直接措施是什么?

去你的家庭医生。 如果您的孩子腿骨折,您将直接进入A&E,心理健康也不例外。 不要尴尬或害怕。 欺凌会导致焦虑和抑郁,越早得到帮助越好。 让你的孩子知道你无条件地爱他们,并承认欺凌是如何让他们感受到的。 要有耐心,并创造连接的机会 - 即使他们安静和退缩,他们比以往任何时候都更需要你。

鼓励他们与伤害他们的人打破联系,花时间(无论是面对面还是在线)与让他们感觉良好的人相处。 每天温柔的运动,如散步,可以真正帮助,任何帮助他们感到平静的活动。

帮助他们思考可以成为支持的其他人,并鼓励他们分享他们与这些人的感受,即使他们无法与您交谈。 一起讨论欺凌停止需要发生什么,以及是否值得接近他们的学校或学院寻求帮助。 让他们知道这将通过,你将在一起通过它。

玛莎埃文斯

国家协调员,反欺凌联盟
专家网站

父母可以为健康受到网络欺凌影响的孩子采取哪些步骤,特别是如果他们是有残疾儿童/有SEN的孩子?

我们知道欺凌(包括网络欺凌)会对孩子的自尊产生重大影响。 欺凌往往针对某人生活的一个方面,例如,你的外表或残疾。 这可能会严重损害年轻人对自己的看法。 重要的是,当网络欺凌发生时,您努力为您的孩子提供支持,并确保他们的健康不会受到不利影响。

确保你强调孩子的优势,向他们保证你爱他们,并且网络欺凌不是他们的错。 尽量不要过多地控制和监控他们的在线行为 - 这可能会使他们不太可能与您谈论他们的在线体验。 相反,有关于在线行为的公开对话,以便他们知道他们可以与您交谈。 继续与他们签到,并询问他们是否正常。 如果您担心孩子的心理健康,请带他们去看医生和孩子的学校。

Linda Papadopoulos博士

心理学家和互联网事务大使
专家网站

如果孩子遭受网络欺凌的精神影响但不愿意与父母交谈,父母如何支持他们的孩子?

开放被欺负并不容易 - 孩子可能会因为让事情变得更糟而感到焦虑,让你感到不安,甚至可能会担心你会对他们进行评判。 因此,重要的是您尽可能一致地发送消息,以便您在那里倾听和支持 - 这里是您可以做的4事情,这将有助于:

帮助孩子理解欺凌行为。 特别是现在,我们孩子的许多社交互动都是数字化的,因此您必须与孩子谈论适当和不恰当的在线行为,并鼓励他们谈论让他们感到担忧或不舒服的事情。

经常入住。 无论是开车上学,晚餐聊天还是回忆他们在床上的那一天,保持沟通畅通非常重要,所以请确保每天都与每个孩子联系。 您的孩子可能不会在每次互动时分享易受伤害的情绪,但如果您设置了足够的常规机会在一起,就会发生。

不要评判 - 阻止孩子们开放的事情之一是担心他们会被评判,解决这个问题的最好方法就是成为一个好的倾听者。 不要急于找到解决方案,而是要真实地倾听孩子的感受,告诉他们他们认为应该做什么,然后才提供建议。

想想你如何提问。 如果你想要你的孩子开放,你需要他们感到安全,所以要注意以“为什么”开头的问题通常会让孩子们保持警惕; “为什么你发布那张照片?”几乎不会像“为什么你认为人们会发布他们拍的照片?”

确保他们知道每个问题都有解决方案。 欺凌可以使一个人感到困惑和绝望,因此让孩子充满想法是至关重要的 能够 应付,你 支持他们,问题将得到解决。 建模力量和积极性将帮助他们将自己的情况视为更易于管理,并帮助他们将自己视为更具弹性。

向上滚动

How can cyberbullying affect my child’s mental health?

If your child has experienced cyberbullying or has been exposed to it, our experts are on hand to give you advice on how you can support them if it has affected their mental health.

Katie Collett

Katie Collett

Senior Anti-Bullying Project Manager, The Diana Award

Expert Website

What are the key signs that parents should watch out for if a child’s mental health has been affected by cyberbullying?

