根据最新的Ofcom报告,互联网使用已超过电视作为儿童的最佳消遣

在Ofcom发布了最新的《儿童与父母:媒体使用和态度》报告2016之后,我们总结了它揭示的主要发现。

在线使用接管

Ofcom最新报告显示,儿童的互联网使用量达到历史最高水平,5-15的年轻人每周在线消费15小时 - 超过了第一次看电视的时间。

3-4的儿童也在网上每周花费8小时和18分钟,比去年的6小时48分钟增加了一个半小时。

电视观看下降

相比之下,儿童花在观看电视机上的时间更少,他们的每周观看时间从14的48小时2015分钟下降到去年的13小时36分钟。

尽管如此,Ofcom的研究表明,电视仍然在儿童的生活中发挥着重要作用,10中仍有9人仍在观看,一般每天观看,以及观看家庭观看时间最多的儿童,6 - 9pm。

YouTube现在是孩子们的首选在线目的地

YouTube是儿童观看内容的最受欢迎的在线目的地之一,其中约四分之三(73%)的年龄为5-15的人使用视频网站。 37%经常观看YouTube视频,通常选择“电视内容”,如漫画和迷你电影,这也是学龄前儿童的热门话题。

更多孩子拥有自己的设备

儿童中的数字设备比以往任何时候都更为普遍,包括年轻人。 研究发现,第三名(34%)学龄前儿童(3-4岁)拥有自己的媒体设备 - 例如平板电脑或游戏机。

随着孩子们在网上花费更多时间,他们对广告和“视频博客”认可的认知度也有所提高,超过一半的12-15(55%)的互联网用户现在意识到在线广告可以个性化 - 提高10百分点去年。 而且,12-15对vloggers产品认可的认识也在10中增加了57百分点2016%。

Ofcom市场情报总监Jane Rumble说:“儿童的生活越来越数字化,平板电脑和智能手机比以往任何时候都更受关注。 即便如此,家庭仍有时间进行更多传统活动,例如一起看电视或阅读睡前故事。“

在线安全意识提升

超过9的10 8-15儿童与父母或老师就安全上网进行了对话,并告诉别人他们是否看到了他们发现令人担忧或讨厌的事情。

几乎所有96-5的父母(15%)都以某种方式管理孩子的互联网使用 - 通过技术工具,与孩子交谈或监督,或制定有关访问互联网和在线行为的规则。 五分之二的父母使用所有四种方法。

而且,5-15s的孩子的父母更有可能在2016中使用网络级过滤器 - 比31%高出5个百分点。

更多探索

查看更多资源和文章,以帮助儿童在线保持安全:

最近的帖子

向上滚动

Internet use has overtaken TV as kids’ top pastime according to latest Ofcom report

By Internet Matters Team on

Following the release of the latest Ofcom Children and Parents: Media Use and Attitudes report 2016, we’ve summarised the key findings it reveals.

Online use takes over

Ofcom latest report shows that children’s internet use has reached record highs, with young people aged 5-15 spending around 15 hours each week online – overtaking time spent watching a TV set for the first time.

Children aged 3-4, are also spending 8 hours and 18 minutes a week online, up an hour and a half from 6 hours 48 minutes in the last year.

TV viewing drops

In contrast, children are spending less time watching a TV set, with their weekly viewing dropping from 14 hours 48 minutes in 2015 to 13 hours 36 minutes in the last year.

Despite this, Ofcom’s research shows that TV still plays an important role in children’s lives with nine in 10 still watching, generally every day, and the largest number of children watching at peak family viewing time, 6 – 9pm.

YouTube is now top online destination for kids

YouTube is one of the most popular online destinations for children to watch content, with around three quarters (73%) of those aged 5-15 using the video site. It is also a hit with pre-schoolers with 37% regularly watching YouTube videos, who typically pick ‘TV content’ such as cartoons and mini-movies.

More children own their own devices

Digital devices are more widespread among children than ever, including the very young. The research finds that a third (34%) of pre-schoolers (aged 3-4) own their own media device – such as a tablet or games console.

As children spend more of their time online, their awareness of advertising and ‘vlogger’ endorsements has also increased with more than half of internet users aged 12-15 (55%) now aware that online advertising can be personalised – up 10 percentage points in the last year. And, 12-15s awareness of product endorsement from vloggers has also increased by 10 percentage points to 57% in 2016.

Jane Rumble, Ofcom Director of Market Intelligence said: “Children’s lives are increasingly digital, with tablets and smartphones commanding more attention than ever. Even so, families are finding time for more traditional activities, such as watching TV together or reading a bedtime story.”

Online safety awareness up

More than 9 in 10 children aged 8-15 have had conversations with parents or teachers about being safe online, and would tell someone if they saw something they found worrying or nasty.

Nearly all parents (96%) of 5-15s manage their children’s internet use in some way – through technical tools, talking to or supervising their child, or setting rules about access to the internet and online behaviour. Two in five parents use all four approaches.

And, parents of children aged 5-15s are more likely to use network level filters in 2016 – up five percentage points to 31%.

Additional information

Download Children and Parents Media Use Attributes Report 

If you’d like to learn more about other pieces on children and parents online use, please visit our research page.

 

Image attribution: Wayan Vota under Creative Commons License