Bullying can make young people feel angry, isolated and upset, and can have a detrimental impact on their mental health. It can be difficult for parents to know if their child is being bullied, but some signs to look out for include:

Becoming upset or withdrawn, especially after looking at their phone, computer or device

Being afraid to go to school or skipping school

Suddenly stopping using their phone or computer

Fear of missing out and of being missed online; excessive use of devices

If your child is being cyberbullied, make sure they know that they can talk to you at any time. These steps can help you build up their confidence and self-esteem:

Listen to them and ask them how they’d like to deal with the situation

Monitor their progress – ask them how school has gone and check in regularly with a teacher to see how they are getting on during the day

When your child is at home try to highlight their strengths and do activities which they enjoy

Research the social media platforms your child uses and understand how they can use the block and report tools to deal with cyberbullying

For more information visit www.antibullyingpro.com or Young Minds also have a Parents Helpline: 0808 802 5544

Comment on article

If a child mental health has been significantly impacted by cyberbullying what are the immediate steps that parents should take?

Go to your GP. If your child had a broken leg you’d be straight to A&E and mental health is no different. Don’t be embarrassed or scared. Bullying can cause anxiety and depression and the sooner you get help the better. Let your child know that you love them unconditionally and acknowledge how the bullying has made them feel. Be patient and create opportunities to connect – even if they’re quiet and withdrawn they need you more than ever.

Encourage them to break contact with the people that are hurting them and spend time (whether it’s face to face or online) with people that make them feel good about themselves. Gentle exercise each day like going for a walk can really help, and any activity that helps them feel calmer.

Help them think about other people that can be a support and encourage them to share how they’re feeling with these people even if they can’t talk to you. Talk together about what needs to happen for the bullying to stop and whether it is worth approaching their school or college for help. Let them know that this will pass and together you will get through it.

Comment on article
Martha Evans

Martha Evans

National Coordinator, Anti-bullying Alliance

Expert Website

What steps can parents take for children whose wellbeing is affected by cyberbullying particularly if they are a disabled child/child with SEN?

We know bullying (including cyberbullying) can have a significant impact on a child’s self-esteem. Bullying often targets an aspect of someone’s life, for example, your appearance or a disability. This can be really damaging to how young people feel about themselves. It’s important that when cyberbullying happens that you work to support your child and ensure their wellbeing is not adversely affected.

Make sure you emphasise your child’s strengths, reassure them that you love them and that the cyberbullying is not their fault. Try not to control and monitor their online behaviour too much – this might make them less likely to feel able to talk to you about their experiences online. Instead, have open conversations about online behaviour so they know they can talk to you. Keep checking in with them and ask them if they’re ok. If you are worried about your child’s mental health, take them to speak to a doctor and your child’s school.

Comment on article

If a child is suffering the mental effects of cyberbullying but are unwilling to talk to their parents, how can parents support their child?

Opening up about being bullied isn’t easy- a child may feel anxious about making things worse, upsetting you and may even feel worried that you’ll judge them. As such it’s important that you send the message as consistently as possible that you are there to listen and support- here are 4 things you can do that will help:

Help kids understand bullying.  Especially now that so many of our children’s social interactions are digital it’s important that you speak to your kids about appropriate and inappropriate on-line behaviour and encourage them to talk about things that make them feel worried or uncomfortable.

Check in often.   Whether it’s on the drive to school, a chat over dinner or a recap of the day when they’re in bed it’s really important to keep communication open so make sure you connect with each of your children every single day. Your child may not share vulnerable emotions every time you interact but if you set up enough regular opportunities to be together, it will happen.

Don’t be judgemental– one of the things that stop kids from opening up is the worry that they’ll be judged, The best way to get around this is to be a good listener.  Don’t rush to find solutions, instead really listen to how the situation makes your child feel, ask them what they think they should do and only then offer advice.

Think about how you ask questions. If you want your child to open up, you need them to feel safe so be aware that questions that begin with “Why” as these often make kids defensive; “Why did you post that photo?” won’t work nearly as well as “Why do you think people tend to post the photos they do?”

Make sure that they know that there is a solution to every problem.  Bullying can make a person feel trapped and hopeless so it’s vital that you imbue your kids with the idea that they can cope, that you will support them and that the issues will be resolved.  Modelling strength and positivity will help them see their situation as more manageable and help them see themselves as more resilient.

Comment on article